South AfricaSamoaSpringboks (17) 46 / 6 (6) Samoa (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Samoa did battle in the 2015 Rugby World Cup at

Villa Park, Birmingham, England at 17:45 SA Time (16:45 BST, 15:45 GMT, Sunday 05:45 Samoan Time).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (4)
  • Tries – JP Pietersen (3), Schalk Burger (1), Schalk Brits (1), Bryan Habana (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (1), Pat Lambie (1)

Samoa:

• Penalties – Mike Stanley (2)

South African Springboks
Samoa
26 September at 17:45 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jean de Villiers (Captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Lodewyk de Jager, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jesse Kriel
  • Team: 15 Tim Nanai-Williams, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 Paul Perez, 12 Rey Lee-Lo, 11 Alesana Tuilagi, 10 Mike Stanley, 9 Kahn Fotuali’i, 8 Ofisa Treviranus (Captain), 7 Jack Lam, 6 TJ Ioane, 5 Iosefa Tekori, 4 Teofilo Paulo, 3 Census Johnston, 2 Motu Matu’u, 1 Sakaria Taulafo
  • Replacements: 16 Ole Avei, 17 Viliamu Afatia, 18 ??, 19 Faifili Levave, 20 Vavae Tuilagi, 21 Vavao Afemai, 22 Tusi Pisi, 23 George Pisi

Expected weather: A clear day with a high of 18°C, dropping to 5°C
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant Referees: JP Doyle (England), Angus Gardner (Australia)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

415 Responses to Rugby World Cup 2015: South Africa vs Samoa – Live Game Article

The result was more than what I expected but I had expected a win by 10. Properly reflected in my SuperBru :). That said, this was a committed performance by a better balanced team. Attack and defence were equally impressive and the Samoans were left nowhere to go. Now why can’t we be more consistent? We clearly have the class.

It was not a faultless Bok performance… there are still a lot that needs to be improved on… for instance to leave the No 10 channell for the No 10 and not to have loosies and locks hog that channel.

The scrums can still improve a lot, dicipline needs to improve…

But all in all a vastly improved performance.

Just For Kicks wrote:

Well, what was pleasant about th Bok game today was we controlled most of the game, posession, territory and lineouts and pace… the scrums can still improve.

We also defended like trojans and tackled them poer in their moer!

Sailing close to the wind. Thats a letter away from an Email!

And talking about condoms as well, that type of thing isn’t on 😀

@ Just For Kicks: like the pot calling the potjie black. Or something along those lines?

Dink die span gaan netso bly, behalwe as daar beserings is.

Hoop net Paige kry sy kans.

@ nortie: well I thought we condommed the game quite well today. We even screwed the Moans by 40. lol

We really need to police GBS’s comments a little more, I feel

Just For Kicks wrote:

Couldn’t agree more Kickers

All this talk of his about Trojans makes me feel like going out to buy some rubbers.

Fourie du Preez made a massive difference to the fluidity of backline potency.

Damian is a must at No 12.

Willie is better at fullback… and JP Pietersen for once in a blue moon had a good one.

Matfield stole lineouts almost at will… and then Eben also weiged in with some lineout steals

Barring the scrum, all-round we played very well. Have no idea what Jannie and Beast are up to but clearly they need to up their game at scrum-time.

369 @ nortie:
    Om met rubbers te karfoefel (wonderlike skoon woord) is soos om met jou kouse aan te gaan bad… dis net nie reg nie!!

nortie wrote:

Just For Kicks wrote:

All this talk of his about Trojans makes me feel like going out to buy some rubbers.

Whats a Trojan?

373 @ Just For Kicks:
    A computer virus of sorts… hehehe

Just For Kicks wrote:

nortie wrote:

Just For Kicks wrote:

Whats a Trojan?

http://www.trojancondoms.com/

You know those stuff we used to carry around in our wallets during high school….eventually they turned to dust, but it still felt good carrying it around 😆

Well done Bokke.

In the RWC no frills are required.

And getting the basics right is non negotiable.

The loss to Japan might just be the trump card.

Over to the Poms / Taffy thread… NOW!

nortie wrote:

Just For Kicks wrote:

nortie wrote:

Just For Kicks wrote:

Whats a Trojan?

http://www.trojancondoms.com/

You know those stuff we used to carry around in our wallets during high school….eventually they turned to dust, but it still felt good carrying it around 😆

I’m either very impressed that you took the time to look that up, or very worried that you knew of it!!!!

@ Jeraldjay:

You reckon, what a trump card the next time you’re in a bar when a bus load of Japs arrive, you can pull out that trump card. Don’t kid yourself buddy losing to Japs means decades of ridicule, you remember when the Poms beat us at Twickers a few years back you celebrated for months.

Well done Bokke. Not a complete performance but good enough for a good win.

Now, all we need for the next few weeks, is consistency.

a better result, but will never lessen last weeks embarrassment. 😆 If SA do win the WC it will make a mockery of the tournament

and what is it with you okes and running onto the field? barnes was worried he may have seen history repeating 😉

waimarie pai for the rest of the tourny bokke fans

ka kite ano

Ah-so, well dlone Splingboks?

But wly no MOTM for JPlea?

He vely good for a change & first tly was such a morale-blooster so early in the game!

@ NZINCHINA:
    Yeah, Green Tea.

The Japanese defeat will be remembered forever just like Craig Joubert handing the RWC to you on a platter.

SPRINGBOK CAPTAIN JEAN DE VILLIERS HAS BEEN RULED OUT OF THE REMAINDER OF THE WORLD CUP AFTER SUFFERING A FRACTURE TO HIS JAW.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer described this latest injury to De Villiers as a massive setback.

Jan Serfontein has been called up and will join the squad in Newcastle on Monday. An announcement on the captaincy for the match against Scotland will be made on Wednesday.

“Jean is not only our captain and one of the most experienced players in the squad, but he is also the glue of this team and to lose him is very sad,” said Meyer.

“After injuring his knee last November in Cardiff, he worked incredibly hard to get back to full fitness and the plans worked out perfectly, but rugby is a physical sport and injuries happen.

“We are all very heart-broken for him and we will miss his influence a lot. He has been very unlucky with injuries, but his character clearly showed when he had to go back on the field when Jesse Kriel picked up an injury.

“Jean has fought back from all his injuries and this is the kind of character and fighting spirit we will need to show going forward in this competition.

“While this is a huge and emotional set-back for the team, we will now have to regroup and refocus before we start our preparations for Saturday’s match against Scotland.”

Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts said the fracture was on the opposite side of De Villiers’ jaw to the first injury sustained against Argentina in Durban in August.

“Jean took a heavy blow to the right side of his jaw in the 72nd minute of the match,” said Roberts. “X-rays and scans after the game confirmed our fears that it was fractured. The left side of his jaw was fractured on the previous occasion. He will return to South Africa for further specialist treatment.

“Apart from Jean’s injury, there were a lot of bumps and bruises following a very physical match but we will re-assess those in the next day or two.”

Lock Eben Etzebeth also went to hospital for x-rays. Centres Damian de Allende and Jesse Kriel also went off – de Villiers having to replace the bruised Kriel.

Poor jean

Arguments as to whether he should be in the side or not aside, you have to feel for JdV. He must be the most unlucky rugby player in history. Knee rules him out of WC1, bicep rules him out of WC2, Rib, WC3, Broken Jaw in WC4. You wouldn’t wish this on your worst enemy.

Agree

Despite all of the questions, it’s really sad for him especially after all the work he put in to make the WC.

Hard luck

WC3 Rib didn’t rule him out of the complete tournament, but still…

@ MacroPolo:
    Should we be concerned that Jan is called up to replace Jean, even though he isn’t considered first choice for the Bulls in CC at the moment?

nortie wrote:

@ MacroPolo:
    Should we be concerned that Jan is called up to replace Jean, even though he isn’t considered first choice for the Bulls in CC at the moment?

I wonder if FS entered his thoughts?

Total 26 users including 0 member, 26 guests, 0 bot online