Bulls (24) 40 / Crusaders (19) 35 (Final Score)

The Bulls hosted the Crusaders at Loftus, Pretoria at 19:10 SA Time, in perfect weather conditions for rugby. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.

The Bulls scraped a win after the final hooter, when Francois Hougaard scored his second try, a controvercial one which will hotly be contested, specially so in New Zealand. The Bulls won by 40 / 35, and the Crusaders earned 2 bonus points.

The Bulls now definately have a home semi-final (at Orlando Stadium, Soweto) and currently stand on 47 Log Points, with the Crusaders on 36 Log Points.

Bulls: 5 Penalties & 2 Drop Goals & 2 Conversions Morne Steyn, 2 Tries Francois Hougaard, 1 Try Victor Matfield

Crusaders: 3 Conversions & 1 Drop Goal & 2 Penalties Dan Carter, 1 Try Brad Thorn, 1 Try Andy Ellis, 1 Try Sean Maitland, 1 Try Ti’i Paulo

Bulls: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Gary Botha, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Bees Roux, 18 Bakkies Botha, 19 Derick Kuün, 20 Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 21 Stephan Dippenaar, 22 Pedrie Wannenburg.

Crusaders: 15 Colin Slade, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Dan Bowden, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 George Whitelock, 5 Chris Jack, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Ben Franks, 2 Ti’i Paulo, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Dan Perrin, 17 Owen Franks, 18 Sam Whitelock, 19 Thomas Waldrom, 20 Kahn Fotuali’i, 21 Tim Bateman, 22 Jared Payne.

Referee: Marius Jonker (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Christie du Preez (South Africa)

477 Responses to Bulls vs Crusaders – Game Thread

1 2 3 16

The rain is coming down now in bucket loads. Don’t see that field being dry for the game tonight at Loftus. Maybe rain will be off by then, but field will be very wet.

Go get the SUPER SOPPER Loftus from the cricket ground at Centurion 😀

Hail now coming down too, wow!!! never in my life have I seen this much rain up on the highveld this time of year.

Thunder too. Going to turn the pc off now.

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BULLLLLLLLLLLLLSSSSSSSSS

Back after the storm.

Its not raining here yet but am assuming it’ll come down later. I really hope its dry for the game later.

3 – Winston, Rain still on but much lighter now. Damn it was unreal. So heavy. Really don’t see a dry field at Loftus not ever after this rain. I am in Fourways so it always gets it in Pretoria if we get it here.

Hi Puma,

If due to the rain, its a tight and forward dominated game, will that favour the Bulls in your opinion?

The sun’s out well and solid here in the Panne, so I hope for some of the same in Pretoorsdorp.

petoors is warm and not to cloudy

could be a game with some nice weather for a change

5 – Fender, If Pretoria got the rain we got then the field will be very wet. We had a thunderstorm and hail. Huge amount of rain came down. So maybe it missed Pretoria not sure. Normally if it hits 4ways it gets Pretoria too.

Sun is back out now. Well it was see more clouds building up.

If it is tight, Bulls will win it easy. My feeling. Saders will want the 4 tries they wont get it if the field is wet. Not in a night game that is for sure.

puma hiyas old chap ^5

7 – Sharky, Well that is good news. Normally if we get rain here it rains there too. 4ways not too far from Pretoria. Very close really. So hope the clouds have missed Loftus 😀

9 – Sharky…..hehehe Bugger off with (old chap)…… 😆 The mind is young man…. 😀

How is the weather in Pretoria now?

I am 5 Km from Loftus. No rain in sight.

lol im in bedfordview puma :lol;

12@ dWeePer – Wonderful!

#8 Puma,

I’m just worried that the Bulls do not have the powerful pack that they once had and that if it really is wet that they might come short against a pack that would be more experienced with wet conditions.

Also not sure about the effectiveness of their kick and chase game – no Habs and Ndungane.

I’d like to hear what the Bulls fans might make of this.

12 – dWeePer, Then that is very good news. We had a massive storm here just before 2pm and it last quite awhile.

13 – Sharky, Bedfordview not to far from Pretoria either. I am about 20min away by car. Sun coming out a bit now but still see clouds about.

It looked like it was going to rain now we have blazing sunshine so go figure..

15@ Kitaartjie – A game against a desperate Saders side makes it more difficult than it normally would have been, that said thre are so many positives in the Bulls mindset, players and the Loftus factor that I’m positive enough about the outcome.

Whatever the situation, we should see some of the hardest rugby on the planet.

15 – Fender, Against the Sharks it was tight and very physical last week. We have damn good forwards and the Bulls came out on top in the wet weather. They will do the same to the Saders. Bulls will win this one if it is wet conditions or not. Saders will want to run everything if it is dry. After a huge game against the Stormers think they wont have enough to take the Bulls this week. If Carter is off his game also wont help.

Bulls will win this one. Maybe not by a bonus point but they should win it.

18 – Winston, Then we had the worst of it. Damn even rain dome down my one spare room wall. Will have to have that seen too. Never has that happened. So maybe a tile shifted. No way am I going up there with my kak knees 😀 to see what is going on.

21 – bugger typo 😯 dome = down

winston good day old chap lol

Winston , Puma you 2 better come watch the rugga on bif screen with me 2morrow or imma moer u2 stukkend 😆

19 – gbs, Exactly think the Saders have more pressure on them to win this one than the Bulls. Pressure brings mistakes. Going to be a tough game but Bulls should win it.

rudi did you see who has the yellow cap in superbru again 😯

26@ Tjarkie – No but I suppose it is some lucky BOX who guessed right…. hehehe

24 – Sharky, me still has the tonsils thing. Damn on my 3rd load of antibiotics now. Daft surgeon, could have taken them out with a lazer last week but said it had to come out totally and not do the lazer thing. Now saw him on Thursday said he will just lazer them out but it takes 3 weeks to heal proper. I am going away on holiday in 2 weeks now he would not do it… DAMN feel angry. If he done it last week probably would have been healed by now. So have to be on a 3rd load of antibiotics for nothing really. So no wine or anything until I go on holiday. That is if these tonsils are fine. Hoping.

Chicken bone caught in the tonsils and caused all this nonsense. So just going to stay put and watch from home.

26 – Sharky, Ja you can brag…..hehehehehe. 😆

You are in Bedfordview right? What is your address,as I man of my word I’ll see you tomorrow 🙂

1 2 3 16

Total 32 users including 0 member, 32 guests, 0 bot online