Vodacom Westelike Provinsie se afrigter Allister Coetzee het slegs een verandering aan sy span gemaak vir eerskomende naweek se kragmeting teen die Vodacom Blou Bulle.  

Haker Deon Fourie (22) skuif op van die bank af om die beseerde Tiaan Liebenberg se toks vol te staan.    Liebenberg het sy knie beseer in WP se  oorwinning (21-9) oor die Sharks laasnaweek in Durban.       Liebenberg behoort egter gereed te wees om die Cheetahs volgende naweek in Bloemfontein te pak.    Fourie se plek op die bank word ingeneem deur die voormalige SpringBok Hanyani Shimange.   Alhoewel hy (Tiaan) taamlik stabiliteit aan die WP skrum gegee het is die WP se hulp afrigter, Matthew Proudfoot vol vertroue dat die WP  sy man sal kan staan met Wicus Blaauw (23), Fourie en Brok Harris (24) in die middel.   

Die enigste ander verandering aan die 22tal is waar die jong Conrad Hoffmann vir Bolla Conradie op die bank vervang.     Hoffmann het pas herstel van ‘n “hamstring” besering en sal kan instaan op skrumskakel, losskakel en heelagter. 

Die wedstryd is op Nuweland en word vanaf 17:00 regstreeks op SuperSport 1 uitgesaai.   Geen reën word vir Vrydag of Saterdag voorspel nie.    Kaartjies verkoop soos soetkoek en ondersteuners van beide  spanne sal moet spring indien hulle nog ‘n goeie sitplek in die stadion wil kry vir Saterdag se wedstryd. 

Die WP span is:

15. Joe Pietersen
14. Tonderai Chavhanga
13. Juan De Jongh
12. Morgan Newman
11. Gio Aplon
10. Peter Grant
9. Dewaldt Duvenage
8. Luke Watson (C)
7. Duane Vermeulen
6. Francois Louw
5. Anton Van Zyl
4. Chris Jack
3. Brok Harris
2. Deon Fourie
1. Wicus Blaauw

Reserves:

16. Hanyani Shimange
17. JD Moller
18. De Kock Steenkamp
19. Pieter Louw
20. Conrad Hoffmann
21. Frikkie Welsh
22. JJ Engelbrecht

77 Responses to WP span vir kragmeting teen die Bulle

Province Janne is die manne met die kanne innie hanne!

WP to win this. Can’t believe it myself.

G’day Koos 3000, Funky and the boys.
    Game time is getting closer, we are in for a beeeeeeeeeeeg weekend!
    Btw Funky, if I am not mistaken you and Ed are not far from each other over there in Mass.?

3 @Pietman Howzit Pete!

More Piet en Koos,

Koos did you see that article about the Aussie rugby league scouts going to Craven week in East London and buying 4 players ?

@Manlybok
    @5
    I am not surprised, lots of talent in the EC going unnoticed by WP scouts.
    Those guys, albeit a few of them, usually land at the Bulls Academy, Sharks or Lions.

@Manlybok
    Same thing appears to be happening down in the Cape.
    Ashley told me only yesterday that Earl Lewis hails from the town of Darling in the Swartland, about 80 km from Cape Town.
    He has gone to UJ and now plays for the Lions.
    Obviously he should have been at UCT or Maties or some Cape university, if WPRU had any interest in his future development.
    Perhaps they will buy him back one day….

5 @Manlybok No I did not, I assume it is not a big jump from stealing bread to stealing kids then 😯

Piet,

What is with our WP piet, buying established players left right and centre, the Cape used to be full of up and coming players, in fact I remember some time back the Cape had the most registered rugby players per region in the rugby playing world.

Also being so far away for me, I’m struggling to identify with the team as they have so many imports, or maybe I’m stuck in the amateur era.

Stormers , no problem as they are South African, but WP seems to lack the old identity.

#8 Koos,

Bwahahahahahahaha

@Manlybok
    Aag Manly,
    I have given up on those dumbo’s down in the Cape.
    The development issue is an old gripe of mine.
    Now and then Dawie Snyman and the boys at the academy in Coetzenburg deliver a guy like Juan de Jongh or Breyten Paulse.
    I am not sure if that is the whole of WP academy though.
    I recall Alan Zondagh also had one out at Riebeeck West, don’t know what happened there after the Fidentia scandal, and if its still going even.

It is one big balls-up, rugby development and management in the Cape, from East London right down to the Mother City.

That is why experienced people like Tony McKeever and PissAnt here on RT should be involved, I feel. They both live in the Cape.

9 @Manlybok Established?! More like pensioners if you ask me…but yes, it is the professional era and if you have the money that is what you do. Sharks did it for many years and although they have a very good academy going now the focus only shifted to poaching them a lot younger.

Piet, Koos,

In the eighties I used to pay for a seat but spend most of my time amongst the coloureds in standing room as their chirps about the opposition players family heritage etc was hysterical.

But there was a real passion for our team and we could identify with where each and everyone one of them came from. I suppose those days are gone.

13 @Manlybok Yip Manly, long gone. It is all about the money now, just ask Habana…

Koos Piet,

They especially had it in for Naas as he lacked a sense of humour, I don’t know if you remember but there was a riot once when I was there when mid game WP/NTvl, one of them threw a dumpie at Naas and he made the mistake of going to the boards and remonstrating with them, his complaints were followed with 10 empty dumpies, then the officials arrived to reprimand the crowd and that was followed by 50 dumpies, then the cops came and that was followed by a 100 dumpies.

In the end the game was stopped and numerous “WP supporters” retrieved and dragged across the field and out the gate.

15 @Manlybok Hehe old Naas knew how to rile the opposition. I was watching a game at the Free State stadium when we still had the ‘hoederstellasies’. Now if you ever sat in those things you will remember we had an athletics track, cycling track and a nice piece of dead kikuyu grass between yourself and the field.

Naas lined up a penalty kick from about the 10m line and about 7 or 8 meters in, just as he started his run-up a naartjie came flying out the crowd and hit the ball square on, a mean fete if you take the distance and the size of the target into consideration. Naas coolly asked the ref if he can place the ball again, stepped back and with another 4 or 5 naartjies trying to emulate the first one proceeded to put it straight through the middle…he never even bothered to look at the crowd!

Hehehe, my younger brother went to UCT and tells of the time EP was playing the Bulls and someone threw a naartjie at the ref.

Frans Erasmus walked up, picked it up, bit it in half, spat out the peel and ran after the play chewing happily with the other half in his hand.

Sorry UPE

17 @Manlybok Good one. I remember my very first CC final I attended, also at the FS stadium, was against the Bulls. This very brave NTvl supporter all kitted out decided to walk past everybody on the same said kikuyu grass. As he walked past the cheap seats someone hit him with a naartjie, he turned to the crowd and said: “Ag nee man, los die naartjies, gooi my liewer met biltong.” Someone shouted back for him to hang on, next moment three or four pieces of biltong came flying towards him, he picked it up, thanks everyone and carried on walking. Sure it won’t happen these days.

@Manlybok
    I grew up in the south stand at Newlands, amongst the uncles in their red fezzes and Cavalla Ovals, what a treat they were!

@Koos
    Naas was attacked at Free State Stadium once, some crazy miner from Welkom went after him with a biltong knife!
    The next year Jannie Els got Naas with an uppercut and laid him out cold!
    Eben Jansen did the same to Morne at Newlands.
    Dirty bunch, those Free Staters !!!!

And less I forget, what about Brian Baenhof’s CC try saving tackle on on FC Smith?
    He went onto the pitch naked, his shlong dangling and balls flying in full view of those Vrystaat boere anties….

Yip, Free State Stadium used to have it all on a winter afternoon way back then 🙂

#21 Hehe , Piet, you’d think it too cold there to have the shlong out, and if you were tackled kaalgat on those hard grounds it had to hurt.

Pote Fourie one of the dirtiest, but he played for EP and FS, and maybe even NTvl if I remember correctly…………Piet ?

@Manlybok
    Yes, think you are right about Pote.
    I also recall him playing for NTvl.

21 @Pietman Never heard the story about the miner but I was there for the Jannie Els shot and also in the crowd watching Brian putting in a perfect tackle!

Jannie’s brother in law worked with me and he told me years later that Jannie got swamped with all kinds of gifts after that shot, from money to booze to meat…even a few NTvls’ felt he should be rewarded and send him stuff.

Brian got invited to the President’s box later on which turned into a nasty affair after people complained about the Union supporting drunken behaviour etc. Union had to withdraw their invitation and put out a statement they don’t condone such behaviour…one for the Vrystaat boere anties!

22 @Manlybok You know the story, brandewyn het nie brieke nie…

I don’t think Pote played for NTvl, he went there to coach after finishing at the FS. For what it is worth, he sort of left most his dirty tricks in PE and was a succesful captain in Bloem for a number of years.

@Koos -24@
    Happened right in front of the tumnnel, as Naas was leaving the field.
    It was shown on tv over and over.
    Fortunately two policemen grabbed the knifeman before he could get to Naas.

@Koos
    @25 You may well be right about Pote coaching (not playing) in Pta.

26 @Pietman Mmm moes daai breinsel seker maar dood gedrink het op ‘n tyd…

Hallo mense…Net ter inligting vir al die mense wat dink WP gebruik nie sy eie talent nie…Sat se span met reserwes en waar hulle op skool en univ was/is.

15. Joe Pietersen Grey Bloem, Maties(Ouers in die Paarl)
    14. Tonderai Chavhanga – Zim
    13. Juan De Jongh – Hugenote Wellington, WP Rugby Inst
    12. Morgan Newman – Bishops, Maties
    11. Gio Aplon – Hawston, Maties
    10. Peter Grant – Maritzburg College, Maties
    9. Dewaldt Duvenage – Paarl Gim, Maties
    8. Luke Watson (C), Grey PE
    7. Duane Vermeulen – Nelspruit
    6. Francois Louw – Bishops
    5. Anton Van Zyl – Rondebosch Boys
    4. Chris Jack – NZ
    3. Brok Harris – Bastion (Roodepoort)
    2. Deon Fourie – Pietersburg
    1. Wicus Blaauw – Upington High
    Reserves:
    16. Hanyani Shimange –Rondebosch Boys
    17. JD Moller – Paarl Boys
    18. De Kock Steenkamp – Paarl Boys
    19. Pieter Louw – Paarl Boys
    20. Conrad Hoffmann – Paarl Boys
    21. Frikkie Welsh – ?
    22. JJ Engelbrecht – Grey PE, Maties

Amper 70% is “homegrown” produkte. Kan iemand dalk Sharks ne Bulls s’n vir ons gee?

Polla @Polla – Interesante aanname wat die ouens graag maak!

Pietman, Earl Lewis het vir Darling gespeel,en ek het so keer of wat teen hom gespeel, maar moet nie TE opgewonde raak nie. Nie eers Boland wou hom hou nie.
    Hy het sy skitter oomblike, maar die man vang die snaakste goed aan, en sal sommer skielik vanaf sy eie doelyn begin hardloop. Hy is regtig erger as Earl Rose.

Total 12 users including 0 member, 12 guests, 0 bot online