AustraliaSouth AfricaWallabies (7) 24 / 20 (13) Springboks (Final Score)

The Australian Wallabies and South Arfican Springboks did battle in The Rugby Championship at

Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane at 12:05 SA Time (20:05 AEST, 22:05 NZ Time, 07:05 ARG Time, 10:05 GMT).

Wallabies:

• Penalties – Quade Cooper (1)
  • Tries – Adam Ashley-Cooper (1), Michael Hooper (1), Tevita Kuridrani (1)
  • Conversions – Quade Cooper (2), Matt Giteau (1)

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (2)
  • Tries – Eben Etzebeth (1), Jesse Kriel (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (2)

Australian Wallabies
South African Springboks
18 July at 12:05 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Giteau, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore (Captain), 1 James Slipper
  • Replacements: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Greg Holmes, 19 James Horwill, 20 David Pocock, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Matt Toomua, 23 Drew Mitchell
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Schalk Burger, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (Captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Lodewyk de Jager, 20 Teboho Mohoje, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Lwazi Mvovo

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Glen Jackson (New Zealand), Mike Fraser (New Zealand)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)

466 Responses to The Rugby Championship: Australia vs South Africa – Live Game Article

Willie also had a shocker, apart from two good runs that led to two tries… hmmm should we look at it in that way?

331 @ MacroPolo:
    I would be tempted to play Jesse Kriel at fullback in place of Willie le Roux when Jean de Villiers returns to full active duty.

317 @ rebop75:
    Yeah Rebop,
    Just very, very little time to give Heinke more of a go before the Rugby World Cup starts… and I think Trevor Nyakane has already proven he’s good enough to go as extra loosehead.

he had to outperform today
    and he did not come into the game
    tough
    and an error that costs a lot…
    a really bad day
    for our small prop

@ Scrumdown: just returned from watching the game at the pub. First post I’ve read and it is exactly the consensus of opinion from where I’ve just come from. Too much kicking away possession and extremely poor kicking execution. Primary villain: Mr W Le Roux. If I had been in Brisbane I’d be hunting him down with a knobkierrie. What a chop. Could he not see it wasn’t working? Could one of the three captains not identify the problem and tie his bootlaces together. What is wrong with these people? Are they just plain dof?

WP Craven Week side looking damn good…..again

334 @ Tassies:
    As Fern says….doing their bit for Mandela Day by kicking the ball away 67 times

nortie wrote:

They are just brilliant……… if we can keep these players away from dinosaurs like Heineke Meyer then there is perhaps still a glimmer of hope for SA rugby.

a brief summary of what I saw:
    3 different captains = fail
    coach’s kicking gameplan = fail
    defence = pass
    off-loading in the tackle = fail
    front row/Jannie = pass
    lineouts = pass
    Bissie = pass
    Etsabeth = pass
    Lood = pass
    Matfield = retire
    Schalk experiment = pass
    Loose trio = pass
    Turnover ball = pass
    Pienaar = fail
    No 10 = fail
    No 15 = fail
    Midfield = pass
    Habs = pass
    JP = fail
    Bench = general fail
    The game was lost by the management, captaincy, Pollard, Willie & extremely poor tactical kicking execution. Continue with this and we’re doomed.

rebop75 wrote:

undefined

stem nie saam nie mnr,skole rugby en varsity cup is meerendeels hardloop rugby dit van super rugby af op wat die verdomde geskop in kom

focusing a spotlight on Jannie……….I think Jannie checked out a Hitler flick on you-tube yesterday and het die moer-in geraak. BAIE. He played his best game EVER today and when he was subbed, the game went downhill from there. (FFS what was Meyer thinking at that moment?)

robzim wrote:

nortie wrote:

They are just brilliant……… if we can keep these players away from dinosaurs like Heineke Meyer then there is perhaps still a glimmer of hope for SA rugby.

Probably not going to happen….Bulls scouts waving their fat cheque books have probably bought most of them already so that they can sit on the bench or hold tackle bags so that Matfield and co can practice

@ nortie: and he wasn’t exaggerating Nortie.

WP 43/0 EP at half time

And this is the unofficial final?

How did EP get there?

340 @ Tassies:
    Jannie did look good today….but….and this is a big but (almost as big as Trevor’s) we played against the weakest scrum in the RC.

Argies and Kiwis have much better scrums than Aus as well, we even saw the Kiwis yesterday push the Argies off their ball.

Only going to get tougher from here on in

daar is een outjie wat my oog gevang het xander stassen 5 slot van die valke groot lank en met skills wat sonny bill gemiddeld laat lyk

Willie Le Roux is a bloody exciting player to watch. A genuine game-breaker. WHEN HE HAS BALL IN HAND. Not when he’s instructed to kick tactically. HE IS A SERIOUSLY KAK KICKER OF A RUGBY BALL. So why the fluck play to his weaknesses I ask with tears bucking down both swollen cheeks. Does the coach have a brain or is he simply trying to drive up the price of his investment in the anger-management industry in this already troubled nation of ours. Maybe replicate what Harry did and ban kicking(by willie) until further notice.

smallies wrote:

daar is een outjie wat my oog gevang het xander stassen 5 slot van die valke groot lank en met skills wat sonny bill gemiddeld laat lyk

Sal bietjie loer in die toekoms vir daai naam, wonder wie het hom geteken?

Hierdie WP laaities jol ook mooi rugby

en moenie adrian strauss vergeet nie……hy is nie die selfde speler as n seisoen terug nie

The Aussies just played the big points better than the Boks.

Something the Proteas can also learn.

Fight for every point.

International sport is about margins.

That’s all.

willie soek die bal in die hand op spoed sonder om tyd te he om aan allerhande kak te dink ,hy is n ou wat slegs op instink moet speel,hy moet glad nie tyd he om te dink nie ,want sodra hy begin dink ja hy kakas aan

Fully agree. Willie’s tactical kicking is shocking. He made Folau look good.

to add fuel to the fire; the guys around me where I watched the game, were convinced that Heyneke, Willie and Handre had bet their houses on an Oz win with a Mumbai betting agent and couldn’t get comfortable with the idea of sleeping in the veld. They were pushed to the wire but were desperate to ensure we lost the Test. OK I joke. But it wasn’t funny watching the second half.

Wow, this Craven week side from WP are playing wonderful rugby, so unselfish, looking to put their mates in for the score as the first option

@ nortie: you spell that with a double T Nortie. 😀

@ IAAS:
    Oz might have played the big points better, but we also don’t seem to learn lessons.

Last year in Aus we also lost in the final minutes after leading comfortably.

We keep subbing our stand out players on the day because of some predetermined plan at terrible times in the context of the game

@ smallies: ja, spot on boet. Dis Willie ‘exactly’ opgesom.

Whoever signs the WP number 12 Cornel Smith from Bishops and the winger Leonard from Paul Roos will have two gems on their books. Leonard has scored more than 50 tries in schoolboy rugby over the last 2 seasons.

Verdediging alleen gaan beslis nie vir jou rugbytoetse wen nie. Soms moet jou ook die bal hê en iets daarmee uitrig.

beeld se dit baie mooi

@ nortie: case in point: the front row at a point where we have our backs against the wall five metres from our line. This little cameo had us really scratching our heads. Especially since Biz looked fresh and fine to continue. Strauss wasn’t even half the player Biz had been up to that point. The coach can’t predict that but he can choose a better spot on the park to freshen up his tried and tested front row. Downhill from there I thought.

357 @ robzim:
    For sure, hope they are kept in the Cape.
    Also impressed with our fly half

Total 14 users including 0 member, 14 guests, 0 bot online