The Springboks have made four changes to their starting team to face the All Blacks in the Tri-Nations in Wellington on Saturday.

Uncapped lock Gerhard Mostert(photo left) replaces Flip van der Merwe (rib), Sharks flanker Jean Deysel comes in for a benched Ashley Johnson, centre Adi Jacobs is promoted from the bench for Wynand Olivier who drops to the reserves, and fullback Patrick Lambie replaces the injured Gio Aplon (back/shoulder).

It means the Springboks, who lost 39-20 to the Wallabies last weekend, will front with a hugely inexperienced team, with 11 of the run-on side having fewer than 10 caps.

15 Patrick Lambie, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Adi Jacobs, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Gerhard Mostert, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 John Smit (C), 1 Dean Greyling.

Reserves:

16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Ryan Kankowski, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Wynand Olivier, 22 Odwa Ndungane.

25 Responses to Springboks have made four changes

With this team Peter can learn something.
    Halfbacks get another chance, maybe they can find each other after another weeks training. They also have a stronger no 8, although a bit “new” to that position this year.

no 8 , Danie played there for SA in 2007 WC Final, a good chance for Peter to see if it can work again.

Pat Lambie can with a good showing put the Frans Steyn issue to rest.

Centre – not much can be learned here but if the half back pairing find each other they might flourish, their defense will be properly tested thats for sure.

Front row , this is your chance to redeem yourself. With a Shark lock pairing behind them it might be a better combination, 3 Sharks and 2 Bulls, it might work. No better test imaginable against the All Black tight 5.

Deon Stegman might be seen this time if the other 2 loose forwards do a bit more cleanouts.

Bench might be more usefull if used at the right time.

I just like the fact that Peter did not just go mad and play every other guy for the sake of using everyone. It seems he will learn something out of this team.

tenminste kan adi pass

Wouldve put Lambie at 10 and Odwa at 15. Also Ash at flank and Slegmann on splinters

@ Pam Anderson:
    But the coach wanted them right there were he picked them :GRIN:
    What would you gain with Odwa at 15, there is already 2 backups in that position waiting in SA, PdeV’s first choice Zane and Frans.

I don’t see the point of putting ball players like Jacobs and Lambie into the backline with Steyn at 10. He stands way to deep ion the pocket and kicks every ball away. They will not see any ball in any case.

And Jacobs can’t defend.

Lets wait and see, once upon a time Steyn was the attacking type and Derek Hougaart the kicker. Give the guy a chance, would you risk precious Lambie against the All Blacks with the Springbok B team?

Exactly loosehead. That’s why I would put Odwa at 15 ‘cos Stain is no 15 and I certainly don’t want him at 10. Good to know the real coach and team are in Rustenburg 😉

And once upon a time there was a Princess that kissed a frog………………

I would play Lambie at 10. Steyn is no longer good enough.

Loosehead, I know Steyn was not good last Saturday but really, first of all the frontrows and loosies were pathetic, Ruan was abominal, he actually had no chance on Saturday, count how many hopsital passes he got. that being said his defence was abysmal!!!!

aaag wel i hope he regains his form and become one of our greatest Boks. If not i will accept him back at the Bulls where he and WO can win for us. We talk a lot around the bush, the one day we all agree DM killed our backline the next we blame the players.

We are more confussed than any of the Bok coaches.

And to think that we do it for free, while DM gets paid huge money for being confused.

I really cant believe DM is still there. This guys team only scores tries when the players come fresh from their provincial coaches, when he is finnished with them the poor provincial coaches must teach them all over.

@ Tripples:
    Don’t forget that this is the same Steyn who put 31 points past the All Blacks in 2009
    1 try, 1 conversion, 8 penalties

He played with these guys , how many was missing last Saturday.
    Loose-head Prop Tendai Mtawarira
    Hooker Bismarck du Plessis Sharks
    Tight-head Prop (C) John Smit Sharks
    Lock Bakkies Botha Blue Bulls
    Lock Victor Matfield Blue Bulls
    Flank Heinrich Brüssow Cheetahs
    Flank Juan Smith Cheetahs
    Eighthman Pierre Spies Blue Bulls
    Scrumhalf Fourie du Preez Blue Bulls
    Flyhalf Morné Steyn Blue Bulls 1 try, 1 conversion, 8 penalties
    Left Wing Bryan Habana Blue Bulls
    Inside Centre Jean de Villiers WP
    Outside Centre Jaque Fourie Lions
    Right Wing JP Pietersen Sharks
    Full Back Francois Steyn Sharks
    Reserve Danie Rossouw Blue Bulls
    Reserve Adrian Jacobs Sharks
    Reserve Jannie du Plessis Sharks
    Reserve Andries Bekker WP
    Reserve Wynand Olivier Blue Bulls
    Reserve Enrico Januarie WP
    Reserve Chilliboy Ralepelle Blue Bulls

13@ superBul:
    1 out of 14 in the starting line up. That’s better than Dick’s win ration with the Lions in 2010 S14!

On this day in 1623 the modern toilet was invented in Ireland.

3 years later an Englishman put a hole in the top of it and a place to sit!

Look at what has happened to Habana, he has gone from being the best wing in the world to a has been. Both for the Boks and WP.

From the “History of Rugby Union” on Wikipedia:

King Edward II was so troubled by the unruliness of football in London that on April 13, 1314 he issued a proclamation banning it:

“Forasmuch as there is great noise in the city caused by hustling over large balls from which many evils may arise which God forbid; we command and forbid, on behalf of the King, on pain of imprisonment, such game to be used in the city in the future.”

In 1531, Sir Thomas Elyot wrote that English “Footeballe is nothinge but beastlie furie and extreme violence”.

So WTF has changed, except that now you can’t get locked up just for playing?

There is a lot of different opinions about these selections.

A few questions.

Do you think the front row can and will turn it around ina space of a week? The All Black front row looks very, very strong.

Do you not think we lack physicality between our locks? They seem a bt lightweight to me.

Do you honestly think the trio of loose forwards are going to compete against Thompson, Kaino and McCaw?

Is there any chance that Ruan and Morne who both have poor form and might again be under pressure from the All Black forwards and have not played together can control anything?

That center pairing of ours are on a hiding to nothing, no question there.

Our back three will have to make up for all the mistakes up front, they might recieve little ball from the back line, will have to chase those bloody kicks and cross defend their @rses of.

Do you think the front row can and will turn it around ina space of a week? The All Black front row looks very, very strong.
    No , can the guys at home , i doubt. But i think this is not this players fault it is our systems at home Do you not think we lack physicality between our locks? They seem a bt lightweight to me.
    Agree
    Do you honestly think the trio of loose forwards are going to compete against Thompson, Kaino and McCaw?
    Yes maybe , wont put money on it
    Is there any chance that Ruan and Morne who both have poor form and might again be under pressure from the All Black forwards and have not played together can control anything?
    Maybe not, but a 50% improvement will make this whole exercise worth it
    That center pairing of ours are on a hiding to nothing, no question there.
    Agree, but our top 2 at home are in the same predicament
    Our back three will have to make up for all the mistakes up front, they might recieve little ball from the back line, will have to chase those bloody kicks and cross defend their @rses of.
    Yes

——————————————————————————–

So you then agree we are in a world of hurt come sunday?

Does this not pi$$ you off severely?

Not too bad a side, considering who’s on tour….

… But the Bokke are going to get klapped silly!

I would also have used Lambie at No 10, Morné has been average recently and dismal last weekend.

So, it would have been Odwa at No 15 and Lambie at No 10, with Morné moving to the bench.

Heaven help us with Barney and Hargreaves starting…. we are going to kak sooooooooooooo badly in the scrums. I would have used Danie Rossouw at No 5 lock in place of Hargreaves, even though old Pakslae is actually a No 4 type lock…. anything is better than Hargreaves, he is a softy! I would have persisted with Ashley Johnson at No 8.

Deysel deserves his place in the side at No 7, that’s for sure.

Ruan Pienaar is once again going to give Morné shitty service from scrummie and cock up on a number of occasions…. I bloody well thought Hougie was on tour as well, is’nt he? If he is, then why has he not played or even been on the bench?

Does anyone have a clue which CC games SS is showing this weekend?

Trying to find out on their website is like trying to manouver around central Milan on a Friday afternoon!

23@ Scrumdown:
    At the SuperSport.com website, go to TV in the headings at the top, you’ll easily find it there.

24@ grootblousmile:
    Thanks. Found it in the end.

Total 85 users including 0 member, 85 guests, 0 bot online