Bakkies Botha Springbok lock of the Vodacom Blue Bulls have been out for most of the S14 season, making his return only last week against the Sharks. This is what he had to say on his game in an interview with Sport24

J.J. Harmse

Pretoria – Bakkies Botha is ready for Brad Thorn and whoever else comes along his path in the Super 14.

The fiery Bulls lock was delighted at making his first start of the year against the Sharks at the weekend and is now eager to get his game to “the high standards of my team-mates” as soon as possible.

The next step to that is Friday night against the Crusaders, for whom Thorn has proved himself as New Zealand’s version of Botha.

“We will always respect the Crusaders as a team. Their history is testimony to that (them deserving of respect) and I believe they will come to Loftus to prove a point,” Botha said from next to the Bulls’ soaking wet training field.

“But that does not mean you can’t get stuck into them. Thorn is a tough opponent, but I’m ready for him.”

The wet fields of the past week or two boosted Botha’s confidence.

“Yes, on the one hand it was a good thing that the fields were so wet as it placed more pressure on the ankle and that is why I’m very satisfied with how I came through training and matches, even if my body is stiff,” he said.

Botha feels it was also to his advantage that there were more rolling mauls.

“The game is then contested on my terms a little more. I’m happy when there are more mauls,” he said.

The new interpretation of the breakdown laws have required Botha to adapt, but he enjoys it.

“The new laws lead to more mauls, so I enjoy it,” he said.

“The ball is in play more, but it gives the bigger guys chance to carry the ball more often. You definitely have to be fitter than a year or two ago.”

Botha is as delighted to be joining the side as his team-mates are about welcoming him back.

“I did not expect to be out of action for so long, but am eager to do my bit again. The other locks in the team played superbly when I was not there, so I have big shoes to fill,” said Botha.

“That is why I want to be ready as soon as possible. The match fitness is not there yet, but I’m working hard to get to the same level as my team-mates.”

According to Botha, the one thing that has not changed about the Bulls’ game is their ability to remain patient.

“The team is older and wiser and there is a lot of experience in the brains trust. The game is analysed, we adapt and the correct decisions are taken on the field,” said Botha.

“Look at how often we trail at half-time. But by staying patient we manage to turn it around.”

Botha believes the team’s spiritual and physical approach is right.

“We just need to fine-tune a little every week. If we’re clinical and use our chances, we will win on Friday.”

114 Responses to Battle of the locks at Loftus

57@ Puma – If the Press Conference refers to the After Match Press Conference, where Goode was indeed mentioned, then I can tell you… I was there…. so was Tjarkie Fornever…. Plum said no such thing about Goode or Streauli.

The question which was asked was something in line with an average Goode… and Plum’s answer was that the Sharks had had a terrible pre-season and did not foresee losing Hernandez and that other okie who was with a French Club before and that certainly one continues to look for answers to problems.

He did not criticize Goode, he did not criticize Streauli, fullstop.

If it was another presser, I cannot comment except to say that Plum is not stupid, is a very friendly and frank person who treats the media honestly and openly and I cannot believe he would have been silly enough to deride a player and a DOR in public…. BULL-BLOODY-SHIT… that journo is sucking kak out of his thumb!!

59 – Blouste, Just read that. It is very sad, what is happening with our beautiful country? I tell you what you live overseas for awhile you never want to come back to face this nonsense that goes on here. The only thing that brought me back was our weather and standard of living. Our crime is a disgrace and most of all these murderers get off. No law in our country is what is getting to me.

61 – GBS, thanks brother for that. I am now very pleased to read that. Going to tell Rob to come over here to read it. Need to put a thread up on SW about this to clear Plums name.

Thanks boeta. Back in 5min.

On this I agree wholeheartedly !!!!

__________________________________________________________________________________________
    Collingwood slams D/L method
    2010-05-04 09:01

Paul Collingwood (Gallo)

Guyana – Frustrated England captain Paul Collingwood demanded change to the way rain-affected games are decided after his team lost to West Indies in their shortened Twenty20 World Cup game on Monday.

England batted superbly for a score of 191 for five from their 20 overs but a rain delay meant West Indies won by scoring just 60 for two from 5.5 overs.

“It is very, very frustrating,” Collingwood said. “Ninety-five percent of the time you are going to win with a score of 191 but the Duckworth-Lewis method somehow changed that,” he said.

The Duckworth-Lewis method is the established calculation system for reducing a target total in a game affected by rain delays in one-day games.

In the Twenty20 version of the game a match can have a result after as few as five overs in an innings and the shorter spans can shift the balance heavily in favour of the team batting second.

Collingwood said Monday’s game, where England lost despite scoring more than three times as many runs as their opponents, showed the system did not work in the shortest format.

“There is a major problem with Duckworth-Lewis for this form of the game,” he said. “I’ve got no problem with it in one-day games but for Twenty20 the system has got to be changed.

“We played a near perfect game and lost.”

West Indies captain Chris Gayle said he agreed with Collingwood that a review was needed.

“It was unfortunate for England to lose in this manner. I think it is something to look into.

“I support what Collingwood said — I could have been in that situation too. It is something we need to address so it can be even-stevens for both teams,” he added.

The day’s other game was also decided after a rain-delay calculation. Sri Lanka batted first and made 173 for seven while Zimbabwe made 29 for one from five overs before the rain came down.

Had Zimbabwe managed just 15 more runs in those opening overs they would have beaten Sri Lanka and eliminated them from the tournament.

Gayle said the prospect of a recalculation had led him to start the innings in an ultra-aggressive manner.

“We knew that the weather was going to play a part and that first five could play a part so we decided to go hard,” he said.

England can still make it to the Super Eight stage of the competition if they beat Ireland on Tuesday and Collingwood said he just wanted a full game.

“I pray for 20 overs v 20 overs and hopefully if we get that we can win,” he said.

61 – Gbs, Just posted something to Rob on Sharksworld to come read here for himself. So he can maybe put up a thread for us on SW to clear up Plums name.

Some press are really vicious and really twist what one says.

Puma, whats your take on the D/L system in this T20 format ?

Cost me big time on bru, but that’s just superbru.

Imagine an international team going out of the WC with this…terrible !!!

65@ Puma – Where in the press or who at the press alleges this?? Who is the deluded farker who wrote such tripe about Plum?

67 – gbs, Not sure read it on keo yesterday 🙄

68@ Puma – Find out who the source of this kak is, when the supposed interview was… I can get the list of attendees of Media People from the Bulls…. and if needs be I can get a transcript of Plum’s Interview from those who attended and recorded the Audio stream of it…..

Oh, and if the Keo web site is the source…. take it from whence it comes… bunch of sensationalist journo’s…. if they told me it was night I would go look outside first, to make sure.

He he he…

Your in a fighting mood hey gbs…

Probably not worth it, these types get found out sooner or later in any case…

Some cricket news…

Former South African opening batsman Andrew Hudson has been appointed by CSA as the new national convenor of selectors.

69 – gbs, Just read it on the Goode thread on keo yesterday.

66 – Blouste, sorry only saw this post of yours now. Yes in a 20/20 really don’t agree with it. Just too short to have the dWL system. Maybe being such a short game play it over the next morning or just draw it.

See gbs doing well on the crici bru……hehehe. He never plays it and kicking some butts there….hehehe.

I got farked by the rain in both games… 🙁

blouste @ 58
    waar is dit en waarvoor?
    was besig gewees!!

I’m not saying the Windies would’nt have won it, but it sure as hell would have been a lot tougher if the full version was played !!!

72@ Puma – Then take it with a pinch of salt…. and tell that journo that I say he’s a lying scoundrel and slanderer and not worth being an objective reporter….

Tell the D@@@@@@@@@@S he should go find work at a skinner magazine where they huff and puff about who does who and who divorces who and which celebrity adopts yet another fashionable little orphan from the continent of Africa.

Fark, two-faced idiots irritate the shit out of me….

Ash ,post 24 – 28…

75@ Hommelby – Ek vistaan djy vedjaar vandaggie!

Veels geluk Liewe maaitjie
    Oorlat djy vedjaar
    Mag die beere jou koek eet
    en nog baaaaie jarreeeee spaaaaaaaaaar

Hiep hiep…. hoer hê!
    Hiep hiep…. hoer hê!!
    Nogga Piep!

77 – gbs, You know me… I say nothing there…hahaha.

Piet said it was Ash’s Birthday to day. If so let us put it up in Bold like we do for others and say Happy Birthday to our favourite Stormer supporter :mrgreen:

well thanks guys
    BUT
    my birthday is only tomorrow!! 😆

but
    thanks anyway, guys!!
    you’re welcome to do the same again tomorrow!!

puma @ 80
    hold your horses bru!! 😀

puma @ 80
    ja, i saw that it was pietman that started that rumour.

thanks nê pietman!! 😳

81@ Hommelby – Nou hoeveel jare bewandel en besoedel jy more hierdie planeet?

81@ Hommelby – More seg ons net… check daai en daai comment van gister…. hehehe

gbs @ 84
    môre sallit 40 jaartjies wees (fok dis baaaaaaaaaaaie!!)
    maar
    eks van plan om noag se rekord af te haal, soe ek is eintlik nog in my jeug!! 😀

Hey jy gaanie twee gelukke van my af kry nie…

Lees maar weer more die thread !!!

Bloody Stormer 😆

81 – Ash, Then tomorrow we will have it up in big bold letters to wish you a GOOD ONE….hehehe.

blouste @ 87
    ek vloekie meerie
    eks amper ñ grootmens!! 😆

86@ Asbak – Hehehehe, wassittie Metusalem wattie highest score hou nie?

By the way, het jy die Arrow van Parow thread gelees….

Hahahahaha

Total 57 users including 0 member, 57 guests, 0 bot online