Springbok coach Peter de Villiers believes that he deserves a medal after his four years as the helm of a job that produces the most hostile environment imaginable.

De Villiers, together with SA Rugby Union (SARU) CEO Jurie Roux addressed the portfolio committee on sport and recreation about the World Cup plans in parliament on Tuesday.

According to Die Burger, De Villiers explained that the coaching team had done an excellent job of moulding players from different unions into a team within a short space of time, and with several injury constraints also making their job that much harder.

For his tireless time in charge of the Boks he suggested he deserved a medal.

“And a big one too,” he stated.

De Villiers stressed that the team has what it takes to win the World Cup, and that the best players available had gone on tour in the Tri-Nations.

MPs grilled the coach on the most recent defeats and questioned theΒ  decision to leave the best players at home.

De Villiers insisted that the players left behind were injured and had attended a rehabilitation camp in Rustenburg.

The major weakness of the Boks is their inability to finish an opponent off according to De Villiers.

“We need a killer instinct,” he said.

62 Responses to Divvie wants a medal… and a big one too!

As you can see from the Article, I have unilatterally awarded him a Noddy Badge…

I think you’ll agree, that is fitting!

Wear it with pride, Peter!

Geez this man can spout gobshite.

After he gets the elbow from SARU, I wonder if Supersport will offer him a job as an expert analyst?

Maybe Skinstad can teach him to fish and talk more k@k.

Miskien moet hy die Pro-Nutro medalje kry… want hy het meeste van ons laat verstik in ons pap die afgelope 2 naweke… en verlede jaar… en die 2 jaar voor dit…

… by the way… the Pro-Patria Medal, awarded in the Defence Force in my time, went to anyone and everybody, no matter how doff you were… as long as you were there, on the border…

The Medal was affectionately known as the Pro-Nutro Medal…

Well, Peter, you’ve been there, borderline…. hehehe

5@ grootblousmile:
    Well he comes across as somewhat “bosbefok”.

Today’s Rugby news is making me fukcing depressed.

Let me go and do some work and see how we can more effectively kill some animals for you all to eat next week!

By the way… go click on our Advert at the top… the company belongs to a fellow blogger of ours.

Clicking on the actual Advert takes you straight to the web site!

You guy us interpreting this the wrong way.

He hopes the rest of the world will also fall for the trick that has been imposed on SA rugby, affirmative action, or whatever it is called these days.

In my opinion he might have a point here.

We have transformed, now the rest of the world must oblige him.

i believe he’s right!!

10@ Ashley:
    Right in the head OR right about the medal?

You might stand a chance with one of the 2, not both, and it’s not the one about the head….

I can just imagine Divvie telling these okes at the Sports Portfolio Committee… hehehe

“I deserve a merral… and a big one too! Cause you see why, I had to deal with mechanics and had to look up at Big Vic… and everyborry else!”

Hulle sal hom eerder n’ tamatie kassie gee om op te staan, voordat hy nog wil disability eis vir sy seer nek.

13@ biltongbek:
    Have you ever noticed that in TV interviews he is NEVER in shot with the interviewer?

Small man syndrome?

This might be the closest Divvie ever comes to a World Cup Medal… asking for one…

… because he sure ain’t going to get one in New Zealand at RWC 2011….

Who remembers this oke… Rolf Harris…

Now HE deserves a Medal….

Hehehehe

Dit is nou wanneer jy dit n’ MENEER noem

That’s why he often delivers such long monologues, he doesn’t want the cameraman having to go to the side and up, and then back down to him.

16@ grootblousmile:
    Remember him singing Waltzing Matilda at a game when the Aussies couldn’t make up their mind what their National Anthem was. May have been a Bledisloe Cup match.

18@ Scrumdown:
    Freegin hell, this oke has been in Show business for nearly 60 years…

Remember the Rolf Harris Show on TV in SA in the ’70’s or early ’80’s?

He used to sing, come up with these 3-legged antics and do the most facinating quick paintings on canvass…

1. first day div took the job, he’s announced to the world as the one who got the job “not for rugby reasons” … now, whether that may be the truth or not, no-one deserves to be humiliated like that
    2. after his 1st test, rumours of a sex tape is brought out by the media, some claiming to know of the existence of it, others (like keo) claiming to know the exact spot where this took place … what happened to those claims and why wasnt it brought forward (his 3rd year wouldve been a perfect oppertunity to do so) … i also havent seen anyone of the media come back and say that they were misled
    3. after a difficult start, a win at last (wallabies, tin park) … and the first of the critics (a fellow-supporter) i talk to on monday morning claim “that its all been because of jw”…. according to this guy jake was coaching the boks from behind the bossies!! πŸ˜€
    4. then came year 2 … and what a year it was … winning the 3n AND winning the bi lions … and what happens after the 1st test? … theres more articles FROM THE MEDIA on the net about the “idiot coaches nearly throwing the test away”, than there are about being on the brink of something special … the supporters, well .. they all suddenly knew someone close to the bok camp who could confirm that the senior players are actually doing the coaching … (see ghenry and all you other kak coaches around the world? our SENIOR PLAYERS can actually outthink each and everyone of you!! my advice? f*ck-off … go do something else!!!!!)
    5. then came year 3 and we’re back to square 1 …. “the idiots who are coaching the team”
    6. now we’re in year 4, just finished the away leg of the 3n where we’ve done EXACTLY what jw have done in 2007
    AND
    we’ve lost on average by 6 points more to the wallabies and all blacks than what jw’s 2nd team have done … AND WHAT A REACTION!! f*ck the fact that this is the FIRST TIME that pdv’s bokke get a hiding by both the wallabies AND allblacks, f*ck the fact that jw’s 2007 team had similar results, f*ck the fact that jw’s WORLD BEATERS were beaten 49-0 by the wallabies at one stage …. noooooooooooooo, all we are met with, DESPITE THE FACT THAT 2007 AND 2011 THUS FAR BROUGHT SIMILAR RESULTS, are mass histeria
    so yes, looking at the above, i believe he deserves a medal … as do every other poor bastard in a position like his!!

I’m Jake the Peg deedledeedledum, with the extra leg, deedledeedledum…..

Hy was awesome hehehehe

hello trips … πŸ˜‰ hope you’re doing as well as i am? πŸ˜€

hallo asbakkie, ek doen uitstekend dankie πŸ™‚

21@ Tripples:
    Daar sou NOOOIT in SA ‘n Rolf Harris kon wees nie… hulle sou sy 3de been gesteel het, asook sy moerse verfkwasse en sy verf….

trips @ 23
    ek sien jy’t my gemis, daarom dat jy trug is!! πŸ˜€

dis waar hahahahahahaha

@ Ashley:
    ek was al heelwat hier Asbakkie….sit neer daai papsak πŸ™‚

Ek sukkel net vandag, dink ons netwerk is nie lekwar nie

26@ Tripples:
    Rugby-Talk se web host in die VSA het so bietjie kakkas gemaak vandag.

trips @ 26
    ag komaaaaaaaaaaaaaan trips, erken dit nou maar, jong πŸ˜€

16: sal daai ou graag wil sien pale toe skop.

29@ bendiebul:

Wonder of hy links of regs of middelvoetig is….

Ek is self nogal ernstig middelvoetig….

Total 16 users including 0 member, 16 guests, 0 bot online