South Africa, who travelled to Australia without 21 Test regulars, have included three uncapped players in their team for Saturday’s Tri-Nations opener against the Wallabies.

The Springboks will award Test debuts to props Dean Greyling and Werner Kruger as well as number eight Ashley Johnson on Saturday at Sydney’s Olympic stadium.

While both sides will hope to avoid injuries on Saturday, they also recognise the importance of building momentum ahead of the September 9 to October 23 Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.

“The new caps had outstanding Super rugby seasons and this is an exciting opportunity for them,” coach Peter de Villiers said in a news release.

“We have got some new combinations, but there is a lot of potential in this side and the players are hungry for this chance.”

Captain John Smit will win his 103rd cap at hooker alongside four other members of the squad that won the last World Cup – centre Wynand Olivier, scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar, flank Danie Rossouw and lock Johan Muller.

Morne Steyn has been selected at flyhalf in preference to young gun Patrick Lambie, who starts on the bench, while the Wallabies will have to be on the alert for flying wingers Bjorn Basson and Lwazi Mvovo. Openside flank Heinrich Brussow was unavailable because of a knee injury but he is at least part of the travelling squad.

Key players like scrumhalf Fourie du Preez, centres Jaque Fourie and Jean de Villiers, flank Juan Smith, locks Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha, and props Gurthro Steenkamp and Tendai Mtawariria all missed the tour through injury.

“Those guys back home would love to be here and if these guys do well, it will put more pressure on them,” De Villiers told a news conference.

Springboks: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Wynand  Olivier, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7  Danie Rossouw, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner  Kruger, 2 John Smit, 1 Dean Greyling.

Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Adrian Jacobs, 22 Patrick Lambie.

Wallabies: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom, 5 James Horwill, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Sekope Kepu.

Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 Pek Cowan, 18 Nathan Sharpe, 19 Matt Hodgson, 20 Scott Higginbotham, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Anthony Fainga’a.

101 Responses to Three new Springboks picked for Tri-Nations opener

Puma i wish i could find that article, the comparison they made between the 2 players made sense to me. OK my man Stegman did win almost every argument so you might say i am prejudiced. The fact is that many things was said about keegans hot headedness and about the penalty counts of the 2 players.The work rate of Stegman far exceeds al other no 6s in SA.

Okay with my Sharks glasses on I am off…….hehehe.

Catch up tomorrow or for the game on Saturday.

My concern with this team is 1. the loose trio and 2. the locks.

We are going to loose the battle at the breakdown and in the lineout and hence the match. There is just absolutely no way this team will beat the Aussies in Australia. We are going to loose and loose with a big margin.

The problem with the loose trio is; frirtly, Rossouw in no No7; secondly, Stegman is to small to make impact at the breakdowns -getting push back more than any other No 6 in the country-; thirdly Johnson play to loose to make impact at the breakdown. so, here is the problem, we have a No 8 that play’s to loose, a No7 that’s to slow and a No6 that’s too small.

Muller is just not good enough for international rugby and Flip is still a greenhorn and will not be able to “matfieldize” the Ausssies.

We have to very similar centres -who just ran straight with poor handling skill- who can not create play to put our wingers in space.

Lastly, I don’t care how well Greyling and Kruger played in the S15 test rugby is different cup of tea altogether and they will not dominate the Aussies up front.

With a scrum that can’t dominate, a suspect lineout, loosies that can’t win the battle at the breakdown and a backline that can not create play how the hell are we going to win this match. We can’t run the ball or play a 10-man type game this is going to be a nightmare to watch

One potentially telling element that may suit the Boks’ game plan this weekend is the current weather in Sydney. Last night Sydney and local coastal areas endured almost cyclonic conditions; wind was astonishing, sounded like a freight train racing downhill, and the rain was monsoonal. Conditions have abated slightly today, but rain is predicted for the next 5 days. Wet weather might just suit the Boks game more than the Wallabies, as a soggy track is going to slow this whole match.

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    Hello my friend , you still comming to SA?

Howzit SB?
    Yes indeedy, all looking good for our family trip back to RSA after the RWC.

I have some business to conclude prior to committing to flights and an itinerary. Once I know the details, I’ll give you a call to arrange to visit your wonderland. I’ve promised our grandson we will do the trip before he starts uni, so I can’t let him down.

After 34 years we think it high time we made the journey back!!!! Some of our old friends still live in Kimberley.

It will be very interesting to see what comes out of it.

15 Gio Aplon,
    A very gutsy, nippy and skillful player. He has been in the mix for the last two years and have never let us down. He can be rather elusive and has the uncanny ability to break through tackles even for his size.
    14 Bjorn Basson,
    Very skilled under the high ball, a very good finisher, but combined with aplon at the back, we lack some size defensively.
    13 Juan De Jongh,
    I am pretty sure he will be the incumbent when Jacque Fourie retires, can step off both feet, has good vision and a solid defender.
    12 Wynand Oliver,
    Shouldn’t be there, he has been erratic for the Bulls to say the least. He has never really proven himself on the international stage. He has little vision and doesn’t often look for the offload, easily gets isolated in the tackle and provides opportunities for the opposition to turn over posession.
    11 Lwazi Mvovo,
    Much needed in this backline that lacks size. He is a strong runner, good defender and good finisher. Has been in much better form than Habana.
    10 Morné Steyn,
    For the past two years, not in great form, I think he has lost confidence in himself. He seriously needs to find form and confidence, but still remains a good kicker.
    9 Ruan Pienaar,
    Has always been a favorite of mine. Hopefully his confidence levels are high and with Fourie du Preez suffering many injuries and little form, we might need this guy come RWC.
    8 Ashley Johnson,
    If there is one guy that deserves his spot purely because of form, it is Ashley Johnson. Even with SA having oodles of talent in the back row, this guy was the stand out for the cheetahs in the Super XV.
    7 Danie Rossouw,
    I am happy he is there, he may have lost a bit of pace. But with his work rate, physicality and ability with ball in hand, he is always dangerous.
    6 Deon Stegmann,
    Don’t like him, don’t rate him. Would prefer to see Jean deysel in the 6 jumper.
    5 Johann Muller,
    When he left SA he was on top of his game, hopefully he still has the hunger and ability to perform.
    4 Flip Van Der Merwe,
    Solid if not spectacular, has been in the mix for a while, so he won’t let us down. Good physicality.
    3 Werner Kruger,
    I have been wanting to see this guy at international level for a while now. We don’t have spectacular tight heads. Jannie du Plessis is the only decent one we have. So Werner must use this opportunity for a spot in the RWC squad.
    2 John Smit (c),
    Happy to see him at Hooker. The question is how high is his confidence in his own abilities. Could be a problem if the much revered leader had his own issues to resolve.
    1 Dean Greyling.
    There are a number of losse heads ahead of him in the pecking order. Beat Mtwarira, Guthro Steenkamp and even Coenie Oosthuizen, so he has a huge task ahead of him.

Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ Van Der Linde, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Adrian Jacobs, 22 Patrick Lambie

On the bench i would have preferred Deysel in the run on team. I suppose Lambie will be used as a utility back, looking to replace who ever doesn’t perform. My money is on Wynand Olivier.

My biggest concern with this backline is that there are 3 Bulls, 2 Sharks, 1 Stormer and 1 overseas player who hasn’t played together. Will they be able to combine as a unit? They may not instinctively know what their team mates will be doing and that can cause problems on defence and attack. Morne Steyn and Wynand Olivier is a defensive weakness and providing Quade Cooper with that opportunity, we might see a good number of scoring opportunities created inbetween those two.

The forward pack looks good, I am excited to see what the front row will achieve. The locking combination is solid, and apart from Steggman the loose Trio combination will be dangerous.

biltongbek wrote:

12 Wynand Oliver,
    Shouldn’t be there, he has been erratic for the Bulls to say the least. He has never really proven himself on the international stage. He has little vision and doesn’t often look for the offload, easily gets isolated in the tackle and provides opportunities for the opposition to turn over posession.

Solid player, fits perfectly into the team game plan, never let SA down. Was never the reason why we lost. His outside backs scores the same amount of tries as when the wunder kids play. No difference in try scoring ability with or without him. Defensively one of the best. Does not go for the intercept, stays with the game plan.

In short the team man Peter de Villiers want.

biltongbek wrote:

6 Deon Stegmann,
    Don’t like him, don’t rate him. Would prefer to see Jean deysel in the 6 jumper.

The grafter, not a glory boy , you dont see him doing spectacular things but at the end of the game the stats show how many times he was involved in the game. Maybe the coaches look at him for that reason whilst we as supporters look for that one brilliant run.

biltongbek wrote:

My biggest concern with this backline is that there are 3 Bulls, 2 Sharks, 1 Stormer and 1 overseas player who hasn’t played together

That is also the sad story about Wynand, he never had a chance to play with the same backline players. In almost all his tests he was grouped with a 2 string backline. A makeshift one. I dont mind if they drop him forever but be fair to the man, in the Bulls team he is settled and in the last 2 years there was nothing wrong with his effort and the tries flowed in for him.

On a slightly different tack, I’ve seen this article a couple of times now, and don’t know if we’ve discussed it here on RT. What do you all think?

“The most celebrated team in international Rugby Union has not won a World Cup since 1987.

The All Blacks have the chance to atone for that when they host the tournament in September and October.

It could be their last opportunity, if stomach-churning news out of New Zealand on Thursday is anything to go by.

A new rule in children’s rugby aimed at preventing “blowouts” will cap the maximum score at 35-0.

If one team leads by more than 35 points, coaches are encouraged to discuss how to create a more even match.

You can see those half-time team talks going down in legend. Al Pacino in Any Given Sunday – eat your heart out.

So in a nation boasting 40 million sheep, the poor little rugby lambs will be wrapped up softly in cotton wool if a nasty better team starts beating them up.

Holding hands

This fluffy sentiment is consummately unfair on the kids involved. I would bet my bottom NZ dollar that the last thing any youngster wants is to have his hand held on the rugby pitch.

The New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU) believes the rule will stop under-13s from giving up the sport if their team is on the end of a thrashing.

For a game that demands character, mental and physical toughness and stamina more than most other sports, this is frankly astonishing.

In fact, it goes against the whole ethos of competitive sport and waters down its benefits to human development.

The children and teenagers of New Zealand have been grossly insulted by those running Rugby Union in the country.

In making the blowout rule, you’re saying that kids who are losing are not competitive.

You’re taking away the chance for a young player to look at the scoreboard, see no chance of victory, and still give everything for the team until the final whistle.

You’re removing pride. You’re saying it’s not ok to try your best and get badly beaten. It is.

You’re saying it’s not ok to feel bad, or to feel humiliated. It is. Those moments make you reach inside yourself and pull out something better. They make you get over it.

And let’s not forget the winners. “I get the reward for my talent and my hard work in training, and then I have to stop? Excuse me?”

This rule teaches people that they don’t have to overcome adversity. Someone else will do it for them. Maybe the term “handoff” in Kiwi rugby will soon come to mean giving the ball to the other side so that you don’t hurt their feelings.

For anyone who wants to see a decent New Zealand team in future, it’s a horrifying prospect.

The All Blacks are the best side on the planet on their day, but a World Cup-less 24 years has obviously seen them fail to bounce back from behind on more than one occasion (although they are happy enough to mercilessly batter the lesser teams, and good on them for it. It’s the only way they’ll learn).

Engineering

Former captain Wayne Shelford, who won the first Rugby World Cup on home soil in ’87, called the blowout rule “social engineering” in Thursday’s New Zealand Herald.

“It’s social engineering people not to be hurt by scorelines, not to be hurt by losing,” Shelford said.

“You go out there and try and play as hard as you can. It is all about winning, obviously, but at the same time winning makes you humble and so does losing.

“I don’t think you are going to lose many players by being thrashed like that. I guess they would get a bit despondent, but at the same what are they there for?”

The 2003 world champions, England, were hammered 36-0 by South Africa in their opening match at the last Rugby World Cup.

A fairly poor, one-dimensional England then picked themselves up, ground out results, and faced the Springboks again in a final that they could have won, had endless replays not shown that a Mark Cueto try was a millimetre out of play.

Marc Ellis scored six tries as New Zealand beat Japan 145-17 at RWC 1995.

The last time I looked, Japan were still a decent outfit. Their sevens players are Asian champions. And the sport is growing in Asia, both in spite of and because of such defeats.

Ellis said of the new rule: “That’s the kind of weak-wristed thinking that’s the bane of New Zealand society… it’s protecting people from themselves – it’s protecting them from realities they need to find out.”

He is right to widen it to society as a whole. For the future of the All Blacks, this hopefully short-lived rule should be viewed with horror.

But the mollycoddling trend in which feelings are spared, criticism is banned, bad exam results are beefed up or hidden, and in which people are given no chance to take a long, hard look at themselves sucks the joy out of life as it draws the sting from defeat.”

41@ superBul:
    Ag forget about defending Meisiekind & Steggies & Morné Steyn… the Anti-Bulls brigade love to hate all Bulls… fok hulle ALMAL!

We’ll see who the real performers are on Saturday… Morné keeping the scoreboard ticking, Meisiekind doing stellar tackling and acting like an extra loosie and Steggies over every bloody breakdown ball, pilfering and slowing opposition ball down… and because of where he plays (like McCaw & Pocock & Brussow) getting blown a bit… it comes with the territory.

The Bokke will have a very competative front row…. 2 big and burly and mobile props combined with a 103-Test Cap veteran at hooker.

The locks will be OK’ish… with Flip putting in double the amount of work Muller does.

The loosies have balance… one pure fetcher, one robust No 7, one No 8 with good hands and who is a very good strike runner… on form. How they will combine is an open question.. till Saturday.

Will also have to see how Ruan combines with Morné…

Back 3 is solid and fast…

If this team, bar maybe 2 or 3 changes (Brussow & Matfield / Bekker & Bismarck), had to stay together for a while and get to the stage where they really know each other and really gel… it could be a lethal combination in the hands of the right coaching staff… both from head coach and assistant coaches.

My wish for Saturday is that I hope this team do the basics well… the flashy stuff can come later. They must play it tight, possession rugby, and definately not play a Barbarian type of game… that will suit the Aussies.

Go Bokke… and Go Bulls… en FOK die anti-Bulls! Dis asof hulle dink hulle eie poep stink nie… simpel klomp tjokkers!

43@ grootblousmile:
    You get out of bed on the wrong side, or are you suffering from the same ailment as me?

Bottle Flu.

goodmorning everyone!!
    phew … team on testrugby.com is in at last
    now to register for superbru

42@ Scrumdown:
    Eishhhhhhhhh, the New Zealanders are dof to do this!

You know, some people amaze me… “Don’t practise corporal punishment on your kids”… kak man… moer die wettertjie as hy kak aanjaag, dit leer disipline en selfbeheer!

Some parents even prevent their kids from playing rugby at school.. “It’s too rough”…. kak man… it teaches valuable social interaction and it contributes greatly into not raising a bloody spineless softy!

“Turn the other cheek when someone wants to fight with you at school”… kak man…. moer die outjie, hy sallie weer kak soek nie!

44@ Scrumdown:
    No, I’m fine… was up early this morning, Handbriekie had to be taken to OR Tambo… she will be in Slaapstad for 3 days on business.

Then I went to freegin Primrose near Germiston, then through bloody dirty Germiston to Albeton, then to the bank and back here…

The reason why I was so strong in my wording is because some people just can’t hide the fact how much they envy the Bulls…. hehehehe

Mirrag.

Lekker spannetjie wat hulle hier het. Ek reken die springrotte gaan getrap word deur die SPRINGBOKKE.

48@ Die Blou Kuberruim Wandelaar:
    Hello Kuberkokkedoor….

Sê hulle, sê hulle my Blou gebroeder!

45@ Ashley:
    Hello Winegums….

Ek sal my Testrugby.com spannetjie nog bietjie moet TWEAK… hy is klaar vol gelaai, maar ek sal so paar veranderinge wil aanbring noudat die Bokke & Wallabie spanne bekend gemaak is

Oooo maggies, hier’s MkKyk ook nog. Hoe lyk dit….of moet ek sê hoe “kyk” dit my maat?

Ek sien ons kan aangaan van waar ons verlede jaar opgehou het. Jy sê Stegmann is net n Stegmannetjie? Te klein sê jy?
    Hy’s net so groot soos Brussow, soos McCaw, soos George Smith ens. Nou wat is nou eintlik die probleem?

Ek stem darem saam met jou oor een ding: dat Stegmann meer rond gedons word by die afbreekpunte as enige ander flank in Suid Afrika. Hel, miskien in die hele wêreld. Want hy is meer teenwoordig by die afbreekpunte as enige ander flank in die wêreld peopies.

Waar die “edit” knoppie. Ek moet my vloekwoord hierbo regstel.

Ek sê nog allie pad. Moet hierdie een glasoog van my net uithaal van tyd tot tyd om n polish te gee dan is als weer reg.

53@ Die Blou Kuberruim Wandelaar:
    Jy was skaars hier die afgelope tyd, wat was fout… hehehe

Goeiste! GBS jy druk die kommentaar knoppie 20 duisend keer n jaar omtrent- laas jaar dink ek was jy nie eens by 10k nie.

Niks veel fout nie man GBS- wag nog om my e-pos debat met MkKyk voor te sit, lyk my dit gannie gebeur nie. Ag ek speel net ou Luke. Iemand moet n tog devil’s advocate speel een of ander tyd en die kant van Louw vat in n debat, of hoe?
    Ja, hierdie span is sterk tussen die vories. Ek hoop die Aussies het n paar mooi fisio girls want hulle gaan n hele paar keer moet verskyn op die veld Saterdag.

47@ grootblousmile:
    Geez, and isn’t Germiston a sh1thole lately, and Primrose for that matter.

I used to do camps at Grp 51 HQ in Primrose, next to the fire station, but when I drove past there on Sunday it looks like it’s been closed down, and a massive filthy squatter camp has sprung up over the road.

Why the F does everyone get so personal about the Bok side? I suppose everyone is a selector and knows better.

Personally I don’t think Keegan Daniels will ever make the grade at International Rugby, but if he gets selected we should be glad for him and wish him well, and the same for anyone, even Luke Watson.

Nobody selected would ever give less than their all, and (apart maybe from the LW incident) I don’t think the coaches / selectors would ever pick someone they don’t think will be up to the job.

I honestly believe that Ashley Johnson deserves a chance. Hopefully he’ll have a blinder and give Div some food for thought.

Now, anyone got an INSTANT remedy for a feeking HANGOVER of note?

One has to look at which players are available on tour… and considering this Snorrie chose some of the best available.

Which other pure fetcher other than Steggies is on tour… Brussow… but he is still recovering from injury… natural selection in my opinion. Jean Deysel is NO OPENSIDER, he is a BLINDSIDER by trade… and Snorrie has made it clear all along that’s why Danie Pakslae will be in the No 7 berth (The closest to Juan Smith he can select).

Jean Deysel on the bench is a good option, he has played only about 3 Super Rugby games this season, after that LOOOONG injury spell.. so he could come in as an ideal impact player.

Same situation with the locks… Muller & Flip is in because they are both better than the overrated Hargreaves…. the 3 regular prime Bokke locks are resting (Bakkies, Matfield & Bekker)

I would have played Bjorn on the left wing… but Mvovo is good on the left wing.

Lambie can feel a bit aggreaved that he is not at fullback… but what the hell. Mornê plays the 10-man game better than Lambie, that’s why he’s at No 10… and this weekend we need to do exactly that, play ten-man rugby.

Who do we have on tour as centers… Meisiekind, De Jongh and Adi Jacobs…. Snorrie chose the better 2 of the 3… simple!

Scrumdown wrote:

47@ grootblousmile:
    Why the F does everyone get so personal about the Bok side? I suppose everyone is a selector and knows better.
    Personally I don’t think

[Translate]

….Try jy nou sê jy weet beter as ek?! 😆

57@ Scrumdown:
    Fark me sideways… the last time I saw Germiston central, before this morning, was in 1976….

I thought Brakpan was an ugly little town.. till I saw Germies this morning… die kak drup sommer in emmers van die mure af!

My son, BonzaiGBS’s vehicle is at a proper mechanic there in Primrose… bought it a few months ago for the lightie. Oom Johnny is basically getting the mechanics and wiring and bits and pieces back to it’s former glory.

New Carb kit, waterpump, timing belt, 4 shocks, 2 front brake disks, Ferrodo disk pads, new CV rubbers, tie rod ends, new Front radiator fan thermostat & switch, new rear Brake drums and brake shoes and brake kits, new handbrake cable, one engine mounting… and a few other bits and bobs…

… en pa moet maar kak en betaal…

But the important part is, I want the car in a PROPER, PROPER mechanical condition.

Total 92 users including 0 member, 92 guests, 0 bot online