Springboks (13) 39 / Wallabies (31) 41 (Final Score)

The Springboks hosted the Wallabies at Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein at 17:00 SA Time in their last Tri-Nations and Mandela Cup encounter of 2010. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1, M-Net, SuperSport HD in SA.

Australia first squandered a 25-point lead, to clinch the game on full time with a successful long distance penalty by Kurtley Beale. Final score Wallabies 41 / 39.

Springboks: 6 Penalties & 3 Conversions Morné Steyn, 1 Try Jaque Fourie, 1 Try Gurthro Steenkamp, 1 Try Jean de Villiers

Wallabies: 1 Penalty & 4 Conversions Matt Giteau, 1 Try & 1 Penalty Kurtley Beale, 1 Try & 1 Conversion James O’Connor, 1 Try Stephen Moore, 1 Try Rocky Elsom, 1 Try Drew Mitchell

South Africa: 15 François Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 François Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Gio Aplon.

Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (captain), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Mark Chisholm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benin Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 Richard Brown, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Anthony Fainga’a.

Date: Saturday, September 4
Kick-off: 17.00 SA Time (15.00 GMT)
Venue: Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
Expected weather conditions: Clear with a high of 28°C, dropping to 2°C and a westerly of 25 km/dropping to 3 km/h – perfect weather for rugby, as one would expect in Bloemfontein in spring.
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), Simon McDowell (Ireland)
TMO: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)

596 Responses to Springboks vs Wallabies – Game Thread

Just hide both remotes :lolO !!

In terms of islands off the coast, the pick is Hamilton Island, you’ll certainly enjoy your time there. I have a friend who owns his own island in the Whitsundays. Let me know when you plan on heading over, I’d love to meet you up there for a bit of fishing, etc.
    The weather is always fabulous in the Whitsundays. Keep in touch, I’d love to catch up, if poss.
    My friend called me last Sunday and said that he was standing on the water’s edge and saw a large barramundi swimming on the sand. He caught it with a net (highly illegal) and threw it on the BBQ; fresh barra, exquisite eating.

True – a bad day to be anywhere in the South Island. But they breed them tough down there & kiwis are good neighbours so will help each other.

Know the place well… those hills near Nyanga and towards Leopard Rock are awesome.

Zim is a beautiful Country, pity it was spoilt so badly by Mugabe…

Have you been around the rest of Zim?

Mana Pools, Kariba, Victoria Falls, Whangee National Park…..

Match kick off is at 0100 hours, local time, so I’m off to catch a few zzzzz before kick off. Cheers all, back in a few hours.

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:

Can these players be fixed or should Deans move on with newer blood ? Everyone expected Deans to work miracles & recreate the winning team he had with Crusaders, but the material he is working with is quite different. Crusaders are geographically based in the midst of one of NZ’s prime rugby breeding grounds & the players play for blood not just a job.

Yep, spent 6 weeks wandering around Zim – went everywhere. Makalolo Camp was one of my favourite spots. Was a sensational country at that time, makes me so sad to see what Mugabe has done to it.

@ Rugby_Princess:
    Indeed, Princess, your assumptions are correct. Aus playing strength doesn’t compare to NZ in terms of numbers. Robbie hasn’t had the easiest of runs in terms of injuries, but nonetheless, it’s the culture and belief he was supposedly going to impOrt that is sadly missing. Maybe the difference in attitudes between Aus and NZ is something he hadn’t taken into consideration. Aus rugby is known for running with the ball in hand, not grinding forward play. I think the differences have unfortunately caught Robbie on the hop. Anyway, too late to change ships now; I believe he will have the cattle to do the job he set out to do and that is perform at the RWC, but he needs a win tonight more than ever.

67@ Rugby_Princess:
    Around 1990 one could still trade batteries and T-Shirts and ball-point pens for almost anything one wanted, specially Curio’s.

In 1989 I traded a few T-Shirts for the most wonderful giant Mukwa Hippo’s… solid stuff carved from single tree stumps…

Also got some Soapstone African Heads….

@ Rugby_Princess:
    Good to hear of a place where they are true neighbours, going to need to stand together to rebuild things. Pity about the few scummy “opportunists” looters who always seem to pop up after natural disasters wherever in the world.

Watching the highlites of last week’s Test….

Damn, our defence was soooooooooo shoddy at the start of the game… JP Pietersen, Habana, Jean de Villiers, Victor Matfield…

The only one who really stands out with solid defence in those first 15 minutes is Francois Hougaard, really.

@ Rugby_Princess:
    Howzat RP, how was the the holiday ?

go bokkkkkeeeeeeeeeeeee all aussies you are my mortal enemies until 19h00 we will crush you today bwahahahahahahah

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:62 – OldG, Thanks for that info. Should be coming over in about 5 or 6 weeks time. But going to Perth first then Brisbane not to Sydney this time. Will let you know mate.

@ Treehugger:72 – Treehugs, How you doing? Have you seen Sharky around? Have not seen him here for a very long time. Is it only you and I from Sharks that are left here now? Also hardly see Winston. Where are our Sharks bloggers?

Hopefully they will have worked a bit on that side of things this week, although its probably more a case of commitment to the tackle rather than technique at this level. The ones you mention are quite big guys and should be hitting their opponents hard, you see quite often how some of the big guys make poor tackles and then folk go on about small players being no good in tackling. Give me a small guy like Aplon and de Jongh with the heart to tackle over big non committed ones, was not at all pleased to see BIG Bekkers half hearted efforts in New Zealand, but maybe in fairness to him he could have been carrying his back injury but then shouldna been in the team in the first place.

Good afternoon Puma hope you well and looking forward to the game.

Forgot I have seen Snoek here but not my Shark mate Sharky. Wonder if it is the move to Cape Town keeping him busy?

75@ Puma:
    Tjarky_Fornever phoned me this morning…. he’s been busy training management staff in the Joburg Restaurant and is leaving for relocation to Cape Town on Wednesday coming….

@ Bullscot:77 – BullScot afternoon to you too buddy. Yip really looking forward to the Boks game but also the Sharks/Bulls game.

Are you Scottish? Must be with that nic. I have plenty Scots mates.

@ grootblousmile:79 – Gbs, Thanks boeta. Just wondered where Sharky was.

Yep, that is right – traded plenty for some lovely artworks 😀

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    I reckon it will be a bit of a stretch for them to get a win tonight.

There will no doubt be some in Christchurch too but on the whole kiwis make good neighbours 😀

@ Treehugger:
    Hey Trees, I had a nice holiday thanks but some dogdy boy gave me nasty saffa germs & I have been VERY poorly ever since 😥 or maybe I am just allergic to Saffas 😉

Yes going to be a good rugby afternoon and evening, pity will not see any of it so will need to pop in here at times catch the score. Nope not a born and bred Scot but happily settled here, do you get to come over to visit your Scottish pals?

@ Bullscot:82 – BullsScot, I go over there almost every year. Have done so for more than 30 years. Though never went last year. I do have em scottish mates coming here every year though. They love it here in Umhlanga.

Where about are you in Scotland? I really enjoy the Scots. Good fun but party animals……hehehehe. Good okes though, with fantastic sense of humour.

@ Bullscot:82 – How do you cope with the weather there? I love Scotland but not their weather.. LOL.

Okay going to watch the chat before the rugby comes on. Not going to the club to watch today, so will blog here with everyone.

Back later.

Any out there interested the English Premiership started last night. Latest half time score is Sarries 10 London Irish 6, tries by Ernst Joubert and Schalk Brits. Venter did really well with them last year, initially got some criticism for winning through a lot of kicking, but hey it worked and I’m sure their success has increased confidence in the squad. Interesting to see already two tries by Sarries so wonder if they will be running things a bit more this season.

Okay folks I am taking my doggy Saffa germs back to bed …

Go Boks !! Please win by 6 points 😀

Tjarky_Fornever phoned me this morning….

Goeie naam speling daai, wonder of die Ingelsman dit gaan optel.

Middag almal, 1 uur om te gaan.

Middag al die mense.

Sterkte aan al die spanne, hoop ons sien mooi rugby vandag. In die besonder sterkte vir Habana, glo hy is nog steeds die beste, maar sy vorm is nie goed nie. Een goeie wedstryd kan dit alles omdraai.

Ek het in die week weer laas week se toets gekyk, en iets wat my in die besonder opgeval het, was toe Habana daai groot flop gemaak het (bal misgevang het en toe druk Carol o’Connor), daar dadelik twee bokke nader gestaan het, om hom te bemoedig en ‘n klop op die skouer te gee: Victor en Morne, twee bulle wat ‘n oud-bul help. Dit is karakter. Hoop dinge kom reg vir Habana, en ja, sal hom ewig dankbaar wees vir daai drie in 2007 ! 😉

Sterkte Bokke.

Total 111 users including 0 member, 111 guests, 0 bot online