The Barbarians squad to take on the Springboks at Twickenham on Saturday is the following:

Barbarians:

Backline Players: James O’Connor (Aus), Joe Rokocoko (NZ), Drew Mitchell (Aus), Adam Ashley-Cooper (Aus), Isaia Toeava (NZ), Ma’a Nonu (NZ), Berrick Barnes (Aus), Matt Giteau (Aus), Will Genia (Aus), Andy Ellis (NZ).

Forwards: Keven Mealamu (NZ), Stephen Moore (Aus), Salvatore Perugini (Italy), Neemia Tialata (NZ), John Yapp (Wales), Chris Jack (NZ), Anton van Zyl (WP & Stormers), Quintin Geldenhuys (Italy), Martyn Williams (Wales), Rodney So’oialo (NZ), Colin Bourke (Chiefs), Daniel Braid (NZ).

This means the squad consists of the following:
New Zealand Players – 10 (9 All Blacks & 1 Uncapped)
Australian Players – 7
Italian Players – 2
Welsh Players – 2
South African Players – 1

The run-on Team will probably be something along the following lines:
15. James O’Connor
14. Isaia Toeava
13. Adam Ashley-Cooper
12. Ma’a Nonu
11. Drew Mitchell
10. Berrick Barnes
9. Will Genia
8. Rodney So’oialo
7. Martyn Williams
6. Daniel Braid
5. Quintin Geldenhuys
4. Chris Jack
3. John Yapp
2. Keven Mealamu
1. Salvatore Perugini

20 Responses to BaaBaas squad

My concern is the whole bloody BaaBaas backline!

There is NOT ONE Bokke backline player left on tour to match these backline players….

Let’s hazard a guess as to what the Bokke team could look like from Snorrie’s pen for the weekend…

15. Zane Kirchner
    14. Gio Aplon
    13. Adi Jacobs
    12. Patrick Lambie
    11. Lwazi Mvovo
    10. Elton Jantjies
    9. Francois Hougaard
    8. Ryan Kankowski
    7. Willem Alberts
    6. Juan Smith (captain)
    5. Alister Hargreaves
    4. Bakkies Botha
    3. Jannie du Plessis
    2. Bismarck du Plessis
    1. Beast Mtawarira

That’s how I think Snorrie will go…. I would have selected a different set of loosies though. Keegan Daniel ( No 6 – openside), Juan Smith (No 7 – blindside), Willem Alberts (No 8), Kankowski on the bench.

Our centers, whichever way you pick… is a big problem.

Gonna be a tough one.

Adi didnt do anything wrong on Saturday, in fact he played well, bit slow though….but you’re right, flyhalf and centre is where the problem is….inexperience.

3@ 4man:
    The other problem is, what type of game plan do you instruct the Bokke to play in this Festival match…

I would instruct them to pound the opposition up front, play 10-man rugby, unless it is clearly on out wide.

On defence, we better play in their faces… and that’s why I would go with Alberts at No 8 and not the looser Kankowski… we need to get vastly more ball from our forwards and jealously protect possession, if we allow them to start running it at us from anywhere, we’re farked!

@ grootblousmile:4 – gbs, You lost the plot or what? :poop: gbs, you DON’T play 10 man rugby in a Baa Baas game, not ever. Do me a favour and go and see the best Baa Baas game EVER 1973 against the AB’s now that is how to play a Baa Baas game. Both teams were sensantional that day. We want to see beautiful rugby similar to what the AB’s and Sharks are playing right now. Eish!!! brother get with it. That is what Baa Baas games is about. Not too much about winning but more a festival kinda rugby.

@ Puma:5 – typo – sensational

5@ Puma:
    Ouma Puma….. winning rugby is BEAUTIFUL rugby….

Fark BaaBaas spirit rugby, I want to see the Bokke win…. and against an opposing backline of this caliber you don’t play helter skelter “beautiful” rugby…. you play to win!

Once you don the Green and Gold, it is about winning… not about festivals… well, that’s how highly I treasure the Bokke jersey!

Bokke HAVE to play to their strenghts, and this year the backline is not the flavour….

Only problem is this wouldnt be in the spirit of Barbarians rugby….I reckon we have just as much chance if we run it or if we play forwards rugby. Lambie always has so much time to do things, he is a class act, between him and Hougie they can be play makers if Elton finds the opposition is too much in his face, but Elton is used to that anyway….It will be tough no doubt the baa baas have a good side, but we should run at them. If Lambie gets the ball to the wings like he has been doing all year, his reading of the appropriate times to do that is good….we have a good chance of taking them.

8@ 4man:
    Have you seen who their backline will be… now you want to throw a number of inexperienced youngsters the ball and say go run this lot of World Stars to pieces….

Won’t work… and what the bloody hell is so important about the so-called BaaBaas spirit of rugby… who says we have to bow before them, as if they are the B-all and END-all as far as rugby is concerned…

When has this lot in the Bokke backline played together… there is more cohesiveness in the BaaBaas backline which will most probably feature 5 Wallabies in the starting lineup who ran in 46 points against the French this past weekend in ONE half! Add to that probably Ma’a Nonu and Toeava… and you’ve got the BaaBaa backline…. scary, is’nt it.

Now have a look at what we will most probably have… Hougie next to Jantjies, next to Lambie, next to bloody Adi…. add to that a left wing (Mvovo) who would be on his 3rd Test cap only, a right wing who only became an International 15-man player in 2010 and Zane at 15 with a hand full of Tests…

Forget the running game, unless you would like to see a cricket score against us….. in that case I’d rather see a hard forwards battle with us winning ugly!

@ grootblousmile:7 – gbs, I don’t want to see us playing boring 10 man rugby in a Baa Baas game. Not ever.

@ 4man:8 – 4man, I agree with you there. We should go out and try and run at them. Really don’t want to see just a forwards game. We have some good players there, to try and run more with the ball. This is after all a Baa Baas game, fans going to watch the rugby this weekend will expect that kinda game, not 10 man rugby.
    Start with players that know each others game more. I just read Slumtown’s team on keo and thought he was spot on with his team.

@ grootblousmile:9 – gbs, You have lost the plot. Baa Baas games are for entertaining not 10 man boring nonsense. Sure we might just get a win that way, but I doubt it. So just go out and play to the spirit of the game. Why be scared to play? This is not a test.

This was Slumtown’t team I read on keo. I think he is spot on the money here.

1. Oosthuizen (Beast needs a rest)
    2. Bissie
    3. Jannie
    4. Bakkies
    5. Hargreaves (Flip can come on for either Bakkies or Hargreaves later on)
    6. Keegan
    7. Juan (capt)
    8. Alberts (Kanko can come on later and Alberts moves to 6)
    9. McLeod
    10. Lambie (Lambie to be moved later in the game to FB and bring on Jantjies) Lambie has to get a chance to start.
    11. Mvovo
    12. Adi
    13. Hougaard (I agree with Slumtown, Hougaard was very good for Bulls at 13)
    14. Gio
    15. Zane

Bench:
    Kanko
    Strauss
    Beast
    CJ
    Flip
    Janties
    Odwa

With that team we could do well. Slumtown you read this. Think you spot on there with this team.

@9 GBS…we have cognitive dissonance…ie I dont agree with you.

Look at what our two main rivals do when they play the Baa Baas…they run the ball and that is why the Bok strong Baa baas beat the NZ team last year. This is a public relations exercise and its a chance for the youngsters to show what they’ve got. If we play mercenary rugby then we make ourselves un popular with the fans….I for one dont think we should be doing that. If we play 10 man rugby we are in a losing situation, even if we win and if we lose then we get ridiculed on top of being disliked.

Play a running game and it is a win win situation, even if we lose, the fans will still be pleased that we made a spectacle of it.

I say, give the youngsters a chance and lets go for it.

Remember the Baa baas arent playing known combos and they have had 1 week to practise when the guys are tired (most of them).

We should leave our laager and go and play with the rest of the world, it wont do us any harm and if you look at the guys in the team they have been playing open rugby most of the Currie Cup.

and just for fun they should play Keegan Daniel at 2nd centre….sorts out defense and attack and he is used to running off Lambie anyway.

this place is deader than a doornail.
    cheers

@ 4man:
    Ja jong as ek ook bietjie brood verdien raak dit maar stil ne?

Net so by the way is Zane nie saam Victor beseer en huistoe nie?

Ek weet nie….dan kan hulle Lambie agter sit….dan soek ons n senter, meskien is Barritt beskikbaar.

@ 4man:
    kyk uit die squad wie is daar

The Springbok squad for the match against the Barbarians is:

Backs: Gio Aplon, Francois Hougaard, Adi Jacobs, Elton Jantjies, Zane Kirchner, Patrick Lambie, Charl McLeod, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane.

Forwards: Willem Alberts, Bakkies Botha, Keegan Daniel, Jannie du Plessis, Bismarck du Plessis, Alistair Hargreaves, Ryan Kankowski, Bandise Maku, Tendai Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuizen, Juan Smith (captain), Adriaan Strauss, CJ van der Linde, Flip van der Merwe.

England fought back brilliantly, think the mental damage is to the Aussies

England: 400 runs in 122.5 overs (743 balls), Extras 27
    AN Cook: 200 off 361 balls (22 x 4)
    IJL Trott: 100 off 213 balls (15 x 4)
    2nd Wicket: 250 runs in 403 balls (AN Cook 129, IJL Trott 100, Ex 22)
    Lunch: England – 439/1 in 133.0 overs (AN Cook 201, IJL Trott 100)
    England: 450 runs in 138.1 overs (835 balls), Extras 28
    2nd Wicket: 300 runs in 479 balls (AN Cook 152, IJL Trott 121, Ex 27)
    England: 500 runs in 146.4 overs (886 balls), Extras 37
    Drinks: England – 505/1 in 148.0 overs (AN Cook 230, IJL Trott 128)
    Innings Break: England – 517/1 in 152.0 overs (AN Cook 235, IJL Trott 135)

England – 517/1 in 152.0 overs (AN Cook 235, IJL Trott 135)

Total 51 users including 0 member, 51 guests, 0 bot online