EP KingsCell C SharksEP Kings (13) 20 / 24 (7) Sharks (Final Score)

The Eastern Province Kings and Cell C Sharks did battle in the ABSA Currie Cup at

Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT).

EP Kings:

• Penalties – Scott van Breda (2)
  • Tries – Thembelani Bholi (1), Penalty Try (1)
  • Conversions – Scott van Breda (2)

• Penalties – Joe Pietersen (1)
  • Tries – Joe Pietersen (1), Francois Kleynhans (1), Dan du Preez (1)
  • Conversions – Joe Pietersen (3)

Eastern Province Kings
Cell C Sharks
29 August at 17:05 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Scott van Breda, 14 Siyanda Grey, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 JP du Plessis, 11 Luther Obi, 10 Karlo Aspeling, 9 Enrico Acker, 8 Tim Agaba, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Luke Watson (Captain), 5 Cornell Hess, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Martin Ferreira, 1 Lizo Gqoboka
  • Replacements: 16 Schalk Ferreira, 17 Edgar Marutlulle, 18 Simon Kerrod, 19 Stefan Willemse, 20 Paul Schoeman, 21 Dwayne Kelly, 22 Hansie Graaff
  • Team: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 André Esterhuizen, 11 S’bura Sithole, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Dan du Preez, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Marco Wentzel (Captain), 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Gerhard Engelbrecht, 2 Monde Hadebe, 1 Dale Chadwick
  • Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 JC Astle, 19 Jean-Luc du Preez, 20 Stefan Ungerer, 21 Wandile Mjekevu, 22 Garth April

Referee: Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Referees: Jaco Pretorius, Jacques Nieuwenhuis
TMO: Christie du Preez

97 Responses to Currie Cup: EP Kings vs Cell C Sharks – Live Game Articles

High tackle it was….

Penalty Try given to the EP Kings.

S’bura Sithole also cops a Yellow Card

I think that call was a good call!

Sharks 24 / 20 EP Kings

5 Minutes to play, only a 4-point deficit.

Kick-off by the Sharks go dead, scrum middle spot to the EP Kings.

Sharks scrum penalty… binding problem

Short by Joe Pietersen

Garth April on for Lionel Cronje

Sharks penalty again… on the EP Kings 22, it will not be a shot for goal… wow.

Kings get out of trouble and run it up… then get a penalty, quick tap and go

Final Score: Cell C Sharks (7) 24 / 20 (13) Eastern Province Kings

So, the Sharks have won 2 out of 4, both against the EP Kings.

EP Kings have lost all 4 on the trot.

ORC Griquas have also lost 4 on the trot.

Steval Pumas have won 2, lost 2.

DHL WP has won 2, lost 2.

Free State Cheetahs have lost 2, won 2.

Vodacom Blue Bulls have won all 4 with bonus points.

Xerox Golden Lions have won all 4 with bonus points.

Still many games to go, so nothing is decided yet, yet the Xerox Golden Lions and Vodacom Blue Bulls look like it will take some effort to beat them!

Nee kyk, dit was nou hondkuk palookah rugby Amazed
    Lyk soos n klomp gym rats wat sjampoo adverteer, net bultende boarm spiere, high fives en haarstyle, niks rugby…
    Geen wonder Nama het Vioolsdrif se derdes teen Nuwerus gaan kyk vanmiddag nie…ek sou ook.

72 @ Pietman:
    Janee, dit was swak rugby.

Seker maar omdat die Sharks manne mis, hulle is na Heyneke se wereldspan toe mos!

I see Scotland put 48 points on Italy, looks like our pool is not going to be the easy games we are expecting and the fodder to get our injured and unfit ready without a workout.

When last have we even beat Italy so easily?

Alle ander lande werk na n punt toe, voel dit vir my, terwyl ons hannahanna oor nonsens…soos Cosatu en sulke goeters….ek hoop Heyneke fokus al die pad op een ding van nou af…en dis om daai trofee vir die derde keer te vat….en huistoe te bring…vir goed!
    DAN kan ons lekker hannahanna….!!!

76 @ Pietman:
    Bietjie laat vir hom om nou te fokus op n prys soos die WB trofee, in 4 jaar in charge kon hy nog geen bekers wen nie, so dis vir my maar moeilik om te glo hy kan nou ewe skielik die grote wen

hullo chaps. Hoe gaan dit?
    Didn’t watch much rugby today. You learn anything I might have?

Tassies wrote:

hullo chaps. Hoe gaan dit?
    Didn’t watch much rugby today. You learn anything I might have?

Howzit Tassies
    I also haven’t seen any rugby in about 2 months, but what I’ve learned is that WP is kak this year, the Bulls and Lions are far and away the best two teams in the CC and HM has selected his 31 players some believe are good enough to win the WC.

We can go on about this quota thing. It is certainly an issue. But sadly it wont go away anytime soon. We’ve managed to live with it for 20 odd years and we’re going to have to live with it until the day we drop. That’s the albatross we shall have to bear if we all decide to stay put on African soil. Much as it sticks in the throat. How the fluck poor Rudi Paige is expected to cope is beyond the imagination? Is he international level talent? Who the fluck knows? He hasn’t been there for us to judge. Even he doesn’t know. Just throw the poor bastard in there to make up the numbers. Which of the other teams is required to deal with similar? I mean for god’s sake how pathetic can we get? How about shackling a ball and chain to a team’s foot before a major international contest even gets under way. Same scenario in business. If this country cannot understand the basic tenets of business/competition how are we honestly expected to grow as a nation? RANT OVER. How are you guys? 😡

@ nortie: Well I watched a spell last week and WP lost the plot in stanza two for sure. Poor defence. Only found out yesterday’s score a few hours ago. As for Bok WC squad I think its a pretty strong unit which will be competitive. Is it a winning squad? No. I don’t think so. There are too many issues which count against this team being champion material. 1. The management. 2. Injuries. 3. Politics. 4. AB’s are better. 5. Others are probably better too. 6. The lead-up has been uber poor. 7. Meyer looks to be under tremendous pressure for someone who’s supposed to keep the team calm when the pressure is on in the heat of battle.
    No. This is not one we can expect to win I’m afraid. Hope I’m wrong.

80 @ Tassies:
    Hello Tasse,

I’m good, as always… positive as always… I live my life as a positive person.

Would have been hell to always have a cynical and negative outlook on life, considering this country’s challenges.

Maar, die lewe is ‘n lied en ek sing hom uit volle bors!

I gather from your general stance in life that that you also live a positive life full of joy and contribution!

So, tell what the hell is happening there at WP’s rugby under Dobson and with Paul Treu(rig) as Defence Coach?

Are you on a rugby sabatical Nortie(for want of a better word)?

Yep, decided not to waste so much money on such kak rugby.

@ grootblousmile: Yip. That’s been how we do things. I think J Dobson is a good coach. I’ve watch his teams over the years and the play attractive, positive rugby and usually win. Here, I particularly thinking his stint at UCT. So I guess he’s busy finding his feet. Ditto Paul Treu. 7’s rugby to 15-man is quite a leap I’d think. Jury’s out.
    Life in general. Business is tough. I’m in manufacturing. Not a wonderful space to be in right now. We’re also in the printing/promotions industry. Even worse. Corporates have slammed closed their collective order books recently. Printers are closing their doors and folk are concerned. Here this story every damn day. Was at a CCR dinner/jam in Noordhoek last night with friends. Was excellent have to say. What’s not so good is the fact that my South Peninsula property industry friends report that international property purchases have all but dried up recently. The market has apparently switched to Durban and Gauteng folk moving down here “in their droves”. No more Poms. Quote/unquote. My business is making losses since June. Have to wonder where this is leading to. But we work hard, box smart and live in hope.

Which is why(GB) you don’t see so much of me on here. I’m pretty buggered when I get home at night. Unlike yourself, who seems to have an unlimited well of energy regardless. Must be getting old hey?
    Besides, you have no need to worry about your Bulletjies any more. Seem to be in good hands.

@ nortie: Let me guess. You told M-Choice to stick their decoder into that crack where the sun don’t shine. R800 fellas/month is becoming ridiculous for the crap they’re serving up. I plan to ditch mine after the WC and head on-line when we’re able to up the feed speed.

85 @ Tassies:
    I recon Dobson should have been given the Super Rugby coaching job for the Stormers… like you say, he’s been a rock in coaching down there in your neck of the woods.

I do not have much hope for Treu, though…. and WP’s defence has gone from massive to very iffy in 2 months (since Super Rugby).

On the business front…. 1st thing companies and corporates cut down on in a tough economy is on marketing and marketing material, which is actually the worst thing they can possibly do.

Second thing they cut down on is staff… and retrenchments gets more and more intense every day!

I have the luxury of doing things differently, I service the professional market where business booms, whether the economy is good or bad… Have also opened 3 new lines of business products / services in the last year or so, where I have identified a need in these particular circumstances and difficult times. Solar power is 1 of them, Cell Signal Repeaters / Boosters is another… and I have developed my Web Design portfolio commercially.

Now I must just find more hands and eyes on my body to do all justice, the demand is bigger than I can supply at the moment.

Tassies wrote:

@ nortie: Let me guess. You told M-Choice to stick their decoder into that crack where the sun don’t shine. R800 fellas/month is becoming ridiculous for the crap they’re serving up. I plan to ditch mine after the WC and head on-line when we’re able to up the feed speed.

Yep, too much for a bunch of repeat programs.
    The only reason I really wanted it was for the rugby, but too me it’s not worth that amount for the crap our teams dish out.
    If need be, and I really want to see a game, there are plenty of pubs around, but I don’t even bother with that.
    Catching up on my reading and watching dvd’s.
    Have lost pretty much most interest in watching the matches in any case

86 @ Tassies:
    I will not stop worrying about my Bulletjies, it is far too early to declare that they are on the way to being totally fixed!

I like the positive signs in their play though.

Fark me George, they will just HAVE TO do something about their scrums man, that is a big worry!

I work every night till close to midnight or even beyond… and with the restauarnt that my wife, Handbriekie, and daughter, BonzaiHandbriekie, opened on 30 May I see little of them.. and they work nights too… weekends the worst of all. That is the bad part of my life at the moment, but hopefully it will even out as the restaurant grows and proper backup staff is employed to do the late shifts.

Total 36 users including 0 member, 36 guests, 0 bot online