In a case of sick irony, it was announced today that the Bulls have lost their stalwart lock Danie Rossouw through injury, just hours after they announced that they have agreed to loan one of their promising young locks, Wilhelm Steenkamp to the Sharks.

2010 BULLS-1

In a media release from the Bulls it seems that Rossouw picked up a blow to the neck in training and have been ruled out for this weekend’s clash with the Brumbies. The Bulls have named Flip van der Merwe as his replacement with rookie lock Fudge Mabeta coming in on the bench as cover.

Earlier today the Bulls extended a lifeline to the Sharks by agreeing to release Wilhelm Steenkamp to the Sharks for the remainder of the Super 14 with the Sharks suffering a double blow of their own in the lock department last week.

There has been no indication from the Bulls that they would pull out of their deal with the Sharks which might just put them in a difficult position especially considering Bakkies Botha is only expected back in rounds 4 or 5 the earliest.

The Bulls face the Brumbies and Waratahs in successive weekends before they have a bye and will hope that the injury to Danie is not too serious.

26 Responses to Bulls lose two locks in one day

Morne

He will again be available for selection for the Vodacom Blue Bulls once the Currie Cup season starts.

This is what is said on the Bulls website, so I doubt Steenkamp will play for us before the end of the tournament.

Unless of coarse there is an escape clause of some sort, like seems to have been the case with the Cheetahs – Du Mond scenario.

However, correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t Wilhelm more a lock in the Matfield mould…

We need a enforcer, in the Bakkies, Rossouw mould.

So it doesn’t make a big difference in any case.( in terms of Steenkamp replacing Rossouw)

Problem here is experience – if Vic or Flip picks up an injury I believe the Bulls are in serious trouble in the tight 5 – especially if Vic goes down.

marrag klein totties
    hoesit?

Read this in an article on superbru…

“Springbok flanker Heinrich Brüssow is unconcerned about the manner in which referees are now patrolling the breakdown.”

This after stating the complete opposite just a few days ago before the BULLS game…

blouste tottie
    i’m gonna write slowly so you can keep up
    SHUT-UP!!!!

Hallo Ash…

Ek is so bietjie depressed met die nuus…

Nou gaan ons die Brumbies met probably net so 10 punte wen 🙁

blouste maandag op ñ donnerdag
    do what all depressed bulls do
    ….
    SNORT!!! 😀

Jou klein moegoe !!! 👿

blouste @ 8
    hei, moetie vi’ djouself soe vloekie, klein bliksem!!

Myself.. hehehe

Hoe kom jy daarby uit beesblaas…

For wich games do you reckon Victor will be rested ?

Things like this throws over the whole apple cart…

Askop

Waar is jy NOU weer heen ?

blouste @ 10
    jy’t jou tweede naam “klein-moegoe” gebruik!!

werk broe, werk!!

Nee man…

Jy verwar my nou seker met een van jou tjommies daar oppie flats… 😀

Ash

Cheers.

Chat later jou ou mopkop 😆

Has Sharks past on the Lock Bug to the Bulls? Phew!! Not good news that. We lost two in just one game last week.

Shame man, now we sit with one of the Bulls Locks too? Thanks Bulls but it is a shame what happened now to Danie. Bulls only getting Bakkies back later too.

Bulls will still beat Brumbies. Good luck Bulls.

A Bulls supporter, cant remember which one told me that Flippie was the next Bakkies, so you still have a good player to put on the field and he is younger than Dannie.

cheers guys
    chat tomorrow!!

busy as a bee
    busy
    busy
    busy!! 😀

Bye Busy Bee

The Bulls are the only side who could lose Bakkies(Springbok), Danie (Springbok) and and Wilhelm Steenkamp (Emerging Springbok) and still smile. The has the depth to cover it. Flip vd Merwe and Fudge Mabeta will relish these opportunities. They do not come to often.

Hallo…

Anybody here ?

Sharks het nou al glad vir Andy Goode(10) van Engeland geleen gekry…hoe die heng kry ou numb-nuts Straeuli dit reg om al hierie ouens te leen?

Wallaby star Adam Ashley-Cooper believes the Bulls are “parasites” in the Vodacom Super 14 and the only way to beat them is to play “parasitic rugby back at them”.

The Brumbies fullback may want to rethink his words come Saturday when his side face the defending champions at their Loftus Versfeld fortress, especially after the bizarre description which is likely to provide the Bulls with more motivation ahead of the game.
    This outburst came as the Brumbies named a strong team for the clash, bringing back Matt Giteau and Rocky Elsom for the big game this weekend.

The Brumbies are at full strength for their clash, with Ashley-Cooper believing the game would be won in the back three because of the Bulls’ kicking game. However, if the fullback had watched last Friday’s game against the Cheetahs, the Bulls veered away from their kicking attack to a more structured, ball-in-hand attack that netted them six tries.

”They play such a parasitic game of footy, their game plan, they just rely on putting all the pressure on you and wait for you to slip up,” Ashley-Cooper told the Canberra Times.

”They are parasites, as I like to describe the way they play. Morne Steyn and Fourie du Preez are such fantastic kickers so, as a result, they get to play such good field position and use their dominant forwards to get over the advantage line and wait for opportunities to pop up. And then they sink their teeth in.

”…We need to give that back to them, to master our kicking game, to play in their half, to pile the pressure on them and play how and where we want to.”

superNul,

Nou gat ons weer die loftus skare op hul beste sien… 😆

Ja daai manne op Loftus het nie veel nodig om hulle te laat opstart nie. Hy sal weet hy speel voor die vyand se mense.

“Posters” vir die Bulls “change room”…

Mooi man.

Total 120 users including 0 member, 120 guests, 0 bot online