Springbok captain John Smit looked a downtrodden figure as he contemplated missing the tackle that gave the All Blacks a 29-22 victory at FNB Stadium in Soweto on Saturday night.

Article written by Brenden Nel, Supersport

Smit’s 100th test match was a massive milestone but a late rally by the All Blacks saw them come back at the death and win the match, breaking more than 90 000 hearts.

While for long periods it seemed as if the Boks would give him the perfect present, the Bok captain was already walking from half-time and looked as if he was struggling with the pace.

Then, after the All Blacks drew level with two minutes to go, it was Smit whose heartbreak was completed when he slipped the tackle of Ma’a Nonu, who sent Israel Dagg away for the try.

“I can’t think I have ever been more disappointed to lose a game like that,” an emotional Smit told reporters after the game.

“To miss the tackle that cost us the game in my 100th test is bad. This is going to hurt me for a very long time.

“We missed a few tackles in our own 22 in those last minutes. We planned to get the ball back but conceded a turnover and when I missed the tackle it was game over.”

Smit denied the team had “run out of puff” as Henry put it.

“I don’t think we ran out of steam, but the accuracy of doing the things wasn’t the same as in the first half.”

Coach Peter de Villiers was singing a different tune and despite the loss was still positive.

“John is taking this way too personally. What I saw today, we can beat any team on any given day. We can dictate territory and possession and for the best part of the day we did it today.

“In the second half we went a bit out of our structure and became a lot more defensive and didn’t see the ball much.”

De Villiers congratulated the All Blacks on their victory.

“Well done to them. They must be over the moon and are playing great rugby. It is very entertaining and we hope they go from strength to strength. In our dressing room it is like a funeral and the guys are taking it hard.

“This is a hell of a step up from the Australia and the guys can’t handle the fact we went down. We will remember that winning is a habit, and losing is also.”

The Boks will regroup on Monday where they will need to find answers before facing Australia at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

20 Responses to This will haunt me for a long time – Smit

Smitty don’t worry you were not the problem that lost us the game. Replacements that cost us. Relax brother and enjoy your 100th. Team done really well tonight. Really have to speak to your coach. Why replace when you never have too?? They were the problem. NOT you. Go and enjoy your evening. Boks looked good tonight. Have to think. We don’t have: Frans Steyn, Brussow, FdP. Fourie at outside centre, though his replacement was great. Also Aplon was also really good we need to bring back Frans Steyn. WE need FdP too. So don’t worry too much Boks with these players will be back. Have no doubt about it.

This rating is from another well known South African website
    Springbok Player Ratings:

15: Gio Aplon – 8

The little utility back was found out of position at the back on one or two occasions but more than made up for it with his elusive running and inspirational defence. Case in point, smashing opposite number Mils Muliaina back with a big hit.

14: JP Pietersen – 7.5

A satisfactory return to international rugby by the Sharks speedster who had precious few opportunities on attack. He made a try-saving tackle on Carter in the 56th minute and his height coupled with his speed and timing when chasing re-starts and high balls made him a valuable asset for the hosts.

13: Juan de Jongh – 8

The Test rookie played like a seasoned veteran. Not particularly lethal on attack but then few Boks were. The Stormers midfielder was a demon on defence and a menace on the deck to boot. One of the best backs on the day.

12: Jean de Villiers – 7

Average. That’s how I would describe De Villiers’ anticipated return to his preferred position of inside centre in one word.

11: Bryan Habana – 3

Without a doubt the villain of the match. Habana was nothing but a liability on defence as he continued his obsession of breaking the defensive line in his quest for the intercept. The Test veteran gifted the opposition space on a number of occasions and was again at fault when McCaw scored to level the scores.

10: Morne Steyn – 6

A faultless goal-kicking display was marred by poor kicking out of hand, one particular occasion costing the Boks a scrum deep inside their own half after he had kicked the ball over the dead ball line from a penalty. His quick tap led to the opening try but ultimately not a memorable match for the Bulls pivot.

9: Francois Hougaard – 8

Welcome to Test rugby Francois Hougaard! In his first start for the Boks, the young Bulls No 9 looked the part, pestering opposite number Jimmy Cowan, asking questions around the fringes with ball in hand and most importantly giving his backline crisp ball. He also made a crucial tackle on Carter on the sweep.

8: Pierre Spies – 7

Spies was strong from the base both with his carries and when asked to pick up under pressure. Decent on defence and had one or two strong carries in general play but hardly explosive.

7: Juan Smith – 9

Smith made a phenomenal return to Test rugby and is our pick of the Boks on the day. The Cheetahs captain was immense in every possible aspect of the match. He was prominent with ball in hand, stole a couple of lineout balls on the All Blacks’ throw and was a beast on defence. The highlight of his stellar performance came when he smashed McCaw in a thumping tackle that forced a turnover. Take a bow Juan Smith.

6: Schalk Burger – 7.5

Burger was named Man of the Match and had a solid game but it was not without some errors, most costly of which was a missed tackle on Brad Thorn that resulted in the visitors’ first try.

5: Victor Matfield – 7

Almost took a backseat in the lineouts initially as he welcomed newcomer Van der Merwe into the Test fray with early takes. The veteran was superb on defence and manned the lineouts well in the bigger scheme of things.

4: Flip van der Merwe – 6.5

Well at least he didn’t concede a yellow card! The big second generation Bok second rower put his body on the line and can be satisfied with his overall performance in his run-on debut.

3: Jannie du Plessis – 6

Held his own in the scrum and did his bit on defence.

2: John Smit – 7

A heartbreaking end to a fairytale game for the iconic Springbok skipper on a historic occasion. Smit slipped the tackle that cost South Africa the match in devastating fashion but the blame should not be laid at his door. The Test centurion made a few errors on the day but was in no way the main culprit in the cruel defeat.

1: Gurthro Steenkamp – 7

A mobile outing by the Bulls loosehead. Scrummed well enough and carried the ball well. Conceded a few penalties but very robust for a big man.

Replacements:

16: Chiliboy Ralepelle

Not used.

17: CJ van der Linde – 6

Rather harshly penalised for obstruction in the 66th minute, which cost the Boks three points.

18: Danie Rossouw – 6

Physical as ever but nothing to write home about.

19: Francois Louw – 5

Continues to struggle at Test level after a strong start to his international career. Conceded a penalty at the breakdown but was let off the hook by Carter.

20: Ricky Januarie

Not enough time to be rated.

21: Butch James

Not used.

22: Wynand Olivier

Not used.

u mean january to KAK to be rated and Louw poor as usual at this level…. This is not currie cup or super 14 this is real rugby!!!!!

Pdv self destruct with his fav players…. Kakuary and Louw…. what a gr8 win he chucked away…. As i started to get respect for him he did this MAD changes…… What a prick!!!!!

@ Durban Bulle:
    Look i used to come up for PdeV, he must act now or i will finally join the chorus for his dismissal. This game was lost in the last 10 minutes by the foursome Smit, Peter, Glitter and Dick.

And why on earth did they not listen to Heyneckes plan? It was all over in the press. “Kick the ball into the stands forfeit a bit of distance”

Morne you must get away from that coaching quagmire , how on eart are we going to reprogram him in time. Last year we had at least the CC to train him all over again. Rather drop him and play Butch. We need him back in the Bulls camp under FL, HM and PR. Fast.

same here superbul i use to say he is not there to talk but to coach but enough is enough…. he lucky im in DBN…. I would of found him just like that english supporter found his team in the soccer world cup…lol 🙂

Go to Home and refresh, new news posted that will please some.

Springboks coach Peter de Villiers has given his congratulations to the All Blacks for winning this year’s Tri-Nations.

It was always likely that the All Blacks would win this year’s tournament, needing just one bonus point from the last two games.

But the 29-22 victory in Soweto this morning hands the trophy back to New Zealand in emphatic style and after the game de Villiers told Fairfax Media that the All Blacks deserved to be champions.

“Well done to them,” de Villiers said.

“Last year when we won it we were over the moon, it was a great thing for us to do at that stage.

“They deserved it this year, the kind of rugby they played was really entertaining for the people.

“I hope they go from strength to strength, but for us this is a huge disappointment.

“We don’t like losing, I just came back from a funeral in the dressing room and it’s so hard how the guys take it.

“Although they made a huge step up from our Australasian tour, they can’t handle the fact that they went down.

“Now we’ll be aware that as winning can become a habit, so can losing.

“We have to now get some luck and change it around.”

It was a test that the whole of South Africa hoped the Springboks would be able to pull out a win to mark the 100th test of their captain.

With three minutes to go it looked like this might be happening, with one minute to go it looked like they’d at least be able to get a draw, but in the end they got nothing. Smit looked a desolate figure on the field after the game and still hadn’t composed himself properly by the time he attended the press conference.

“I can’t think I’ve ever been more disappointed than to lose your 100th with a missed tackle and then watch the opposition score,” Smit said.

“This is going to hurt me for a very long time.

“The first half we really had control of the game and dictated our terms, we played out of our half and were pretty accurate.

“Then the second half came, there were a couple of penalties where we were giving three points away, then we were missing touch and things like that are always going to cost you.”

But de Villiers said there was no reason for Smit to beat himself up over the loss and that there was plenty to be positive about from the game.

“John is feeling it too personally,” he said.

“What I saw today was that on any given day, if we play the game where we dictate the territory and possesion like we did, then we can beat any team.

Article by DAVID LONG in Johannesburg – Stuff

Shame die arme man!! Wat ‘n teleurstelling vir hom asook elke ander Suid-Afrikaner. Bokke het goed gedoen, met onnodige plaasvervangings, maar hul het weer vir ons hoop gegee!

Btw GBS stunning view van FNB!

Superbul – you’re right in one aspect – drop Morne Steyn. He is one dimensional and only good for kicking goals.his missed penalty line kick lost SA the match.

Instead of a lineout in their 22 it led directly to a score against SA?

Spies rated 7???? They should strap a camera to his head – he has the best seat in the house.

How the hell was Spies rated 7? He was nowhere.
    Duane Vermeulen must be wondering what PDV has against him.

Loosehead – watching live you could see he has no idea of nr 8 play – cover defence? Never bothered.

Just remember who Duanne played against and who Spies had to face.

@ superBul: The AB’s have been targeting Spies..stopping him before he get’s momentum…not his fault, just the AB’;s doing their homework well

@ bos_otter:
    True but Spies must also find other ways to implement his talents. he has all the tools to do a bit more maybe. Although he really does work hard in securing our loose lying balls.

Treehugs said yesterday that Victor was not spotted, i watched this morning the replay and i must say he looked like a traffic cop directing the game, but every time he climbed in he made a difference, i would love to see him play a blinder like Flippie did. Come on Vic how about a big one for your century.Hugs he can do much better i agree.

Next week we will win , look what Loftus do to our Boks.

@ superBul: When’s Bakkies back? Would also be nice to see Brussow back on the field.

The rating on Schalk Burger of 7.5 is unfair, he probably tackled twice as much as anyone else including Juan Smith….should also be a 9.
    Bryan Habana must go and play some Currie Cup early, or even better take a rest. Clearly he is out of form and probably very tired.

@ 4man:17 4man agree. Burger should have got a 9. He and Juan were our best players. Then Hougaard.

Also not sure if Spies should have got 7 maybe 6. Habs really not playing well at all. Maybe play Spies on the wing against the Aussies. Bring in Vermuelen/Alberts/Kanko to play at 8. Habs just not cutting it at the moment. Frans Steyn will be back and he must play FB. Play Aplon on the wing with Spies on for Habs.

jeez Puma are all Natalians like Dick Muir? Playing Spies at wing, whoooow i heard it all. 😆

John Smit shoud retire gracefully now, we have good hookers in SA…

Bissie
    Tiaan Liebenberg
    Gary Botha
    Adriaan Strauss
    Deon Fourie

Total 58 users including 0 member, 58 guests, 0 bot online