Tendai ‘Beast” Mtawarira is set to stay at the Tank, Even though huge money was thrown his way it seems his heart won the battle.

Article thanks to RobDylan of Sharksworld.

Sharksworld managed to catch up with former Natal and Springbok centre Jeremy Thompson this evening. The subject of the discussion was, of course, Tendai Mtawarira, with whom Thompson shares a special relationship as the player’s mentor.

One gets the feeling that there is a lot of talk doing the rounds and while polite and friendly, I’m pretty sure Thompson must have fielded umpteen similar calls today. The fact is, when dealing with a player as hot as Beast is, there’s bound to be plenty of speculation about big-money transfers. While we in South Africa are getting our panties in a twist about a supposed move to the Lions, others are touting a move to Biarritz as a fete accompli – according to Thompson, just another made up story in the endless round of baseless rumours.

“Beast is a Shark,” Thompson tells me. “He is contracted to the Sharks, they have helped him become what he is and I don’t see him leaving here for a long time to come. That’s all I’m prepared to say on the matter”.

Good enough for me, Jeremy!

63 Responses to Beast to stay a Shark

so the lions lose another one , thats 7 top sharks players they tried to get 🙂 and they got zero 😆

@ sharky_forever:
    If i comment on this it will be the old old story of sitting in glass houses throwing stones.

BUT

We must get a contract system that allows our best to PLAY.

Look at poor JLP he left the Bulls to get game time at 10, hahaha where is he now 4th on the list???

@ sharky_forever:1 – Good news Sharky. Was hoping Beast would stay.

@ superBul:2 – Super, Maybe he took toooooo long to come to Sharks, cause we now have Lambie..hehehe. Ag, really it is a very long season next year so we need a bigger squad, think players will get rotated or rested for some of the games. So JLP will get game time and if not there maybe centre, then we have Bosman now as well.

super i hear what you say and partly i agree with that

the sharks contracted JLP for a reason though as rotation will be a definate for the super 15
    also they contracted him at a time where lambie was just starting and they had no idea he would mature so fast

i had a long chat with grant bashford whilst he was in cape town for a long weekend , we played golf etc and he ate with me at my restaurant, so yes we talked about a lot

smitty for example will be playing LH with beast , bissy and burden the hookers
    jannie and van staden the TH’s, see where im going?? atleast 2 top players for every position, the super 15 will be even more traveling, so longer tourny means more sore bodies etc

some positions there will be 3 players etc

lambie and JLP will be the 2 first choice 10’s for example with pretorius just a backup with a match for match contract and i think he does coaching too for the flyhalves

i know braam van staden is going to be there for a few months as kicking coach , so yes the sharks are planning big it seems

you hit the nail on the head puma bro , rotation is something the sharks are planning for

with the tourny beco0mming longer and more tedious rotating players will help a lot

@ sharky_forever:5 – Sharky for sure, rotation will allow our players to stay fresher for the long season next year. Think we are covered well in almost every position.

Can’t wait for the S15 to start. Boks are playing terrible so really looking forward to see what our Sharks can do in the S15 next year Sharky. Some big games too at the Tank. Gonna get a season ticket for next year. Really looking forward to that. All my neighbours here go to every game.

Sharky, just had a look on SW and see a blogger saying that there is another rumour that JPP may still go to the Lions. How? Thought he had signed a new contract with the Sharks.

read my replies there boet, its just a stupid rumour

JPP has signed a new 3 year deal with the sharks and is staying

a lot of these rumours are being started on the blogs and i am sure you can guess who lol

@ sharky_forever:8 – Sharky, just did that. Was just about to answer to that blogger and saw you had beat me to it…hehehe.

Actually hope we can keep Rory too. Gonna need all our players with that long season coming up. What is this Hoffman like? I know a few say he is very talented, but I have only seen him play once and he came on as a sub on the wing??

hoffman is a very good player and according to bashy when he called me earlier hoff was training and looking good nippy player

@ sharky_forever:9 – Sharky, I will just wait now for the new season to start and not worry about reading who is going where. Cause think at the Sharks we are settled with our players now, only like you say still waiting on Rory.

@ sharky_forever:11 – Well that is good to hear Sharky. Looking forward to seeing him play next year. Though McLeod was damn brilliant this CC. Really hope he gets a game in the Baa Baas now that he is over there. Feel great for him that he got a call up.

bro hoffman will be filling ruans shoes

he is a utility player

@ sharky_forever:14 – We need someone like that.

Pleased to read your article on Deysel getting over his injury, shame man, I felt for him getting that freak injury. He must have felt terrible to watch the team win the CC with him out of the action. Hope he has a great and injury free season next year.

i will do an article soon on more or less how the sharks sqaud will look for the super 15

specialy now that the sharks squad is settled, well as i said only rory still to make up his mind

@ sharky_forever:16 – Good Sharky, Look forward to that article.

must say im scared our players from the sharks thats had good form come back from the bok setup and are out of form due to the coaching staffs crap,

Howzit 4man, See you up there. You going to the Bok/England game this Saturday? What is the weather like there at the moment. They say maybe some snow and rain for Saturday.

hiyas 4thman lol ^5

haai ou maat jy gesien ek soek jou hier?

@ sharky_forever:18 – Feel the same Sharky. Have thought about that too, spoke with my neighbours about that today too. Seems quite a few Shark Supporters are thinking like that.

Then it Bulls must feel the same way, they have plenty with the Boks right now too.

Only this one more game then most will be home, but think all the youngsters will play in the Baa Baas game.

@ superBul:21 – Howzit Super, No never saw..hahaha. Just posting and hitting the refresh button. Should look at who has posted above probably.

i think 4man is trying to catch up with all the news

@ sharky_forever:24 – Probably Sharky, by the time he gets to our Sharks article here we will all be logged off…hehehe.

4man you are slow buddy…hehehe.

Chicks dig it!!!

@ sharky_forever:26 – Yeah, what is it with these okes living on mud island…hehehe.

@ 4man:

@ 4man:27 – 😆

Howzit 4man, you going to the game on Saturday? Weather boet, what is it like there at the moment?

Total 67 users including 0 member, 67 guests, 0 bot online