Springboks (13) 39 / Wallabies (31) 41 (Final Score)

The Springboks hosted the Wallabies at Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein at 17:00 SA Time in their last Tri-Nations and Mandela Cup encounter of 2010. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1, M-Net, SuperSport HD in SA.

Australia first squandered a 25-point lead, to clinch the game on full time with a successful long distance penalty by Kurtley Beale. Final score Wallabies 41 / 39.

Springboks: 6 Penalties & 3 Conversions Morné Steyn, 1 Try Jaque Fourie, 1 Try Gurthro Steenkamp, 1 Try Jean de Villiers

Wallabies: 1 Penalty & 4 Conversions Matt Giteau, 1 Try & 1 Penalty Kurtley Beale, 1 Try & 1 Conversion James O’Connor, 1 Try Stephen Moore, 1 Try Rocky Elsom, 1 Try Drew Mitchell

South Africa: 15 François Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 François Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Gio Aplon.

Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (captain), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Mark Chisholm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benin Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 James Slipper, 18 Dean Mumm, 19 Richard Brown, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Anthony Fainga’a.

Date: Saturday, September 4
Kick-off: 17.00 SA Time (15.00 GMT)
Venue: Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
Expected weather conditions: Clear with a high of 28°C, dropping to 2°C and a westerly of 25 km/dropping to 3 km/h – perfect weather for rugby, as one would expect in Bloemfontein in spring.
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), Simon McDowell (Ireland)
TMO: Johann Meuwesen (South Africa)

596 Responses to Springboks vs Wallabies – Game Thread

27@ Winston:
    Hey Poepol, you never contacted me before the Soccer City or Loftus Test…. so we could have a cold one together….

A point of fact, GBS. I have experienced only one earthquake in my time, and that was in Kimberley, circa 1976. What an event! People ran out into the streets; no damage, no injuries, just a scary noise and rumble . . . Were you born at that time, youngster????

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney: hello mate 🙂 yea, let’s hope it’s going to be a good game. Would love to see both teams work hard for their tries and not give away unnessary penalties, but I think the boks will show their class today. Auzies looking promising though…another couple of years, and you never know.
    Our record in Bloem is great

morning all, just popped in to say hi and….

GO BOKKKKKKKEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!

32@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    Aye, I was already 12 years old… hehehe

See, the only thing wrong with youth: it is wasted on the young!!!

@ bos_otter:

If you want to see a grown man cry just hide the remote control 😆

@old griqua that was no eart quake man,that was the sound of 60 000 freestaters goeing ape after we won the currie cup for the firs time,it messured about 4 on the richter scale in bloem

Old Griquas

What do you think of Giteau ? I see a genuine lack of heart in some senior Wallabies – as if they are going to work rather than the passion of playing for the jersey. Giteau is one I would shove a rocket up if I was Deans.

I experienced an earthquake in Zimbabwe around 1990 at a place called Leopard Rock … was really spooky cos we were not expecting one there !

getting there, getting there – 3 hours to KO – grass eventually cut, just realise I might have time to fit in a haircut as I am starting to look like Bevan Fortuin 2006 look. Car wash will have to wait till tomoz. Always fun splashing water around when you have a monster babbelas.

Luckily I have kicked the ciggies as I would be puffing in nervous excitement.Biltong too expensive but maybe one of my guests will remember – beats crisps (which they all bring). Chips to be more accurate.

All systems go for a win, a soopa braai and lotsa dops to celebrate !

I feel like a kid at Christmas time, I hope the boks dont spoil it for me.

@ Ashley:You always busy Ash.. Now take a break and enjoy the rugga later today.

My prediction: I rate Bryan Habana in the champion class. His lack of form of late will be stinging him. As an old winger and a firm devotee of any one with jet shoes, I want to see him regain his standing tonight. While I don’t really want to see him score tries against the wallas, I have total respect for him and wish him every best wish in reaching good form. Habana is a truly exceptional winger; play well, mate.

Afternoon everyone. A special hello to Rugby Princess and OldG. Hope you all well.

GOOD LUCK BOKS.

39@ Rugby_Princess:
    Leopard Rock, in the East of Zimbabwe near Nyanga…. bloody nice Hotel and Golf Course there… very pretty area.

@ smallies72:
    hahaha, love it . . .

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:42 – OldG, Nice words there mate.

42@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    I fear Habana’s time has come and gone….

The left wingers waiting on the sidelines have already surpassed him… both Mvovo and Bjorn Basson.

Habana needs a very long break and an opportunity to regain form in a lesser rugby situation, maybe then he makes a comeback and surprises us all again.

Rugby_Princess wrote:

@ bos_otter:
    If you want to see a grown man cry just hide the remote control

specially during “desperate housewives” 🙂 love that story…I blame my wife for that 🙂

@ Rugby_Princess:
    G’day Princess. My opinion of Giteau is he is a bit of a lost soul at the moment. I had breakfast with him a few years back, before he hit the big time and he certainly impressed me as a person and I knew his uncle very well. He isn’t playing the best rugby of his career at present and I personally, would have dropped him weeks ago. His line breaks are few and far between and his zip has gone. He isn’t the Giteau of old – and that’s why we pay Deans an enormous salary: to identify and fix the problem! And he hasn’t done that yet!

@ Mielie Pap Mike:40 – Mike, Sounds like you ready for the braai now and agree, hope the Boks don’t spoil it. Enjoy it buddy.

48@ bos_otter:
    Eishhhhhhhh, I can’t stand that shit!

Answer to the Remote battle… get a Dual View PVR, with 2 seperate channels and 2 seperate Remotes

Okay I am off. Back a bit later. Need to get some things at the shops before the rugby starts.

44@ grootblousmile:also a leopards rock in KZN I think

Mate, Habana is like Campese was; when they are on song, they light up the sky; when they are off, they disappoint you like no other. Stick with him GBS, he’s a champion, and he’ll be back. The youngsters breathing down his neck is good for him, it pushes his personal pride and confidence. I hope he has a massive impact on his NEXT match, not tonight’s!!!@ Puma:
    Howzit Puma? I hope you are well and things are going good for you in Umhlanga. Things have been a bit tough here of late, but I hope to have turned the corner now and heading back to greener pastures. I’m expecting a better showing from the Wallas tonight. Last week’s basketball effort didn’t impress too many. Best wishes to you, mate.

VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!

Howzit Loosehead, what do you think of the Wallas forwards changes? Will they have any impact on Matfield and co???

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:54 – OldG, Good to catch up again. Pleased you well mate.

I was supposed to fly out to Brisbane on business today. BUT once again got out of it. I am probably coming over in 5 weeks time. Also want to combine it with a holiday to one of your lovely Islands there. Which one would you recommend? Going to Perth for a few days on Business then to Brisbane. Hope the weather is fine then. Think the weather is similar to Umhlanga. We have superb weather at the moment here. About 28 today with full sun.

OldG, Will get your answer to my post 57 once I am back. Need to shoot to the shops now.

Catch up later.

Rugby_Princess wrote:

Big earthquake in Christchurch this morning – approx 7.1 magnitude So far no deaths have been reported which is amazing when one considers the devastation that would have occurred most anywhere in Asia for the same sized quake.

Thankfully there are no deaths so far but condolences to all the folk down there in Christchurch, gonna be tough times for them getting through the next while trying to rebuild after all the damage. Sounds like gales are on the way as well for Christchurch so that may make things tricky. It has been a bad day on the South Island and such sad news about the people who lost their lives in the plane crash out of Fox Glacier and our thoughts go out to all connected.

Ola Pumes 😀

Yep, that was the place – we stayed in the little Castle on the hill. My friends family also had a little farm near Nyanga right next door to Robert … as denote by the military post at the front gate 😀

Total 99 users including 0 member, 99 guests, 0 bot online