Following the semi’s this weekend and given the nominations for awards around the corner, I wondered if a new category should not be included?

Guys like JJ Harmse might be perplexed by some of the nominations for the up and coming SA Rugby Awards but I believe the categories do not actually serve some of the most telling contributions by certain individuals.

For starters, player of the year means less to me than player’s player of the year nominations as the true judge of your ability should not come from administrators or journalists, but your direct peers.

In fact, did we ever see a tighthead prop receive the player of the year award?

When speaking to rugby players you find that most believe man of the match awards and player of the year awards are not always a true reflection of the contributions of certain individuals.

I have almost no doubt Fourie du Preez will receive the player of the year award.  And although there is no doubting his ability and the fact that he is the best scrumhalf in the world right now, I wonder if the award of South Africa’s ‘best player’ is really down to his influence on the teams he represented, or more to the fact that he has no equal when judged against other players in the same position – almost like there is so much daylight between him and the next guy he just has to be the best player on the planet.

Perhaps he deserves it based on those ground, I am certainly not going to dispute it, but there is another player who in my view had the biggest impact and biggest influence in just about every single game he played this year.

It is also difficult to debate whether the Bulls and the Boks would not have achieved they success if Fourie was not present.  There is a strong case for that but all the arguments would have been subjective, as we will never know.

What became clear to me however on Saturday is the immense influence one man had both for the Bulls and the Boks this year.

Do you think there is more truth in the statement that: “Without Fourie we might still have achieved success at the Bulls and Boks, but without X we would not have”?

I suppose it depends on who X is?

Well the more I think about it and the more I look back, the more I start to believe that a massive influence on both the Bulls and Boks’ success in 2009 was none other than one Mr. Morné Steyn.

On Saturday one guy remarked that next time we see Steyn, we should check for a pulse because they believe this guy has no nerves or any emotion no matter what the situation.  He is simply calculated and deadly.

Another story I heard in the post-match presser was one where Morné missed a conversion in one of the tests this year where the game was already won comfortably.  After the match the guy was apparently incensed at the fact that he could have missed that kick…

The difference on Saturday between WP and the Blue Bulls was Morné Steyn.  Perhaps as much as the difference between the Boks and B&I Lions in Pretoria was the same guy, and the difference between the All Blacks and Aussies and the Boks was again, none other than Mr. Steyn.

Oh and let’s not forget the Bulls Super 14 campaign now either…

Morné might not be a Dan Carter, whereas Fourie du Preez can be mentioned in the same class as a scrumhalf as Carter is to flyhalf, but does that make Fourie more influential than what Morné was in 2009?

I don’t think so.

Perhaps the only way around this is to create a category of most influential player of the year?

But for my money, the guy that was the difference between his team winning and losing, was Morné Steyn, which makes him SA most valuable player for 2009 in my books.

114 Responses to The ‘player’ of 2009

Fourie du Preez gets outplayed a lot for a guy with such a huge reputation. I don’t doubt that he is one of the best players in world rugby one bit, but South Africans likes to blow up his ability. Morne Steyn had a great year, but Heinrich Brussow’s massive contributions in green and in white and orange should not be ignored.

vanStraaten,

Yes indeed. Brussouw has been just as influential in my opinion. He may not be the person who scores the points, but he earns a large number of penalties, with are converted into points, and stops many attacks with his ball-poaching.

The turning point in the Sharks-Cheetahs game was, for me, when the Sharks were in a healthy lead and looked certain to score and he won the penalty eight meters from the tryline. Huge moment.

What about a guy like Jaques Fourie?

Whenever he pulls on a SA jersey he produces something special, and on a few occasions this year has scored crucial tries at crucial times, which quite frankly, many other players would not have managed to dot down.

I guess he’ss not the flambouyant in your face type, but IMO a great player nontheless.

Nice one Morne… after you were a bit of a doubter before and during the B & I Lions Tour of Morne Steyn.

Good to acknowledge the man’s excellent season.

Morne Steyn and Heinrich Brussouw are now the incumbants in those 2 Bokke jerseys… well and solidly!

Ruan Pienaar’s been a let-down for me… and Schalla had his first good game this past Saturday.

@grootblousmile

I never much doubted his talent, just his ability to make that step up to test level as many guys do not…

For that he shut me up proper and kudo’s to the man.

Victor made an interesting point.

For 3 years Morne stayed on the bench behind Liefling, most other guys would have left for another province, he did not and it also shows you the mental make up of the guy…

Fourie du Preez was indeed the most influential player of the year. Being outplayed is irrelevant. Any monkey can outperform a man with antics. The reason is simple, it was the opportunities he created that counts. Go again and look at the try of JP Pietersen, 2nd test against the Lions. Also the tries first test against the Wallabies. Another was the Super14 final.

In the final minutes I told my Boet when the Bulls got the penalty that I hope for WP’s sake Victor goes for the line, cause if that ball is handed to Morne it is tickets…

7@Morné – To be fair, I was on tender hooks and even a bit grumpy till the Bulls were awarded that late penalty and Morne got the ball…. then I knew it would be over.

I could see the celebrating crowd at Newlands going quiet from their premature celebrations, a la Durban 2007….

Afternoon all.

Now going to read Morne’s article above.

8@grootblousmile
    i dont think it was “celebrations” gbs
    it was more an effort of trying to lift the team
    everyone knows what a huge impact the loftus crowd have on their team
    think the newlands crowd was trying to do the same!!

11@Ashley
    o bloody hell
    i forgot to say
    “congratulations to the bulls and their supporters”!!
    now
    supa will be on my back again!! 😉

anyway guys,
    i’m off to lunch
    enjoy it
    and
    “congratulations to the bulls and their supporters”!!
    (hope i’m forgiven supa, i said it twice in one post!!)

Great article once again Morne.

Have to agree there. Morne Steyn was the diffrence in Boks losing or winning in the 2nd Test against the Lions at Loftus. M. Steyn too was brilliant in the Tri-Nations as well.

Yes, he was reason the Bulls won on Saturday. Must be the most deadly accurate goal kicker in world rugby right now. With ice in those veins. lol. Don’t think he has any nerves. I knew when he took that kick on Saturday it would go over and it was a difficult kick too.

I would agree with you too. He should be the player’s player of the year, a award should come from the player’s peers. Well we never know, he just may get the Player of the Year award too and sneak it past FdP who we all think will get it.

@Ashley – 121

Howzit Ash,

Well both our teams lost in the last min. Think both our hearts were sore this weekend.

Then like you said in one of your posts. The sun is up and the birds are singing and life goes on.

I feel a whole lot better today.

Hope the Final is a cracker to watch. Good luck to both teams.

12@Ashley

You are only forgiven because you said it twice…but you are on thin ice Asbakkie!! 😀

Morne you are in big trouble! If K9 reads this article he will have an asma attack or something as he still doesnt rate Morne Steyn.

dWeePer
    October 19th, 2009 at 12:08 PM
    Fourie du Preez was indeed the most influential player of the year. Being outplayed is irrelevant. Any monkey can outperform a man with antics. The reason is simple, it was the opportunities he created that counts. Go again and look at the try of JP Pietersen, 2nd test against the Lions. Also the tries first test against the Wallabies. Another was the Super14 final.

Agree with you , when the going gets tough the tough gets going. So true about FdP, if he strikes and did a lot this year its overs kadovers for the opposition. It is amazing but true. Out of nothing he strikes like a black mamba.

wiLLem, jy het geregistreer en jy is GOEDGEKEUR.

Nou sal ons seker weer Orakelese hier sien vir die vale….

PS! Die sTaaT het goed gespeel Saterdag… en ons is vyande tot na die Final.

Mirrag almal wil net se dat die wp en sharks rerig mooi probeer het.als is nou soos dit moet wees en volgende sat gaan die k@k spat

#19 Smallies

Hi Smallies. Congrats on your team managing to pull the shark out of the tank on Saturday and everything of the best at Fortress Loftus.

@grootblousmile – #18 Wat de hel is Orakelese?

21@Tripples – Jy sal sien, wiLLem praat sy eie soort taal…

gbs,

Thanks vir al die moeite met die site. Gaan ‘n moerse sukses wees.

Dis lekker om soveel Cheetah ondersteuners op die site te sien!

@ fender dit het ma verhel gegaan by tye ma dis mos ma hoe dit is.ek dink die sharks se pak was hul ondergang

@valk ons raak elke dag meer mense van inbors hier

23@Die Valk – Moenie worry nie, ons sal julle kettings mooi kort hou!

@gbs worry jy al

27@smallies72 – Waaroor?

Laat ek sien… my vrou issie swanger nie…. die dogter doen goed met haar studies… BonZaiGBS issie siek nie en doen heel OK op skool…. daasie fout met die web site nie… die tille rol….

Die drankwinkels is nog oop….

Neewat, die lewe is ‘n Lied!

Na die naweek, is die WP se reserwevleuel my speler van die jaar …

@gbs oor n 2005 herhaling

Total 56 users including 0 member, 56 guests, 0 bot online