Whinging Australians…. Neverrrrrrrrrrrr!

Well, well, well, it did’nt take long for the Waratahs to show the whinge-factor…. for this mere fact I hope the Canes clout them to kingdom come on the weekend!

This is taken fro Rugbyhaven:

THE Waratahs have warned the Bulls against fielding a second-string team this weekend against the Stormers that could have up to 13 top-tier players missing, claiming such a move would be against ”the spirit of rugby”.

Should the second-placed Stormers record a bonus-point win against a depleted Bulls side, the Waratahs would be denied any chance of hosting a lucrative home semi-final – even if they were to defeat the Hurricanes at the Sydney Football Stadium on Friday night.

A home semi would yield a much-needed windfall for the NSWRU, which has reported a loss of $459,248 for 2009. The Waratahs would stand to make up to $600,000 should they host a Super 14 semi-final.

”It’s a very worthwhile and valuable game in terms of money we put back into the game,” NSWRU chief executive director Jim L’Estrange said of a possible home semi-final last night.

L’Estrange added that the Waratahs would monitor the situation in Pretoria and act if the Bulls named a severely depleted team for their final-round clash with the Stormers.

”If we think there is a cause to raise concern we will certainly be raising it with SANZAR,” L’Estrange said. ”It’s not about sitting back and just letting this happen. You just want to make sure things are done correctly and also that the best is done by the competition.

”I certainly understand there will be a few players after a long and torrid season who have a few niggles. But one would think 13 [players] is a little overdone. Right now we are sitting, watching and waiting to see exactly what team comes out. And we hope it is the best team the Bulls can put forward.

”I would be incredibly surprised if the Bulls took the risk of resting so many players for what’s an important game. I am sure it is not in the spirit of the rugby. I am not quite sure it is actually in the spirit of SANZAR. The spirit of SANZAR is to make sure you put the best team on you possibly can.”

The table-topping Bulls are eight points clear of the second-placed Stormers, and are reportedly keen to rest their players ahead of the finals series given they have already clinched a home semi. Only one point separates the Stormers and the Waratahs, and the odds of the Cape Town outfit hosting a semi-final would heighten greatly if they were to be pitted against a second XV Bulls side.

The Bulls’ first training session this week reportedly involved the reserves amid rumours Victor Matfield, Fourie du Preez, Morne Steyn, Zane Kirchner and Pierre Spies could be rested from the final home-and-away match.

Any move to field a weakened side would pose a substantial risk to the Bulls in a competition in which momentum and cohesion are vital. The Waratahs learned that lesson in 2002 when, after being assured a home semi-final, they benched several top players for the final round against the Crusaders and were belted 96-19. They lost their home semi-final to the Brumbies 51-10.

L’Estrange hopes talk of the Bulls benching the majority of their squad was only a rumour, but the NSWRU will monitor the situation and assess their team when it is named on Thursday.

There is no SANZAR law preventing a team from resting players, or limiting the number of those who are spelled in any week.

”We look forward [to] a competition that has the best final week of any in Super 14, or any competition has seen for a long time,” L’Estrange said. ”I would hate to think anything would affect that.”

68 Responses to Whinging Waratahs: We’ll complain if the Bulls field a weakened side

Tahs did exactly the same in 2002.

Bunch of wankers.

#19 and 20 GG

“Knock,knock!”
    “Who’s there?”
    “Doos”
    “Doos who?”
    “Doos a favour GG – let’s cut the personal abuse,please?”

On this issue of the the Bulls playing their B team: I don’t know why the Bulls A team are running scared of facing the Stormers, really. Forget about Pamplona – this might be the closest we’re going to get to a local Running of the Bulls. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I believe too much is being made out of this.

Like Griqua was saying some one asked the question and he anwered it in the context and a journalist needing a story to sell tweaked the context.

If I was coach I would rest the A and B side for the finals. If my team was ahead as the Bulls I would tell my next opponents to take the five points as they need them and rest my stars. This log game has no significance compared to finals.

The Bulls deserve to do what they want and the others just figure it our why they could not be in the same position. Freakin heck I would tell the Spears…”you want a game this weekend…theres one up for grabs in Cape Town, you want it?” “You can keep the points if you win!!!”

our = out

Thanks for the honesty Wallabie

33@ Walla – That’s the spirit Walla…. no bitching and moaning….

Wallabie @ 33 – mate, 100% agreed.

Nonetheless, I don’t take being called a doos as derogative (I’ve been called worse, hehehe). GG lives in Korea, and I also lived there back in the 90s. Kimchee can have an awful affect on you if you eat enough of it.

Hey, this isn’t keo, granted, but let’s be gentlemen; lets play the ball, not the man. Let’s rise above nationalism when it effects our comrades; this is why I countenance Rugby-Talk, because shining lights like GBS and particularly old mate Puma rise to the top. After all, it’s only rugby: our passion!

By the way, if we Aussies come across as being cocky, well, we apologise, right here and now.

Who is going to be the Bulls toughest opponents in RSA its not the NZ or Aussie sides because they have to travel.
    It will be the Stormers!!

The Stormers are the Bulls biggest threat when it comes to derbies especially in the finals!!

The Bulls could do themselves heaps of favours by doing away with the Stormers now which means they just need to walk in the park and just win in the finals.

Griq

You are an exceptional gentleman and to be called names is unwarranted…as you say play the ball not the man.

Hopefully our teams win and then travel to RSA for the semis and steal the Grand Final from them to be played in Sydney…My Brumbies vs your Waratahs!!

How about that?

I regularly read the articles and info-pieces on Fox Sports and calling the Aussies Cocky is a bit of an understatement.

Every week I have to read that Waratah and Reds supporters tell everyone who wants to listen what yawn-fests the Bulls and the Stormers are. How their teams are superior in every aspect of the game. How South Africans are ruining the sport, and how ANZAC should leave the SANZAR alliance, in favour of a more exciting Antipodean Competition.

Just one thing I always wonder about? Do they forget who brings the most cash into the alliance? Antipodeans can hardly raise 30,000 spectators in a good season, the Bulls, Sharks and Stormers easily pass that mark in bad seasons.

Griq,

I only read the thread now, I must apologize for the name-calling, we are not supposed to be like that here on RT. Yes debates can get heated, but name-calling is out of the question.

Greenpoint-Gunner

We are still waiting for your apology towards Old-Griq….

Come on , do the right thing and be a man.

Wallabie @ 39 MATE!
    Wouldn’t that just take the cake, and thank you for the most appreciated compliment. I always try to keep in mind that this is, after all, an RSA site, so people are entitled to say what they think about we Australians.

Brumbies v Waratahs in the Super 14 final, played out near Castle Hill somewhere, you and I having a Tooheys on the Hill – now you’re talking!!!

I can imagine that match…500 handling errors, 1000 reset scrums, 10,000 complaints about the ref…I mean, what could be better?

Maybe GG just had a bad day. Forgot on which forum he was on.

37@, Hehe, anyone can call me doos anyday, water of a ducks buck… just do not call me a Dutchmen, I’ll moer you. ๐Ÿ˜€

Old Griq

If you are near Castle Hill mate we then need a drink…. I am round the corner.

Hokaai

You a dutchman??? ๐Ÿ˜†

wallabie @ 47
    nice touch walla

The 2 games involving the Brumbies vs Saders and the Tahs vs Canes are going to be belters… it is going to be monsterous, no quarter given or taken…. NZ against Ozzie…. in both….

Who do you pick on SuperBru…. the Saders and the Waratahs??

The Saint @ 40 I see this as an important post. You make several points that I would, with respect to you as a venerable blogger, dispute. I too, watch and read, on a daily basis, the news articles on: Foxsports, NZ Rugby; Planetrugby; Waratahs Rugby; Reds Rugby and others.

I dispute your accusation that: every week I read that Aus supporters tell everyone what yawn-fests the Bulls/Stormers are; how superior in every aspect Aus teams are to RSA; how RSA teams are ruining the sport; how ANZAC should leave SANZAR, etc. Nothing further from the truth! Can you kindly provide the exact details of these quotes, i.e. sources and I shall seek them out and give them the facts.

Let’s be real: RSA sets the bar in terms of rugby success; unequivocably and as current world champions, they are the team to beat; they play an exciting brand of rugby that others can only aspire to.

As for the majority of cash injection provided into SANZAR: no dispute, revenue bulk comes from RSA. I don’t have a problem in affording decision-making prowess on a revenue basis, if that’s what you prefer.

49 – Gbs, Those are the two big ones this weekend.

Think maybe home ground advantage here. Tahs and Saders, though think Brumbies could sneak it in Christchurch. Remember Saders had to travel a very long way back this week. So maybe thinking Brumbies to sneak it.

Wallabie @ 46 – how about the Mean Fiddler one day, just for a quick one to cleanse the palate???? That’s possibly not too far from you?

50 – Old Griquas, How you doing mate? This is a real big one for your team. Tahs/Canes. Also Brumbies/Saders.

Tahs win this one they in the semi Brumbies too. The travel for the Saders might be too much for them. Also a very tough two games against the Stormers and Bulls. I think maybe Brumbies to sneak that one.

Canes starting to play well now but Tahs are on home soil so thinking it will be Tahs.

Puma @ 53 g’day mate, good to hear from you. Indeed, the pressure-cooker of near finals rugby will impact on everyone this weekend. I’m looking forward to the matches. May the better teams win.

Not long until the Mauritius hols. . .

54 – Old G. Yes looking really forward to the Tahs/Canes and Brumbie/Sader games. The Bulls/Stormers game now is nothing worth watching cause Bulls not playing their full strength side.

On my bru pool those two games are the toughest to choose. Think I will go with Tahs and Brumbies.

Yip going to Mauritius next Thursday the 20th. Looking forward to it. Hope we get the semi and finals on the tv there. The last time I was there saw a some rugby from our SuperSport there. So hoping.

Come back then moving for good to Umhlanga. So it is all good.

Puma @ 55 excellent! Sounds like Umhlanga is the place for you.

56 – Old G, Yip it is for sure. Love the coast. Being going back and forward from my home in Umhlanga and Joburg for many years. Now just want to be at the coast. So that is it when I come back. Leaving here in June. Hope to sell my house up here after the world cup. Or before have it on the market now.

See Aus is doing well again in the cricket. T/20 comp. Think they will win it. Our team are chokers. They out as usual. Not sure what goes with our cricket team. When they tour they are good in a cup comp they are useless.

Go good luck to Aus for the cricket.

Griq

Read week 12 and 13 comments on the Fox Sports Adjudicator thread, the person in question is Reds Fan Inkosi: For instance:

Reds fan Inkosi says: “I’d just like to take this opportunity to welcome all our new supporters to the Reds bandwagon! If you’re commenting on this thread it means you’re at the very least following the Reds and why wouldn’t you? Arguably they are the entertainers, they are the benchmark team given the success they’ve had this year. Even if they lose both the next two games they’ve still won. This game will be tight but the wobbly wheel on the Reds bandwagon that’s holding up all the hangers on will come right and all the Dutchmen will be back on here again next week finding new things to complain about. We are Red because Red is rugby!!

Reds fan James says: “Well well well Mr A apparently I ruffled some feathers with my post yesterday. To James “Identity Crisis” C – clearly you realise Red rugby is more interesting than any other, otherwise you wouldn’t still be sitting in the Reds thread talking jibberish… although, judging by your lack of loyalty being a Saffa from Perth who supports the Brumbies(!?!) you may have convinced yourself you support the Canes this week, in which case I apologise. Ivan “War and Peace” Nel… I would respond but I got bored half way through your 1000 word essay. And Gary, if you like kicking rugby with penalties, feel free to move to the UK to drink warm pints with the rest of the fans of boring fans. Running rugby is the way forward, which is why the ELVs have been so successful and also why the Reds have so many fans this season, again demonstrated by the fact the Reds attract more posts here by multiples than any other team. We bleed Red because Red is rugby.”

These are but 2, you should read week 12 and 11.

I don’t care about decision making in SANZAR, but throwing unearned weight around, like the Waratahs are currently trying to do is above me.

56 – Old G, When you lived here did you ever get to see Durban and Umhlanga?

Puma @ 57 will you be right on the coast when you relocate to Umhlanga? I just checked it on Google Earth. I could live there, for certain!

I’m going to be looking you up when my wife and I return to SA. I’ll bring the Aus red wine!

Total 68 users including 0 member, 68 guests, 0 bot online