JP Pietersen double-tackled in the Scotland game

The experienced JP Pietersen is back in the Springboks’s starting line-up for their Rugby World Cup quarterfinal against Wales at Twickenham Stadium in London on Saturday afternoon.

JP Pietersen, who scored a hat-trick against Samoa in the 2nd pool match, is included in the only change to the starting team that beat the USA by 64 / 0 in the Springboks’ final Pool B match, last Wednesday at the Olympic Stadium.

The 63-capped wing, who has recovered from a knee injury which kept him out of the USA Test, will wear the No 14 jersey and Bryan Habana will revert to the left wing for this encounter. It will be the 42nd time they play together as a wing-combination in the Springboks’ starting team.

Habana currently leads the try-scoring stakes at Rugby World Cup 2015 with 5, while Pietersen is joint 2nd with 4, a position he shares with 5 other players.

“JP and Bryan have been in superb form and are playing some of the best rugby of their lives,” said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

“They have been scoring some wonderful tries, as has Lwazi Mvovo, so it’s really great to know that there is good competition among the wings.

“It made sense to reunite Bryan and JP on the wing as it brings a lot of experience to our backline, which has been doing well despite the relative inexperience of Handré Pollard, Damian de Allende and Jesse Kriel.”

The Springbok bench shows 4 changes from the last match. The experienced quartet of Adriaan Strauss, Jannie du Plessis, Ruan Pienaar and Pat Lambie are all back to give the South Africans a boost from the replacements’ bench.

With a combined total of 252 caps between the 4 of them, these players should be able to make an impact later in the game.

“We’ve seen 1st-hand how important it is to have experienced players on the field at the end of a match and to have this kind of experience available on the bench in a knock-out match is great,” said Meyer.

“Saturday’s match will be huge and we are expecting an arm wrestle right until the end. We’re playing against a well-balanced side that always likes to mix things up when it comes to physicality.

“They have a good set-piece and some strong ball carriers upfront and in the back – it’s what you expect to face at this stage of the competition and we’re very excited about the challenge.”

The only player who was not considered because of injury is Victor Matfield, who felt some discomfort in his hamstring at training on Tuesday.

“We were planning to use Victor from the bench to add even more experience to our replacements, but we’re also not prepared to risk him if he’s not ready. Luckily in Pieter-Steph du Toit we have another young player who has been performing very well and will slot in with ease,” said Meyer.

Springboks: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Fourie du Preez (Captain), 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Jannie du Plessis, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein.

Stats and facts:

• South Africa and Wales have only played once before against the other in a Rugby World Cup tournament. That was in 2011 when the Springboks won by 17 / 16.
  • Saturday’s Test match will be the 31st between these 2 countries in a rivalry that started in 1906 during the 1st Springbok tour overseas. Of the previous 30 Tests, Wales could only manage 2 wins while 1 Test was drawn.
  • South Africa’s record against Wales: P – 30, W – 27, L – 2, D – 1, PF – 814, PA – 440, Win% – 90%
  • The most points scored by the Springboks in a match against Wales were 96 (96 / 13) in 1998 at Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria. On that occasion the Springboks crossed the try line 15 times. The winning margin of 83 is the 5th highest in Springbok history.
  • The total Test caps for the Springbok starting line-up is 686. There are 317 caps in the backline with 369 caps amongst the forwards. On the bench there are a further 337 caps.
  • Bryan Habana will extend his record as the most-capped Springbok wing, with 113 caps in this position. He is the most experienced Springbok backline player with 114 caps and only Victor Matfield (125) has played in more Test matches for South Africa.
  • If Bryan Habana scores a try he will extend his own record of 64 Test tries for South Africa. Currently he is joint 2nd on the list for most Test tries. David Campese of Australia is the other player. 1st On the list is Daisuke Ohata of Japan on 69 career tries.
  • Bryan is also the new world record holder for most Test tries as a wing. He surpassed the previous record, held by Daisuke Ohata of Japan (62), during last Wednesday’s match against the USA.
  • Bryan is the joint record holder for most career tries (15) in Rugby World Cup tournaments. He can become sole record holder by scoring just 1 try. Jonah Lomu of New Zealand is the other player with 15 career Rugby World Cup tries.
  • Bryan and JP Pietersen will be playing in their record 42nd Test as a wing combination in the starting 15.
  • Schalk Burger will play in his 77th Test as a flank, South Africa’s most capped Springbok flank. Saturday’s Test will be his 18th Rugby World Cup Test to become the most capped Springbok in Rugby World Cup. He is also the Springbok record holder for most tries as a flank (14) as well as a forward (16).
  • Bismarck du Plessis is the Springbok record holder for most tries (11) in Tests as a hooker.
  • Fourie du Preez will play in his 75th Test match.
  • The referee is Wayne Barnes of England. He became a professional referee in April 2005 and at the end of 2014 had already officiated as referee in more than 50 Tests. It will be his 12th Test involving South Africa. Of the previous 11 Tests, South Africa won 8 and lost 3.
  • Twickenham Stadium is the largest dedicated rugby union venue in the world, the 2nd largest stadium in the United Kingdom and 4th largest in Europe. This is the venue for this 1st quarterfinal match of Rugby World Cup 2015. Twickenham Stadium has a seating capacity of 81 605.
  • The Springboks have played 20 Test matches at this stadium, winning 11 and losing 9. Except for the Rugby World Cup semifinal against Australia in 1999, all Tests were against England.

Springbok Test match record holders at Twickenham:

• Most points: 21 by Jannie de Beer (6p, 1d) against Australia, 30 October 1999
  • Most tries: 2 By Chester Williams against England, 18 November 1995
  • Most conversions: 3 By Ruan Pienaar against England, 22 November 2008
  • Most penalty goals: 6 By Jannie de Beer against Australia, 30 October 1999
  • Most drop goals: 4 By André Pretorius against England, 25 November 2006

60 Responses to Rugby World Cup 2015: Springboks – 1 Change for Wales Quarterfinal… JP Pietersen is back

Very happy with the starting 15… 100% there to Heyneke Meyer!!

I am a bit disapointed that Ruan Pienaar & Pat Lambie are amongst the replacements, as I think Ruan Pienaar should not even have been in the Springboks Rugby World Cup squad and I further feel that Pat Lambie is way off form and / or that Morné Steyn would have been better as flyhalf replacement (he knows Fourie du Preez better, having played next to him for so many games in his life and I believe his kicking temperament is ideal for the last 20 minutes or so).

I understand Heyneke’s reasoning regarding Ruan Pienaar – as having vast experience as opposed to Rudy Paige not having experience… I just think Ruan Pienaar’s negative aspects outweigh that experience factor that Heyneke is now banking on.

Agreed Rudi, but I’ll take the squad as it is.

Heyneke, I take back (most of) those rude words I said about you after the Japan loss.

2 @ Stormersboy:
    Hehehehe

Yeah, I also take the squad as is… and I understand WHY Heyneke chose the bench that he did.

2 @ Stormersboy:
    Hehehehe
    Yeah, I also take the squad as is… and I understand WHY Heyneke chose the bench that he did.

Yes, true it’s a safer bet.

I hope Malherbe blows the Welsh away.

I’m hoping for a Welsh victory only because they would be a lot easier to beat than the Bokke in a potential semi. Good solid Bokke team, plenty of brawn but lets see how they go when they are under the pump, do they have enough upstairs.

I am also reasonably happy with the squad, bar a certain son of a famous SA and FS fullback. But do feel for Mvovo as he did nothing wrong to be dropped. Hope the Bokke prove all of us wrong and make it to the next round. Also glad that the AB’s will face France. They have the ability to play above themselves against the AB’s

@ Lion4ever:

There will be no easy ride this time like 07′, you’ll have to beat the best to win.

7 @ NZINCHINA:
    Hopefully the Springboks make it to the final against the Wallabies

@ NZINCHINA:
    The nature of tournament like this is that one lousy day at the office can ruin your tournament. No one in the QF’s can be considered easy meat. I am more upset that the draw did not allow for a SA vs NZ final. If we do progress and have to meet your boys in the SF, then so be it. France is a hoodoo team for NZ. The beat NZ in 2007 (albeit that a certain Englishman punished NZ badly) and squeaked through in 2011.

Geez the Australians sure seem to have made a big impression in the republic, they beat a very average English team and should have lost against the Welsh & everyone in SA thinks they are dead certs.

@ Lion4ever:

That would have been nice, hopefully next time the draw will be kinder. I think the Argies will make the semis along with the other 3 SH teams and then it’s anyones game. NZ will kick for territory against France the game plan will be completely different.

@ NZINCHINA:
    I see you Kiwis are already whining in Nigel’s ear about the “dirty French” 😀

Hello pot, this is kettle…..you’re black 😉

http://www.rugby365.com/tournaments/world-cup/69429-all-blacks-appeal-for-france-to-keep-it-clean

Hello Norty, the Frogs are well known for their filth at the bottom of rucks. Hansen just reminding Owens to keep an eye on them. Ab’s probably the cleanest team in world rugby.

12 @ NZINCHINA:
    I can’t recall too many French yellow or red cards in the few matches I’ve seen them play in.

We heard from the AB’s after the final that certain incidents occurred. Those are claims without any visual proof.

It might be true, but then again, it might be an excuse for a one point win against a team they were expected to blow away.

NZ conceded 2 yellow cards in their game against Argentina, not really a track record to take the moral high ground IMO.

Best to just shut up and do ones talking on the field. There are no guarantees that it might not be an All Black who is on the receiving end of a yellow or red card on Saturday, and no French players get carded.

@ nortie:.

Don’t be silly Norty, we both know what the French get up to, there is a big difference between a professional foul and ball grabbing, we’re pretty comfortable with doing our talking on the field

13 @ nortie:
    Norts, I smell some Black nerves… smells like burnt rubber, imported all the way from China!

Oh the pityful excuses….

Goeie span, net jammer Ruan bo Paige.

Almal gaan tekere oor ons teen goeie spanne die laaste 15 min uitsak.

Nou ia die vraag, gaan Jannie en Ruan ‘n impak maak van die bank af?

Ek dink nog steeds dit is beter om met Jannie en Vic (as hy reg is) te begin, en dan kan Malherbe en Lood groot impak maak die laaste 20 min.

Ama-Blomme in a spot of bother against India, 8 wickets down… we need 35 to win but Tahir & Rabada is at the wickets, not exactly the best batsmen in the world.

35 now needed off 48 balls (8 overs).

So, the run rate required is not a huge problem, it is the lack of quality batsmen left!

Argh, Imran Tahir is gone…. edge and caught behind.

27 Runs needed, just 1 wicket remains

India win… Morkel out from the 2nd ball he faces… a 4 and then out!

India win by 22 runs

16 @ Ben-die-Bul:
    Ek dink nie Jannie het ‘n kwaliteit 60 minute in hom oor nie…. maar dalk het hy 20 minute aan die einde, waar hy voluit kan gaan.

Sal ook ‘n groot jammerte wees om Lood net vir 20 minute te gebruik, waar hy tot nou toe reeds so hard gespeel het, iets soos 50 tackles ingesit het en baie meters gemaak het. Sy kop is reg, sy passie is daar, sy hart is daar, sy fiksheid is daar.

Lood se disipline is baie goed, hy laat hom nie intrek in onnodige aggressie soos Eben geneig is om te doen nie, hy neem sy lynstane en hy doen sy fundamentele slot-werk!

Hy is argumenteerbaar die Springbok van die toernooi, so wat my aanbetref MOET hy begin!

Victor is beseer, en as hy reg is, steeds met ‘n swaard van ‘n halfbesering wat oor hom hang. Verder is hy geneig om te wil besluit wat gebeur op die pitch, asof hy kaptein is… neewat, laat hy op die pawiljoen bly sit!

Stem saam oor Ruan Pienaar PLUS Rudy Paige is baie vinniger, en wanneer laas het jy ‘n skrumskakel gesien wat nog dive-passes aangee na sy agterlyn, soos wat ons van Rudy gesien het teen USA?

Stem saam oor Lood – die man is ‘n yster.

Sover ek kan onthou was Jannie nogal beter as gewoonlik in die westryde wat hy in hierdie jaar se Rugby Championship gespeel het… skrum het maar gesukkel to Vincent Koch hom vervang het. Ek dink hy kan nog ‘n goeie bydra maak as sy kop reg is. Die vraag is of sy kop reg is, en wie weet ooit voor die tyd wat in daai Du Plessis broers se koppe gaan gebeur op enige gegewe dag?

Sou ook eerder vir Rudy as vir Ruan op die bench wou gesien het.

@ grootblousmile: can’t fault you on that analysis GB. You need to find another day job mate? You should pitch to become a Bok selector. 🙂

this is a very good youthful Bok squad selected to play Wales. Probably the best we’ve been served for a very long time. If we cannot beat Wales to graduate to the semi’s then we really don’t deserve to be in this company. I think we can but we’ll have to see on the day. A weekend to savour indeed.

Hi Tassies – we’ll be ok. We’re going to do this. I have a feeling.

One more thing. I feel the same about Province on Friday night.

Funny the way things turn out. That both captain and vice-captain are ruled out going into the quarters.
    And that both affected the form combinations/finds of the season in Jesse Kriel/De Allende and Lood/Eben.

23 @ Tassies:
    The thing is, even if I were a set of Triplets, I still would not be able to fulfill or do all the things I dream about.

Too many ideas going on in this mind of mine!

Dat so ‘n brein nou eendag moet vrot, is ‘n skande!

@ IAAS: its not impossible. Just unanticipated by most. Rank outsiders I’d guess. The one team I don’t fear is Australia, strangely enough. Yet, they are the new favourites. This is a strange game indeed.

@ grootblousmile: we’re cut from the same cloth GB. The trick is to make sure one finishes some of these projects/new ideas. I’m working on two as we speak. Both have the potential to be life-changing. One involves a move to Hong Kong. So it fits that description quite well.

Total 60 users including 0 member, 60 guests, 0 bot online