The Bulls are on full Log points after their 4 games (after week 5), having earned their bonus point in every game.

But is everything fine… what about defensive structures? What about concentrating for 80 minutes? What will happen against the better teams with sloppy defence like this?

The Bulls romped to a quick-fire 3 tries to nil lead within about 14 minutes on Saturday against the Highlanders and we were rubbing our grubby hands together in anticipation of a romp of epic proportions which seemed imminant….

A very special moment in the game was Gerhard van den Heever’s 70 metre pearler of a try, where he smoked them for speed, bamboozled them with angles of running and easy stepping them…. they simply had no chance!

But then somehow they lost focus and the Bulls played a mish-mash of brilliant rugby followed by the most ordinary “Lions-type” of rugby for the rest of the game.

The Bulls allowed the Highlanders to score soft try after soft try, whilst scoring their own tries in the process too. In fact, the Bulls allowed Israel Dagg to score a hatrick of tries and also allowed the Highlanders to earn a bonus point for tries in the process.

Gurthro Steenkamp went off with an apparant hamstring twinge but the good news from Bulls coach Frans Ludeke Saturday night was that Gurthro was only taken off as a precautionary measure and re-assured us that Gurthro will be just fine.

Both Derick Kuun and Morne Steyn also went off for blood injuries but they are fine too.

According to the Bulls web site, here is a summary as they saw the game:

The Vodacom Bulls scored seven tries at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday to beat the Highlanders 50-35 in a pulsating Vodacom Super 14 match, securing a fourth consecutive win and staying top of the log of the competition.

A brace of tries by Pierre Spies and Francois Hougaard and a great solo run of all but 70 meters by Gerhard van den Heever laid the foundation for the win, the third in which the Bulls scored 50 points against their opponents.

Credit to the Highlanders, who refused to stop playing and scored five tries in the process. Hard-running fullback Israel Dagg got a hat-trick.

The Bulls was rampant in the opening 30 minutes, scoring four tries to secure the bonus point, but did made some errors later in the game. The Highlanders, to their credit, played better as the match went on.

There was never any doubt about the victory to the Bulls though.

My interpretation of the After Match Press Conferences:

Firstly, let me sketch the scene… for the Bulls, coach Frans Ludeke, dressed in jacket and tie, Victor Matfield, dressed in T-Shirt and those bloody aweful flower power jeans of his with slops on the feet and Pierre Spies, the man of the match, dressed in shorts and slops and a basketball-style T-Shirt, walzes casually into the room…

Damn, that Pierre Spies is a huge boy…. he’s got muscles in places where other people do not even have places. Surely the boy lives in a gym!

The questions started and of course I got my fair share of questions in, after all I have never been known to be shy.

When asked about the Bulls defence or lack thereof one could see the eyes of Victor Matfield, Pierre Spies and Frans Ludeke widen considerably and they immediately said that after the game the first thing which was voiced by all the players was that they were not happy with their sloppy defence on the day and that they need to sharpen up this department of their game.

When I asked about complacency possibly being their biggest enemy (bdb’s question) Victor Matfield was very definate in his answer, he said that with a Team like the Hurricanes looming on Friday and with the overseas tour thereafter, there is no way they can even entertain becomming complacent… and I believe him.

I also asked whether they are chasing certain goals or records, having already won 14 Super 14 games in a row at Home and having already won 10 Super 14 games in a row. Once again Victor was specific, their aim and focus is on the next game only, in fact personal and team milestones receive very little attention in the week, they focus on the business at hand.

Frans Ludeke was pleased with the result of course and said “We put 50 up again on the scoreboard and are still top of the log. One cannot complain about something like that.”

For the Highlanders coach Glenn Moore and his captain Jamie Mackintosh, the mood was obviously a bit more somber. Glenn admitted that the poor first half by his side laid the foundation for the Bulls win.

“We made too many errors early on. We dropped balls, could not cope with the high balls and allowed their ball carriers too much space. You can’t do that and expect not to be punished. Not if you are playing against a quality side like the Bulls. We fought back well, but we never really had a change after that start.”

The Highlanders are now on their way back home and play the Sharks this comming weekend, a prospect they are looking forward to.

61 Responses to Bulls match report card

Go Bulls keep your feet on the floor one game at a time.

It must be a pleasure to attend a Bulls press conference when the Bulls are on a roll. So much is said and expected from the Bulls, i am just glad we have the top think scrum consisting of HM, FL, VM and FDP.

That and the values personified by Pierre Spies and all the rest and the way they know were all their powers come from. This is indeed a Blue Machine, and it is running smooth at the moment.

Gladly both FL end HM are good motivators and studied sports psychology, Heynecke will pick the team up after any mishap.

Just plain dof and unbelievable to think that both could have done this job for the Lions.

After the Game ALL Bulls players were out on the field for very long, handing out autographs…. that was also good to see.

This is what happens when something is run like a business and not a political organisation..

I believe that the Bulls will analyze this game and mediately see that after the first 15 minutes they lost the rest of the game. the reason is obvious, they allowed the game to lose all structure. Or like GBS said “the Bulls played a mish-mash of brilliant rugby followed by the most ordinary “Lions-type” of rugby for the rest of the game”

Defense looked worse than it was,did anyone notice how Isreal Dagg played like a mad man. This guy was unstoppable ,if he played for the Bulls the score would be nearer to 100 than the 50.

Winston true, and the culture the Bulls built is more visible because of our great successes lately. It is nice to be a winner. Our test will come if we lose.

Israel Dagg was excellent.

Did you speak to Heynecke too , GBS

But thats the thing Super,if you guys do lose which will happen eventually.there seems to be forward thinking,a plan b,a plan c and even a plan d. With the Sharks it was blatently obvious that there were huge problems at 10,12,14 and the Smit at 3 story but nothing seemed to have been done to rectify these problems..

You know what to think the Bulls still have a game in hand, so their log points of 20 is very impressive.

Bull supporters puff those chests out. You deserve to be very proud of your team

So sad to see my Sharks going down this year. So close 4 of the games. If only we got the win there we could be sitting with 16 points, and another Saffa team would have been sitting close up there.

So proud to see Bulls and Stormers sitting at number one and two on the log. Even if I support the Sharks it is so good to have two saffa teams doing so well. Really good for SA rugby.

10 – Winston, For sure mate. Sharks now sitting with a temporary FH. Not good really we should be playing one of our own there. Also our centres not doing well. How we miss Francie at inside centre.

What about Zuks? He is just sitting at home. He plays centre and young too. Would have taken him on this tour.

Lambie should have been getting some gametime too. He is a superb talent. By the time they play him he will be out of form (game time wise) for that matter so will Mvovo, who we all know should be playing instead of Odwa.

Smit should be starting at hooker all the time. Everytime he does play there our scrum is far, far better.

Now all we can hope for is that Sharks can just maybe and I mean maybe beat the Canes on their turf. They are not out of it yet, those kiwi sides never ever give up even if they have a bad run, they come back and get it right. Saders last year were no where at this stage and they came back to get a semi spot. Early days so hoping Sharks can beat Canes.

Very good to see the Reds playing well. Nice to see a team that has been laying low down on the log every year doing really well this year. Now also hope the Cheetahs travel well too.

Jisja, waar is julle?
    Ek kyk die Stormers game weer, terwyl ek seekos maak, darem mooi rugby gewees!
    Spyt ek het die losie-uitnodiging van die hand gewys gister…..dit was WP-rugby uit die rakke, soos van ouds!
    Lekker om te sien.

Yes Pietman!!! Welkom terug ou grote!

13 – Piet, Hello. Piet you always making us hungry……hehehe. The seafood and braais. Sounds great.

Stormers and Bulls were great yesterday. Good for saffa rugby.

Thx AB, hoessit daar?
    Groete vir die mooie daar aan jou sy, van Pampen en my af.
    Ons sit en maak seepotjie hier op die balkon en kyk oor die blou water…..
    Vanoggend gedink ek wil dalk volgende maand of so bietjie Pelgrimsrust en Laeveld toe ry, by Superbul gaan kuier en so, en die vrou die boonste wereld wys, was lanklaas in die bos.

Bel my as jy datums het, dan maak ek seker eks op die plaas, dan kom draai julle daar vir n aandtjie of wat?

Pampoen en my af…spel ek nog die vrou se naam verkeerd ook, dis die chenin blanc se skuld!

Sorry Puma, but a man must eat, you must come and check out this seafood mix pot of mine today, I tell you,I have half the ocean in there, even lobster tails and kabeljou!

18 – Piet between you and Old Griquas you both have made me hungry for seafood again today. Both of you throwing some good food on the braai and some good wine too.

AB
    Maak so, sal sien of ons vlieg of ry tot daar by jou, maar dis n date, verseker broer!
    Ek wil egter graag ry, vrou wil nie, maarek wil by n paar ouens aangaan in die O-Kaap oppad, pelle wat ek jaaaare laas gesien het..

Nou dan staan ek by vir jou, dit sal lekker wees. Groete vir jou en Pampoentjie van Essie af!

Aaag nou ja ek is in die vleiswereld so my vroutjie het die heerlikste boerekos gemaak. Groenboontjies, pampoen, blomkool, rys en n heerlike dik t been wat ek self by my vriend Vicent se Bosveld slaghuis gekoop het. Magtig dit was nou lekkkeerrrrrr. Nou vir die surprize… en moenie gedagtes kry nie. 😆

22 – Super, between you, Piet and Old Griquas you making as all hungry…..hehehe.

Foods sounds good.

Bulls are committing too many players to the breakdown on defense, with quick ball to the attacking side’s backline the holes are bound to open up.

24 – Fires, howzit mate. Think Bulls will tigthen their defence this week for the Canes game. Though still if they go out there score more tries than the other team, get the points and the 5 points suppose they not too worried at this stage how much they leak to the otherside, as long as they are winning.

That is their only weak spot at the moment is their defence. They know it though and think they will work on it.

Stormers are looking superb too.

Just wish our Sharks could win a game. Pity about that loss yesterday. So close again but close is not good enough.

Puma, lekker and you.

Very disappointed with the loss yesterday, but still proud of the boys. If all the games we should have won went our way, we’d still be smiling today.

I am a bit concerned at our inability to score tries, I think we’re trying too hard.

I’m getting more and more tired of Jannie, his little tantrums are getting out of hand and he’s killing team morale.

Sharks also not quite klicking, as soon as we do results will go our way.

Lets see this weekend, just hope the Sharks don’t underestimate the Landers.

26 – Fires, mate our games have been close it could have gone either way. We could have 16 points so far but we don’t. Pity. We needed this win bad. Well if we got the win last week and this it would be looking a whole lot better. Missing out on both so close.

We do have to start getting tries. Now is the time I think we should try out some other players. Now we really have nothing to lose. Play Lambie, Mvovo. JdP has cost us far too many penalties too. Very frustrating to see that. Landers will not be easy to beat. Even if they have to travel. They not a bad side actually much better than we think. Will be tough to beat them or the Canes in NZ.

Good weekend of rugby.
    Bulls keep rolling Bit worried about their defense letting in some tries recently

Stormers look like they gaining in confidence as a team forwards and backs playing well
    As I have said so many times JF is the best 13 in the world or just best center full stop.

Reds look very good right now.
    And sharks sorry Puma mate, you are always welcome as a stormer supporter 🙂

Puma, I am sorry mate but I think the Sharks are out of it. In every season of Super rugby you need at least 42+ points to make the semi-final. The sharks are on… 4. So that means they need to get 38 points in 8 games. That means they have to win every single game and pick up a few bonus points along the way. I mean, I wish they were on the winning way, but sadly… I fear the mountain may have become just a bit too high. Still hoping for a top 7 though. Thats very possible.

Games the Sharks should never have lost.

The Cheetahs, Chiefs and Waratahs games. THEN, they would have been right in the mix. But sadly, they did lose those games.

Total 85 users including 0 member, 85 guests, 0 bot online