AustraliaWalesWallabies (9) 15 / 6 (3) Wales (Final Score)

The Australian Wallabies and Wales did battle in the 2015 Rugby World Cup at

Twickenham Stadium, London, England at 17:45 SA Time (16:45 BST, 15:45 GMT, Sunday 02:45 AEST).

Wallabies:

• Penalties – Bernard Foley (5)

Wales:

• Penalties – Dan Biggar (2)

Australian Wallabies
Wales
10 October at 17:45 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 David Pocock, 7 Sean McMahon, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Dean Mumm, 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore (Captain), 1 Scott Sio
  • Replacements: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 James Slipper, 18 Greg Holmes, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 Ben McCalman, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Matt Toomua, 23 Kurtley Beale
  • Team: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 George North, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Liam Williams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Sam Warburton (Captain), 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Paul James
  • Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Tomas Francis, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Ross Moriarty, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 James Hook

Expected Weather: Partly cloudy, with a high of 18°C and a wind of 19 km/h
Assistant Referees: Jérôme Garcès (France), Stuart Berry (South Africa)

228 Responses to Rugby World Cup 2015: Australia vs Wales – Live Game Article

Indie is ook besig om die Protea boulers hard te moer. Kolf teen 6 lopies per beurt.

Ons sal paaltjies moet vat.

> “Wat beskou hulle as onderpresteer?”

Ek wil ook nogal graag die antwoord op daardie vraag hoor. Miskien onderpresteer mens eers as jy met groot tellings teen al die klein spannetjies verloor het?

nortie wrote:

@ MacroPolo:
    I really hope you have Laidlaw in your fantasy team at 9?

Last round turned out better than I thought it would… but this round I am toast, certain to fall outside the top 20 of even the top 100 😥

I need a miracle in the quarter finals.

@ Nama:

The world Cup can open up today if Ireland beat France. And then France take on NZ in the 1/4’s. We all know how much the AB’s like coming up against the Frogs in the knock-out stages.

@ MacroPolo:
    Good luck, hope your players perform

@ IAAS:
    Ireland France will be interesting for sure, the winner thinks they have dodged a bullet by missing NZ….but I reckon they will run into a missile in the form of Argentina.

Talk about a dark horse, those Pumas are no mugs at the moment and they are certainly flying under the radar.

Out of all the QF matches I think it’s only Australia who can sleep easy, they play the only side who shouldn’t really be in the top 8

Indie is 188/1 na 32 beurte. Benodig 304 om te wen.

SA boulers kak af.

At last…a break through.

2nd wicket own.

@ Nama:

> “Stem saam. Maak nie eens saak of die Bokke die WB wen nie. Dit sal altyd onthou word as die WB toe Japan die Bokke gewen het.”

Well, if the Boks win this WC, one could also say that all the teams they beat on their way to the final had lost against the team that lost against Japan;-)

Anyway, I’m willing to forgive Meyer if the Boks win the WC, but I think that’s a rather unlikely scenario. Reckon they’ll make it to the semi-finals (mostly because Wales is arguably one of the few top 10 teams that is even more predictable than the Boks), but I’d be pleasantly surprised if they get further than that.

Vrystaat wrote:

@ Nama:
    > “Stem saam. Maak nie eens saak of die Bokke die WB wen nie. Dit sal altyd onthou word as die WB toe Japan die Bokke gewen het.”
    Well, if the Boks win this WC, one could also say that all the teams they beat on their way to the final had lost against the team that lost against Japan;-)
    Anyway, I’m willing to forgive Meyer if the Boks win the WC, but I think that’s a rather unlikely scenario. Reckon they’ll make it to the semi-finals (mostly because Wales is arguably one of the few top 10 teams that is even more predictable than the Boks), but I’d be pleasantly surprised if they get further than that.

Geez in the highly unlikely scenario of the boks winning the RWC it would be one of the greatest sporting comebacks of all time imo

Any comment on the fact that the Sharks didn’t make the Currie Cup playoffs.

Comment of the day for me was made yesterday by Hugh Bladen ” I can’t understand why the Cheetahs players are celebrating.”

@ MacroPolo:

Remember in 2007 when England got blitzed 36 – 0 by the Boks. But still made the final.

Funny things happen in sport. The favourite doesn’t always win.

Double run out opportunity missed by the Proteas.

@ IAAS:
    To me it’s a simple question of “is the team winning the cup a deserving team to be called world champions for the next 4 years?”

France in 2011 lost to both NZ and Tonga in the pool stage and made it to the final.

If they hadn’t lost by the 1 point and snuck over a last minute penalty, could anyone really acknowledge that they were the best team in the world?

In 2012 they got the wooden spoon in the 6 nations, how would that have looked for the “current ” world champions?

I feel it’s not just what you do in a six week period, it should be what you do in the 4 years you have the title

Whoever wins the world cup will be the world champs and if NZ do not win it they will still be the best team in the world.

In the end though, acclaim has to go to a team winning three knockouts in a row and standing up to the pressure.

195 @ MacroPolo:
    Yes, that’s the theory, and it’s a new cash reward for the players.

It becomes farcical however when the “world champions” gets thumped left, right and center the next season, well, to me it does

New = nice

It is something totally different to be called World Champions and to have the no. 1 ranking.

Don’t confuse the two.

All I said was that the favourite doesn’t always win.

That is what sport is all about.

I am really warming to Behardien, finally we have a player who can give our middle to lower order some sort of dependability in big games.

@ MacroPolo:

He took his time in doing so though.

@ IAAS:
    In the days before they started the ranking system, the world champions were considered the best team.

The ranking system isn’t even such an accurate tool IMO, teams can gain or lose ratings whilst not even playing.

So both the World cup and the ranking system is unreliable.

@ IAAS:

It is indeed two very different things. Personally, if I had to choose between NZ’s exceptional record between World Cups and winning the odd World Cup every 8 years or so, I’d much rather have NZ’s record.

> “All I said was that the favourite doesn’t always win. That is what sport is all about.”

Again, I’d much rather be the team that usually wins, simply because it is a better team, than the team that occasionally scores an upset victory against all odds.

Imran Tahir is the man!!!

Can they pull off a win here?

@ MacroPolo:
    Moot point, I’m saying it’s a joke if the team winning the World Cup gets klapped by all and sundry for the next 4 years, you disagree.

Vrystaat wrote:

@ IAAS:

It is indeed two very different things. Personally, if I had to choose between NZ’s exceptional record between World Cups and winning the odd World Cup every 8 years or so, I’d much rather have NZ’s record.

> “All I said was that the favourite doesn’t always win. That is what sport is all about.”

Again, I’d much rather be the team that usually wins, simply because it is a better team, than the team that occasionally scores an upset victory against all odds.

This
    Perfectly summed up

nortie wrote:

@ MacroPolo:
    Moot point, I’m saying it’s a joke if the team winning the World Cup gets klapped by all and sundry for the next 4 years, you disagree.

Shouldn’t the joke be on everyone else for letting that team win the World Cup?

The All Blacks are the no. 1 ranked team in the world. And have been for years. Therefore they are the out and out favourites to win this World Cup.

Doesn’t mean they will though. Upsets happen.

That is the last I am saying on this.

by “that” team i mean France 😆

Not to mention the fact that teams score double points in the WC. Remember Arg being ranked at #3 after reaching the semi finals in 2007.

While winning the WC gives you bragging rights for the next 4 years, I’d also rather have a team that wins consistently.

Total 109 users including 0 member, 109 guests, 0 bot online