Dillyn Leyds

DHL Western Province coach John Dobson pulled no punches in the wake of his team’s humiliating 29 / 47 loss to the Vodacom Blue Bulls.

The Blue Bulls, having trailed 15 / 16 at halftime and then 15 / 26 early in the 2nd half, went on to score 5 unanswered tries in the last half-hour – culminating in a 2nd-half rout in Pretoria at the weekend.

Dobson, who admitted to being embarrassed by his team’s performance, was particularly incensed at the behaviour of some players after wing Dillyn Leyds scored an intercept try in the 45th minute.

“We scored an intercept try – as the Bulls were about to score themselves – and we celebrated like we had won the game,” an irate Dobson said.

“To me the signs were already on the wall there,” he said of the celebratory dances behind the post, adding: “That was poor behaviour by us.

“If you score a 12-phase try, fair enough. They were about to score.

“That was a 14-point turnaround – it could have been much worse.”

The Province coach felt that no player in his team enhanced his reputation.

“We normally have a man of the match award after the game. We have not awarded one.

“I think it was an embarrassment to Western Province rugby that 2nd half.”

Dobson was full of praise for the table-topping Blue Bulls and their newfound expansive game.

“What I will give them credit for, is when we got the Yellow Card (for Dillyn Leyds taking a man out in the air in the 60th minute), they kept attacking that left-hand side so well,” he said of the touchline where Leyds, a right wing, would normally defend.

“Maybe I should have thought of some plan, but the Yellow Card was a game-changer,” the coach said, adding that he has no problem with the Yellow Card.

He said that once the Blue Bulls got their momentum up, it was very hard to stop them.

“The way they play is good for the Bulls, it is good for the Currie Cup competition and it is good for the game in South Africa.”

Dobson said it is always easier to play an expansive type of game with younger players.

“What I give them credit for is their obvious skills,” he said, adding: “Some of the previous Bulls teams, if they tried to play like that, wouldn’t have had the skills.

“They do have the skills and it was an exceptional performance by them.”

rugby365

58 Responses to Currie Cup: WP – Coach Dobson embarrassed by “Poor Behaviour”

What dance is that, Dillyn, the “Toilet Squat” dance?

Voldy used to have a “Tool of the Week” column/thread which was sponsored by (I think) Tork Craft.

Did not see the game or this incident but judging on what I’ve read/seen this would doubtlessly be this week’s winner.

Geek Censored

The coach told us that the Bulls cannot change their DNA within 2 matches!

Thus the name of the dance: The shit back to the poephol.

Dillon

At least we know what they’ve been doing at training.

gunther wrote:

At least we know what they’ve been doing at training.

Doing squats

In the shower

to Britney singing

“Hit me baby one more time”

What dance is that, Dillyn, the “Toilet Squat” dance?

Hardlywig van die pap en steak in Pretoria?

dWeePer wrote:

The coach told us that the Bulls cannot change their DNA within 2 matches!

Thus the name of the dance: The shit back to the poephol.

Dillon

Don’t worry we Bulls fans were as surprised to see them play this way

We thought it would take years to undo the damage done by Ludeke

Munch of Boffies Conceited

Roses-are-red

Rugby is a funny sport, Lleyds got a deserved yellow card for pulling the player down in the air, and very often the player just takes a mild knock, meanwhile Elstadt puts in a leading shoulder into Liebenberg’s ribs at a ruck, causing internal damage to his organs and effectively ends his season, and we should accept that as “rugby” without any repercussions?

Lleyds has now been demoted to the bench for his rather poor attempt to emulate Patrick Swayze. I am not sure whether his replacement Kobus van Wyk is a better dancer but he is most certainly a better wing.

I wonder why Van wyk is not being given a chance at 12, the DDA type player kind of worked for the Stormers this year.

good stuff from AB, touch wood

robzim wrote:

Lleyds has now been demoted to the bench for his rather poor attempt to emulate Patrick Swayze. I am not sure whether his replacement Kobus van Wyk is a better dancer but he is most certainly a better wing.

Unfortunately he doesn’t dance to the “transformation” tune as well as DL….

I am not a real fan of Leyds, he is great on attack in certain situations but invariably gives up even more in defensive weakness.

Hi there, on the blogs it seems you WP okes think you need a better flyhalf, have just posted a Cipriani article and a comment there – just a thought?

Never rated him, especially with all the drama. Just my personal opinion though. You?

My take on the fly-half conundrum is this:

Either we must go for a big name, international class player like Goosen or we need to bring one (or more) of our youngsters through such as Robert du Preez Jr or Carel’s kid. Both of them are international class for their age, no reason they won’t develop further along that level.

Howzit, on a different note, what do you think their plans are with Jano Vermaak.

I see Godlen has been given a start this weekend and Vermaak is not even in the 23.

So far he has only come on a replacement, just seems strange that they signed him for all his experience but seem reluctant to play him.

Perhaps he is not 100% match fit or something or maybe something else I’m not aware of?

Jeeeez, I’ve been busy these last few days… and only came home from a web design meeting last night at about 22:30… and then still had hours of work ahead of me before I could go to bed.

Up early this morning again, and glued to my various PC’s, doing quotes and researching solutions for a couple of clients…. I mos bloodywell decided to also branch out into the Solar Power and Grid Replacement backup power industry… and to provide alternatives during SA’s loadshedding cycles.

Also recently branched out into the Mobile (Cell) Signal Repeater (Booster) field… and my resources for that is now bloody nice, a few of those installations already behind me and working like an absolute charm.

Now these 2 new fields have opened up a massive new and lucrative market… and the markets are mutually inclusive in many instances, specially in rural farming areas where Eskom power is in short supply and where farmers have very poor Cell Phone and Cell Data connections..

A whole farming community near Piet Retief in Mpumalanga is eagerly awaiting my quotes on both, and this stuff could produce BIG BUCKS, for not that much work.

So, if you need your Mobile signals boosted or want to go Power Off-Grid or have great alternatives for Load-Shedding options currently available… I am your man for those now too!

Pure Sine Wave Inverters & Inverter / Chargers, Solar Panels, Deep Cycle or Gell Batteries, Solar Charger Controllers… all their accessories, Solar Borehole Pumps, Solar Geysers… all those wonderful things!

On the Mobile Repeater side of things, we basically use 2 different bandwidths or Frequency spectrums in SA… the 900Mhz Range (Vodacom), the 1 800Mhz Range (MTN, Cell C & 8ta) and the Data Portions of each of these Frequencies also require their own specific solutions.

So, if you want to boost both Data and Voice on all these Service Provider fields, one basically uses aTri-Band unit, with an OUTSIDE (900Mhz to 1 800Mhz Antenna), the TRI-BAND REPEATER (Booster) unit inside and a WHIPP or CEILING MOUNT ANTENNA conected to it.

One also has the choice to go considerably cheaper by getting say just a Vodacom Voice Repreater – 1 Band only, or a Dual Band Unit which could either boost all Voice over both frequencies or boost say Vodacom’s Voice & Data. Installation for these simpler units are much the same as for the Tri-Band units… outside antenna, repeater, inside antenna.

Both these types of Industries use bloody expensive equipment and the solutions are not cheap at all.

So, just a little bit of a heads-up on it by me… to you.

I suppose now I have to get on with putting on some rugby news here, hey!

19 @ nortie:
    Vermaak has a finger injury.

19 @ nortie:

Thanks, wasn’t aware of that.
    Makes sense now

Personally i am a bit disappoined in the slow progress Rob du Preez has made since he had the great varsity cup season. Also not 100% convinced that du Plessis is really good enough to establish himself at the top level.

In my opinion Brandon Thomson is more talented than either of them. He does not play for any of the age group teams at the moment though so perhaps he is injured.

The Stormers cannot wait for any of these players to develop though and need a top class flyhalf asap as they certainly cannot even consider to start next season with Coleman as number one. The rumour is that Marnitz Boshoff might be lured down here but i am also not so sure whether he is reaĺly the answer.

Rather Boshoff than Coleman IMO.
    Both have a serious case of the yips, but Boshoff has somewhat recovered from his CC final ordeal

Also not sure that Goosen is the answer.
    Firstly his tendency to get injured doesn’t help anyone, secondly his demeanor at his French Club also doesn’t help.
    Thirdly, we will probably be expected to pay a huge transfer fee as well.
    Maybe we must try and lure that milky bar currently playing for the Bulls, he will have to take the back seat when Pollard returns

nortie wrote:

19 @ nortie:

Thanks, wasn’t aware of that.
    Makes sense now

According to Dobson the plan was always to let Vermaak start against the Cheetahs so the injury comes at a wrong time.

Godlem provides something different- a fast exciting player with a great break but not a good kicker. He could perhaps be described as something of a “poor man’s Joost vd Westhuizen.

I am not very happy to see Schreuder is back on the bench.. thought they sold him off to the Eagles or Border by now… perhaps they can market him and Coleman as a special two for the price of one deal.. probably still wont get any takers though.

We can’t afford to drop points against the Cheetahs.
    If we want to end 3rd we need to beat all the other sides bar the Lions and Bulls currently.
    Then a once off playoff game we might pull a rabbit out of the hat, who knows?

@25

Ja, the milky bar is not bad. There is also the Puma flyhalf.

Btw i quite like the under 21 flyhalf Justin Phillips.. hopefully he will soon get a chance as well.

Sorry i mean the scrumhalf justin phillips not flyhalf

We should have left PSdT at the Sharks, Eddie in Japan and rather have thrown the chequebook at Lambie

Total 45 users including 0 member, 45 guests, 0 bot online