Under normal circumstances one would back the Sharks to take this one without hesitation against the wooden spooner Cheetahs, but the Sharks have problems…

The Cheetahs played an exciting, try-scoring brand of rugby against the Bulls in week 1 and are known to pull out all stops against SA opposition. In addition the Cheetahs have been somewhat of a bogey-team for the Sharks.

The Cheetahs have a wonderful front row, hard working locks, excellent loosies, a mediocre half back pairing and centres…. but finally sublime wings and a more than capable fullback.

The Sharks battle with dicipline problems, have a very mediocre tight head prop in Jannie Du Plessis, they have a shortage of quality locks with injuries having decimated their lock ranks. They are unsure which combination of their horde of quality loosies to play, under pressure Kockott’s head goes AWOL, they are terribly short on flyhalves and centres and on the wing they have solid wings without being spectacular. At fullback they have “The Rock”…. Oupa Terblanche.

Now compare these facts from both sides, consider home ground advantage for the Sharks, consider that the Cheetahs know they can beat the Sharks at home…. and you still have a huge conundrum.

Most pundits would go for a Sharks win… but I’m not most pundits…. I predict a narrow Cheetahs win at the Tank!

Previous Super 14 results:
2009: Cheetahs won 31-6 (Bloemfontein)
2008: Sharks won 33-14 (Durban)
2007: Sharks won 30-14 (Bloemfontein)
2006: Cheetahs won 27-26 (Durban)

Sharks: 15 Stefan Terblanche, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Adrian Jacobs, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Deon Carstens, 18 Willem Alberts, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Monty Dumond, 22 Andries Strauss.

Cheetahs: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Danwel Demas, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Frans Viljoen, 7 Juan Smith (captain), 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 David de Villiers, 4 Nico Breedt, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Wian du Preez.
Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Ashley Johnson, 20 Sarel Pretorius, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Hennie Daniller.

Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Pro Legoete (South Africa), Cobus Wessels (South Africa)

59 Responses to Preview: Sharks vs Cheetahs

Sharks to take this one…

Cheetahs their own worst enemies…

Who ever lose this match are in for a horrible season imo…

Think the experience of a captain like J.Smit and the nature of the importance of this game will pull it through for the Tjarks !!!

Also…Smitty back at 2

And Ruan at FH, and Adi at 12, much better than Monty and Strauss. Seems I’ll be at that game again, if you see Kaplan getting smoked by a plastic cup…….it wasn’t me, it will be the Staaaaaters… 😆

Got SHARKS by 8 on Super bru, would feel like a traitor going against them.

No wonder i am comeing third or fourth to last on bru, i cant be analytical i have discovered, just go with my heart.

Would have preferred starting with Alberts and Kanko comeing off the bench, and am worried about the defence of Jacobs,Pienaar and Murray, actually maybe Kanko defence as well.

Hugs…

Backing my own team has cost me a lot in the past…

But hey…it’s the right thing to do 😉

Hope Bissie gets splinetrs on his bum and only comes on in the 60th minute, but knowing him he might only play 10 of the 20 minutes. 😥 and that is depressing cause he really is a good player.

Murray us solid on defence, Jacobs needs to prove himself though….

Rumours are doing the rounds that Steve Meyer might be back at the Sharks again…something about his girlfriend not wantign to stay in Durban being the reaon for his retirement, he aparently might come to his sense now……

Whole story still unconfirmed though.

Hi Blouste, ja, pity it doesnt affect the outcome of a game.

FS, but how committed is the guy then??????

Vuurtjie

Die mannetjie klink vir my erg onvolwasse as al die gerugte waar is…

As ek die Sharks was, sou ek hom mooi verduidelik het waar hy kan gaan…ek se weer as al die gerugte waar is.

And to rock up there with daddy in the first place, pleaseeeeeeeee, he is not a little boy going to his first day of school.

I did find that a bit offputting.

His girlfriend must have real talents if she convinced him of this… 😯

Blouste to many big afrikaans words there, i didnt understand

Hugs

Can’t see him making it at this level if this story is true, can’t even take the pressure his girlfirend pu ton him so he sommer retires from rugby….that’s a big choice to be making when you’re ’emotional’…..slapgat

# 17

In a nutshell.

The guy seems to be a bit childish…

If the rumour is true, I would’ve told him to go to hell if I were the Sharks…

The word “sponsmannetjie” from the Zef thread springs to mind 😆

20 – Blouste, I would too and the Sharks must tell him to go grow up. I don’t believe this nonsense story if it is true he is just not worth the effort. More too it I feel.

If it is true really this oke is spineless. Who wears the pants in that house then hey!!!!! Damn he would have made some really good money at the Sharks or did he make enough playing in France?

Okay come everyone. Blues or Landers tomorrow? 😀

That is the difficult one to decide on.

Hi Puma 🙂 have got the Blues by 5, but since i am come nearly last i would go with the opposeing team i i were you.lol

24 – Hi Hugs, I did have the Blues and put in my picks just when I hit the submit button off went my adsl. So none of my picks went through. Now can have a good think about it…haha.

This is a tough one really.

BLUES !!!

There…I’ve said it !!!

I smell an upset!
    Go Cheeters!

26 – Blouste, will kick your butt if I see you went with Landers hey!!!!!! hehehe. Still not sure. Lander never looked bad last week in the 2nd half. Think they gave Saders a bit of a fright there.

28 – Hokaai, who do you support?

Total 68 users including 0 member, 68 guests, 0 bot online