Sharks make a few changes with a few small surprises, one still cannot see this team being world beaters with the backline as is.

Willem Alberts will start his first Super 14 game for the Sharks when they tackle the Crusaders in Christchurch on Friday.

Kick-off is at 08:35 SA time. Alberts, who was at the centre of a pre-season legal tug-of-war between the Sharks and Lions, played off the bench in the Sharks’ defeats to the Chiefs (19-18) and Cheetahs (25-20). With Alberts starting on the blindside flank, Jean Deysel drops down to the substitute’s bench.

Other changes see lock Johann Muller return to the second row after missing last week’s loss to the Cheetahs with a knock he took in the opening game against the Chiefs.

Captain John Smit returns to the tighthead prop position, with Bismarck du Plessis coming in at hooker. England flyhalf Andy Goode will get his first taste of Super Rugby off the bench.

Sharks: 15. Stefan Terblanche, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Waylon Murray, 12. Adrian Jacobs, 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Ruan Pienaar, 9. Rory Kockott, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Johann Muller, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. John Smit (captain), 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira Substitutes: 16. Deon Carstens, 17. Jannie du Plessis, 18. Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19. Jean Deysel, 20. Keegan Daniel, 21. Andrew Goode, 22. Riaan Swanepoel

48 Responses to Goode on Sharks bench for Christchurch

IMO the Sharks had their “lets change our season” game last week, they blew it.

Sorry Tjarks, if you are lucky you will have 2 wins after 7 games…

I wanted to write a humorous…”What the Sharks need to do to turn around their season.” article…

But there is nothing funny about this mess.

BTW, any suggestions what would the public out there like to know about? I know everything…hehe

2@ The Saint – What about an Article on exploding Court Kakhuise… or about murdering 3 innocent little chickens.. or about falling tables in their moer….. hehehehe

Sharks against the Crusaders, gonna be a toughie…Tjarks seems to be in denial… 😯

blouste @ 3
    simpel bloubul
    hoekom lag jy vir jouself?

😆 ashley

He he he

Sorry Ash…

Jou lunch ok?

Kon jy darem al die gras van jou broek afskud?

blouste k*khys
    nei, lunch was ok

9@ Asbak – Was jou Gatsby lekwar gewees?

Now have to type my post all over again……….Eish!!! Now says I am posting too quick????

7 – Sharky howzit. A good team only don’t like to see Deysel on the bench. I am with you with Deysel 6 Alberts 7 and Kanko 8 much better loose trio there. Botes can be on the bench.

Odwa!! Just far too slow. Need to start playing Mvovo soon otherwise he wont have had any game time.

Loosehead…

Sien jy is hier.

Geluk met jou span man !!!

gbs @ 10
    flok nee
    was net toebroodjies gewees!!

hiyas puma brudda , and gbs broer and blouste bliksem 😆 and ashwee

yeah agreed with the new laws a fetchers role has been weakened so loose forwards that clean out good like deysel would be mlore effective

sharky_forever @ 15
    yebo broetsie
    think your team might be the suprise package of the weekend!!

15 – Sharky, I rate Deysel and really don’t like to see a great player on the bench. Botes could have been there. Or are they worried about McCaw? Not with the new laws, they should not be really.

puma i also agree re mvovo , there is no pace in the sharks backline

16 – Ash, We could be. Remember Reds last week? Then Saders are not fools they will correct it. Never watched that game but read the ref blew them a lot. Now they have a kiwi ref and they probably know how he blows. Going to be tough for my Sharkies but we can do it. We have a good team.

18@ Tjarkie – There also is’nt any decent centres in your Tjarkie backline…. hehehehe

18 – Sharky, Nothing we too slow there. All the other teams have good pace there.

Hallo sharky_forbetterorworse…

Tough tour coming up guys…

puma @ 17
    think mccaw etc will still work this new rule out … he’s been there with quite a few law changes and worked it out eventually … cant see why this situation will be different!!

22@ Blouste – Noem hom sommer Tjarkie_vir-botter-en-vir-wors…. hehehe

The crusaders will be out with all guns blazing this weekend…

he he he…

23 – Ash, Yip McCaw no fool he is a great player, will have worked it out for sure. Only has not enough game time. Think he is on the bench. One good thing for Saders is they have a kiwi ref too, they know how he refs. So that is a advantage to them.

I hate really hate this ref system. Totally against it. I want the best refs but not a ref to ref a team from the same country he is from. Never works. Must have the best refs but they have to be neutral.

25 – Blousted :poop: 😆

28 Puma

Yip, I believe you guys are in the :poop: ..

29 – Blouste, I know do you want to rub it in even more…hehe. Hey!! We beat Saders then you never know. Just need one good win and maybe our confidence back. We do travel well always have. So keeping my fingers crossed.

Total 12 users including 0 member, 12 guests, 0 bot online