I found this article quite entertaining. I know we can add a lot more. I bet we will be able to add 50 more before Christmas.

Ten minutes before kick-off in Leicester’s Heineken Cup clash against Ospreys, midfielder Dan Hipkiss withdrew from the starting xv due to injury. In stepped an unknown 20 year old to make his full debut for the Tigers, Billy Twelvetrees.

A try and nine points with the boot later, and every newspaper in the country with a headline specialist was clambering to go to print. On the Monday following the match the sporting media overflowed with puns exploiting all things foliage, making it difficult to ever hope to see Twelvetrees in the spotlight again. In acting and modelling circles, the media race to christen new talent with clever names, but in rugby – as with all team sports – the nicknames come from team mates and the fans.

The names that crop up in rugby circles are not just a reflection of personal attributes; they also give great insight into the vernacular of an individual’s homeland.

South Africans have had some of the most colourful nicknames over the years, though few outside the country would appreciate the richness of such names as Windhond Muller, Vleis Visagie and Draadkar de Lange. In today’s Currie Cup the torch has been passed to the brilliantly named Windpomp van Rooyen and Ligtoring Landman.

Derick Hougaard was for many years the jewel of Loftus Versfeld, and the stands would break into a rousing bout of ‘Liefling’ every time the former Blue Bull kept the scoreboard ticking over in Pretoria. Loftus will see many more flyhalves, but that name will stick with Hougaard for life.

On the other side of the Super 14, new Force signing Andre Pretorius has been picked up for his cocked eyebrow in the lead up to his goal kicking, and some fans now refer to him as ‘Blue Steel’.

In the forwards, South Africa’s recent production line of memorably named props has churned out Toks van der Linde, Ollie le Roux, Baksteen Nel and Os du Randt among others, and these days there is barely a stadium in the world that doesn’t break into a dull roar of ‘Beeeast’ every time Durban’s favoured son is involved in a play.

Mtawarira’s French equivalent in terms of cult status would have to be ‘Homme des Cavernes’ – the Caveman. Sebastian Chabal is himself a well-publicised figure around the world, and is recognised by even those who don’t watch rugby.

But not all nicknames that originate from physical attributes are flattering. Gareth Thomas, Wales’ centurion, answers to the alias ‘Alfie’ due to an unfortunate resemblance to the hairy alien ‘Alf’ from the tv show of the same name.

Former England centre Will Greenwood is called ‘Shaggy’ after a teammate pointed out how much he looked like Scooby Doo’s best mate.

When Greg Somerville was in the New Zealand colts’ side with Xavier Rush, he was christened ‘Yoda’ – his protestations only serving to cement the name.

Though the most unflattering nickname was picked up by All Black hooker Anton Oliver, who, after a few years in the front row had ruined any chance of a modelling contract coming his way, was mercilessly taunted with ‘Grenade Face’.

Sometimes the nicknames go deeper than looks.

Justin Harrison was called a ‘plank’ by travelling opponent Austin Healy during the 2001 Lions tour to Australia, a name that has stuck with him.

As has ‘Googy’ – Aussie slang for an egg, as he was apparently swiftly identified as a bad egg early in his career.

All Black Christian Cullen had the official tag of ‘Paekakariki Express’, a gallant play on his speediness around the park, but Cullen was apparently not too sharp: behind the scenes he was reportedly referred to as ‘Beer Bottle’ as he was ’empty from the neck up’.

Perhaps the most famous nickname belongs to John Eales. A man who scrummed, dominated the lineouts, performed other pack duties and still found the time to slot Tri Nations winning penalty kicks collected the most respected of nicknames: ‘Nobody’ (though Eales has reportedly said that he cannot recall ever being called this by teammates).

One of Eales’ former colleagues, Stephen Larkham, was given the moniker ‘Bernie’ – named after the corpse from “Weekend at Bernie’s” due to his laid back nature and all-round disinterest in excitement.

The antithesis to Larkham’s lethargic demeanour was Brian Lima, Samao’s bone-shuddering midfield tackler who, unfortunately for his opponents, managed to stretch his career over the span of five world cups. To find out whether or not he deserved his nickname, you only need to speak to the aforementioned Derick Hougaard. During a 2003 world cup group-stage match Hougaard was the unlucky recipient of a rather lofty offering from Joost van der Westhuizen in broken play. Hougaard remembers stretching his arms skyward to catch the pass, seeing “The Chiropractor” out of the corner of his eye, and probably little else.

The international stars’ nicknames remind us that those who play at the top level are no different from any group of guys that gets together every Saturday to play the game, and that being the best in their respective countries doesn’t shield them from the banter that exists in all changerooms around the world; the greatest afterthought of team sports.

And as for Twelvetrees?

Well he is now known as ’36’ on the training paddock at Leicester. He hadn’t been there for long before skipper Geordon Murphy gave him the nickname. When Twelvetrees asked after the origins of the name, Murphy replied (in his Irish drawl): “Well, in Ireland, twelve threes are thirty-six.”

from Rugby365

160 Responses to Nicknames

Piet you have a memory like a libary…..hahaha. Good on you boeta.

Yip, It is good to see Winston here. I only spoke to him a few times on the otherside but a good oke. Think he supports the Sharks too. That is a good thing to have another Sharkie here.

Okay now need to go out for a bit. Piet take care in that heat that is now what I call killer heat.

typo. Library.

Puma
    Yip, Winston is also a Sharkie, I think.
    Good to see some new faces.

Things about to slow down on the blog for a while over the holidays.

GBS and I have been talking, oncew I am back home in the Cape in the new year we will try and get some ex and current Bok players on-line here for a live Q&A session.
    Some of our bloggers are friendly with a number of them ( Polla, ExPlayer, etc) and it would be interesting to hear their views on rugby the way it was back then, and now.
    What do you think?

Gotta go, bakkie ready.
    Cheers all, laters, connection too slow over here.

Yeah interesting indeed
    i wont go on and on but for me the mix was lekker
    we both tasted the mud {Stront} and the champagne

Hi guys, yeah thought I’d give RT a try out. I am a Sharks supporter through and through, as much as I love them they are the most frustrating side in the world to support 🙂

From the bit I have read its nice to post comments here without having your head bitten off if someone does not agree..

66 – Winston welcome to RT. Good to see you here. I too am a Shark supporter so more the better that blog here 😆

Puma, does Durban have a test match this year, because am still thinking whether I should renew my season ticket or not.

Winston it is always good to blog here. I mostly now blog on this site. We can have a banter but it never goes further than that.’

Also GBS puts up some pictures of the game that we blog about or a slide show. Some nice touches to this site that is not on Voldy(keo) as we call it here.

9 – Winston, No I checked that out too. I don’t have a season ticket either and was going to buy one but no test match. So probably wont bother. Just pay for tickets to the games I want to go and see.

Also our draw in the S14 is not good. Not a lot of home games for us. The ones we too play at home not big names except for the Stormer game.

63 – Piet, That does sound interesting.

Never knew that Polla was a ex-player. Good that. He must be on holiday has not posted for awhile.

Winston if you read this. The blog is a bit slow now as many are on leave also Voldy a bit slow I see. Always is this time of year.

Winston welcome here, we try and stop in time with the banter, but you know some of us have bragging rights and you must use it or lose it. 😆

Wintson sorry my pc just went off. Not sure but got it back up again.

Sorry typo there. Meant Winston.

63 – Piet, That does sound interesting.

Never knew that Polla was a ex-player so that is good news too.

No worries,my internet is messing around so am on my phone now.:-) Was just saying that think will just buy tickets as well because going to all the games has resulted in a few violent hangovers on Sundays which has wasted many weekends this year..

Puma i saw you mentioned the Impalas on your stoep. a Few weeks back we had a article in the local newspaper , the people owns a place in one of our wildlife estates and they heard a loud noise and barking dogs. On investigation they found a impala ram inside their kitchen , half injured and unable to stand up on the tile floor, The impala was chased by n pack of wild dogs and ran trough a window into the kitchen.

There was more than ten dogs out there and they could not get it over their hearts to take out the impala so they waited and the dogs too. Eventually the dogs moved off and they pulled the ram out, a bit shaky but he got away that time. They went to the shops and found the wild dogs still in the road busy killing another impala. Thats some action at your doorstep.

Lol,it is what it is Super Bul,just got to hang in there and hope the boys can produce the goods and the bragging rights.. So how did this site start,I know there was a whole lot of fighting and stuff on Keo??

77 – Winston it is always a big party there at Kings Park. I only go when there is a big game. Or we playing Bulls or Saders then I go. Was in Joburg when we played the ABs there so missed that game but went to the first Lions Test there. Was awesome loved the vibe.

Puma i think you misread Pietmans post , not absolutely sure but Ex Player is a blogger here who knows other WP players, think he played for Boland. Pietman will confirm. Polla i dont know that well, he might be a ex player too.

On principle I didnt go to the Lions game,the prices were insane and Sarfu need a good beating for that. But was there for the All Blacks game,it was sick,Steyn played like a Champ that day.. The vibe after the game with the braai’s and what not is great.

78 – Super, Now that is a story hey!! Love those buck. We have many on our estate here. They come right into your garden and eat the flowers. No predators so they safe as can be here.

We sure do have some great wild life in SA. The best in the world I would say.

82 – Winston agree, The Prices for the Lions game was over priced. I just had to see a Lions game there. Thought all the tickets were sold out and then on the Wed the released some that the agents never sold overseas.

Was expensive but I felt it was worth it. Never had a brilliant seat was sitting right on the try line, but what the heck!! Just being there and that vibe was aweseome.

Pity I missed th ABs game. The next time I will make sure I got to one when we next play them there.

the finer details you can get from GBS but it was a group of ex voldies who wanted a clean and pleasant site to banter and talk rugby. Without the constant accusations of racism.

sorry for typos there. I make MANY 😆 Ignore.

81 – Super, I went back and checked and I did read Piets post wrong. Polla and ex-player know some players. You were right.

Okay have to be off again. Need to go out and do somethings. Going to be hectic with all the holiday makers here.

Very hot and humid here today too. Just would rather sit in the aircon..hahaha.

Okay back later. Cheers Super and Winston.

Winston good to see another Sharkie here mate. Snoek and Shark_Lover (Sharky Forever) post here too and a few others.

Holiday time so this site and Voldy will be a bit slow. Many away this time of year.

Now for sure out of here. Back later.

I’m off guys. Thanks for the welcome. Chat to you guys later.

Cheers Winston. I am off too. Catch up later.

Total 26 users including 0 member, 26 guests, 0 bot online