Xerox Lions coach John Mitchell came out in support of Springbok assistant coach Dick Muir attributing the recent successes of his team to Muir’s planning. 

The Lions will go in search of their sixth consecutive Currie Cup win on Saturday when they travel to Pretoria to take on the Blue Bulls at Loftus Versfeld and Mitchell insisted that Muir should be credited for his contribution.

“This project started some time ago and Dick Muir, was the person who has been directing this program from day one,” Mitchell said on Thursday.

“Im very grateful to be here, but I wouldnt be here if it wasnt for Dick, so I wouldnt mind in future if we have him inclusive of his involvement within our union,” he added.

Muir and fellow Bok coaches Peter de Villiers and assistant coach Gary Gold are currently being taken to task for the teams poor performance during the Tri-Nations and with Mitchells recent three year contract extension at the Johannesburg union, questions were being raised over Muirs future involvement.

However, Mitchell insisted that his influence in the team is still of great value.

“He started this program way back in Super Rugby, hes clearly had a vision and the strength of him as an individual is that he does surround himself with good people,” explained Mitchell.

“It important to acknowledge that he is a big part of the process” Mitchell stressed.

Since Jake Whites departure at the Lions, the team has reverted to playing a more expansive game which was widely criticised during the Super 14.

Mitchell has since brought structure and discipline to this ideology which is more or less the responsibility John Plumtree was left with when he took over from Muir as head-coach of the Sharks.

Courtesy of sport24

21 Responses to Mitchell praises Muir

Hmmm, interesting… he he he 🙂 🙂 🙂

All hail Dick!

Mmmm, very praiseworthy of John Mitchell to give Tricky Dicky credit, but the reality is one can see daylight between the rugby the Lions played under Muir as opposed to the way they now play under Mitchell.

There is not a semblence of the same lacklustre defence left, suddenly there is team spirit and a will to win… biggggggg difference.

There is a lot to be said about coaches and a coaching structures (individuals) complimenting one another, Plum did this at the Sharks when Dick was there, and Mitchell is seemingly bringing that element to the Lions.

And just for the sake of it, I believe this is what is needed at Bok level.

4@ Morné:
    I agree with your sentiments, I just do not think that Mitchell would have said the same if TRUTH SERUM was injected into his veins beforehand…. hehehe

One also never expects a coach to bad-mouth his Director of Rugby, does one….

For me he highlighted the plans in place before, and when he took the job – he thought he could add value to those plans (Dick’s), and it must have appealed to him in some way knowing that what he can add to that, a missing ingredient if you will, which was seemingly just what was needed.

Remember this is a guy with a close to 90% success rate as coach of the All Blacks at one stage – this oke should know a crock of shit when he sees one, obviously he did not…

Take this example, I see Supersport has got an article up saying there will be changes in the Bok setup.

Names like Rassie Erasmus is even mentioned.

I regard Rassie as one of the best rugby brains in SA, but he lacks practical application of this as a coach to players on a practice field. However, Rassie as an asset to any team might be invaluable and that is the balance I am referring to…

Ludeke, look how well Slaptjips compliments Ludeke and on the face of it, they are two completely different coaches with different philosophies but they just gel…

Die vraag is of Mitchell die stellings uit sy eie uit gemaak het en of die joernalis hom daarvoor gepols het…

Daar is ‘n wesenlike verskil in die betekenis en opregtheid van die antwoord in die twee gevalle.

6@ Morné:
    The difference between a good coach and an aweful coach is often just that 1 missing ingredient.

To be honest, I see value added in a few key facets, which has led to a heads-up confidence as well amongst the players.

Defensive structure and execution
    Fitness
    Consistency in selection
    Identifying the right players in positions
    Mental focus and readyness
    Game plan application to core team strenghts

… to name a few….

As with the Lions, I put all you wrote down to one word, and its the same thing Mitchell brought to the Lions:

DISCIPLINE

10@ Morné:
    Yebo, yes… in a nutshell.

Mitchell does not take kak from kabouters.. strong willed and sharp!

This must be the shortest amount of time and comments we took to agree on something!

But yes, cannot agree with you more.

Now if we can only get one of the most successful AB coaches involved in the Boks somehow…

strong willed and sharp!

He is so sharp he even appointed Nathan as captain at the Force… 🙂

@ Blouste:

Slow down brother, remember, he built a reasonably successful franchise out of zero, nadda.

And you appreciate this more if you realise Oz has no domestic structure or competition development platform like the Varsity Cup, Vodacom Cup and Currie Cup.

And unlike SA, rugby union is the 5th most popular sport there, so it gets little if none commercial clout as-well.

12@ Morné:
    Hey, it’s not my fault you’ve come to your senses…. hahaha

We both have strong personalities, you and me, and we like to voice our opinions and disect something from all vantages…. not bad traits to share, I recon.

13@ Morné:
    Yeah it would have been good to get Mitchell involved at the Bokke, but I doubt he would consider, seeing as he’s basically just started a process at the Lions. I also doubt whether the fokkers at SARU would have the pampoenpitte either to consider him…. and he would most certainly not want to play 2nd fiddle to Snorrie!

@ Morné:

My comment was merely tongue in the cheek.

I have a lot of respect for Mitchell and especially for what he achieved at the Force.

There are an obvious turn around at the Lions aswell.

I am out guys, thanks for the chat!

Boobs & All now on….

Cheers Morne, have a good one…

18@ Morné:
    Tjorts, gooi mielies!

Total 53 users including 0 member, 53 guests, 0 bot online