Bulls (24) 40 / Crusaders (19) 35 (Final Score)

The Bulls hosted the Crusaders at Loftus, Pretoria at 19:10 SA Time, in perfect weather conditions for rugby. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.

The Bulls scraped a win after the final hooter, when Francois Hougaard scored his second try, a controvercial one which will hotly be contested, specially so in New Zealand. The Bulls won by 40 / 35, and the Crusaders earned 2 bonus points.

The Bulls now definately have a home semi-final (at Orlando Stadium, Soweto) and currently stand on 47 Log Points, with the Crusaders on 36 Log Points.

Bulls: 5 Penalties & 2 Drop Goals & 2 Conversions Morne Steyn, 2 Tries Francois Hougaard, 1 Try Victor Matfield

Crusaders: 3 Conversions & 1 Drop Goal & 2 Penalties Dan Carter, 1 Try Brad Thorn, 1 Try Andy Ellis, 1 Try Sean Maitland, 1 Try Ti’i Paulo

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Gary Botha, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Bees Roux, 18 Bakkies Botha, 19 Derick Kuün, 20 Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 21 Stephan Dippenaar, 22 Pedrie Wannenburg.

Crusaders: 15 Colin Slade, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Dan Bowden, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 George Whitelock, 5 Chris Jack, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Ben Franks, 2 Ti’i Paulo, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Dan Perrin, 17 Owen Franks, 18 Sam Whitelock, 19 Thomas Waldrom, 20 Kahn Fotuali’i, 21 Tim Bateman, 22 Jared Payne.

Referee: Marius Jonker (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Christie du Preez (South Africa)

477 Responses to Bulls vs Crusaders – Game Thread

Bulls winnnnnnnnnnnn

Final Score Bulls 40 / 35

Nou gaan ek suip, anders dooi ek, tjeers ouens.
    Laters.

Ek is bly.

Congratulations Bulls and goodnight every one.

Ek suip klaar.

honestly not a try

but who gives a shit , we got many bad desicions down under

Congratulations Bulls, very close but you kept the Saders out.

congrats bulls , but a nerve wrecker

Nicely doe my Bullyboys. Great match this by two top teams. Saders real champion team and were not going to go out without a great fight. But Fark, my bloody heart can’t take this anymore.

And one thing I saw, Matfield now carries Watson’s water meloens!

Flok…. that was too close.

Bulls gave far too much space away out wide……

Anyway, Bulls have their home semi…. in Soweto….

lol rudi congrats boet

honest opinion from you rudi re that last try???

was one hellova game

2 best bulls players tonight
    stegmann and hougaardt

and steyn put over some great drop kicks

432@ Tjarkie – Was a try, came off a Sader’s arm & body….

see rudi i disagree

firstly look nicely a forward pass

2ndly after the arm of the sader it came off a bulls players head

which put hougaard offsides

anyhows i am happy the bulls wom for many reasons , and it kept my superbru on track

bulls will need to better next saturday though

the stormers is going to be a hard nut to crack down in aapstad

Okay just finished watching the presentation.

WELLLLLLLLLLLLL DONEEEEEEEEEEEEE BULLSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Proud of this team. Just seems no matter what they can come back and win.

That was a great game to watch. Very tough and close the whole way. Good stuff.

Good luck Bulls for the semi. You in that for sure. Next week now no pressure on Bulls. Unless Stormers win by a bonus point tomorrow. Stormers win but no Bonus point. Bulls can rest plenty players.

bulls win made me gain 5 places on superbru

rudi you in 19th and me 20th 😆

too close for comfort puma

im sure rudi is smoking that cig fast now 😆

434 – Sharky Agree.

Jeepers I must be asleep thought Bulls got the bonus there but not. Still a win was fantastic.

now lets hope the weekend finishes even better for me 😀

GBS@431. I agree bull very vulnerable in that outside channel. That was clearly part of the secret strategy to attack that uotside channel with numbers using no 15 and both wingers as well as the centre’s doubling back. Brilliant game. Bulls were in sixes and sevens for lot of the game just defending and trying to plug the holes.
    Lots of spoiling tactics in the scrum from the Saders. Saders tagetted the pods on the defnec as well. They did their homework on the bulls and knew exactly what the bulls were going to do with the ball in hand.
    That last try will be hotly disputed by the NZ crowd. Damm it was close.

441@ Tjarkie – Fark, who cares about Bru now…. I’m still shaking from the narrow win…

Now I’m drinking a Miller Draft…

443 – That is where I am getting it wrong forgot that try by Van den Heever was not.

Still a fanastic game to watch. Bulls will have to up their defence against the Stormers next week.

yup puma

bulls gonna have some really sore bodies tomorrow

and hopefully for them and SA no injuries

steggmann played one of his best games ever as far as i am concerned

he used to give away to many penalties and do stupid things, but of late much better

444 – Sharky, Keeping fingers crossed. hehehehe.

445@ McLook – I agree wholeheartedly…. was actually very clever from the Saders….

Total 33 users including 0 member, 33 guests, 0 bot online