I found this article quite entertaining. I know we can add a lot more. I bet we will be able to add 50 more before Christmas.

Ten minutes before kick-off in Leicester’s Heineken Cup clash against Ospreys, midfielder Dan Hipkiss withdrew from the starting xv due to injury. In stepped an unknown 20 year old to make his full debut for the Tigers, Billy Twelvetrees.

A try and nine points with the boot later, and every newspaper in the country with a headline specialist was clambering to go to print. On the Monday following the match the sporting media overflowed with puns exploiting all things foliage, making it difficult to ever hope to see Twelvetrees in the spotlight again. In acting and modelling circles, the media race to christen new talent with clever names, but in rugby – as with all team sports – the nicknames come from team mates and the fans.

The names that crop up in rugby circles are not just a reflection of personal attributes; they also give great insight into the vernacular of an individual’s homeland.

South Africans have had some of the most colourful nicknames over the years, though few outside the country would appreciate the richness of such names as Windhond Muller, Vleis Visagie and Draadkar de Lange. In today’s Currie Cup the torch has been passed to the brilliantly named Windpomp van Rooyen and Ligtoring Landman.

Derick Hougaard was for many years the jewel of Loftus Versfeld, and the stands would break into a rousing bout of ‘Liefling’ every time the former Blue Bull kept the scoreboard ticking over in Pretoria. Loftus will see many more flyhalves, but that name will stick with Hougaard for life.

On the other side of the Super 14, new Force signing Andre Pretorius has been picked up for his cocked eyebrow in the lead up to his goal kicking, and some fans now refer to him as ‘Blue Steel’.

In the forwards, South Africa’s recent production line of memorably named props has churned out Toks van der Linde, Ollie le Roux, Baksteen Nel and Os du Randt among others, and these days there is barely a stadium in the world that doesn’t break into a dull roar of ‘Beeeast’ every time Durban’s favoured son is involved in a play.

Mtawarira’s French equivalent in terms of cult status would have to be ‘Homme des Cavernes’ – the Caveman. Sebastian Chabal is himself a well-publicised figure around the world, and is recognised by even those who don’t watch rugby.

But not all nicknames that originate from physical attributes are flattering. Gareth Thomas, Wales’ centurion, answers to the alias ‘Alfie’ due to an unfortunate resemblance to the hairy alien ‘Alf’ from the tv show of the same name.

Former England centre Will Greenwood is called ‘Shaggy’ after a teammate pointed out how much he looked like Scooby Doo’s best mate.

When Greg Somerville was in the New Zealand colts’ side with Xavier Rush, he was christened ‘Yoda’ – his protestations only serving to cement the name.

Though the most unflattering nickname was picked up by All Black hooker Anton Oliver, who, after a few years in the front row had ruined any chance of a modelling contract coming his way, was mercilessly taunted with ‘Grenade Face’.

Sometimes the nicknames go deeper than looks.

Justin Harrison was called a ‘plank’ by travelling opponent Austin Healy during the 2001 Lions tour to Australia, a name that has stuck with him.

As has ‘Googy’ – Aussie slang for an egg, as he was apparently swiftly identified as a bad egg early in his career.

All Black Christian Cullen had the official tag of ‘Paekakariki Express’, a gallant play on his speediness around the park, but Cullen was apparently not too sharp: behind the scenes he was reportedly referred to as ‘Beer Bottle’ as he was ’empty from the neck up’.

Perhaps the most famous nickname belongs to John Eales. A man who scrummed, dominated the lineouts, performed other pack duties and still found the time to slot Tri Nations winning penalty kicks collected the most respected of nicknames: ‘Nobody’ (though Eales has reportedly said that he cannot recall ever being called this by teammates).

One of Eales’ former colleagues, Stephen Larkham, was given the moniker ‘Bernie’ – named after the corpse from “Weekend at Bernie’s” due to his laid back nature and all-round disinterest in excitement.

The antithesis to Larkham’s lethargic demeanour was Brian Lima, Samao’s bone-shuddering midfield tackler who, unfortunately for his opponents, managed to stretch his career over the span of five world cups. To find out whether or not he deserved his nickname, you only need to speak to the aforementioned Derick Hougaard. During a 2003 world cup group-stage match Hougaard was the unlucky recipient of a rather lofty offering from Joost van der Westhuizen in broken play. Hougaard remembers stretching his arms skyward to catch the pass, seeing “The Chiropractor” out of the corner of his eye, and probably little else.

The international stars’ nicknames remind us that those who play at the top level are no different from any group of guys that gets together every Saturday to play the game, and that being the best in their respective countries doesn’t shield them from the banter that exists in all changerooms around the world; the greatest afterthought of team sports.

And as for Twelvetrees?

Well he is now known as ’36’ on the training paddock at Leicester. He hadn’t been there for long before skipper Geordon Murphy gave him the nickname. When Twelvetrees asked after the origins of the name, Murphy replied (in his Irish drawl): “Well, in Ireland, twelve threes are thirty-six.”

from Rugby365

160 Responses to Nicknames

1 2 3 6

SA had Tiny Naude — who must have some DNA lodged in John Eales somewhere — and Tiny Neethling. NZ had Tiny White. All irony, of course, as these men were all huge behemoths. Funny then that SA produced “Lofty” Nel, who really was quite tall for his time

Transvaal had a wing called Griespomp vd Merwe

This team had a quite a few nicknames
    Springboks vs Australia
    7 September 1963

Coach – Windhond Hennie Muller
    Ref Toy Myburgh

Team
    Mof Myburgh
    Abie Malan
    Dick Putter
    Stompie van der Merwe
    Tiny Naude
    Haas Schoeman
    Tommy Bedford
    Doug Hopwood
    Nelie Smith
    Keith Oxlee
    Corra Dirksen
    Dave Stewart
    John Gainsford
    Gert Cilliers
    Lionel Wilson

Piet “Spiere” du Toit was one of the strongest men to represent the Springboks in the front row. He did not look all that strong but, by gad, he was incredible.
    According to Danie Craven

What about Moaner van Heerden.

Mannetjies Roux
    Wang Wyness, WP and SA center in 1962.
    Bubbles Koch, lock WP and SA 1949
    Flappie Lochner, SA somewhere in the 1950’s

Bolla Conradie.

Bolla beteken ‘n bol stront.

An early good morning all!
    Going to hit the road to Aroab before sun-up and the heat, long trip ahead today.

But, just quickly, have a look at the following names, and we can talk about it tomorrow or so, when I am back here:

Tvl/GL:
    Doppies le Grange
    Hempas Rademeyer
    Tiger Norwood
    Straatkat van Zyl
    Varkhond Grobler

Boland:
    Alfie van der Merwe
    Khaki Goosen (Ed’s uncle-in-law)
    Muskiet Niewoudt
    Rooies van Wyk

EP:
    Domkrag Erasmus
    Draad Oliphant
    China Bell
    Giepie van Zyl
    ‘Judge’ Jeffrey
    Cheeky Watson

NWC/EC/Griquas:
    Mannnetjies Roux
    Kierietjies Roelofse
    Blondie Steyn
    Jan ‘Voetbol’ van der Merwe (SA club league points record holder still)
    Tos Smith
    Buddy Schwartz
    Baba Botha

WP:
    Hempies du Toit
    Kaffer de Waal
    Hottie Louw
    HO de Villiers
    Boland Coetzee
    Bangjan Engelbrecht
    Skoppie van der Merwe

NTvl/Bulls:
    Moffie de Klerk
    Meisiekind Olivier
    Kiewiet Brewis
    Pote Fourie
    Klippies Kritzinger
    Plastics de Meyer

Pumas:
    Draadkar de Lange

OFS:
    Vleis Visagie
    Thabo Thomas

Natal/Sharks:
    Toffee Sharpe
    Barney Smit
    Cabous van der Westhuizen

Cheers all, back laters with more.

GBS, I see I am awaiting moderation…..
    Please moderate De Waal’s nick if needed, but that really was his name!

Webmonster
    Add the following to my list under moderation please:

Popey Strydom (OFS)
    Pote Fourie
    Tossie Fourie
    Polla fourie
    all EP.
    Fonnie du Plooy (NTvl)

Padda Jacobs (NWC)
    Spikkels Engelbrecht (NWC)
    Bokkie Basson (NWC)
    Bellie Theart (Boland)
    Pompies Williams (WP)
    Chaka Willemse (W.Tvl)

Ok, vrou uiteindelik (!) reg om te ry, ek is eers weg.

Ahhhhh, interesting thread this….. nicknames are such fun….

8 – 12 @ Pieta – Fark, look at the time of your comments….. it was freegin early, the birds were’nt even up yet… who under the sun get’s up at that ungodly hour……. hehehehe

My old dad, GBS Maksimus used to say, somebody who got up that early or who was awake that early had something to worry about and most probably drove over a little piekanien when younger…

Fork!

Seems like a couple of my friends suffer from this disease of getting up early… AB, SuperBul, Pietman…

As I always used to say…. “Toe lê ek nog lekker en poep ruik!”

8 – Piet, Jeepers boet, you have a long memory. I don’t even remember some of those names.

14 – GBS..haha. That was funny to read.

I used to get up at 4.30am and used to go and run 10km or more. Used to enjoy running very early to avoid the heat from the sun.

Now a days that is just way to early for me. 7am is just fine. 😀

16@ Puma – I should have closed my office on Friday for the Festive Season but did not get through all the things I just HAD TO finish… so I’m still finishing off here… but taking it relatively easy today.

I’ve NEVER been one to get up early, not even when doing National Service in the Army. I used to work till late at night on my inspection stuff, then go to bed last of everybody…. and was always up last in the morning. The other okes could never leave me be in the morning and I remember bliksemming a Soutie once for “gaaning aan” with me one too many time about the issue. Thing is, my inspection stuff was always immaculate because I’d worked hard on it the night before already!

They used to put newspaper between my toes and set it alight… or build shaving cream towers on my cheek… or their favourite was to put a couple of crystals of Eno’s in my ear followed by a drop of water, which then sounded like war was upon me and bombs were going off all around me from the bubbling of the Eno’s.

My body clock is just set this way…. and I cause nobody harm because of it…..

The guys used to call Mark Andrews “Banker” as he was notoriously tight with his dosh.
    Kort arms en lang sakke.

Carol if you read this just wanted to know if your central heating got fixed. Watching the Sky News and see the weather there is really bad.

Blixem.

40 degrees plus in Graaff-Reinet today.

Pill, That is now HOT. Far too hot for me. Think it was 32 here today but with humidity makes it feel hotter. Don’t enjoy the heat that much. Like it around 26 much more comfortable.

19 Puma luckily not our heating, the friends we were staying with! We ate the sunday roast in the dining room wearing our coats!!

Snow causing disruption today we have too many cars on this little island, best to live in the country!! 🙂

Evening Carol,

Pleased it was not your heating then.. 😉

Your friends will be finding it tough without heating in that weather.

Now eating a sunday roast in COATS must have been a experience 😉 Hope you had warm hat on too….hehehe.

Actually jokes aside. The weather really is bad up there this year and I am moaning about us having a lot of rain..hehe. Very hot here today though.

Night Carol,

Going to read some of my book then off to bed.

What a great subject! How about Pietman’s memory and resource library of names and playing stats?? He’s a mine of info! A possible new nickname on the horizon. Hendrik Roodt, the new RSA lanky recruit to the Waratahs: the word root in Australia has another less glamorous meaning; expect to hear him called ‘the rooter’ from the sidelines.
    A quick weather report for Sydney: today temp around 33c, western Sydney 40c; Christmas Day forecast is for showers, with temp in the low 30c. Humidity is high and sky is stormy-looking.
    On Christmas Day, I’ll be heading for an early morning surf, then seafood lunch. What’s everyone else doing?

Pietman en ander gaan kyk hierdie foto van die Springbokspan, die laaste naam en ou wat regs onder sit, daar moet moerse nice stories wees oor hom.
    http://www.genslin.us/bokke/SARugby.html

Is daar iemand hier?

genslin.us is seker die beste stat site oor die Springbokke wat ek in my dag des lewens teegekom het. Bly om te sien daar is nog ‘n paar manne wat ook die site gebruik.

I know a great nick, it’s “The Saint” sends shivers down the spine doesn’t it?

I have now decided that drink is an evil thing that should never pass one’s lips!

(At least not until after noon)

Babalas is KAK.

1 2 3 6

Total 60 users including 0 member, 60 guests, 0 bot online