The latest Springbok soap opera has sparked a whole lot of conflict between the pundits of New Zealand and Australia against the South Africans.

At the centre of the storm is Springbok coach, Peter de Villiers.

He has, rested the ‘injured” core group of players that will defend the Rugby Wold Cup crown, chosen a weakened squad to compete in the away leg of the Tri-Nations, he has lied about what is going on in Rustenburg.

Any person, who is not as pig headed as our beloved coach, would be heading for the hills at this point in time.

My question is: Why is Peter de Villiers taking all the criticism about this?

His job is to defend the Rugby World Cup crown, and if resting the overplayed Boks is what it takes, then it is what he should be doing. It his job that is on the line here.

The blame for this mess should squarely be placed on Oregan Hoskins and the leadership at SA Rugby.

First of all, they appointed Peter de Villiers as the Springbok coach. He had zero experience at top level rugby [granted nor did Jake White].

In his initial job interviews he spoke about running rugby and playing what you see in front of you. He claimed that he could pick a team of previously disadvantaged players that would be able to compete against the best in the world.

Just look at the style of rugby that his Springboks are playing right now, boring 10 man rugby. What happened to his “vision”?

It is Hoskins and his team who agreed to the ridiculous Super Rugby format, comprising 15 sides, as well as the extended version of the Tri-Nations and the extra games on the End Of Year Tour. The fact that so many of our top players are either injured or simply exhausted is not Peter de Villiers’ fault, it is because SARU has been bullied by the Australians and influenced by extra games hopefully turning into extra money.

What Peter however is indeed responsible for is the sub-standard coaching and weak leadership that has resulted in the poor style of rugby being played and South African rugby becoming the laughing stock of the world.

He has been less than honest about the whole Os du Rand thing, has gone behind his [totally overrated assistants] backs to try and get them replaced and lied about the R&R in Rustenburg.

But he never appointed himself to this position.

Our anger should be directed at Hoskins and SA Rugby for firstly appointing him as coach and secondly for agreeing to expanding the Tri-Nations [remember that next year Argentina joins, so expect MORE rugby] and the Super 14 into the new 15-side Super Rugby competition.

59 Responses to My point of view on the latest rugby mess

Note to Myself:

I HAVE TO tell all the AUTHORS of Articles here not to use any abreviated names like 3N, Div, Snor, PdV, FdP, WO, PL etcettera in ARTICLES as such… there we ABSOLUTELY have to write the names out in full…

Comments is a totally different matter…. there everybody is welcome to use whichever abbreviations they deem fit.

The standard to be applied in ARTICLES must be comprable to what is written in the Newspapers and other Rugby News sites…. do they use abbreviations like FdP… no they don’t!

Let op in die klas, vrinne…. asseblief! Ek vra so mooi en vriendelik en duidelik!

O ja… and please use a thumbnail of a picture in the extreme left hand top corner as part of your Article to conform with the rest of the Articles on the Home Page, otherwise I am forced to alter and correct EVERY Article, and to be honest, that is such a schlepp….

Good Article though, Loskppie.

Believe when I say I’m gratefull that you guys make a contribution with Articles, it sure helps!

Shock & Horror.

How could such a learned and honourable man of such a decent profession as Mr Hoskens be accused of such indiscretions?

Surely the Author has him confused with someone else?

The name Andy Marinos comes to mind… he was the farker who negotiated the Super Rugby expansion as well as the extended Tri-Nations into a Four Nations format on behalf of SARU.

This same man was also at the front years ago of the shenannigans at WP when they threatened to stike before that one Super 12 semi, if I remember correctly.

4@ grootblousmile:
    The very same rather large BOX that played for Wales, as well as trying his hand at that bastardised game Rugby League in Aus.

With a pedigree like that we should all know what to expect!

Peter de Villiers – SNORISMS

Dan: It’s been a tough introduction for you Peter — a great win to finish, but a difficult run before
    that…
    Peter: It has been challenging Dan. When you walk through the shadow of the valley of death,
    sometimes it’s difficult to know which side your bread is buttered. But ultimately our strengths
    have allowed us to go the extra mile, and our weaknesses have not caught us short.
    Dan: You’ve faced a lot of criticism during your tenure as coach. How have you dealt with that?

Peter: I have always believed that people who live in glass houses should not throw rocks, as you
    can see through the walls if they are glass, so you know who is throwing the rocks. But you cannot
    shut the door after the horse has bolted — you must catch the horse, and take it to water, to see if
    it will drink. That is all you can do.
    Dan: I see… You’ve had a lot of faith in certain players, with Percy Montgomery reaching his
    hundred caps under you.
    Peter: I have always liked Percy. I said at the start, when I was still in Cape Town, that if I cannot
    bring Montgomery to Table Mountain, then I must take Table Mountain to Montgomery. Just as
    Michael Owen took goals to Newcastle, so Percy has hit the nail on the head for me. And he has
    wonderful hair.
    Dan: How important have your assistants been?
    Peter: Gary Gold also has wonderful hair. I always tell him he has a golden touch, because his
    surname is Gold, which always makes him laugh. Laughter is very good as medicine, especially if
    you do not have medical aid. Dick Muir doesn’t have such nice hair, and he gets upset when I make
    a joke with his name. But they are ivory towers of strength. Without them, I am like Samson after
    getting a haircut.
    Dan: How did you rate the All Black and Wallaby sides this year?
    Peter: I think you can try to turn water into wine, but sometimes that wine is corked, and then you
    have made a difference, but not the one you wanted. Then have you succeeded? That is the
    question for Australia. The All Blacks have made a good wine, but they must not drink too much of
    it, because sometimes the light at the end of the tunnel is a train, and if you get off track, your
    chickens will be counted before they have hatched, leaving your eggs in different baskets. That is
    what New Zealand must understand.
    Dan: There’s been talk of resting players for the end of year tour…
    Peter: It is a long walk to freedom, and also a long flight to London, so I must ask myself, where do
    I draw the line? And what do I draw it with? Also, which players most need to get duty-free
    shopping for Christmas? These are important questions; sometimes the answer lies therein.
    Dan: Will you be getting a break before the tour at the end of year?
    Peter: I will be spending some time away from myself, relaxing, and reading my book of quotes
    from George Bush, which I always find inspiring. I also like watching the hotel documentaries of Mr.
    Basil Fawlty, another great man. It is very important to have role models.

@ TonyM:
    Need one say more?

@ TonyM:
    Oh, and I also find Basil Fawlty somewhat inspiring, but not as much as Manuel!

6@ TonyM:
    Hellooooooooooooo Tony… how’s life been treating you lately?

@ TonyM:

Very funny indeed Mr M.

Maat, ek is technologically challenged en weet nie hoe om prenties by te voeg nie.

Loosehead ek is met jou. Die probleem is alles gebeur agter geslote deure.

Ek stem saam ons kan begin om van bo af die hele lot uit te k@k, maar op die einde van die dag, soek ons die administrasie moet hulle werk doen, PDV en sy trawante moet hulle werk na die beste van hulle vermoens doen, en dat die speers met trots en intensiteit die trui dra.

10@ biltongbek:
    Vrind.. dis MOERRRRRRRRRRRR MAKLIK… in die Add New Post venster, net bo waar jy die berig self skrywe (langs die woorde Upload/Insert) is daar ‘n reeks van 6 klein Icons, die heel eerste ene is om ‘n prentjie in te sit… click op hom, dit bring ‘n nuwe venstertjie na vore wat vra jy moet browse na ‘n plekkie op jou PC waar die fototjie lê… browse na die foto en selekteer dit en click op Upload… na so rukkie wys hy jou fototjie en sy opskrifte.. sit die regte naam in en ondertoe kies Left en onder dit Thumbnail en kliek op Insert…

So maklik soos val uit ‘n boom… sonder om vas te hou, geblinddoek, met vaseline aan jou hande en aan die takke, in die reen, terwyl die wind waai, in die middel van die nag, terwyl iemand jou heeltyd stamp, terwyl die boom kwaai geskud word…. so iets…. hehehe

Sounds like the reasons the Lions keep on dropping the ball in Super Rugby games!

our next coach and assistants should be from oversas
    cause
    we dont have the brain power here to bring the best out of the boks!!

12@ grootblousmile:
    It is’nt difficult to add pictures, is it?

Not even for a Lions Supporter who hails from Mud Island originally…..

I mean, if you can do it…. then so can EVERYBODY.

Hehehehe

PS! Why have you not phoned regarding the Ram issue?

13@ Ashley:
    Hey, there’s plenty of brain power here in SA….. they’re just not using me yet…..

gbs @ 15
    o bloody hell, my goeie ou vriendjie, hoe gaan ek dit nou vir jou sagkins stel …. uhm … geniet jy nog wat jy doen? ja?
    😥 nou hoekom wil jy van beroep verander? 😀

“What Peter however is indeed responsible for is the sub-standard coaching and weak leadership that has resulted in the poor style of rugby being played and South African rugby becoming the laughing stock of the world”

Other than the All Blacks and the disloyal South African supporters there is no one that can really laugh at his record.
    He beats Robbie Deans handsdown, year after year. They both started in 2008 and every year Deans came second.

We could make up an Excellent Rugby-Talk Coaching team….

Head Coach – GBS (Man-Manager par excellance)
    Forwards coach – Tight Head (understands the dark art of the forwards and the scrums)
    Backline coach – Morné Pismier (he always has the angles worked out and is very creative)
    Video Analist – McLook (need I say more)
    Media Manager – Asbakkie (he’ll be busy, busy, busy)
    Team Manager – TonyM (he has the experience and the nous)
    Physio – Blue Bird (players will be better in minutes)
    Telecoms Expert – SuperBees (hy kan goed draad trek… dis nou telefoondraad natuurlik)
    Baggage Manager – Loskoppie (he has lots of excess baggage)
    Kicking coach – rugbybal (mens het mos iemand nodig wat weet hoe om met ‘n bal te werk)
    Director of Rugby – Scrumdown (he’s always around and likes talking kak)
    Team Doctor – Puma (he has had any illness on the planet and regularly fixes his own knees – well one has to give a Shark something to do)
    Waterdraer – Pietman (freegin hell just hope he does not spike the water with something illegal)
    Assistant waterdraer – Sammajoor 4man (he’s good at organising things)
    Food and Beverage Manager – biltongbek (one does need some biltong on tour)

Ek is alweer die enigste ou wat hard moet werk :LOL:

gbs @ 18
    and as media manager, i’d approach the situation in nz as follows:
    1. ons is bokke … not “the boks” as you f*ckers keep on calling us
    2. wtf is it with all you guys “coming to africa” say SOUTH SOUTH SOUTH, f*ckers!!
    3. en enigeen v julle wat nie vir ons in afrikaans julle vrae kan vrae, kan in julle mo*r kruip … up yours, f*ckers!!!
    yeeeeeeeeeeeeehaaaaaaaaaaaa bring on that f*ckin test!! 😆

super @ 19
    nei ek kannie kla nie, ek gaan relax relax relax

18@ grootblousmile:
    And if you ask nicely I’ll arrange the social life!

14@ grootblousmile:
    Overworked, underpaid, (if at all), have sh1t clients who demand too much and an even sh1tter boss!

20@ Ashley:
    O flok… we’ll definately see some Ashley’isms with you talking to the Media…

Fark the Snor-isms… wait for the Asbakkie-isms…..

Vistaan djy, my bra!

Physio to the Bok’s…Wow GBS, when can I start?

Only one stipulation…..I must be allowed to prctice on Percy Montgomery!!! 😉

25@ Blue Bird:
    I thought you would like that one…. I always want people to enjoy what they do!

gbs @ 24
    nope
    that (#20) will be it … that f*ckers wont dare talk to me again!! 😀

Excess baggage? Are you referring to my emotionally flucked up life or my boep?

Sammajoor 4man, myself and a few of Sammajoor 4man’s friends met last night at Hooters in Douglasdale, Johannesburg.

It was a jolly occasion… and Bachus was very happy with all of us.

One of the friends is the head of Security Operations at a very posh Hotel Group near Rustenburg… where certain Rugby Players are “resting” under the watchful eye of DJ Disco Rassie…. interesting to hear how the Rugby Players were “resting”….. hehehe

The drive back at 01:00 in the morning was difficult….

Total 59 users including 0 member, 59 guests, 0 bot online