The Springbok Team for the game against Wales has been announced.

The team shows only ONE run-on change, with Frans Steyn replacing Zane Kirchner at Outside Center.

Zane Kirchner is relegated to the bench in place of Adi Jacobs, who falls out of the squad.

Among the Replacements for the game, the loose forward replacement for the game will only be announced later in the week.

The Team is:
15. Gio Aplon
14. Bjorn Basson
13. Frans Steyn
12. Jean de Villiers
11. Bryan Habana
10. Morné Steyn
9. Ruan Pienaar
8. Pierre Spies
7. Juan Smith
6. Deon Stegmann
5. Victor Matfield (Captain)
4. Bakkies Botha
3. Jannie du Plessis
2. Bismarck du Plessis
1. Tendai (Beast) Mtawarira

Replacements:
16. Chiliboy Ralepelle
17. CJ van der Linde
18. Flip van der Merwe
19. TO BE ANNOUNCED LATER (presumably either Willem Alberts or Keegan Daniel)
20. Francois Hougaard
21. Patrick Lambie
22. Zane Kirchner

119 Responses to Springbok Team for Wales game

Slight improvement…. well large actually…

2 Great things achieved…. Adi Jacobs falls out of the squad AND 2 actual centers next to one another.

The player who I really feel for is Lwazi Mvovo, he’s been knocking sooooo hard on the door. Habana can count his lucky stars that he is still in the team.

I would not have kept Gio at fullback….. rather on the right wing, but others would differ I suppose.

No big surprise.

@ grootblousmile:2 Agree gbs, Think Mvovo should get a chance at some stage. Thought maybe he would have this Saturday.

3@ Puma:
    Maybe for the Scotland Test, traditionally the weakest of the 4 Home Unions.

@ grootblousmile:4 – Gbs, Yip I think that is where all the ones that have not had a chance will get it. During the Scotland test. Hope we don’t take em for granted though. Always remember 2002 and had 4 Scottish visitors here at the time. I told them we were going to thrash Scotland. Scotland beat us by 20 I think that day. I have never ever lived that one down I tell you….hehehehehe.

this is a bit off the topic, but here goes

from news24
    Sydney – Disgraced Canberra Raiders centre Joel Monaghan has quit the Australian National Rugby League club after he admitted simulating a sex act with a dog in a drunken prank, club officials said on Tuesday.

Monaghan’s NRL future has been in doubt after lewd pictures of him with a teammate’s dog surfaced on the Internet

😆 as obelix would say … (tap tap) these romans (or is it australians?) are crazy!!! 😆

@ grootblousmile:4 – I would have had Mvovo this week instead of Basson. Hardly noticed Basson on the field on Saturday. Then again you can’t judge a player on one game, so suppose he needs another chance.

6@ Ashley:
    Saw that on Sport24…. puts a totally new perspective on the principle of “Doggy Style”…. hehehe

Freegin drunkard…. damn luckily I’ve never been THAT drunk!

7@ Puma:
    I would have had Bjorn on left wing, Habana falling out the 22, Mvovo in on the bench and Gio at 14, Zane or Lambie at 15….

5 @ Puma:
    Yip Puma I was there that day at Murrayfield and it was horrible, a real Strauli special, can’t and don’t want to remember the score but Boks weren’t beaten by twenty, I think it may have been 21-6, I wasn’t disapointed at who had won or lost but at what a poor game of rugby it was. Must have been great for your Scots mates to give you a hard time 🙂

@ Bullscot:10 – I just remember 20 something and yes remember we got 6. I felt like a idiot really…..hahahaha. Wont shout my mouth off again ever. Had 4 of them here and you know their sharp humour. They to this day don’t let me live it down…. LOL.

10@ Bullscot:
    Fark, let’s just get past Wales first….

The Bulls this year and the previous years had a rigid routine, never looking beyond the next game… any Media Conference re-inforced that…. “we are only looking at one game at a time”, which reflects on a focus and determination.

The Bokke must make bloody sure they do not underestimate any of the Home Unions…

Currently it is Ireland down, Wales to face….. no further than that.

gbs @ 8
    nou moet jy oppas bru
    daai gedagte gaan nou iewers in jou onderbewussyn lê tot jy poepdronk is, hehehehe

@ grootblousmile:9 – gbs, Yes that could have been better. Move Basson over to 11 and let Mvovo play 14. Though all three, Habs, Mvovo and Basson are a 11. Still would like to see how Mvovo can play.

For this Saturday Maybe would have had Zane at FB. Only cause Zane has played FB most of the time. Even Lambie would do well at FB and he is small but really brilliant under the high ball. Think Lambie is there to cover Fh though.

Rain the since about 12pm here in Umhlanga. Looks like it will be on the whole day. Still very warm though.

gbs @ 12
    well said

12 @ grootblousmile:
    Nah Wales will be no problem GBS. I’m sure the players and coaches will say they are focussing on one game at a time and quite rightly so, but as I fan I can look further ahead. So I think the Boks are going to do the grand slam this time, but after 4 hard tests in a row, especially some sore bodies after the last game, I think may slip up against the Baabaas. Now if I was a betting man what would the odds have been this time last week of the Boks doing the Grand Slam? I’m as sure of this as I was of Scotland beating Aus last year, so maybe I should have had a wee flutter but too late now.

13@ Ashley:
    Neewat broer, ek raak net happier wanneer ek gedrink is, ek boks nie en ek raak nie spulser as gewoonlik nie…. hehehe

@ Bullscot:17 – Think Wales will be tough to beat, but tell you what after seeing the ABs/England game the English played far better than I thought they would. They no easy beats, we will have our hands full against them I think.

gbs @ 18
    ek raak oek happier,
    ek boks oekie
    maar ek het nogal ñ probleem met daai 3de ene … maar nee, ek en my aus vriend sil nou nie tot oppie selle level daal nie, lol

17@ Bullscot:
    The Welsch forwards are a tougher propsition than the Irish were…. did you see how they dismantled the Aussies up front?

Having said that, there is balance in the Bokke forwards.

I’m still hesitant regarding the Grand Slam though….

Yes times have changed the home nations are no longer the easy beats they were 10 or 20 years ago. Didn’t see the ABs v England but England must have done quite well in the 2nd half, or were the might ABs just in cruising mode by then? Have not seen much of the english rugby this year but it seems as if there are a few strong young ones coming through and I guess Johnson must eventually start getting things going after loads of attempts.

22@ Bullscot:
    England forwards surprised me…. they were very good.

The difference lay in the All Blacks ability to score out wide… and their general continuity in play.

@ Bullscot:22 – ABs were always in control and I knew they would win. Just that England really played far, far better than I thought they would.

@ grootblousmile:gbs, This game tonight with Oz, is there a bru pick for that? Cause just can’t get into do my bru picks.

25@ Puma:
    Don’t think so Ouma Puma… will quickly see if I can get in.

Did you see it is not broadcast on TV?

They are showing Connaught vs Samoa though, tonight

@ grootblousmile:26 – Well hope so cause I can’t get onto bru for some reason.

Pity would have watched if it was the Oz game. Not too interested watching Samoa and Connaught.

@ grootblousmile:26 – gbs…hehehehe. Wie is jou Ouma?????????? LOL.

25@ Puma:
    Tonight’s game there’s no pick for… only picks for the Tests…

Fark, I just realised I have a problem this Saturday…. it’s the 13th and my Sister in law has her 50th birthday party…. grrrrrrrrrr.

I believe I would be able to watch the Bokke game though… but nothing after that.

Flok!

28@ Puma:
    You…. Ouma Puma….. hehehe

Total 53 users including 0 member, 53 guests, 0 bot online