Waratahs (10) 28 / Rebels (6) 9 (Final Score)

The Waratahs hosted the Melbourne Rebels at Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney at 11:40 SA Time. This was the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1, SHD & M-Net on TV in SA.

The Waratahs made hard work of winning this one but eventually went some distance with the score.

Waratahs: 2 Conversions & 3 Penalties Kurtley Beale, 1 Try Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Try Dave Dennis, 1 Try Dean Mumm

Rebels: 3 Penalties Julian Huxley

Waratahs: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Ryan Cross, 12 Tom Carter, 11  Sosene Anesi, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Ben Mowen, 7 Pat McCutcheon, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Sitaleki Timani, 4 Dean Mumm (captain), 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements: 16 John Ulugia, 17 Al Baxter, 18 Kane Douglas, 19 Chris Alcock, 20 Brendan McKibbin, 21 Daniel Halangahu, 22 Tom Kingston.

Melbourne Rebels: 15 Julian Huxley, 14 Lachlan Mitchell, 13 Mark Gerrard, 12 Stirling Mortlock (captain), 11 Peter Betham, 10 James Hilgendorf, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve, 7 Michael Lipman, 6 Jarrod Saffy, 5 Hugh Pyle, 4 Alister Campbell, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Ged Robinson, 1 Rodney Blake.
Replacements: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Laurie Weeks, 18 Hoani Macdonald, 19 Tim Davidson, 20 Richard Kingi, 21 Cooper Vuna, 22 Danny Cipriani.

Referee: Jonathan Kaplan
Assistant referees: Stuart Dickinson, James Leckie
TMO: Matt  Goddard

76 Responses to Super Rugby: Waratahs vs Melbourne Rebels – Game Thread

21@ The_Young_Turk:
    The Bulls MUST moerrrr every team from hereon in…. even the Sharks and Stormers!

It’s more important for SA’s World Cup hopes that the Bulls Bokke regain form and confidence than spoiling or not spoiling Super Rugby chances.

A team who wants to win the Super Rugby Competition needs to deserve it! So a Sharks or Stormers team who want the cup, mus’nt rely on the Bulls going soft on them…

30@ The_Young_Turk:
    Nothing on the Internet is secret or safe…. hahaha

The moment the Bulls are finally out of contention i will endorse another SA teams endeavor , maybe not :GRIN: I still sounds nice to be known as the only successful SA team :LOL:

young turk @ 24
    well if you put it like that
    then
    yes, i say so … but not when says around though, lol

For example as far as the result here is concerned it would be better for the Bulls if the Tahs lost even tho it would mean the Rebs move above them because the bulls still have to play and would go ahead if they win their next game. They would thus narrow the gap to get to the play offs.
    Should they lose tho, there would be no use as a saffa to hope for them to suddenly play well against the saffa teams. This doesn’t mean that i am saying they should drop the game, just that I hope they then continue playing kuk against the top saffa teams.

This Rebel team is a nuisance for the other Aussie teams, already beaten the Brumbies and the Force and so far they are right in this game.

37@ The_Young_Turk:
    Is playing kak against SA top teams ANY good for World Cup form?

Not on your life it is’nt!

Dream on , dream on. The Bulls will try their utmost to restore pride.

Understand your point. I suppose the difference between us is that I feel the Bulls last chance was last week and that they are now realistically out of contention. You still have hopes…. Quite understandable and admirable as a fervent supporter. I am just more focussed on the World cup. It’s a matter of different priorities – like GBS having to choose between his wife or rugby 🙂

I loved Jonathans reply there

Penalty Rebels… kickable… close game this

I am worried about your view on the RWC too, did you write of the heart of the Springbok team also? Rather hope that all those Bulls peak AT THE RIGHT TIME. The players that are red hot NOW will struggle to stay red hot until the WC

I understand your point too. You feel that the Bulls Boks are going to the world cup in any case and you hope they eventually find form. The difference is I think they are already a lost cause and the sooner we realise it, hopefully the sooner we can make changes and move on.
    At the end of the day we all hope for the best for this beautiful game that we are so passionate about and that our teams and our favourite players are the best at it.

47@ The_Young_Turk:
    Snorrie will select a large number of Bulls, it’s a given… they need to be in top form and hungry for more

Eish Turkey i would always try and take match hardened , experienced in form players to a World Cup. There is nothing more valuable in SA rugby than our experience.

If I was Snorrie I would NOT take Chiliboy, Spies, Bakkies or Wynand Olivier to the World Cup… but Victor, Danie Pakslae, Flip vd Merwe, Fourie du Preez, Morné Steyn, Hougie and Bjorn Basson need to be razor-sharp soon!

This whole week i asked someone to tell why do they rate Duanne so HIGH, i really dont see his exceptional value. Pierre played a bit wider last week and had a few great runs. Dont write him off. Hy is die man in die saal.

At the same token, I would not take Habana to the World Cup…. so he’s fair game when the Bulls or any other team plays the Stormers.

There are able replacements for Habana… Basson and Mvovo

Moet se hierdie Rebel ondersteuners moet omtrent soos Bul ondersteuners voel. Baie goeie kanse vandag hier verspeel.

Nothing in life lasts for ever (as gbs’s wife will attest :-)) especially in sport. It’s just a question of WHEN not IF a player is past it. It happens to everyone, no matter how great they are. I am not writing off everyone, I am just saying that we have to look at blooding some new players and not relying on the same old stars and expecting them to do overcome nature and go on for ever. We need a better blend of old and new and we need the older players to prove they are still hungry enough and not just hope.

52@ superBul:
    Pierre is SUPER OFF-FORM the whole season… I would play Alberts at No 8!

Try Dave Dennis for the Tahs

Now I need a lone Waratahs penalty to be spot on on Bru for this game.

I think the old players need to know that they are not guaranteed a place, so that those that don’t have the hunger any more will drop out and those that still really want it will be more motivated. Life is about incentives…

Total 41 users including 0 member, 41 guests, 0 bot online