Alistair Coetzee announced the Stormers team to take on the Highlanders this Saturday at Newlands. I attended the training session.

The team shows captain Schalk Burger returning at No 6 and an interesting choice is Anton van Zyl starting at No 4. Coetzee in the past said that he sees Van Zyl primarily as a No 5 lock, but explained that he is happy that Van Zyl consists of enough skills to cover both.

Wicus Blaauw also makes a welcome return at tighthead prop. Ricky Januarie moves to the bench with Dewalt Duvenhage getting the nod at No 9.

Gio Aplon sat out for the training session and Coetzee said he would wait until later the week before making a decition on a possible replacement for Aplon.

Mark Lauwrence will be the referee for the game and Schalk Burger said that he is pleased with the interpretation of the brake down law by Lawrence.

The Full Squad is:
1 Wicus Blaauw
2 Tiaan Liebenberg
3 Brok Harris
4 Anton van Zyl
5 Andries Bekker
6 Schalk Burger (C)
7 Francois Louw
8 Duane Vermeulen
9 Dewalt Duvenhage
10 Peter Grant
11 Bryan Habana
12 Juan de Jongh
13 Jaque Fourie
14 Gio Aplon
15 Joe Petersen

16 Deon Fourie
17 JC Kritzinger
18 De Kock Steenkamp
19 Pieter Louw
20 Ricky Januarie
21 Lionel Cronje
22 Sireli Naqelevuki

The game starts at 17:05 with the Vodacom teams of the WP and Sharks playing the curtain raiser at 14h45.

SA U/20 will take on Argentina U/20 at 13h00

60 Responses to Stormers team to take on the Highlanders

28 – GBS, I rate the Canes too. Think they will make the semi for sure and even the final. ONLY they are with out some of their top players for this game. So who knows maybe Cheetahs can win by a 1 or 2. 😉

25 GBS,

In that case I might have met your boetie. What year are we talking about?

Man, drums is so much fun it should be outlawed. Bought myself a Pearl birch kit for Christmas and practising like mad.

Back to Valiant: I saw the man in Hermanus two weekends ago. Apparently, he’s moved the family to Stanford and is gigging solo in tiny pubs in the area and loving it! A return to his roots, so to speak…

I’m always struck by his humility and kleindorpie sensibilities.

I’ve asked this before, but have not got a response from any of you Bulls supporters: have you heard Piet Botha’s “Held op Loftus Versveld” from his “Skopgraaf” album?

31@ Puma – Cheetahs are also not with their best combo in my opinion, I mean how can you start Tewis de Bruin above Sarel Pretorius….. farking huge mistake man…. a makulu farking big blunder.

33 – GBS, Just have to see how the game goes. Remember Cheetahs can beat anyone on their day. So hoping they can do it.

Okay have some work to do. Back later.

32@ Kitaartjie – My Boet’s name is Kotie… he played as part of their own band as well… band was called “Ssshhhh”… he’s 36 now…. so this was all till I suppose about 10 years ago.

Mail me the mp3 of Held op Loftus Versveld… let me listen to it

I will rip some of my Boet’s Ssshhhh stuff to mp3 and send you some if you’re interested….

gbs

Sarel is playing…

Cheetahs – 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Lionel Mapoe, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Frans Viljoen, 7 Juan Smith (c), 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Waltie Vermeulen, 4 Nico Breedt, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Wian du Preez.
    Subs: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 David de Villiers, 19 Kabamba Floors, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Riaan Viljoen, 22 Danwel Demas.

36@ Blouste – O flok, daar het ek toe ‘n blonde oomblik gehad…. fanks

Whats this? Another Bulls appreciation thread?

‘n Goeie span daai van die Cheaters…what will happen, eishhh!!!

38@ Loskoppie – Yip, what else is there to appreciate… hahahaha

GBS,

Broer, I don’t have mp3 technology so I won’t be able to send or receive that – sorry man. But check out http://www.findmusic.co.za to get hear Loftus Versveld.

Ja nee kyk ou Loskop, ek wil jou span sooooo graag back die naweek maar flok, hulle was darem kuk laas naweek !!!

41@ Kitaartjie – Flok, do you live in the stone age, send mail by means of pidgeon or boodskapper, ride a donkey cart?

Jy’s agter die tyd boet, kom by, flok!

But thanks for the link.

GBS

You can call met Flintstone Fender if you wish? 😉

😆 😆 😆

You like to read a good murder mystery? Not even Law and
    Order would attempt to capture this mess. This is an
    unbelievable twist of fate!!!!

At the 1994 annual awards dinner given for Forensic
    Science, AAFS President Dr. Don Harper Mills astounded his
    audience with the legal complications of a bizarre
    death. Here is the story
    On
    March 23, 1994……. the medical examiner viewed the body
    of Ronald Opus, and concluded that he died from a shotgun
    wound to the head. Mr.Opus had jumped from the top of a
    ten-story building intending to commit suicide…
    —–
    He left a note to the effect indicating his despondency. As
    he fell past
    the ninth floor, his life was interrupted by a shotgun
    blast passing through a window, which killed him instantly.
    Neither the shooter nor the deceased was aware that a safety
    net had been installed just below the eighth floor level to
    protect some building workers and that Ronald Opus
    would not have been able to complete his suicide the way he
    had planned.
    —–
    “Ordinarily, ” Dr Mills continued, “Someone
    who sets out to commit suicide and ultimately succeeds, even
    though the mechanism might not be what he intended, is still
    defined as committing suicide.” That Mr. Opus was shot on the way to
    certain death,
    but probably would not have been successful because of the
    safety net, caused the medical examiner to feel that he had
    a homicide on his hands.
    —–
    The room on the ninth floor, where the shotgun blast
    emanated, was occupied by an elderly man and his wife. They
    were arguing vigorously, and he was threatening her with a
    shotgun! The man was so upset that when he pulled the
    trigger, he completely missed his wife, and the pellets went
    through the window, striking Mr. Opus. When one intends to
    kill subject “A” but kills subject “B”
    in the attempt, one is guilty of the murder of subject B.
    When confronted with the murder charge, the old man and his
    wife were both adamant, and both said that they thought the
    shotgun was not loaded.
    The old man said it was a long-standing habit to threaten
    his wife with the unloaded shotgun. He had no
    intention to murder her. Therefore the killing
    of Mr. Opus appeared to be an accident; that is, assuming
    the gun had been accidentally loaded.
    —-
    The continuing investigation turned up a witness who saw
    the old couple’s son loading the shotgun about six weeks
    prior to the fatal accident..
    —-
    It transpired that the old lady had cut off her son’s
    financial support and the son, knowing the propensity
    of his father to use the shotgun
    threateningly, loaded the gun with the expectation that his
    father would shoot his mother.
    —-
    Since the loader of the gun was aware of this, he was
    guilty of the murder even though he didn’t actually pull
    the trigger. The case now becomes one
    of murder on the part of the son for the death of Ronald
    Opus.
    —–
    Now comes the exquisite twist… Further investigation
    revealed that the
    son was, in fact, Ronald Opus. He had become increasingly
    despondent over the failure of his attempt to engineer his
    mother’s murder. This led
    him to jump off the ten-story building on March 23rd, only
    to be killed by a shotgun blast passing through the ninth
    story window.
    —–
    The son, Ronald Opus, had actually murdered himself. So the
    medical examiner closed the case as a suicide.

A true story from Associated Press, (Reported by Kurt
    Westerville)

:poop: :poop: :poop:

blouste @ 45
    hehehe
    daai bloubul breintjie van jou klop seker nou BEHOORLIK na djy daai gelieeees het nê?
    DJY is mos kla’ gelieeees
    en
    ve’staan mos alles nê?

o
    middag mense
    en
    blou bulle!!

47@ Asbak – Middag tonerman, inkspatsel, moermengsel…. hoe gaan dit, negosiewinkeltjokker?

gbs @ 48
    jy kliënte vir my? 😀
    hehehe gaan goed hier, prokuROWER?
    hoop dit gaan sleg met jou? 😉

49@ Asbak – Nee, gaan goed… moet net keer of dit gaan beter…

… ek wag net my wille blou moer af vir ‘n rekenaar wat moet klaar scan na ek klomp vieslike virusse gefix het…

… maar dit wassie sommer enige virusse nie, dit het klomp goed gaan disable, die registry, die msconfig gedeelte, die command prompt, die system restore en halfte van die Control Panel Items…

… en die Boks, wie se rekenaar is het al klaar 2 keer in sy broek gepiepie oor die ding noggie klaar is nie, simpel siel!

gbs @ 50
    hmmm, hy op ñ paar interesante sites gewees? 😆

51@ Asbak – Nee, hy’s net een van die dommes wat dink AVG is ‘n goeie Antivirus program…. toe klim die ding deur sy mail in en maak marakkas!

gbs @ 52
    hei
    ekt oekie problems met AVG nie
    in fact
    ekt glattie problems met free goete nie, hehehe!!

anyway, jy enigiets weer van pieta gehoor?

53@ Asbak – Lanklaas met ou Pietiepedia gepraat.

Hello Ash, Seem to miss you everyday. I log on you log off…hehe.

GBS, Any news on the Sharks team for this week?

gbs @ 54
    wou nog die ou nou die dag weer sms om te sê dat dit ñ plesier was om hom en pampoen te ontmoet en het nooit daarby uitgekom nie!!

56@ Puma – No news yet, Sharks always announce their team rather late.

ok guys
    i’m out
    see ya tomorrow!!

59@ Asbak – Cheers office jockey!

Total 57 users including 0 member, 57 guests, 0 bot online