1872 CupThe coaches have named their teams for the opening leg of the 1872 Scottish Cup, at BT Murrayfield on Sunday 27 December (kick-off 15:05 UK time; 17:05 SA Time). As reigning cup holders, Alan Solomons has made 2 changes to the Edinburgh starting XV that beat London Irish last weekend in the European Challenge Cup, while Gregor Townsend has called up former Edinburgh scrumhalf Grayson Hart replacing Mike Blair in the No 9 shirt as the Warriors return to Guinness PRO12 action following their back-to-back European Rugby Champions Cup wins over the Scarlets.

In total there are 20 Scotland capped players in the starting XVs (8 for Edinburgh, 12 for Glasgow) with a further 4 on the bench (1 for Edinburgh, 3 for Glasgow). With the RBS 6 Nations Championship only 6 short weeks away, the players will want to impress head coach Vern Cotter as well as win their team valuable Guinness PRO12 league points.

Edinburgh won the 1872 Scottish Cup at BT Murrayfield on 2 January this year, after a 5-year sabbatical in the Glasgow trophy cabinet, in a nail-biter before a then-record crowd of 15 810. This year’s attendance has already broken that figure, with sales increasing daily, making the match the must-see fixture of the festive period in Scotland.

Head coach Alan Solomons said: “We’re all delighted that we’ll have such a big crowd adding to the atmosphere of what is always a hard-fought fixture. With both clubs winning their European fixtures last weekend, the teams will be looking for the momentum to carry through to a winning performance on Sunday. We know how keen Glasgow are to win back the trophy – and how intent we are on retaining it – so I’ve no doubt it will be a highly physical encounter.”

Glasgow Warriors head coach Gregor Townsend said: “It’s great to hear that our supporters are travelling through to Edinburgh in large numbers to get behind the team, and their vocal support will once again give us a boost this weekend. The 1872 Scottish Cup matches are always highly anticipated encounters and we’re really looking forward to Sunday’s game. We must remain focused for the full eighty-minutes if we’re to come away with a positive result and crucial Guinness PRO12 points.

Edinburgh

Glasgow

258 Responses to Guinness PRO12: 1872 Cup first leg- Teams announced

1 2 3 9

GO GLASGOW!

This will be my last one before Christmas so to all our friends on here, wishing you all a Very Merry Christmas, may you all have a wonderful time.
    Missed out this annual gig this year having gone to at least the previous 3, Phil and his friends always put on a super show. Merry Christmas all:

Hi Bully

Hope you and yours have a wonderful time over the next few days.

Many thanks for keeping the UK news coming.

Been a quite time Rugbywise down here and with GBS otherwise occupied RT has been somewhat dead.

I have been working on an article for weeks but have been so busy I just can’t finish it.

Hopefully in the next few days.

Enjoy the game on Sunday.

Merry Christmas All, and go Proteas – although, on recent performances, I see a potential thrashing on the cards!

A bit late but hope all rugby talkers had agreat Christmas yesterday and all the best for the New Year.

Its our kiwi brother’s Cane big 60th Biirthday today.

Cane my kiwi brother so the big 60 has arrived for both of us. Born just 10 days apart. Time goes by so fast boet. Just enjoy each and everyday. Hope you have a great birthday today and have a few reds on me to celebrate this big birthday.

May you have many more to come. All the very best mate enjoy it.

3 @ Scrumdown:

How you doing boet? Have they still got you on warfarin? I think probably still as I had to be on it for 6 month when I got dvt. It will go that clot and do hope eventually if you still on wafarin you come off it after 6 month.

All the best and take care dont ignore a cramp tight calf again. I did the same as you ignored it even though I suspectrd I had it. We were both foolish. Will never ignore s tght sore cramp in my calf again. Mine was almost 11 years back. Just keep moving and stay walking and you will be fine all the best. And hope you had a good Christmas with your family.

suspectrd = suspected

4 @ Just For Kicks:

How you boet? You still in Scotland? I bought a holiday home there this year. From next year will spend 3 to 4 months up there. Probably come in their summer months.

Keep well and all the best for the New Year.

Birthday-Boy Cane our mate!

All the best bro, and may you have many, many more!!!

Happy-Birthday Congratulations

wishing all my RT mates a festive season and a glorious new year. A likely well deserved break for everyone. And welcome to the 60’s club Caner. So I top you and Pumes by a few wee months then.

So in form Cook is back in the hut enjoying earlier than anticipated SA hospitality and a few Castles with the Barmy Army having scored a duck. Kingsmead and SA collectively rejoice. And so we should.

Damn. Rain in Durban. Cricket is like a magnet for rain. Maybe they should play a Test in the Northern Free State. Might even get a few mielie boere to watch.

I had forgotten about the drought in KZN so I suppose that rain is welcome. But does it need to rain on the first day of the Test Series for goodness sake?

Hello Puma.

Still on the rat poison for a while yet. Went to give a sample this am and got my dosage for the next 3 weeks a short while ago.

Problem now is that one becomes paranoid about every little twinge.

Specialist reckons I should not even play golf if I have to walk.

Can’t even spoil a good walk now!

Keep well and keep coming back to RT.

Cane

Many congratulations on reaching the start of your 7th decade on planet earth.

I trust it will be a magnificent year and that in 10 years time we will all toast you again.

Stay cool mate.

Its our kiwi brother’s Cane big 60th Biirthday today.

Cane my kiwi brother so the big 60 has arrived for both of us. Born just 10 days apart. Time goes by so fast boet. Just enjoy each and everyday. Hope you have a great birthday today and have a few reds on me to celebrate this big birthday.

May you have many more to come. All the very best mate enjoy it.

Belated Happy Birthday Cane, hope you had a good time of celebrations, all the best!

15 @ Scrumdown:
    Hi Scrumdown sorry to hear you are still under the weather, hope you recover fully soon, just try and stay patient you will get there. Looking forward to reading your article here.

Thank You Gentlemen for your kind and gracious good wishes.

60 ………… 59 had a better sound to it in my opinion. 😉 😥

Scrumdown will you have to put up with this for the rest of your life……………………………….or does the condition ( Thrombosis ?) improve as time elapses?

Tassies, I had guessed you were in the 60’s club by the list of Bands you posted,
    that had made an impression on you. CCR, CSN&Y etc.
    Many of the same remain my favourites.

Bullyjock. Keep up the good work. You are the iron lung that keeps this site breathing in quite times like these.

Puma, we are back level pegging. 😉

@ cane: Age is an interesting conundrum Caner. One gives it credit in a good wine but it heads into the debit column when you blow out 60 candles. Sometimes the mind plays a bigger role than the calendar. Behave and pretend you’re 40 and things start to tip back into the credit column. Like going to a rock concert and/or stroking the longboard into the surf(or in my case; a MTB into the rough stuff). I ripped Table Mountain at 6 this morning and I felt a tad younger. Bit knackered now though. Which is the 60 year old bones kicking in. 🙄

well……the cricket’s interesting. Looks to be England on top at this point. Our captain has a serious problem. A few more of these batting failures and we’ll be casting around for a new captain and No 3 bat. He WAS a great player. Now a shadow of his former self. Could have been out three times in his innings of 7.

@ Scrumdown: I have a friend who suffered through the same SD. He made a good recovery. So will you. Enjoy Southbroom. Good spot to affect that recovery. We’ll be thinking of you. Cheers.

@ cane: agree about Bullyjock.

Sorry,

Been absent a while… my life has been a whirlwind!

Should all be back to normal tomorrow and I’ll be in full flight again.

How has the Festive season been treating you okes?

Firstly, Cane…… Hope you had a great ‘Big Birthday”!!!

Remember 60 is the new 40.

Happy Days. Keep on blogging we love your comments

Carol xxx Happy-Birthday

Secondly-

Seasons Greetings to all you Rugby Talkers…..

Hectic social season here. Fantastic to catch up with friends and family at various parties and gatherings. Tonight is night off…….after a rather lovely lunch party.

What do you lot have planned for New Years Eve?

Edinburgh hammered Glasgow. Final score Edinburgh 23/11 Glasgow! Congratulations Edinburgh. Disappointed and surprised by the result especially the margin of victory for Edinburgh.

A few more of these batting failures and we’ll be casting around for a new captain and No 3 bat. He WAS a great player.

Wasn’t there questions about Cook’s form AND his captaincy, because of he lack of form, just the other day? When last did Cook score a 100?

I guess there’s NO WAY that he can go through a dip as a batsman then? Like many others before him.

Faf… (let’s drop him…or should we?)
    Elgar… (before his 100).
    Stiaan… (let’s drop him also…or should we give him another chance at his home ground…NEWLANDS.)
    Duminy… (is he a batsman or an all rounder…)

Are we going to call him a “QUOTA” IF he doesn’nt score any runs soon, or are we we willing to say that he is still a master class batsman who’s going through a dip?

Just asking.

Alwys lekker listening to two of my favorite musicians.

RIP…MR KING.

httpswww.youtube.comwatchv=9VxYAAe6CdI

@Nama

Howzit,Duminy averages 30 in the last 8 years and that’s not good for any top 7 batsmen,so I’d drop him cause he’s had plenty of chances.Bavuma I’d drop for Rilee Rossouw,cause if we are going to go for an inexperienced batsman at 6 then I’d rather have a guy that averages above 40 in FCC than someone that averages 38.60 i.e. Bavuma.Stiaan’s position was on the line,but he still came out batting positively which I like,but he’s not the answer at opening the batting,so I’d play him at 5 and then open with Stephen Cook.

My possible XI for Newlands:Elgar,Cook,AB,Amla(his reputation/captaincy keeps him in),Stiaan,Rilee,Quinton,Steyn,Piedt or Harmer(who can bat),Rabada(cause Steyn maybe out)Morkel.

Faf and JPP should go play FCC,find some form to get selected again.

AB just given out LBW,just will be over in the next hour I reckon….

1 2 3 9

Total 40 users including 0 member, 40 guests, 0 bot online