The Crusaders hosted the Sharks this morning at the AMI Stadium, Christchurch, New Zealand. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The game was broadcast on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA. The Crusaders ground the Sharks down and scored their 4-try bonus point with a minute to go. Saders 35 / 6.

Crusaders: 3 Conversions & 3 Penalties Daniel Carter, 2 Tries Zac Guildford, 1 Try Adam Whitelock, 1 Try Quentin MacDonald

Sharks: 2 Penalties Rory Kockott

Crusaders: 15 Jared Payne, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 George Whitelock, 6 Kieran Read (captain), 5 Brad Thorn, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Ben Franks, 2 Ti’i Paulo, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Owen Franks, 18 Joe Wheeler, 19 Richie McCaw, 20 Kahn Fotuali’i, 21 Adam Whitelock, 22 Colin Slade.

Sharks: 15 Stefan Terblanche, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Adrian Jacobs, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Johann Muller, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 John Smit (captain), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Deon Carstens, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Keegan Daniel, 21 Andrew Goode, 22 Riaan Swanepoel.

Referee: Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Vinny Munro (New Zealand), Keith Brown (New Zealand)
TMO: Kane McBride (New Zealand)

425 Responses to Crusaders 35 (10) vs Sharks 6 (6) (final score) – Game Thread

Hello All. We not talking rugby today or are we?

Congrats Saders and RP! My bad to Puma, Treehugger and ID (oh that is me) and the rest. Must say I don’t know what I should say as you never rejoice in any one’s disappointment.

Well, that puts the Cheetah win a week ago in perspective: The Shark are rubbish.

Very dissapointed…

Die mix tussen oud en jonk en onervare en ervare en vars nuwe bloed is baie belangrik.

Dit help niks jy het te veel ervanig maar geen vars briesie nie.

n Les wat Peter de Villiers hopelik leer uit hierdie gesukkel deur die Sharks

361 – Howzit Irish, Thanks mate. Sharks just not doing it this year. Our backline has not blitz at all. Our scrum struggling, need John at hooker.

Time to test out our youngsters. We have some good youngsters, nothing to lose now just try em out.

How you Irish? Hope Ireland win tomorrow. Have England for a win on my bru only cause it is a home game for them. Rather would lose points on bru and Ireland win.

Knew to go with Saders today on my bru picks but just could not do that with the heart. Need to go with the mind now on my picks.

Well good luck to the Stormers tonight and then the Bulls, Cheetahs and Lions tomorrow.

Speak soon.

Hey Puma – you went the right way mate. England to walk it. Just like the Sharks – Eire is not performing this year. I went England as well. Fortunately I went Saders today.

Will try and pop in tonight – depends on the government. 😆

super stem saam met jou het nou wel nie die game gekyk nie maar wat ek hier lees, klink dit nie of pienaar of goode enige iets gedoen het nie, so hkm word daar nie n jong ou daar ingesit nie ek meen hy kan sekerlik nie k@ker wees as wat nou daar aangaan nie…..

360 – Scrumsaam. 100% boet. How do they get experience if they not given a chance? Now is the time, let em play. Nothing to lose for the Sharks now. WE probably going to land up with the wooden spoon. So why not try out different combos, play the youngsters I say. Give them a chance.

Try out a different loose trio. Deysel, Alberts and Kanko.

Ludik at FB, (need to fly him over pronto) or even the exciting Lambie. Play Mvovo on the wing. Our centres are weak.

Fire Straueli and Van Zyl too. Not sure why they are both there running the show. How could they buy Goode? He is not up to S14 level at all. Comes on and gets a yellow straight away almost too.

Hi Puma, yep day off as we have to set off to Wales for the match at 3pm…..Must get on and stop blogging, too much to do!

Wales will be wet and grey and no wildlife to wonder at (Actually the ‘Valley Girls’ are locally known as enjoying wildlife)!!

At least there is no danger of us being eaten!

Hi Irish…whats new?

366 – Irish, I was going with Saders by 7 then on the last minute changed it to Sharks by 3. My heart just could not say Sharks to lose. Should have gone with the mind.

Now just hoping our other saffa teams do well. Would love to see Lions run the Canes off their feet. They are capable maybe not a win but they have blitz in their side.

Stormers and Bulls flying our flag for us this year. Well Bulls are always flying our flag thank goodness for em. 😀

368 Scrumsaam.
    The youngster who played last year was Cronje.
    I believe that he is injured.
    The very best youngster the Sharks have is Lambie, and believe me he will be a star one day and could likely go all the way to the Boks.
    He has everything going for him, including temperament.
    However he is very young, inexperienced and physically small.
    I assume that they are not wanting to throw him in, especially with the team under this kind of pressure.
    Yet it is a “catch 22” situation, in that there is equally a good arguement to play him now.

370 – Carol, Take some pics for us. Love getting pics of that magnificent stadium. Enjoy it. I have France to win on Bru but really only went with the mind there. Hope Wales win.

You used to the weather so no problems for you…hehe. If it rains here we hardly ever go rather watch on the tv.

Jeepers, have a meeting to get to at 12pm and still sitting here blogging.

Have a few things to get ready for that.

Cheers all now have to hurry. Catch up later.

Ok, I’m back…

Hi all, saw a lot of new guys joined in now…

Puma, yep will do some photos for you. I have France by 5 too but will NOT be shouting for them!!

Somehow don’t think a trip to Wales will have the same effect as a trip to ‘The Bush’…But we have to try!!

Just hope the rain stops!! :neural:

Blouste, so where were you? 😀

Here is Cronje, is it the right one, he is at the Stormers.

Lionel Cronje
    Position: Flyhalf
    Physical: 1.84m, 94kg
    Born: 25 May 1989, Bloemfontein
    Other Representative Honours: SA U20 2009
    Lionel moved to the Cape at the end of 2009 season following an impressive year for the youngster, which included the SA Rugby U20 Player of the Year award. The flyhalf represented South Africa at the IRB Junior World Championships in Japan, where the side finished in a respectable third place. The former Queen’s College student will now want to prove himself at a higher level when he teams up with the Stormers side in 2010.

One thing i can’t understand is why buy goode sure he came with a price tag which would have been much smaller if they invest the money in a local talent, and i am sorry but ruan for me never convinced any one on flyhalf. Ruan doesn’t have self believe anymore because one week he is a 10 and the very next week he is a 9, never gets time to settle…

carol

HAD to go do some work….eish.

But back for now.

How are you doing nice lady ?

379 Super.
    No Super, wrong guy.
    Cronje at the Sharks was one of 2 twins who went to Kearsney college and both of them played for Sharks u20.
    One is the scrum half and the other is the fly half.
    They are identical and when they play in the same team it is something to watch, never mind ref!!

Doing pretty good thanks, just listening to Clive Woodward on the radio, playing inspirational songs like ones they played on the team bus before a match….

Should he give a playlist to Plum do you think!!

It could not do any harm let’s face it!!

Till later….Have a wonderful time whatever you do wherever you are…

Cheers carol

Have a good one… 😉

Puma, not a good idea to blood youngsters in a team like this. You stand the chance of repeating the Gaffie du Toit / Dave von Hoeselin fiasco, where those two were scarred for life.

I have been going on about behind the scenes problems at the Lions, but I think the Sharks are starting to unravel as well. Could a certain kiwi coach have something to do with this?

holy man @ 386
    agree
    john plumtree must goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!

Plum alone can’t cause :poop: like this…

Surely he must have some help 😆

Hallo Asblikkie….

Djy se djou spannetjie gaatie pyp rook vanaand…

flokken hel man
    i dont think i’ll have the guts to back the sharks again in this years super14!! 😥

Total 22 users including 0 member, 22 guests, 0 bot online