Springbok fullback Frans Steyn’s saga with SA Rugby is finally over, and he will join the team on Sunday night in preparation for next weekend’s match against Australia at Loftus Versfeld.

Steyn, who was withdrawn from the All Black match because of a dispute with his club Racing Metro, played a full 80 minutes for his side against Montpellier on Friday night, coming through unscathed.

National teams manager Andy Marinos revealed at the post match press conference that Steyn would be joining up with the Boks after boarding a flight on Saturday night.

“I had a dialogue with Pierre Berbizier (Racing Metro’s coach) this week and we discussed his injury he had. After that injury we agreed it was good for him to play a full 80 minutes which he did on Friday night.

“He should be boarding a plane as we speak and will be joining the Boks when he gets here.”

The Boks, already under pressure after losing at FNB Stadium, will be hard pressed not to pick Steyn, whose massive boot is a major asset at altitude.

25 Responses to Frans Steyn to join Bok camp

So why is he paying for a french side the same day as boks are playing ???? greeez

The loss is not Aplons fault or backs fault
    Basically too many errors at critical times when ball should have been boks in ABs 22
    In last 15 min when they could have wrapped it up there must have been at least 8 poor kicks or knock ons or turnovers. Cant do that against ABs

Mccaw’s try was not try not because of the the grounding but the earlier forward pass on other side just before the try. Poor officiating I feel that cost us the game.
    But they scored and then another.

Why take off your best forward Juan ??????????

Why replace Hougaard (who had a good game, few poor kicks ) for Ricky ???

Why did Jannie Dup stay on so long.

John Smit well done on #100, a much better game but boet your done sorry
    Ag so disappointed

Perhaps Steyn will play on the wing in place of Habana?

our problem is not at fullback but at flyhalf. M Steyn should start learning to play rugby without Fdp. He will never be in Carter’s class.

@ Loosehead:Think Aplon should replace Habs. Let Fransie play next week. No use bringing him here and letting him sit on the bench. Habs is terrible at the moment.

Frans Steyn SHOULD have been in the Boks side all along since the Wales game. Pity now he just may be a bit slow but rather we have him than not. Need to have him for for world cup next year. Also they need to stick with Frans now that they have brought him over. Play him in the eoyt too. I would not drop Aplon though he was very good yesterday, like I said above play Aplon instead of Habs.

@ Wezwp:
    Amen, that’s an area (flyhalf) you need to sort out. Question now us if the other Steyn comes back do you need to carry both kickers? If it were up to me I would keep Morne but not at flyhalf.

Witch other flyhalf would you pick? Do we have any other standout?

@ JimT:
    No Way Morne our best flyhalf!!!!

My team

Coach – H Meyer

Starting 15
    15. F Steyn
    14. G Van der heever
    13. Juan de Jongh
    12. De Villiers
    11. Mvovo or Jp. Pietersen…Banana Habana fogot what this game is about and will not be in my team until he changes… To Quote Doc – Nobody is bigger than the game.
    PS. habana You aree a wing to a centre so stay on your man you cost us two tries yesterday you cake!!
    10 M Steyn
    9. F Hougaards (F. Du Preez)
    8. P. Spies
    7. J Smith
    6. Potgieter until Brussouw is back
    5. V Matfield
    4. P Van der Merwe (B. Botha)
    3. J Du Ppessis
    2. T Liebenberg
    1. G Steenkamp
    Bench
    16. Gary Botha
    17. D. Rossouw
    18. F Hougaard (When F du Preez is back)
    19. D Potgieter (when Brussouw is back)
    20. CJ Van Der Linde
    21. L Mvovo
    22. W Olivier

@ Durban Bulle:
    Surely SA has a more imaginative flyhalf? By all means keep Morne on the team for kicking but not at flyhalf. Spies? I’ve seen enough. The “great white hope” has had his chances. He may be a good player in S-14 & perhaps at test level against 2nd division teams. But for the supreme test against the ABs he has not measured up. Time to move on to someone else. If you think he might be better at wing then play him there in CC & perhaps S-14. Then reassess.

Matfield? In any professional sport it’s always difficult for an athlete to make the decision to retire. Too many stay beyond their time. This is also true for coaches. I’m sure when the Bok selection team meets if the question comes up about Matfield or Smit then someone says “we cannot afford not to play them”. Same principle applies here. Players all reach their “sell-by date” at some point. The easy decision for everyone is to make that decision AFTER the RWC. The tough decision is to make it now when you have time to blend in fresh players & give them the experience of test rugby BEFORE the RWC.

But then as an AB supporter why am I offering this advice? Go ahead keep playing these guys. I won’t have any regrets (tongue in cheek). 🙂

@ JimT:

JIM i want you to remember this blog you did when Morne Steyn downs the mighty all blacks AND DAN CARTER, already broke some of his records just a matter of time he takes them all, Morne will down the AB’s next year on your home grounds next year. I cant WAIT!!!

Matfield will steal all your line out balls and dont forget Bakkies and our mighty SPIIIEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSS

That is if the AB’s dont choke in the semi or quarters again…… I can just see it happening again..peeking a year to early!!!

You may have taken the tri nations but you will not take the WC next year mark my words

@ JimT:
    Dont you think the difference between ABs back 3 and Springboks back 3 is the combinations.

Am i right in saying that the All Blacks played with the same back 3 in all 8 their matches this year.

Boks chopped and changed a lot, only the coach and injuries maybe to blame.

I believe in combinations.

@ Durban Bulle:
    Durban Bulle, I’m willing to consider that the ABs could lose the RWC. Can you do the same for the Boks? Anything can happen in a knockout competition. I can accept the ABs not winning the RWC if they continue to play the level of rugby that they have played most years. It’s a small price to pay for beautiful rugby. RWC only comes around every 4 years. I watch my rugby every year!

Yes Morne can win games but he can lose them too. I think he stifles your back line. They rarely see the ball. Now the question is this the fault of the player or the coaching staff? Probably a bit of both. I just think SA should be able to do better at fly half. I would keep Morne for his kicking but not at #10.

As for Matfield he is a great line out artist but that’s only one aspect of the game. How many line outs are there in a game? Breakdowns & speed on the ball are key today & Matfield is lacking there. Eventually he will lose his line out edge too. I think it happened to some extent this year.

Superbul, you might be right, although the ABs have varied their wings quite a bit this year. One difference is Morne Steyn. I know I sound like a recording but he offers no offensive threat. Just compare him to DC & their respective roles. Opposition has always got to think DC will make a break himself or set his back line in motion. You don’t have to worry about that with Steyn, it’s kick & kick again. Even that doesn’t work sometimes as we saw yesterday.

I can’t see how people are still picking Spies in the starting 15 when he has nothing at all this international season. He can’t tackle [remember the Carter hand off] and just dissapears when the going gets tough.

That you must ask the selectors, many true Bulls supporters like me also wont mind him being brought back to earth. He must do more. But i ask what role is he being coached to do. We over coach our players. Some totally out of their natural flair.

@ JimT:
    read post 14, same applies to Morne.

14@ superBul:
    He has never been a good tackler, and is always shy of the dirty work.
    In open free running games he can be brilliant. In the last few tests he has been terrible.

Sometime you must look at his total value. He distracted a lot in the beginning, with that i mean he was so well watched that he opened gaps for his team mates. Anyway for the Bulls Pierre Spies meant a lot, and all the critics of him can just go and see how the Bulls assemble a TEAM and look at our results.

To many players are brought into the Bok set-up now and the coaches can not get a definitive game going.

17@ superBul:
    As a fellow Bulls supporter I have to disagree with you… Spies’s total value is still below par and below what is expected from the No 8 of one of the Top 3 Rugby Nations in the world.

I have now also had enough of his below average work rate in the tough and tight games and his less than solid defence.

Time for Duane Vermeulen at the Bokke, maybe also time to test Willem Alberts on Bokke level.

@ JimT:
    Yes we can loose totally agree with you but Morne does have the skills and his style of play when he plays for the BUlls i must admit…. that should answer your question dont blame the palyer then blame the cake of a coach.

BRING H.MEYER to the BOKKE!!!!!

NEVER D.Vermuelen will not make it at this level…. thats a promise!!!

I think Duane is over rated but I rate Willem Alberts big time,only concern is that with him being so big I’m not so sure about his mobility for 80 mins.

20@ Durban Bulle:
    What makes you so sure… a hunch or a guess or some form of bias because he wears something else than a Bulls jersey?

He’s not afraid to do the hard graft, and thats exactly where Spies disapears…

22: Ag toe nou. Net nou begin die mense dink ons blou bul ondersteuners is nie meer een(blou)ogig nie, as jy sulke dinge skryf. Duanne is nie te sleg nie, maar om een of ander rede laat daardie streeptrui hom nie te goed lyk nie ? 😀

Ja, Spies is nie op sy beste nou nie, maar ek sien nie dat hy veel swakker as driekwart van die res van die span speel nie, hoekom hom uitsonder ?

Ironies genoeg, het ek saterdag die AB’s se kommentaar geluister van die wedstryd, en hul was baie meer beindruk deur Spies. Dalk is dit juis omdat hy harder werk en minder gesien word, dat almal nou kerm dat hy nie genoeg gesien word nie. Begin hy weer meer los speel en ‘show’ vang soos ander, dan kla almal weer hy speel te los.

Dink die loosie combo soos hy nou is, is reg. Net as Brussow terug is, kan hy Burger vervang.

@ bdb:
    Ja, ja jong nou moet iemand die skuld kry, hy sal NOOIT ooit die ander spanne se manne please nie. Daar waar ek tog respek vir Div behou , hy weet wat is klas.

Total 55 users including 0 member, 55 guests, 0 bot online