The Sharks are probably the team in World Rugby that made the most of the game going professional, for one thing with the help of Mr. Price they sure sell a hell of a lot of T-Shirts.
But looking deeper, the Natal province is not a place that exactly bursts with rugby talent to prove my point, only 6 of the 20 Springboks that the Sharks produced from 2000 onwards, originated in the Natal province. In fact, Natal produced less Springboks than any other of the 4 major provinces, 60 Springboks against the 231 from WP, 184 from the Lions and 84 from the Bulls (From 1970), which explains why the Cheetahs always moan about the Sharks poaching their stars if you look at the numbers of Boks playing in the Sharks team, as opposed to those who come from the province.

But in professional sport, that is the way the cookie crumbles, if a union cannot identify & contract players in their own ranks, and those players get poached, then a pox on them, and a golden star to the recruitment services of Sharks Rugby.

Unfortunately for the Sharks, one cannot buy trophies…
But hey this is the Sharks, they don’t need to buy trophies do they?

ABSA Park is one of the best attended stadia in the whole competition, and the Sharks draw big crowds no matter where they play. Unlike some local franchises ABSA Park never suffers from the echo effect, the fans are very active, and a healthy supporters culture exists in Durban. Even though half of the supporters have no clue about rugby, and merely joins in because of the party atmosphere, it still means a lot of noise, and more importantly, a lot of feet through the gate.

The team is also quite impressive, if you look past the hair products, quick tan lotions and manicures, the sharks have some players that, on paper at least, can rock the joint (not that joint). They possess a tight five capable of mangling anything put before them, a loose trio that can dominate in the loose as well as on defence, and a backline boasting at least 7 internationals, all capable of turning a game on its head.

The coaches can hardly be faulted (except maybe Kevin ‘brainfart’ Putt), Ian Macintosh, Rudolph ‘Staaldraad’ Streauli, and Dick Muir al went on to Springbok duty, while John Plumtree is highly rated in SA as well as his native NZ. The structures within the organization saw the creation of the Sharks Academy where promising talent is honed and perfected, so you have homegrown youngsters coming through at regular intervals.

Now it’s open for discussion, if you have the fans, the players and the coaches, where are all the cups? (And I am not referring to B and C cups of the Shark Flashing Girls, who probably boast a few fans of their own)

I fear that the success of the Sharks franchise might indirectly be the downfall of the team. Think about it, when last did the Sharks play a game where they were the underdogs? I cannot recall even one game from recent memory. But why?????? There are no trophies or super achievements to support this view, yet they enter every game as favorites, I’d even go so far as to say, overwhelming favorites, even when facing the Bulls? The Sharks media partners and the printed press, sell the Sharks way better than actual achievement ever could. Everyone believes the hype, even the players, but the sad reality is, at most times hype is all it is.

The Sharks, talented as the individuals in their team might be, have never, and I want to repeat this for some major dramatic effect, NEVER, reached even 70% of their written potential. That is a major statement to make, but I challenge anyone to contradict me.

Should the Sharks have played to merely 75% of what they are capable of, the Super 14 would not have eluded them for as long as it has been doing.

In my honest opinion, there is absolutely nothing wrong with the Sharks game plan, their use of forwards and backs and their strategies seem impeccable, they know what to do when, and they are well prepared beforehand, for any situation that might occur during the game. All they need to do, is stop believing everything they hear about themselves, stop believing how awesome they are, and get down to playing some rugby!

Commitment and balls of brass is something that needs to be instilled in the Sharks team, they sorely lack both urgently, and neither of the above can be bought…sorry Rudolph. They should do away with the relaxed, laid back Durban lifestyle, and actually come to the game.

The Great White Shark also has a fearsome reputation, but unlike the Natal Sharks, it will cost you an arm and a leg if you piss in its pool. Maybe there is a lesson in there.

The Team
Their tight five might just be the most impressive part of this team, in the Beast, Deon Carstens, Jannie Du Plessis, Bismarck du Plessis, John Smit, Craig Burden, Pat Cilliers, Johan Muller, Steven Sykes, Gerhard Mostert, and Alistair Hargreaves they have quite a number of different options for different scenarios. A question might be where John Smit fits into the picture, as he cannot really compete for a place as prop or hooker. However, I feel that should the Sharks want to win this Super 14, Smit must get quite a bit of game time. Nothing against Johan Muller, but there are a few hotheads in the squad who needs some control, and I doubt whether Muller has the true aptitude for captaincy.

In between the loose forwards the same applies, Jaques Botes, Jean Deysel, Ryan Kankowski, Willem Alberts and Keegan Daniel are all proven players, the cover at loose-forward is a bit thin though and relatively unknown, which is a problem, as loosies are usually prime injury candidates, add to that Daniels’ Red Card that he is bound to receive somewhere during the group stages, and the Sharks might just applaud Streauli’s acquisition of Alberts as an act of clarity!

At scrumhalve there should be no problem in Sharkland, Kockott & McLeod probably getting the bulk of the work, and Cronje filling the gaps. Where is Pienaar you might ask? Well, as a late shock Hernandez has picked up a serious injury, and will be out for the competition, leaving Guy Cronje and Pienaar to fill in. However, Pienaar and Cronje are now also injured, albeit short-termish, meaning that Monty Dumond’s transfer to the Cheetahs, is now also something of the past, as he is now candidate number 1. With the only guy you can now rely on, being the one that knows the coaches thought he was originally not good enough, I foresee a struggle at 10, something that might just scuttle the whole ship.
Centre is, if anything adequate, with Riaan Swanepoel, Adrian Jacobs, Waylon Murray and Andries Strauss the main contenders, I believe they should be enough to keep the midfield secure, even if Strauss is greatly overrated, Jacobs’ experience could be telling, but work is needed on defence.

The back three might be more powerful than originally thought, the vastly impressive Terblanche should remain at 15, meaning that Ludik might be playing at most an impact role, or even cover at wing where he will share the spotlight with Ndungane, Pietersen, Vulindlu and Mvovo, all in all no problems here in the foreseeable future.

If I was the coach, Terblanche might even get the nod as captain ahead of Muller, but behind Smit, as the only Sharks player, apart from Smit who in my mind has true leadership abilities. I know I will probably be crucified for this, but apart from flyhalve where there is a true crisis, Johan Muller could be equally detrimental to the Sharks’ cause because of his inability to stamp his authority on the team and control the unruly (read Bismarck, Kockott and Daniels especially) in his ranks.

All in all this could be a good year, I expect at least a top 6 finish, but again no silverware.

Forwards
Beast Mtawarira, Deon Carstens, Pat Cilliers, Jannie du Plessis, John Smit, Wiehahn Herbst, Bismarck du Plessis, Craig Burden, Kyle Cooper, Johann Muller, Steven Sykes, Gerhard Mostert, Alistair Hargreaves, Jacques Botes, Keegan Daniel, Skholiwe Ndlovu, Jean Deysel, Ryan Kankowski, Willem Alberts, Michael Rhodes, Luvuyiso Lusaseni

Backs
Ruan Pienaar, Rory Kockott, Charl McLeod, Ross Cronjé, Juan Martin Hernández, Monty Dumond, Guy Cronjé, Riaan Swanepoel, Adrian Jacobs, Waylon Murray, Andries Strauss, Jean Stemmet, Jerome Pretorius, Patrick Lambie, Odwa Ndungane, JP Pietersen, Lwazi Mvovo, Luzuko Vulindlu, Chris Jordaan, Stefan Terblanche, Louis Ludik

174 Responses to The Saint’s Super SA Showdown – The Sharks

1 2 3 6

The problem is that to win the Super you had to perform for 15 games. Somehow the Sharks cannot maintain top performances for that period.

There are massive power struggles happening at the Sharks which is one of what I perceive many problems.

Secondly, I rate Plumtree as a very good coach, technically superb, but he is not a manager of men and needs a sounding board. Plum for my money is a coach that needs to work under a DOR.

Thirdly, the Sharks have leadership issues. If John Smit is not made captain of this team I will not even be bothered to follow them this season.

Morne

I am glad to see that I am not the only one who thinks Muller’s captaincy is suspect.

Good summary of my team, but a few points i want to raise.

How do you come up with the figure that only 60 Springboks comes from Natal?

It has to remembered that some of our best school boy players are bought by schools out of the province, this include a rather big amount by Grey Bloem, and then they are seen as freestate players by all.

Another thing that hurts KZN Rugby is a Traditional rugby university. No student with any aspiration of playing top flight rugby is going to attend Durban University.

The one thing that irritate me is how the Sharks tend to lose against really weak opposition. (Cheetahs, Reds)

Maar nou ja, as dit nie vir daai bleddie Habana was nie, sou ons ook ‘n S14 gewen het.

Smit is to fat to play 80 mins week in and week out. Whats the use of having a captain that hardly plays a full game. But a fit Barney should be made captain without a doubt.

Snoek

Those schoolboys need to have at least played some rugby for the Sharks to qualify. In other words, these are guys that became or played for the Springboks while playing for the Sharks, Bob Skinstadt and Percy Montgomery is also on that list, even though their careers started in the Cape and Zimbabwe respectedly.

Search Google for “genslin.us” one of the best statistical sites on Springbok rugby ever.

6 – Saint

But that is the point, there is a lot of players leaving Shark country to study, and end up in other provinces. That would be a big reason why the Sharks have so few boks that originate from KZN.

Snoek

Point taken, give me a bit and I will publish a list such as that, however, I am willing to bet, that not much would have changed in regard to the Sharks’ position, WP and the Lions would still have the most players, but, hey, it’s an interesting observation, I am only too glad to oblige.

No trophies?

They did manage to win the CC in 2008.But yes, no current trophies, not unlike the rest of the provinces, except the Bulls of course!

Eish, no matter how much I hate the Sharks, they’re still a great team of players (Except Johan Muller). It’s mind-boggling how the Sharks can choke when under pressure…

So what our highly acclaimed author is actually saying is that the Sharks are chokers.

😉 yip… that’s basically what he’s saying. SA’s own All Black (and Grey/White) team.

Kanni wag vir Febuarie nie… Dan begin die Super13 en die Stormers… Hehehe *Evil Laff* Hehehe (Spelling intended)

hmmm, sêlfs al wên ons net 1 ou gampechie, gaanit nog steeds 1 meer wies as wat ñ siekere blou-vaal span in ñ siekere djaar va’ soepe rugby gewenit … djaa, is in daai djare wat hulle nie eens
    1. blinnes kon oerrietit om virrie bulle te kykie
    en
    waar
    2. selfs dowes nie narie bulle se games oppi radio wou gelysterit nie!!

oe en stuur maar groete vi’ spelling intended!! 😯

Loosehead

The quality of the authors on this blog is astounding, here I go, write a 1400 word essay, and you just sum it all up in a sentence 🙂 However, I would just like to add, yes they are chokers, but they do not want to admit it.

No there is a vast difference between the Sharks and our other teams, the Sharks themselves actually believe themselves to be champions.

The Saint

Which team will you be covering next ?

BBP moet nie so hard met die Stormers wees nie, hulle is nog in ‘n rebuilding phase.

om een of ander rede het ek al heel oggend dié gedig in my kop

REPOS AILLEURS (Die rus is elders)

In die eensame veld
    staan ‘n tentjie klein,
    en daarnaas in die skeemring
    skuif die ligtende trein;
    ek sien in die tentjie,
    deur die oop gordyn,
    ‘n tafel met bordjies
    en glasies fyn,
    wat sag in die lig
    van die kersie skyn,
    en ek dag: “Was ek net
    in die tentjie klein,
    ek sou tog o so gelukkig syn”

Naas die eensame tent
    staan ‘n meisie klein,
    in stomme bewond’ring
    van die ligtende trein;
    sy sien my geniet
    my glansende wyn
    en kost’like maal
    by elektriese skyn;
    en ek raai die gedagte
    van die meisie klein:
    “Ag, was ek maar net
    in die vrolike trein,
    ek sou tog o so gelukkig syn.”

Totius (J D du Toit)

Volgende week kom my Stormers aan die beurt, en dan die Bulle

Ek wil nie die Stormers uittrek nie, maar ek sal maar moet eerlik wees. Anders is my credibility shot.

Snoek, net vir jou, dit het my FLIPPEN lank gevat:

Provinces where Springboks were born:

WP: 245
    Freestate: 85
    Gauteng (Lions): 92
    Gauteng (Bulls): 65
    Griekwas (Northern Cape): 40
    Natal: 64
    Eastern Cape: 64
    International (England, Zim, Wales etc.): 48

So yes, the Sharks are still the worst off in the greater provinces, in other words, Natal struggles to get talent coming through.

the saint @ 22
    ok, not bad …. NOW DO THE TOWNS!! 😀

2 – Morne, You do feel strongly about John being Captain of the Sharks. Well so do I mate, very much so. Why we have the best captain in the world and don’t use him is just plain stupid. Muller is not a captain. I though being a Shark supporter will keep on supporting my team even if John is not made captain. Would be a great pity not to use his leadership. Hope Plum can see this.

Saint, Yip once again like your article. Chokers huh!!! What chokers? LOL. Have to agree we get so very close to winning some sliverware but close is not good enough. Maybe this will be our year, just don’t see it happen with our dreadful draw. Then it could be who knows.

With no Hernandez and Ruan injured FH could be our problem once again this year. We have Monty for now. Maybe once Ruan is over that knee op he may play there as long as he does not have to take the kicks, think Ruan is a good FH. I have no problem seeing Rory back at scrummie, just needs to keep that hot head under control. Smit as Captain that would be solved. Also with Rory we have a kicker.

So yes, we buy our players from mostly Free State, who cares where we get our players from 😉 as long as we buy the best. I have no problem where our players come from (Sorry Loosehead those Freestaters love coming to KZN :D)

Good buy getting, Ludik, Alberts and Mostert. (Especially Alberts) Remember Stefan is not a youngster so not sure if Ludik will sit on the bench for a long time.

Saint enjoyed your article on my team, actually thought you would be a lot more harsh.

Good luck Sharks. Can not wait for S14 to start.

22 – Saint, We don’t have to worry too much about getting talent through, we just go to Grey Bloem, they breed them for us 😆

Who cares where we get em mate, as long as we get the best for the Sharks.

Saint, Also forgot to mention in my post above. You mention we have never even played 70% of our potential? But if we up it to 75% we SHOULD win the S14 with our players. Jeepers enjoyed reading that part mate 😀 So that means if we played to 90% or 100% of our potential Sharks could be unbeatable? Hey!! Sounds good to me. 😀 Yip you were not very harsh on my team buddy.

ok guys
    see tomorrow
    cheers!

Puma,

Yes I do feel strongly about it.

Before the season started last year I said the Sharks made a massive mistake, and I will say it again this year.

A leader in a team is more important than 13 Springboks in the starting 15, which is why the Stormers still don’t excite me.

Good day guys.
    I think that the Saint has made a fair assessment of the Sharks.
    There is no doubting their professional structures and top class marketing, however they simply have under performed given everything that they have going for them.
    As for the captaincy issue, it is a no brainer!!
    Why would you not make John Smit captain?

interesting squad list… may I ask where you got it? 🙂 : ): )

1 2 3 6

Total 36 users including 0 member, 36 guests, 0 bot online