South AfricaWalesSpringboks (12) 23 / 19 (13) Wales (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Wales did battle in the 2015 Rugby World Cup at

Twickenham Stadium, London, England at 17:00 SA Time (16:00 BST, 15:00 GMT).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (5)
  • Drop Goals – Handré Pollard (1)
  • Tries – Fourie du Preez (1)

Wales:

• Penalties – Dan Biggar (3)
  • Drop Goals – Dan Biggar (1)
  • Tries – Gareth Davies (1)
  • Conversions – Dan Biggar (1)

South African Springboks
Wales
8 October at 15:30 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Fourie du Preez (Captain), 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Jannie du Plessis, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein
  • Team: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (Captain), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun-Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Gethin Jenkins
  • Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Paul James, 18 Tom Francis, 19 Bradley Davies, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 James Hook

Expected weather: Mostly cloudy with a high of 13°C, dropping to 9°C. No rain.
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant Referees: George Clancy (Ireland), JP Doyle (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes  (England)

483 Responses to Rugby World Cup 2015: South Africa vs Wales – Live Game Article

1 2 3 17

GBS, you have to add the match starting times in Pacific Standard Time as well, for me and Coach Pete living on the West Coast 🙂

It’s UTC -7 hours now, but from November 02 it will be UTC -8

And NOT 1 single Jones in the Welsh line-up.
    Do any Teams have respect for tradition anymore?

That said, I’m going for the Taffies. By 1.
    👿

@ cane:

> “And NOT 1 single Jones in the Welsh line-up”

Well, what about Alun-Wyn JONES?

Plus, the team boasts other solid Welsh surnames like Davies and Morgan (personally I’d make the latter captain … how cool would it be to have a team led by Captain Morgan)?

Anyway, I’ll go for Boks by 5. If they can’t beat a Welsh team that couldn’t score against 13 Australians, and that miss a lot of first choice players, Bok rugby is in even worse shape than I thought (and I wasn’t particularly optimistic to begin with).

@ Vrystaat:

Even better…………………………..Captain Hook.

@ Vrystaat:

Oooops,
    Missed that Jones.
    And he is a fairly difficult person to miss.

Good to see sanity has prevailed.

@ Vrystaat:
    Actually Morgan would make an even better “Vice” Captain.

I am relatively confident in a Bokke win in this game… definately not going to be easy by any means though!

… but on the day anything can and WILL happen!

Heyneke Meyer was basically forced gently by injuries into picking probably the best team available at Rugby World Cup for the Springboks, and the heart and passion seems to be back in the side, so here’s hoping!

Gooooooooooo Bokke!

6 @ cane:
    I think the All Blacks will put France to the sword today…. and properly so too!

@ grootblousmile

That would be nice but I doubt we’ll put them to the sword, Bokke should also take this game.

9 @ NZINCHINA:
    To many funny noises coming from the French squad… and Saint-Andre just cannot seem to select combinations next to one another consistently!

Die Bokke se lynstaan is die afgelope 2 jaar nog glad nie getoets nie, weens Vic se teenwoordigheid.

Kom ons kyk of Wallis, met die meer ervare Jones daar iets gaan probeer doen, en of ons jong slotte reg is daarvoor.

Bokke !

Too tough to call, this one. Heart says Bokke, but this is the first real test for this side. Head says a more experienced Welsh side….

Looking forward to the mid-field battle between De Allende and Jamie Roberts.

Awesome build up occurring on tv over here, a really positive interview with Habana coming up

BIG NEWS!!! Scotland’s Jonny Gray and Ross Ford have had a successful appeal and are free to play with immediate effect.

The team had already been announced but think this will be judged exceptional circumstances so we could well see Jonny Gray on bench for Strokosch and Ford for Bryce.

15 @ Bullscot:
    That is good news for Scotland!

Hi Gbs yes it is but wonder how they dealt with it in training this week that is why think they will name them on the bench. Hopingthat Josh isn’t the one to drop out though.

Bullscot wrote:

BIG NEWS!!! Scotland’s Jonny Gray and Ross Ford have had a successful appeal and are free to play with immediate effect.

Awesome – especially as the Wallabies have had some wobblies with injury!

Gosh Francois Pienaar and the Welsh ex player sitting next to him look quite alike apart from Pienaar having hair.

Hi JFK yes it is good news although I did say before the hearing and after that for me Gray was guilty but Ford was not so Jonny got lucky I think. BUT as they were punished together I wonder if this helped get Gray off.

Bullscot wrote:

Gosh Francois Pienaar and the Welsh ex player sitting next to him look quite alike apart from Pienaar having hair.

Nice Habs interview. Very humble guy.

Just For Kicks wrote:

Awesome build up occurring on tv over here, a really positive interview with Habana coming up

A really nice bit on Habana as you said

15: Skitterend!

Hoert julle RT-hiere, howzit!!!
    Bokke!!
    Keep the comments coming please, I am sitting in a blind spot high up in the mountains without any TV reception at the moment.
    Springboks by 14.

@ grootblousmile:Heart = Boks by 5, Head = Wales by 3.
    Eish, I have never wanted to be so wrong in a very long time. I just think that, although this is the right Bok team, inexperience maybe the deciding factor. HM has got it right at last, but not through his own want, and I still hold him accountable for that.
    If Boks do win, I think that will put them well on the road to clutching the Cup. Whatever happens, I back the boys 100%

24: 25 grade C met 20% kans vir stortbuie in die laatmiddag.

26 @ Pietman:
    Helllloooooooo

Flok, jy nou nog nie jouself uitgesort in jou nuwe basis nie?

27: eish, hy kan nie wen nie, hoe moet hy dan vir Vic en Lood gelyk kies?

1 2 3 17

Total 112 users including 0 member, 112 guests, 0 bot online