Bakkies Botha Springbok lock of the Vodacom Blue Bulls have been out for most of the S14 season, making his return only last week against the Sharks. This is what he had to say on his game in an interview with Sport24

J.J. Harmse

Pretoria – Bakkies Botha is ready for Brad Thorn and whoever else comes along his path in the Super 14.

The fiery Bulls lock was delighted at making his first start of the year against the Sharks at the weekend and is now eager to get his game to “the high standards of my team-mates” as soon as possible.

The next step to that is Friday night against the Crusaders, for whom Thorn has proved himself as New Zealand’s version of Botha.

“We will always respect the Crusaders as a team. Their history is testimony to that (them deserving of respect) and I believe they will come to Loftus to prove a point,” Botha said from next to the Bulls’ soaking wet training field.

“But that does not mean you can’t get stuck into them. Thorn is a tough opponent, but I’m ready for him.”

The wet fields of the past week or two boosted Botha’s confidence.

“Yes, on the one hand it was a good thing that the fields were so wet as it placed more pressure on the ankle and that is why I’m very satisfied with how I came through training and matches, even if my body is stiff,” he said.

Botha feels it was also to his advantage that there were more rolling mauls.

“The game is then contested on my terms a little more. I’m happy when there are more mauls,” he said.

The new interpretation of the breakdown laws have required Botha to adapt, but he enjoys it.

“The new laws lead to more mauls, so I enjoy it,” he said.

“The ball is in play more, but it gives the bigger guys chance to carry the ball more often. You definitely have to be fitter than a year or two ago.”

Botha is as delighted to be joining the side as his team-mates are about welcoming him back.

“I did not expect to be out of action for so long, but am eager to do my bit again. The other locks in the team played superbly when I was not there, so I have big shoes to fill,” said Botha.

“That is why I want to be ready as soon as possible. The match fitness is not there yet, but I’m working hard to get to the same level as my team-mates.”

According to Botha, the one thing that has not changed about the Bulls’ game is their ability to remain patient.

“The team is older and wiser and there is a lot of experience in the brains trust. The game is analysed, we adapt and the correct decisions are taken on the field,” said Botha.

“Look at how often we trail at half-time. But by staying patient we manage to turn it around.”

Botha believes the team’s spiritual and physical approach is right.

“We just need to fine-tune a little every week. If we’re clinical and use our chances, we will win on Friday.”

114 Responses to Battle of the locks at Loftus

Was jy al daar op Loftus as dit vol is en dit rof is…
    En die Bulle met ‘n “up & under charge”…

Stel skop maak ‘n drop…
    Nog’n slot word omgedop op LOFTUS !!!!

Go Bakkies jou yster !!!

Long live the great Oom Bakkies 🙂

i sense a bit of arrogance coming from the bulls camp

hmmm, not a good idea, not a good idea at all!!

Ashley, that’s probably what you want to see, but it’s not true bru…

None is so blind as the one who does’nt want to see hey…

I see no signs of arrogance, mere facts being mentioned.

blouste @ 4
    you may be right bru
    anyway, i did mention “feeling” didnt i?
    i have no substantial evidence to back my claim, but my gut feel is that you guys are already looking past this week’s game towards the one against the enemy!!
    .. ag, or maybe thats just the vibe i’m getting from the bulls supporters (nothing wrong with that though)!!

anyway, the bulls will do well to remember that the crusaders a few years ago also lost against the stormers
    only to come back strongly against the bulls at loftus!!

I’m disappointed with JJ Harmse’s effort here. Where are the sweeping statements, the nailing of the colours to the mast?

C’mon JJ – you can do better….

fender @ 7
    lmao

@ Ash & fender…

See even old JJ is being modest !!! 😆

Sien Ash, jy tref ‘n baie belangrike onderskeid in # 6.

Ek as supporter en jy as een kan maar windgat wees soos ons wil !!!

Dit gaan geen effek he op wat tussen die 4 lyne gebeur nie.

Moet my span se koppe op die regte plek wees ? VERSEKER !!!

Is dit, ek glo so !!!

Problem is with the Crusaders they only have 2 Super Stars in there side at the moment being Carter and Richie,problem is Dan is horribly off form with not the greatest backline and the new laws work against Richie and as can be seen last week he just got penalised every time he tried to do something at the ruck..

I will never write off the Crusaders and as we all saw during the competition you can do it with no team really.

But I believe the Bulls are the better team for the weekends match.
    Will that automatically result in a win for us? NO !!!

Do I believe we can and will win them? Hell yes !!!

Other factors are more worrying for me at this stage like injuries to key players, but this is something all teams including the Stormers have hanging over their heads, it’s part of the game…

Blouste,the Bulls must win with 5 points and play there second team against the Stormers,they have nothing to prove then,give Vic and the other main guys a rest..

Winston, can you imagine how pissed off the Newlands faithful will be if the Bulls sent a second string team to the last match !!! 😯

14@ Blouste – can you imagine the power of the subliminal message the Bulls would be sending, doing that… something in the line of “We did not even need our stars to reach THE TOP, play with our 2nd team so long, we’ll fark you up when it matters!”

Who cares,its about winning the competition,why flog a dead horse in a game that does not matter.. I still think the main guys are in serious need of a rest of you guys could land up like the Sharks with 3 or 4 injuries in one game..

The Stormers would still battle to beat the Bulls second team..

@ 17 Winston – In principal I agree 100%.

The only thing I see derailing us big time might be crucial injuries…

But we still have to deal with this Crusaders matter first !!!

Stormers should win against the Sharks, but no points are on the board in that game either…
    So there might still be surprises…

@ 17

I like that statemnet, that should generate a lot of responses from the Stormpies 😆

Wonder how we will do against their 2nd string team… 😛

Its true though Blouste,the Bulls have so much depth in almost all positions,I mean look at Bakkies,he was injured most of the year and nobody really seemed to remember that the great one was missing. Stormers will beat my beloved Sharks but will struggle against the Bulls,if it offends anybody then so be it but the Bulls know how to win semis and finals,they have been doing it for years,Stormers have never done it..

Nah ,I agree but good luck telling that to the Stormers lot… 😆

They carry on about how great they are,until they win the Super 14 it counts for nothing,I’m a Sharks supporter,I know all about that bud..

@ 20

Building that depth and resources was’nt done in one or two years and the Bulls are now picking the fruits.
    Next year I dont see the Boks playing such an instrumental part in the S15, but who knows…

I do know however we at the Bulls are bringing through more and more youngsters unlike the Cape franchise that choose to buy a Habana, J.Fourie whom will in all likelyhood be gone after WC 2011.
    Same goes for the Sharks with a purchase like A.Goode.
    It did’nt help their team in any real way and was a years experience down the drain for a promising youngster at the Durban based team imo…

Heppie Bifday Ashley!!!!!!

Blouste,what I dont understand is that we have the Sharks Academy,a few mates of mine belong to it and it sounds like its run really well,the guys have to study something and when they are not studying,they train,gym or play rugby.why have this institution if we dont bring more guys through.. Only guy to come through is Lambie who is young..

It’s Ashes birthday today ???

Happy happy jou ongemanierdie ,ongepoetste gebroetsel vannie Kaap !!!

Mag jou kinders se ouers skatryk word !!!

Geseende dag.

@ 25 Winston.

That’s the question. And I suppose there might be a lot of answers to it…

But one thingh I can say is that there seem to be this perception in SA that they are scared of playing guys that’s to young.
    I say if he is good enough he is old enough !!!
    Mental strength of such a player should be monitored yes, but look at the Aussies , they have successfully brought through youngsters.

Morning everyone, Piet is it Ash’s Birthday.

If so HAPPY BIRTHDAY ASH… 😀

Just don’t get injured Bakkies, Thorn is a tough player then so is Bakkies but this will only be Bakkies 2nd game. He only played half last week.

Think Bulls will be too good, though never count out the Saders.

Look you Bulls fan, you guys are supposed to be the best, you’re at Fortress Loftus where you ous can gooi that altitude switch in the Press Box to the “on” position, and what’s more the Stormers have softened up the Crusaders for you, so YOU BETTER WIN come Saturday!!

Just remember Puma he is not called the Enforcer for nothing 🙂

Total 33 users including 0 member, 33 guests, 0 bot online