Ireland hosts the Springboks at Aviva Stadium, Landsdowne Road, Dublin at 19:30 SA Time.

What is in stock for the embattled Springboks, from the lands up North?

I am apprehensive about this game, like I have not been in a long time, including how I felt during the disasterous Tri-Nations of 2010.

The Springboks seem to be a mish-mash of frontliners and young untested talent, between absolute quality and some shameful selections and we could expect a stutter or three from players who are not used to playing next to each other, players playing out of position and lack of proper training time and bad coaching.

Hell, that sounds ominous and a recipy for failure, but we are standing behind and bargaining on traditional Springbok resiliance, grit and determination.

A good tight 5 combination, with players who we all would go to war with is supplemented by a rookie at openside flank, a great blindsider and an off-beat No 8.

In the backline the selections were strange if not shocking, with Ruan Pienaar suddenly slotting in next to Morné Steyn and thus shunning the form of Francois Hougaard, we have one half-injured Inside centre and at Outside Centre we have a fullback. On the right wing we have a left wing, on the left wing we have a superstar whose star seemed to be burnt out in the Tri-Nations.. and at fullback we have a right wing. Then we have a backline coach who’s had the worst possible run coaching a Super Rugby Team in history.

Ireland on the other hand, has beaten us the last three times, they have possibly the best center combination in world rugby in Brian O’Driscoll and Gordon D’Arcy, and a forwards pack coached by one of our own, Gert Smal.

The Irish forwards will be a hand full at all set pieces, scrums, lineouts and they have an abrasive backrow containing Jamie Heaslip, David Wallace and Stephen Ferris.

OK, prediction time… I hate doing this but I cannot logically see a Springbok win and hope to hell I’m wrong in predicting an Irish win…. Ireland by 15.

Recent results:
2009: Ireland won 15-10 at Croke Park, Dublin
2006: Ireland won 32-15 at Lansdowne Road
2004: Ireland won 17-12 at Lansdowne Road
2004: South Africa won 26-17 at Newlands
2004: South Africa won 31-17 at Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
2000: South Africa won 28-18 at Lansdowne Road
1998: South Africa won 27-13 at Lansdowne Road
1998: South Africa won 33-0 at  Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
1998: South Africa won 37-13  at Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein

Ireland: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Brian O’Driscoll (captain), 12 Gordon D’Arcy, 11 Luke Fitzgerald, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Eoin Reddan, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 David Wallace, 6 Stephen Ferris, 5 Mick O’Driscoll, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 Tony Buckley, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy.
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Tom Court, 18 Donncha Ryan, 19 Denis Leamy, 20 Peter Stringer, 21 Ronan O’Gara, 22 Keith Earls.

South Africa: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 Zane Kirchner, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 François Hougaard, 21 Adi Jacobs, 22 Patrick Lambie.

Date: Saturday, 6 November 2010
Kick-off: 19.30 SA Time (GMT 17.30)
Venue: Aviva Stadium, Lansdowne Road, Dublin
Expected weather:  Scattered clouds with a 20 percent chance of rain, a high of 9°C and a northwester of 28 km/h. The temperature is set to drop to 2°C,  -2°C with windchill.
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand), Keith Brown (New Zealand)
TMO: Hugh Watkins (Wales)

137 Responses to Preview: Ireland vs Springboks

4 needed from the last over

good lord if you understand my previous post you are good, I LOVE YOU ALL will talk tomorrow

Parnell to take the last over…

Dot ball to start.. great

1 run, 3 needed from 4 balls

Grootblou smile jy darem nog, o ja seker al die pad bank toe. :LOL:

Scores level….

2 balls left

Come on, take a wicket!

Pakistan win…. with 1 ball to go

Parnell to Zulqarnain Haider, 1 run, all over, Pakistan have sealed a thrilling win, short and he pulls it for a single behind square

Greame Smith cost us the win with his dropped catch… Dale steyn too, he was expensive

Haider sees his team through but it was a comedy of errors from both teams at the death. Pakistan held their nerve. There was that nice little cameo from Wahab Riaz, that dropped catch from Smith and that missed run-out in the final over by Parnell right after he had effected one. A series of incidents decisively turning the game Pakistan’s way. They have drawn the series level at 2-2, and the teams face off again on November 8 in the finale. It’s been a riveting series thus far and may the final live up to what we’ve seen thus far. Hang on for a bit, though. We’ll get you the details from the presentation.

G’day superbul. Not a pretty sight, the African naked rain dance???

In Sydney, we’ve had over 50ml since 1 November – very wet month and more to come.

My predictions for tonight’s games:
    Boks to beat Ireland by 5;
    All Blacks to beat England by 10;
    Wallabies to beat Wales by 1 (I don’t care what the score, as long as we win!!)

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    Hahaaha , lucky it was pitch dark , lights was out , and after the beers i had enough guts, the Rugby, I know one thing and that is that Victor will give it a good go, i just hope he can lead this disjointed team to something memorable.

snorman is n patetiese afrigter,hy en sy 2 maatjies muir en gold laat strauli,viljoen soos great afrigters lyk.as hy nie hulp by experts kry soos white vir jones gekry het,gaan die bokke nie nie die world cup wen nie.

I have confidence in big Vic’s leadership qualities mate. This is going to be a tough match, the Irish always are, but, come the full-time whistle, I expect the boks to be in the lead.

We can be united against the NH teams this weekend. Let’s see our SH style of rugby blitzkreig the northerners!!!

Go the boks!!!

wat was daai botteradvertensie in die apartheid dae? die een waar die ou sy hoed eet na hy botter daar aangesmeer het?
    nou jy beter vir jou van daai botter koop!!

goooooooooooooooooooo bokke!!

was vir gbs @ 1
    en sommer vir al die ander negatiewe bliksems
    btw hoe sou julle spanne gelyk het
    in aggenome al die beserings?

@ Ashley:
    Howzit Ashley? The boks are going to have to grind out a win tonight against the Irish. The forwards will need to sit the Irish on their rear ends and bok power will win out on the day.

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:51 – Howzit OldG, How you doing? Hope well.

I am supporting all SH teams for their tours. So Go Wallaies/All Blacks/Boks. Let us get em..hehe.

Think your Wallabies will do well today OldG also the ABs have no problem. It is the Boks that could lose. JdV not playing his best and we have Zane with him at centre. Not so confident about that. Just have to hope and see.

Our cricket was hopeless last night. Steyn and Parnell were both just far too expensive with their bowling. That is what mostly cost us that win and of course the dropped catch by Smith.

Now for the last game on Monday. Should be exciting. But if we bowl like that we wont have much of a chance.

old griquas @ 51
    fine thanks, griquas
    would feel excellent the day you anounce that you shun the wallas for the boks
    glad to see you at least are backing the boks for a win this afternoon!!

piet @ 47
    jake is ñ ekspert???????
    since when??
    o, and by the way
    … hands up anyone who predicted we would win the wc this far out under jw’s coaching!!!!
    anyone?
    no hands?
    well, i thought so!!
    since eddie joined him???

puma @ 52
    well at least o’drol doesnt have jamie roberts at inside centre … if he had, then (and only then) i wouldve worried!!!
    gooooooooooooooo bokke!!

@ Ashley:55 – PdV should have played Habs at outside centre. Now that he has Zane back he should have left him at FB and played Aplon at 14. Think that would have been a better combo.

Anyhow that is our team and I support them, I can moan all I want, but I will always support our Boks.

GO Bokke.

Have Boks by 5

for those who dont know as much about rugby as i do (and thats almost everyone!!)
    jamie roberts play for wales, lol
    but
    he and o’drol was the centre pairing against us for the british and oirish pussycats 2009

Also have Wallabies by 12 and ABs by 10 on bru. Though think I should have had ABs by 18. Wallabies and ABs will win not too sure about our Boks though. Just keeping my fingers crossed and my hand over my heart. Just hope they don’t give me a ulcer with it going down to the wire……hehehe.

@ Ashley:57 – Ash 😆

pums @ 56
    maybe … but habs had a go there under jw
    and
    wasnt very successful!!
    anyway, we’re gonna rape them on the wings!! just watch it!!!
    o, and its age restricted … so keep your children away from the tv!!

Total 28 users including 0 member, 28 guests, 0 bot online