As reported yesterday, Dick Muir has made some expected changes to the Lions team to face the Brumbies, but he has gone much further than that…. there are 8 changes in the side in total. Only time will tell whether this is folly or a masterstroke of genius from Dick Muir.

At fullback Michael Killian gets a run in the place of Earl Rose, who is relegated to the bench.

Wandile Mjekevu, the speedy wing, is replaced with Dusty Noble.

Walter Venter replaces the injured Deon van Rensburg at outside centre.

At Flyhalf, Burton Francis gets his 1st Super 14 start, replacing Carlos Spencer, who apparently carries a slight injury and who is bracketed on the bench with Mjekevu.

At scrumhalf Dick Muir is persisting with JP Joubert in stead of opting for Jacques Coetzee, who has clearly been the better form scrumhalf.

As far as the forwards is concerned, Willem Stoltz regains his place in the lock position after serving out his suspension.

The real shocker however comes in the form of a fully rotated front row, where Kevin Buys, Charles Emslie and JC Janse van Rensburg replaces last week’s front row…. Heinke van der Merwe is relegated to the bench to cover both loosehead and tighthead prop positions.

One cannot help but question the wholesale changes made and it unfortunately leads me to believe that another very long afternoon of rugby awaits Lions supporters, against a Brumbies team who suddenly have their tails in the air. The questions already asked is whether Dick Muir is at panic stations, and whether he truly knows who his best 15 players are… I would hazard a guess that the answer is yes, Dick is already at panic station one and no, Dick certainly does not know who his best 15 are yet.

Despite the negativity the Lions and their supporters bring on themselves, we certainly hope they prove us wrong and win on the weekend.

The full side is as follows:

Lions: 15 Michael Killian, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Walter Venter, 12 Doppies La Grange, 11 Dusty Noble, 10 Burton Francis, 9 JP Joubert, 8 Todd Clever, 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar (c), 5 George Earle, 4 Willem Stoltz, 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Charles Emslie, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Subs: 16 Hannes Franklin, 17 Heinke van der Merwe , 18 Franco van der Merwe, 19 Jacques Lombaard/Robert Kruger, 20 Jacques Coetzee, 21 Carlos Spencer/Wandile Mjekevu, 22 Earl Rose.

118 Responses to Lions team to face Brumbies

Cape Cobras require another 34 runs with 5 wickets and 13 balls remainin

Will put the link back, did not see it disapeared

Superbul, stem. Hougaardt in my opinie saam met Vermaak is ons toekoms op 9.

Wys jou net watse talent die seun het. Selfs op vleuel lyk hy goed, maar sal n jammerte wees as hy dit verloor wat hom n great 9 sal maak.

Cape Cobras require another 22 runs with 5 wickets and 6 balls remaining

Puma i think only a little miracle will save the Cape guys now.

WELL DONE WARRIORS. That was great effort. Really good bowling there. Just had to watch this bowler they call ‘Dusky’ read about him in the papers today. Saying he is the best bowler in domestic crici and has a contract with Proteas even though not playing for them. Probably meaning with pay. Whooooooooo hoooooooooooooooo that was good. Will have to watch domestic crici more.

My bru is out but who cares. It was good to watch.

Warriors win and my Superbru pick 100% right.

No worries , they win 2 – 0

I actually think the changes are alright…he cant do much more with the halfback pairing, so he might as well experiment….but you can be sure the guys coming in have made their names known at practise etc. Rose is too mercurial for my liking…personally I think he is out of his league. Heinke has not been playing well lately, but I musat say I see very little of the s 14 rugby here, just the summing up, which generally shows the scoring plays.

Jacob Zuma arrived in London yesterday with his youngest wife…must say the newspapers are having a full go at him and they are messing it up PR wise (The South African camp that is)R75 bil trade between the two countries per year.

69 – 4 man, the youngest one gets to go to the palace then!!

Difficult call!! 😉

4man , they must just gel as a team, there is a lot of talent there, the right combinations is the big secret now. Not the time now to experiment. They should have had a better idea by now. It really looks clueless.

@71 Super, you misunderstand me, he is probably promoting combinations that have shone at practise. Dick Muir is not prone to panicking….is Jake still there at the Lions, I reckon he could apply for the England job soon…..Johnson must be coming under pressure…unless everybody is scared he will moer them in the lineout 😉

59 – Carol…….. Baaawhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahaha

Funny that that Carol, not sure if he has 4 or 6 wifes. Very strange for me even to think about it. Not sure how the wifes feel. I know when I lived in Saudi they were allowed 4 wifes. Never ever can understand that, not ever. Wonder how your queen felt about having them stay at her place?…… 🙄 Must have felt uncomfortable but she does support Africa. BUT 4 or 6 wifes?…….hehhe.. Wonder which one he brought along? Did the others feel left out?………………CRAZY!!!!!!!!!!!!! NEVER EVER WILL I UNDERSTAND IT. I have real South African African friends if I may say it like that and even they only want one wife. Think this 4 wifes is out dated with most modern thinking African people in this country.

@70 Hi Carol

yes I see they have a state banquet this weekend….my invitation must be lost in the post.

67 – Super, Show off…….hehehehe. I must be on the very bottom….. 😆 Must say feel great for the Warriors.

@73….Puma, its the youngest one, but not the most pregant one, who isnt a wife yet…although Irwin Khoza is probably alright with it…keeping it amongst the Zulu’s. Who did he play for again it was an American team, or was that Kaiser Motaung, I know one of them played in Germany?

4man, I’m sure he will be well entertained by the Palace.

I thought you were well connected, you may just have to blag a seat at the banquet!!

GBS are you there?

What happened to that fantastic blonde scrummie for the Lions, he went to Europe didnt he? I cant see Bath giving up Butch by the way, despite his injuries he always pulls them out the cart.

Puma , good luck to him, me i am heppy whiff one.

I also say it is a outdated thing, but since he do it openly now , expect many more to be revealed.
    How about you taking up the Zulu culture when you are down in Durbs? 😆

Up here i Joburg you stay with your original wife.

@77 Carol…I’ll pitch up in mess kit wearing all my medals, they will probably just let me in then….no blagging required 🙂

46 – 4Man, Howzit mate, Flip have no idea which one he went with 😀 It is a bit confusing really………hahahaha. Jeepers the young African folk here don’t go with that anymore. A bit embarrassing to say the least.

Anyhows, out of here now. Cheers all have yourselves a good evening. Very warm here and sitting on the patio. With that 4man eat your heart out. The weather is awesome at the moment mate.

Good to catch up. Cheers all.

79 – Super, Only one for me…….hahahaha. Am a westerner. Would be flat broke with any more than one……… LOL.

Okay out of here. Cheers all.

@81 Puma…ja ja I know, but at least when we go for a pizza we can walk there, Chris can wear her jewellery and I dont have to take a 9mm with. Hows the surf in Durban at the mo, the offshore wind should be there now with the heat?

i was dead and buried two weeks ago , right down in the bottom 5, i shot up to the top 5. Being surrounded by Bullsbabe and would you believe it Bull Babe. 😆
    Just joking, not surrounded? , but Bullsbabe is still right on top. Wonder who she is

They say two wives is perfect….they are kept so busy worrying about each other, that the man of the house gets to watch rugby in peace without interruptions!!

I dont want to talk about Superbru….this could be my off season. I never pick Sharks or Boks with my head….always with the heart…wellll 90% of the time. The Reds are looking good, but no depth, they will fade. Ja…Bulls and Stormers, possibly Brumbies and Crusaders I think are the 4 semi finalists (I know its early days)

4man – Medals and uniform you say……!!! 😉

@87 well ja….they will be so busy working out the protocol and who this dude is, that i would probably make it into the entree!

Puma, go and enjoy the balmy summer evening and leave 4man and I shivering. Gosh is is parky tonight!
    Cooking a hearty stew right now!

The 3 teams that cost me is the Reds, yes everyone paid for that win against the Crusaders, the Sharks and Cheetahs.

In hindsight both picked with my heart and not my brains, do i have one?// :LOL:

Total 113 users including 0 member, 113 guests, 0 bot online