Show me one unbiased blogger, author, journalist or rugby supporter and I will show you my sister. Basically because she cares so little for the game or its players that she doesn’t even know about the All Blacks’, the Bulls’ or the Stormers’ existence. In her case then, it rarely aids in the cause, seeing as you can’t extract any useful information or opinion from her, other than… I don’t really think that yellow sign on his chest really matches the rest of the outfit, in fact the stripes look more like bars, and everyone knows VERTICAL stripes are slimming, yada yada yada yada….

So, commentary is going to be biased…even if it is retro biased as in the case with Pissant Morne, where he will be 500% more judgmental against his own team than against another.

I for one, am a point in case, no matter how hard I try forcing myself, inducing myself with all kinds of stimuli, least of which is alcohol, I cannot bring myself to being positive about either the Bulls or the Sharks, or their teams’ respective players. I may compliment them now and then, but truth be told, those compliments are hollow, because my deepest hearts’ desire, is making all the Stormers Bokke.

Not that I don’t support the Bokke, I support them irrespective of their composition, and my biased-ness if one may call it that, then shifts on to the English, the All Blacks or the Wallabies, as does 90% of SA Supporters. I mean we all accuse McCaw of cheating, the Aussies can’t buy a scrum and the English are as refreshing as a two-day old cup of Earl Grey Tea.

Yet, it’s not true is it? McCaw is good, excellent in fact, the Aussies whip us regularly, and currently, the English are probably the most exciting Northern Hemisphere team, but we will never admit to it, not while wearing our Green and Gold Glasses.

But back to Superrugby…

Bantering about rugby-related, and even not so much rugby-related topics, is why we are all here, we love it. Trying to force our opinions on one-another, insulting another team, defending your own, all in the spirit of blogger-hood. Some things will never change, no matter how good, the Stormers will always be seen as pansies, the Bulls as stupid, the Lions as useless, the Cheetahs as underachievers and the Sharks as arrogant pricks.

A Bull will never admit to the fact that Bakkies Botha is only a thug that has outlived his usefulness, a Shark won’t be convinced that Ryan Kankowski is actually a fairy that disappears in a tight encounter, and no-one can tell a Stormer that Brok Harris is in actual fact only a human sized speedbump with the hands of a toddler, even though all three assessments are true.

So, my reason for writing this? None really, because rugby won’t be rugby if there isn’t some degree of fighting in the stands, and then half-way through, one of the contestants jumping onto moral high-ground, proclaiming to be unbiased.

So let’s laugh together, fight together and let’s all remain exactly as 100% unbiased as we obviously are, and get our bloody teams through this Superrugby charade. GO STORMERS!!!!

7 Responses to The Saint being Unbiased…really…

Without having any personal interest in the matter whatsoever, and as such being completely unbiased, I would just like to remind all Bulls supporters that I know what you guys feel like…I have had that exact same feeling for a couple of years now…it sucks to be useless…

@ The Saint:
    Try sitting in my seat.

The Lions haven’t had a really good side since they won the World Cup!

After supporting the Lions since childhood, I got to a point about 3 years ago where I simply just couldn’t support the Lions anymore. Rugby and supporting a team is like faith. You hope for your fait to be strong enough to carry you through for the rest of your life.

Unfortunately seeing is believing, and Seeing the Lions lose week in and week out has brought me to a point in my life where getting angry and upset and spoiling one weekend after another because my team keeps on losing just couldn’t go on.

But because I am not a ship jumper, I promised myself I would not support any other team, I would support all SA teams.

It is true what Saint says, old habits die hard and ragging teams for being either pansies, sissies, stupid or even just having zebra stripes on their jerseys is difficult to get away from.

The impoortant thing about being unbiased is to rag all teams, criticise all players not performing and keeping emotions out of it.

I believe I have succeeded in these aspects over the last few years, and my moods are significantly better on weekends because of it.

I still get very excited when I see a great game of rugby, not supporting the Lions have not taken away my passion for rugby, but I am a much friendlier guy because of it.

So whilst I may still be biased as a Springbok supporter, being unbiased during our domestic competitions has taught me to at least be fair when it comes to assessing SA rugby players and who should be in a green and gold jersey and who shouldn’t.

Long live rugby!

Haha! Good one Saint! I also have a deep rooted dislike for the Bulls and Sharks, but also England, NZ and Aus, and Warren Gatland.

Go Province!

100% correct Saint, i am also a true Stormers supporter and love to dislike the Bulls and Sharks it just makes a braai on a saturday afternoon that much more fun when you’re with your mates supporting the respective teams.

1: Toe maar Saint, julle is nie so useless hierdie jaar soos julle trofeekas die afgelope 10 jaar nie !

My span lyk nie goed hierdie jaar nie, en as hul so voort sukkel gaan hul in die onderste deel van die log eindig. Ons bulle is passievolle ondersteuners, maar ons is nie blind as ons span swak speel nie.

Maar onthou, ons het dit al gedoen, 3 keer, kom ons kyk wat die panties van die Kaap kan doen ?

saint
    this might just be the best piece you’ve ever written … in my unbiased opinion, that is!! 😀

Total 14 users including 0 member, 14 guests, 0 bot online