South AfricaArgentinaSpringboks (16) 24 / 13 (0) Los Pumas (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Argentinian Los Pumas did battle in the 2015 Rugby World Cup 3rd Place Play-off at

Olympic Stadium, London, England at 22:00 SA Time (20:00 UK Time & GMT, 17:00 ARG Time).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (4)
  • Tries – JP Pietersen (1), Eben Etzebeth (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (1)

Los Pumas:

• Penalties – Nicolas Sanchez (1)
  • Drop Goals – Nicolas Sanchez (1)
  • Tries – Juan Pablo Orlandi (1)
  • Conversions – Nicolas Sanchez (1)

South African Springboks
Argentinian Los Pumas
30 October at 22:00 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (Captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Jannie du Plessis, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein
  • Team: 15 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Nicolas Sanchez (Captain), 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6 Javier Ortega Desio, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Juan Figallo
  • Replacements: 16 Lucas Noguera, 17 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 18 Santiago García Botta, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Facundo Isa, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Juan Pablo Socino

Expected weather: Occasional rain and gusty winds during the morning, becoming drier and brighter during the afternoon, but remaining windy. High of 17°C and a low of 10°C
Referee: Johnny Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Glen Jackson (New Zealand), Chris Pollock (New Zealand)
TMO: Graham Hughes

339 Responses to Rugby World Cup 2015 3rd Place Play-off: South Africa vs Argentina – Live Game Article

1 2 3 12

Heyneke beter ver wen vandag, ander is daar probleme! Hy het n groot kans gemis om sy kritici se monde te snoer, deur nie vir Kirchner, Nvovo, Paige, Kolisi en Nyakane in sy beginspan te kies nie. Hardekop, of dikvel, of dalk sommer pleinweg onnosel! Pondering
    Dit moet erg wees om heeltyd saam op toer te wees en nie te kan speel nie.

Argentina will be without Creevy, Juan Imhoff and Juan Martin Hernández.
    That is the Heart and Soul of this Argentine RWC Team.

If you Mothers can’t win this……………………………then big changes are indeed needed in SA Rugby.

But you will win,
    and you win handsomely.

I like Heineken, and hope a good result here secures another 2 yrs for him as Springbok Coach.
    The dead wood will all be gone, things can only get better.

1 @ Pietman:
    Hi Pietman I don’t think even winning the World Cup would have made a bit of difference to many of Mr Meyer’s detractors. He has not won Rugby Championship title and lost to Argentina this year, let alone the loss to Japan. Have been one of his ‘fans’ for a long time and still am but was not happy with the second half response last week and just do not understand the selection for this game as you say all the players who have barely played should surely have been given a chance to play this one. It is an important game but anyone who was considered good enough for the World Cup squad should be able to step in at any time and perform if not as well as the first choice player then certainly well enough to justify their selection in the first place.

Wonder if any of the players not selected have been released back to their clubs. In particular thinking Morne Steyn, wonder if he is back in Paris, or maybe back with his better half and their really young one, where is Rebop when you need him/her? I would think they should all still be with the Boks especially the forwards for training and in case of injury but was just wondering about Steyn as he has not been used much at all in this Cup.

Talking of players who are no longer in World Cup action, Glasgow Warriors have given some of their players some good time off. Leone Nakarawa was back in Fiji for a break and have seen Josh Strauss was/maybe still is on a break, am guessing somewhere in the Cape and it looks like he has shaved his BIG beard off, hopefully he still has his strength when he gets back to Glasgow unlike Samson.

OK, I’ve scheduled this and the other remaining Rugby World Cup 2015 live Game Articles!

I had the kick-off times wrong in the Team Announcement Articles… have fixed them now.

The UK moved back 1 hour compared to SA Time, due to Daylight Savings changes (which always happen on the last Sunday of October every year), so as from this past Sunday GMT and UK Time is now the same.

I missed this, as South Africa is NEVER affected by clock changes due to Daylight Savings Times.

The 3rd Place Play-off: Springboks vs Los Pumas game is on Friday (todnight) at 22:00 SA Time.
    The Final: All Blacks vs Wallabies game is on Saturday at 18:00 SA Time.

What a WC this has been.

SA lost to Japan. (a stunning result, perhaps the biggest upset in Rugby Union History.)

The 4 Rugby Championship Nations ALL make the Semi’s.

The Host, (or should that be the Hostess), for the first time ever, do not emerge from the Pool Stages.

Froggies concede the most points EVER in over a 100 years of Test Match Rugby.

Scotland nearly make the last 4. Robbed, but hey that’s life. It’s only a farking game after all.

English Jersey’s now going for half price.

That old, fat, former drug addict, and prized knunt, Diego Maradonna, shows up for the Semi’s, and says “hey look, they are all using there hands”.

Prince Harry no longer has a team to support. Never mind the fact that his Mum is head of the Commonwealth. If Harry can’t get behind the Commonwealth, why should the Commonwealth get behind the Royals. Fark them.

And aren’t Michael Chieka and Steve Hanson the best two stand up comic’s going around right now.

Win or lose, it’s been a great and entertaining RWC.

Of course it can get better…………………………

cane wrote:

Of course it can get better

yeah, it could be cricket 🙂

http://www.espncricinfo.com/blogs/content/story/934488.html

(a great, but sad read this …)

@ Angostura:
    A great read indeed.

But Rugby has many those things as well.
    And Rugby is more a Team game than Cricket.

Cricket is a Team game,
    but a Team game of Individuals.

Rugby is a Team game where without the Team, no one can shine.

@ Angostura:
    And Angostura,
    I did read your post regarding Andy McDonald. Unbelievable stuff.

Los Pumas loosehead prop, Marcos Ayerza is injured (hamstring) and replaced by Juan Figallo, with Santiago García Botta coming onto the bench!

@ cane:

> “English Jersey’s now going for half price.”

I’m surprised you can still get that much for them.

12 @ Vrystaat:
    Rags to wash the car and the dog don’t come cheap, you know!

De Allende has the game to make him the best 12 in the world…De Jager up there with Estebeth and Retallick as the best young locks in the game…Kriel is a special player…Yet if it wasn’t for injuries these players might not have got a shot…

@ grootblousmile: this is super complex GB. You sure you wanna do this. Could be a moosa cammors boet. Just leave it at 10. Its language we all can understand.

@ Bullscot: couldn’t agree more with the bodycopy BS. But I must state upfront; I am not and never have been a Meyer fan. Nice oke and all but his rugby style is way too conservative for this Capie. It’s positively archaic and will never win you trophies in the modern game. We should know. Die kabinet is skoon.

The boks are playing tonight?

Tassies wrote:

@ MacroPolo:
    really?

Just some sarcasm, just a bit of a bleh game… hopefully it will be exciting, but not really a game I’d be sad if I missed.

All I hope for is that Jesse Kriel can score a few tries 😀 in super bru fantasy everyone will be going for skudder or folau or savea for double points, so I need a left field bet to take me somewhere.

but when has that ever really worked on Superbru?

GO SPRINGBOKS!

Which of the BOK 23 will be playing their last game for the Boks tonight?

22 @ Bullscot:
    About 5 of them… I think.

Matfield, possibly Ruan Pienaar, Schalla, possibly Willem Alberts, Doc Jannie, maybe Bryan Habana… outside chance that Flo Louw is also finished

@ MacroPolo:
    Hiert julle, howzit!
    Japan received 4 nominations for this tournament, would you believe! And deservedly so.
    No green and gold in sight, also deservedly so, we were hondkuk! Disapproval

Jisja jy ook!

24 @ Pietman:
    Hellllooooooooo Sandvlooi!

Evening all. I’m not sure I really want to see HM kissing his sister, but Hey ho, the Boks will also be playing, and I still support them.

OK, shuffle up… players ready to come out

Hoop maar Habana druk n drie, sal darem iets wees om terug te bring vanaf die toernooi.

1 2 3 12

Total 65 users including 0 member, 65 guests, 0 bot online