There is a bit of history on how I came about this book, but that I will explain later. Essentially this sections is for our readers enjoyment and for some outdoor cooking recipe’s and favourties from out Bok legends and what better player to feature today than the King of Skop!

Just to remind you, the book was published by GMG Marketing and Promotions and was done to support the Chris Burger Pedro Jackson fund.
So please, if you use these recipe’s spare a thought and some cash for this cause as it is all in aid of rugby players that sustained serious injuries in the game we all love.
This week we look at Naas Botha’s Red Wine and Chilli Rump with ‘Pap ‘n Sous’.

(Serves 4)

Ingredients:

4 Rump Steaks
1 Cup beef stock
1 Stick celery, chopped
2 Small onions, chopped
1 Cup of dry red wine
2 Tablespoons of Tomato paste
2 Tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce
2 Tablespoons of Chili sauce

Method:

1. Combine stock, celery, onion, wine, tomato paste, Worcestershire sauce and chili sauce in a pan and bring to boil slowly
2. Reduce heat, simmer uncovered for 20 minutes. Allow to cool.
3. Marinate the meat in the sauce (use a Ziplock Bag for best results and massage the sauce into the meat) for at least an hour or overnight in the fridge.
4. Drain steak, reserve marinade.
5. Braai steaks to your preference, serve with hot reserved sauce.

Pap

Ingredients:

Mieliemeel (maize flour – not Mezina!)
1 Tin creamed sweetcorn
Cooked and diced Bacon
Grated cheddar cheese

Method:

1. Make a ‘stywe pap’ or ‘krummel pap’ to own taste.
2. Mix other ingredients into mixture
3. Add tomatoes and onions and reserved marinade from steak sauce, or make own sauce (tomato and onion sauce)
4. Serve with Steaks and Green salad.

Desert

2 Packets of Marshmallows
250ml Whipped cream
2 Crushed chocolate Flakes

Method:

Place Marshmallow on the end of a kebab stick and grill over fire for short time.

Roll through thickened whipped cream

Roll through crushed flake chocolate.

Chris Burger Pedro Jackson FundThe Chris Burger/Petro Jackson Players’ Fund pays homage to two young rugby players who died playing the game they loved.In 1980, Western Province fullback Chris Burger broke his neck and died in a Currie Cup match in Bloemfontein. This led to the founding of the Chris Burger Fund by then WP captain Morné du Plessis and his teammates.

Petro Jackson, a young player from Kylemore in Stellenbosch, died during a match in 1989, prompting the pre-unity body SARU (not to be confused with the current South African Rugby Union) to establish a similar fund in his honour.

In 1992, the two Funds were united to form the Chris Burger/Petro Jackson Players’ Fund, as it is still known today.

The Fund fulfils two core objectives: to assist the unfortunate victims of catastrophic or serious rugby injuries; and to develop and implement initiatives that aim to educate, inform and create awareness around rugby injuries. The purpose of this goal is to make rugby safer and thereby reduce the number of injuries that occur.

The Fund provides assistance to its recipients in the form of wheelchairs and equipment, as well as other comforts that seek to improve the quality of their lives.
A cornerstone of the Chris Burger/Petro Jackson Players’ Fund is its 24-hour toll-free BokSmart SpineLine number, 0800 678 678, which provides access to an emergency response service for serious and/or catastrophic injuries through its partners ER24.

The Fund has also trained hundreds of club and secondary school medics through its Rugby Medic Club.

The Fund raises much-needed funds through two hugely successful annual events – a celebrity golf day, and a banquet attended by the entire Springbok rugby squad, who man the phones in a live telethon that raised over R700,000 in 2008. The Fund has set the goal of raising R1-million at the 2009 Bell’s Night of the Stars banquet, to be held at the International Convention Centre in Durban on Tuesday 28 July.

Naas Botha

Hendrik Egnatius Botha, commonly known as Naas Botha (born 27 February 1958) is a Northern Transvaal and Springboks former Rugby union player. He was voted Rugby Player of the Year. Botha mostly played in the fly-half position and is now a rugby commentator for the South African M-Net and Supersport TV channels

Played 28, Won 19, Lost 9

o Test Points: 312
o Tries: 2
o Penalties: 50
o Conversions: 50
o Drop Goals: 18

32 Responses to Player’s Outdoor Cookbook

I think the best way to describe the history behind it is to post my first feature on this book elsewhere.

Enjoy, I will be looking to post one every weekend and please feel free to share your own…

I might just share my recipe to make your own Amarula Cream too… 😉

Yesterday while doing my early morning shopping I came across a second hand book sale for an organization called TEARS animal rescue. Something caught my eye and I just had to buy it; “The Outdoor Cook Book of Springbok Rugby Players.

The book was published by GMG Marketing and Promotions and was done to support the Chris Burger Pedro Jackson fund.

So please, if you use these recipe’s spare a thought and some cash for this cause as it is all in aid of rugby players that sustained serious injuries in the game we all love.

This week we look at Mark Andrews’ Leg of Lamb in a Weber.

Ingredients:

1 Frozen Leg of Lamb
    6-8 Rashers of Bacon
    ½ Teaspoon of Black Pepper
    1 Tablespoon of Salt
    Vinegar to Sprinkle
    Herbs and Spices to Taste

Method:

Cut leg of lamb into 5mm thick slices while frozen (to bone). Mix salt, pepper, herbs and spices and sprinkle over and in between slices.

Place bacon on top

Tie securely using string

Sprinkle with vinegar and allow to ‘rest’ for five hours

Prepare Weber

Cook for 1 ½ hours depending on size of leg

Cut string and slice

Serve with potatoes

Mark’s side:

Bread Salad

Ingredients:

2 Extra large eggs
    ¾ cup of sugar
    ½ cup of white vinegar
    1 tablespoon of mustard powder
    ¼ teaspoon salt
    Pinch of pepper
    ½ loaf of white bread (one day old)
    Sunflower oil for deep frying
    ¼ cup fresh cream
    ¼ cup mayonnaise

Method:

Beat eggs, sugar vinegar, mustard powder, salt and pepper together. Heat to boiling point, stirring occasionally. Allow to cool.

Remove crusts from bread and cut into cubes

Heat oil and fry bread cubes until crisp and lightly browned. Drain well on a few layers of paper towels to remove excess oil.

Stir cream and mayonnaise into cooled mustard mixture. Pour over bread and mix lightly. Serve immediately.

Mark Andrews:

Positions: Lock (75) No 8 (2)
    Club: University of Natal (Pietermaritzburg) RFC
    Province: Natal (1993)
    Springbok number: 602
    Test debut: 11 June 1994 vs England in Cape Town aged 22
    Last test: 24 November 2001 vs England in London aged 29
    Total tests: 77 Tour matches:
    13 Total Springbok matches:
    90 Win ratio: 51-24-2
    Tours: Argentina 1993; New Zealand 1994; Wales, Scotland & Ireland 1994; Italy & England 1995; Argentina, France & Wales 1996; Italy, France, England & Scotland 1997; British Isles & Ireland 1998; RWC in British Isles, Ireland & Europe 1999; Argentina, Ireland, Wales & England 2000; France, Italy, England & USA, 2001.
    SA Rugby Player of the Year nominee, 1994

Chris Burger Pedro Jackson Fund

The Chris Burger/Petro Jackson Players’ Fund pays homage to two young rugby players who died playing the game they loved.
    In 1980, Western Province fullback Chris Burger broke his neck and died in a Currie Cup match in Bloemfontein. This led to the founding of the Chris Burger Fund by then WP captain Morné du Plessis and his teammates.

Petro Jackson, a young player from Kylemore in Stellenbosch, died during a match in 1989, prompting the pre-unity body SARU (not to be confused with the current South African Rugby Union) to establish a similar fund in his honour.

In 1992, the two Funds were united to form the Chris Burger/Petro Jackson Players’ Fund, as it is still known today.

The Fund fulfils two core objectives: to assist the unfortunate victims of catastrophic or serious rugby injuries; and to develop and implement initiatives that aim to educate, inform and create awareness around rugby injuries. The purpose of this goal is to make rugby safer and thereby reduce the number of injuries that occur.

The Fund provides assistance to its recipients in the form of wheelchairs and equipment, as well as other comforts that seek to improve the quality of their lives.
    A cornerstone of the Chris Burger/Petro Jackson Players’ Fund is its 24-hour toll-free BokSmart SpineLine number, 0800 678 678, which provides access to an emergency response service for serious and/or catastrophic injuries through its partners ER24.

The Fund has also trained hundreds of club and secondary school medics through its Rugby Medic Club.

The Fund raises much-needed funds through two hugely successful annual events – a celebrity golf day, and a banquet attended by the entire Springbok rugby squad, who man the phones in a live telethon that raised over R700,000 in 2008. The Fund has set the goal of raising R1-million at the 2009 Bell’s Night of the Stars banquet, to be held at the International Convention Centre in Durban on Tuesday 28 July.

To make a donation, click here

Haai iemand hier vir n praatjie met n maatjie.

Buitenshuise kosmaak is eintlik net een ding. Dit is braaivleis. Baie ver tweede is ‘n potjie. Die ander goed is binninshuise kosmaak.

Morne
    Wat vir ‘n ding is ‘n Coockbook?
    Is dit die “c” wat nie daar hoort nie, of is daar een te veel “o”? hehehe

Ek het ook daai boek, daar is ‘n paar lekker resepte in…

Nice article again Morne. After reading that just felt like doing a braai…haha.

Mark Andrews Lamb in the Weber sounds delicious may give that a try sometime.

Where is everyone tonight? Back later when some have logged on.

@Puma – Hi Puma, Sharks win, Bulls win, men talk cooking……who can complain!!

So, whassup?

@carol – 7

Yeah, its been a great weekend of rugby.

How was your weekend Carol? Hope you had a good one.

Had my mate and his wife over here on Friday for a Braai and then today went to the beach and went out for lunch at the clubhouse.

Carol wonder if all the others have internet problems, my ADSL line went off yesterday during the Sharks game and only came on 18 hours later. Imagine that happening in 2010 SWC.

@superBul – 9

I have had that problem a few times here in Umhlanga. Not in the last few days though but about two weeks back seemed to lose the ADSL line for hours.

Never happens when I am in my Joburg home. Not sure whats going on.

@Puma – 8
    Hello my friend, have you joined the Cricket superbru game/
    Hope SA can win it again.

@Puma – I could not pick any of the matches up so just followed here.Glad to see your Sharkies did the business for you.
    The “Muddy Isle” has been very kind to us this weekend, glorious weather for our ‘Harvest supper’ in our barn last night and family day today, no complaints!!
    Do you cook on your Braaai or will Mrs. Puma do that?

@superBul – 18 hours, that is some delay!!
    There may be big complaints if you get that next summer!!
    But look what is happening to your roads system, surely they are looking at communications too!!

@superBul – Can you remind me the pass code agian please for the cricket?
    WRS will be drafted in to help with the first few rounds!! 😉

@Puma – I work for Telkom and honestly i felt so embarrassed by the staff answering my calls. I had to go through my setups 4/6 times , and eventually i found out from someone else in Telkom that the whole area is off, they had a problem in Joburg.

@superBul – 15 U think they have been having a problem here in Umhlanga too.

@superBul – 11

No but I will. You mentioned it but thought there may only be you, me and BoerBoel that watch cricket here. I will join up it sounds fun this SuperBru.

Hope we do well. Read that GS elbow is doing really well after the op too.

@superBul – 15

Yes need the pass code for the Cricket SuperBru.

Come join my pool in SuperBru ICC Champions Trophy, the ultimate ICC Champions Trophy prediction game! It’s easy – just go to the website and enter the pool code junkbass to join my pool, Talkers @ R-T.

Pool code: junkbass

@superBul – 18

Thanks super I will join.

Game 1
    South Africa v Sri Lanka

Tues Sep 22 2009
    at 14:30 (local)
    Tues Sep 22 2009
    at 14:30 (your time)
    SUPERSPORT PARK
    Centurion
    Capacity: 20000

Time left to pick: 1d 18hr 9m

South Africa (home)
    v

Sri Lanka (away)
    The Win Point (WP) for this game is worth 1 pt

@superBul – 20

Thats a tough game for Proteas first game Sri-Lanka!

Where is everyone tonight?

Good evening GBS see you up there.

22@Puma – Evening Oerwoudkat…. just came into my office briefly… to see whether everything here is hunky dory…

Today was time for family, a snoek braai…. and relaxation… everybody’s left now, soooo, back to normal.

Needed the off-day… away from everything !

@grootblousmile – Hiya,have you had fun? Tell me tomorrow what a ‘snoek’ is!!

24@carol – Hi !!

Snoek is a type of sea fish…. it is by far the best or most popular fish in SA to cook over a braai fire… and I’m a master snoek chef !

@grootblousmile – 23

Snoek braai that sounds lekker. Have not had a snoek braai in many years. Only when I visit my sister who lives in Cape Town. We had a braai on Friday but it was MEAT AND MORE MEAT..HAHA. Off the water on Friday but back on the health diet again.

26@Puma – Was a good day today… by the way, your Tjarks were impressive against the Staat yesterday…

Bulls battled to click initially yesterday, then fired on all cylinders in the 2nd half. This coming weekend is a biggy for the Bulls.. and not all our Bokke players will be available yet… will still be missing Bakkies, possibly Spies, Fourie du Preez and Habana also…

But I recon you are right, if the Bulls do not play your Sharks in the semi’s then we’ll see each other in the final… the way it’s supposed to be…

Well, see you guys tomorrow…

Goeie nag, slaap sag !

@grootblousmile – 27

I feel that Bulls will pull up the log now GBS. Think Bulls will play WP in the Semi and probably go onto the final.

Still think its going to be a Sharks/Bulls final. Nothing better to watch in SA domestic rugby right now. Two awesome sides playing each other. Especially when both teams are at full strength.

Cheers boeta. Its been quite on here tonight maybe tomorrow night more will be logged on.

Total 246 users including 0 member, 246 guests, 0 bot online