Euphoric newspaper headlines praising the Springboks as world champions were at the order in the Sunday and Monday newspapers after the series victory. 

In the All Black side there was no singing and partying after the test. Only a few of the team showed up at the post match reception. 

Most players just sat round the lounge, morose and reflective. Vodanovich is almost heart-broken. “We’ll have to start looking for backs,” he mutters.

The final party of the tour took place at Jannie le Roux’s house. Gielie de Kock the editor of the magazine Dagbreek accompanied the All Blacks to Jannie le Roux’s but was ordered by le Roux to leave the premises as no journalist was welcome at his place. Since his row with one of the Transvaalers reporters and his subsequent refusal to allow the Transvaler’s sports journalists into Ellis Park to report on the fourth test le Roux received much critism and was badly drawn apart by the South African sport media. Colin Meads and Chris Laidlaw pointed it out to le Roux that Gielie (David write it Kieley) de Kock was there as a guest of the All Black team and if he has to leave the All Blacks will leave too. A shoulder shrug response from le Roux led to the AB departing and continuing the party in Gielie de Kock’s hotel room. 

Jannie le Roux the Transvaal rugby boss who made quite a fuss about nothing. Neither the New Zealand supporters nor team or the South African media held him in high esteem. 

David concludes his book with the words: 

It had been a great tour. It was a successful failure in some ways. But, above all, it had been truly worth it.  

In a similar vein that David Gabriel began his book Terry McLean (the award-winning New Zealand sport journalist and author who also wrote a book about the tour with the title; Battling to boks) groans and complains extensively about the Springboks conservative style, the fact that South Africa was not prepared to play young and exciting players and the fact that AB had to play against very weak provincial sides and about the many illegal and dirty incidents on tour. 

He complained as follows about the Springboks conservative style: 

I do not think it can be questioned that the All Blacks in losing the war won the battle which was the sort of rugby that ought to be attempted by all teams at all levels. Their best, play, even, at times, their worst play, did have gaminess about it; it was a sport, risks were taken, and there was the infinite pleasure of something constructed.  

Is it my imagination or have I heard this recently; was it perhaps after the 2007 World Cup tournament when their “attractive” rugby caused their downfall? I think the point is rather irritating especially when one considers that the Springboks scored 6 tries versus only 3 by the All Blacks in the 1970 series. 

McLean continues to steam along with this infuriating whingeing: 

By contrast, the South African teams laboured. The Springboks were not initiators. They sought to unbalance and destroy the All Blacks’ rhythm and to pick up such crumbs as might fall.  A back such as Visagie, who had pretty well all the talents, including a sidestep as nimble as Nurevey’s turned himself into a kicker who in 320 minutes of the test series made only one run. It was a good one, no doubt that, but not too many risks would have been taken if he had made more attempts. I said “turned himself”. Ought I have to have said, “was turned”?  

Piet Visagie which Terry Mclean rated as an outstanding ball player with all the natural ability to be a running flyhalf but who was turned into a kicking one by SA Rugby

McLean keep on whining while labouring an argument that the conservative and one-dimensional playing style of the Springboks also found expression in team selection. For example, someone like Mannetjies Roux -whom he disliked to the extreme and who he regard as a dirty, self-centred even mean rugby player- was chosen above brilliant playmakers such as Johan Walters (WP), Rex Greyling (Natal), Piet Cronje (Transvaal) and Andre van Staden (Northern Transvaal). Other outstanding playmakers whom he reckons should have played for the Springboks are Tonie Roux (NTVL fullback), Frannie Alberts (NTVL wing) and Hannes Viljoen (Natal wing). 

Most of these players –mentioned above- did eventually play for South Africa. It is interesting that when New Zealand had a conservative approach in 1956 and 1965 against the Springboks no kiwi complained about the type of rugby that they were playing. It is well documented that the South Africa back play was far superior to that of New Zealand in 1956 and 1965 while New Zealand had the superior forward pack. Footage of the 1956 and 1965 tests shows that New Zealand’s main approach was to spoil and rush though the lineout’s; very rarely if ever did they play with their backline in both of those series. Most of the AB tries during those respective test series (1956 and 1965) resulted from South African mistakes; that is from a conservative safety first focus while South Africa was trying to play open attractive and entertaining rugby. 

However in 1970 and again in 1976 (about which I am going to write next) after they lost the respective series McLean’s whingeing about South Africa being negative and conservative are the main themes that runs like barbed wire through his two books about the respective tours; they (New Zealand) lost these series (1970 and 1976) according to McLean because the adversaries played negative rugby. 

I wonder whether he would have complained about the “old” players in the Springbok team if New Zealand had won the 1970 series. The fact is the Springboks of 1970 paid their school fees. A substantial amount of them did their apprenticeships on the 1965 tour and the Springboks paid the price by losing the series trying to play “attractive” rugby with young talented and exciting back. It makes absolutely no sense to then cast such players aside for new exciting young talent just in order to entertain the opposition with flap flap rugby. The young player thing was tried during the 69/70 end year tour to the UK and it was a fiasco.  

The Springboks picked a side that could play the way they needed to play to win the series. After the Griqualand-west game the Springbok selectors Ian Kirkpatrick, Daan Swiegers and coach Johan Claassen were highly concerned when they met up after the match. Ian Kirkpatrick words were: “Holy smoke, how are we going to beat these bastards?” Clearly, these wise men of SA Rugby decided on a particular strategy and selected their teams in accordance with that particular game plan. The decision was that the All Blacks should be confronted upfront and their backs should be tackled out of their rhythm. 

Gabriel David (Rugby and be Damned), Terry McLean (Battling the boks) and Harding and Williams (Toughest of them all) indicate in their respective books that the “defining moment” in the 1970 series was Joggie Jansen’s tackle on Cottrell. 

Harding and Williams worded it as follows: 

Those who saw Joggie Jansen’s tackle on Wayne Cottrell at Loftus Versfeld still talk about it. So do those who may have been a thousand miles away listening to the match on the radio, but who have gradually came round to the view that they did in fact, see that tackle. Men still approach Jansen at rugby dinners to discuss it. 

Perhaps, like all legends, it has grown in the telling. But was Jansen’s tackling really that impressive when compared to the frequent big hits of the 1990’s? The answer must be yes because he was so destructive. He seems to have had the ability and the presence to disrupt an entire opposition backline, not merely block a particular movement. His tackles were also genuinely offensive, in that the ball often went loose, to be snatched up by him or one of his team mates. 

It intriques me that McLean and David admit that the Jansen-tackle -and therefore by implication the Springboks game plan- won them the series but then complains in the same sentence/breath about the type of rugby South Africa played and about the players the Springboks selected to enforce that game plan. Mannetjies Roux –who McLean clearly thought was over the hill- contributed much to Jansen’s effectiveness on defence; it was Roux who created two tries by pouncing on balls spilling loose after Jansen tackles. I wonder just how much longer will we hear this lame argument from the Kiwi’s. 

The most disturbing game in terms of foul play was the Eastern Transvaal game when Colin Meads got his arm fractured from a kick by Henderson while lying trapped on the ground. The most sensational incident was the Nomis McCormick incident and it was McLean who interviewed McCormick after the game and broke the story that Fergie intentionally struck Nomis with his the elbow because he would have done anything at the time to prevent a certain try. McLean included the whole interview in his book “Battling the boks”.  

The following paragraph is part of that interview: 

“I hit him,” says the All Black fullback, McCormick. “Of course, I never intended to knock his teeth out. But the situation was very dangerous. Nomis had to be stopped. I might even have gone as far as foot-trip him. As it was I copped him, accidentally, I might say, with my left elbow – right on the point of it.”

McCormick does not excuse his action. In fact, to be frank, I do not think there is any ground for excusing it. 

Looks to me like a case of beauty is in the eye of the beholder. If the Kiwi’s won with conservative rugby then conservative rugby is good rugby and if they need to intimidate opponents in order to ascertain ascendency upfront then intimidation is acceptable just don’t do it to them.  

Alan Sutherland busy intimidating Piston van Wyk with Hannes Marais already on the way down. Eish, I thought it’s just the Springboks who used this sort of tactics. 

That man Sutherland again this time jumping on Mof Myburg’s back with his knees while the game goes on in the background. 

Finally, I believe the 1970 tour was of immense importance for SA rugby. This series won brought back the pride and the self-belief after Springbokrugby went through incredible lows in 1956 as well as in the years 1961 to 1965 and during the 69/70 end year tour when we couldn’t win a single test against the British Home Nations. It is this 1970 series which carried SA rugby through the isolation years and which helped us to keep the belief that we can win the World Cup. This was a massive series for South Africa and one of the reasons why a player like Frik du Preez got the award as South Africa’s player of the centuary. 

Johan Claassen the Springbok coach during 1970 series. Claassen played in 28 tests for the Springboks (1955-1962) and coached the boks for 18 (1964-1974) tests with a success record of 55%. 

Ian Kirkpatrick, one of the selectors during the 1970 series. He played in 13 tests (1953-1961), most on inside centre (two on flyhalf). In the years 1967 to 1977 he coached the Springboks in 12 tests with a 75% success record.

22 Responses to Reaction on the 1970 tour and some final remarks

Die Grootste Reeks are still nowadays the highest peak ever reached by a Bokke XV.
    I have all the books published on that tour even Neil Steyn’s “Weer Wereldkampioene” written in Afrikaans.
    Of course Fred Labuschagne’s “All black-ed out” was a masterpiece.
    Please is it possible to know, for each of the four tests, who were the reserve players called in the bench by the Bokke management?
    This is a detail never published…
    Calling Mof Myburgh and Lofty Nel, to replace Tiny Neethling and Albie Bates after Nuwelands toets, was the master stroke to win the series…

Gysie wrote:

I have all the books published on that tour even Neil Steyn’s “Weer Wereldkampioene” written in Afrikaans.
    Of course Fred Labuschagne’s “All black-ed out” was a masterpiece.

Hi Gysie. Thanks for your comments. I’ve beem looking at those books wondering whether I should purchase them.

Gysie wrote:

Die Grootste Reeks are still nowadays the highest peak ever reached by a Bokke XV.

I agree with this remark. It was a magical time for Springbok rugby. Those 1970 boks is in my mind still the golden standard against which I measure all springboks.
    I don’t know whether you followed the whole series I wrote on this tour. Click on the word history at the bottom of this page; that will take you to all the posts I’ve subnmitted about the 1970 series.

Gysie wrote:

Please is it possible to know, for each of the four tests, who were the reserve players called in the bench by the Bokke management?
    This is a detail never published

I know Robbie Barnard replaced Piston van Wyk in the second test. As far as I know he was the only reserve that played. Who the other reserve were I don’t know but I’ll see if I can get some info on that.

Gysie wrote:

Calling Mof Myburgh and Lofty Nel, to replace Tiny Neethling and Albie Bates after Nuwelands toets, was the master stroke to win the series

I agree see the piece I wrote on the third test and published on the 6th of June. Go to the almanac at the top of this page (see on the left side off page), go to June and click on the number 6.

McLook
    in 1970 I was just 5 years old but I had the chance to see some moments of all 4 tests.
    I rate the 1970 Bokke victory against the All Blacks as the best moment ever in our story.
    Then the 1937 tourists to New Zealand (series won 2-1) and then the 1949 whitewashers.
    A particular feeling of mine goes to the 1956 who lost the series in NZ. Len Rodrigues and Dick Lockyear had to be called, instead they were not.
    Theuns Briers came too late. Basie Viviers was not an influent captain.
    Go Bokke…

@ McLook:
    in the Loftus Versfeld eerste toets the reserves were: Dirk de Vos, Robbie Barnard, Tonie Roux and Ronnie Potgieter if I am not wrong. I read it in Gert Hattingh’s photographic book !All Blacks 1970″ under the heading: “Die plaasvervangers van die Springbokke v.l.n.r. Dirk de Vos, Robbie Barnard, Tonie Roux en Ronnie Potgieter”.

Gysie wrote:

in the Loftus Versfeld eerste toets the reserves were: Dirk de Vos, Robbie Barnard, Tonie Roux and Ronnie Potgieter

Thanks for that. You are right I can’t find any info on the plyers on the bench in my sources. In those days of course players did not play of the bench as is the case today. Reserves were only allowed on the field if a medical doctor confirmed that the injured player can not continue.
    What is Gert Hattingh’s photopraphic book like?

Gysie wrote:

A particular feeling of mine goes to the 1956 who lost the series in NZ.

I also have a soft spot for that 1956 team. That was in terms of NZ probably the biggest series in their history against the Springboks. Up to that point they have not won a single series against the boks. They lost in 1937 at home and were white washed 4-0 in 1949 in SA.
    The 1949 series was plaqued with penalties and Okey Geffin won it bassically for us with his boot so NZ felt cheated on the one hand but also felt that they had to prove that they could beat the Springboks. The whole nation was rallied up and the the first test in that series still holds the record for the highest crowd attendance at a rugby match in the history of NZ rugby.
    Danie Craven and his 1956 team walked into a cauldrom like lambs to the slaughter as there was just no way that NZ would have lost that series. It is also the series when they brought Kevin Skinner into the team for the 3rd test (after unexpectantly losing the 2nd test) to sort out the Springbok “bullies”.
    Craven was so unhappy with the way they were treated in NZ that he publically severed all ties with NZ rugby announcing that SA would never again play a rugby match against NZ.
    It took hard and intense work form the NZRU and the IRB to rectify the relationships.

Love these articles; excellent detail. History is fascinating, well done, once again, McLook and thank you!!

@ McLook:
    a good book just a little thin.
    only in Afrikaans. another resource so important for me about that tour

@ McLook:
    the 1949 All Blacks had many rumours behind them and the way they managed the whole tour. Fred Allen had many All Black players against him.
    They were not a squad just 15 very good players amongst them the greatest heelagter ever for them, Bob Scott.
    If you can get the book Old Heroes (first edition 1991, second edition 2006, I have both) you will read a fantastic masterpiece on that 1956 tour.
    My good friend James Starke (who played the 4th test for us and went back to the home soil by ship together with Theuns Briers) told me some interesting matters about that tour although he arrived as a replacement later on.
    Surely Basie van Wyk broken leg in Australia and Wilf Rosenberg troubles did not help the morale boosting putting aside the 0-14 debut loss at Waikato’s and the usual mudy paddocks where we played.
    Ciao, now I go to work…

Gysie wrote:

If you can get the book Old Heroes (first edition 1991, second edition 2006, I have both) you will read a fantastic masterpiece on that 1956 tour.

Thanks for that info. Will certainly try and get hold of the book.

Gysie wrote:

My good friend James Starke (who played the 4th test for us and went back to the home soil by ship together with Theuns Briers) told me some interesting matters about that tour although he arrived as a replacement later on.

That sounds very interesting. My orignal plan was to write next about the 1956 tour but several people have asked for articles on the 1976 tour (mostly because they can remember the 1976 tour) so I decided to do that next. However I am reconsidering as I would love to here more about James Starke’s take on that 1956 tour.
    For the next few months I am going to post articles on the 1965 tour to NZ (there is already a few on this site) working my way through all the tour matches and the test. Soon as I am done with that I’ll start with either the 1956 or the 1976 tour.
    Thanks for your thoughts and participation. I enjoyed the chat.

Mclook

Keep it up, this articles is a great read. Thanks

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:Glad you’re still reading the stuff old friend.

@ Snoek:Thanks mate; appreciate the feedback. I am already stressed out about this weekend upcoming test. Just hope we play better and it will make my year if we win this one. In fact we can come last in the tri-nation (preferably not) as long as we win this Wellington encounter. The Kiwi’s are so gloating “is om van te k&ts”.

@ McLook:

Yip, it would be good to win this game. But in my view we need our best players to beat the Kiwis at their home grounds. And that is where the problem lies. We are missing some quality players in crucial positions and some players are being played out of position. Until we correct this problem, we will continue to lose against the Kiwis.

In saying that, nothing is imposible, so please prove me wrong bokke!

@ McLook:
    I’m looking forward to reading about the ’76 tour; it is a little bit contemporary and will be full of interesting things. For instance, I stood only metres from the scrum when the ABs played Griquas at Kimberley in ’76. Billy Bush packed in as hooker, with Frank Oliver [Anton’s father] in the second row. Oliver threw a punch at the Griqua front row, but connected with Bush – and gave him an eye injury that sent him home from the tour. I saw the fist connect and thought to myself, now that is going to hurt!!!

As always a great read, McLook.

On a non-rugby note, I enjoyed some your similes too: “themes that run like barbed wire through”. Great picture that – mind if I use it sometime?

fender wrote:

I enjoyed some your similes too: “themes that run like barbed wire through”. Great picture that – mind if I use it sometime?

Yip I had a bit of a chuckle myself when I came-up with that one. I started off with; running through the book like a golden thread but then realise that instead of a “goue draad” it’s so negative a “doring draad” would be a better image. I’ll enjoy seeing you use it. Thanks for the feedback.

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney@16:Yes the ’76 tour certainly had its moments and I’ll be able to write with some authority about that series because I actually saw all the tests and most of the matches on TV as a 14 year old. Got heaps of pictures as I was at the height of my rugby picture collection stage then.

Total 27 users including 0 member, 27 guests, 0 bot online