South AfricaWorld XVSpringboks (22) 46 / 10 (10) World XV (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and World XV did battle in an International match at

DHL Newlands, Cape Town at 17:00 SA Time (15:00 GMT).

• Penalties – Handré Pollard (1)
  • Tries – Damian de Allende (2), Eben Etzebeth (1), Willie le Roux (3), Cobus Reinach (1)
  • Conversions – Handré Pollard (2), Pat Lambie (2)

Word XV:

• Penalties – Mike Harris (1)
  • Tries – Craig Burden (1)
  • Conversions – Mike Harris (1)

South African Springboks
World XV
11 July at 17:00 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (Captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
  • Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Teboho Mohoje, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jean de Villiers
  • Team: 15 Delon Armitage, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Maxime Mermoz, 11 David Smith, 10 Mike Harris, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Jordan Taufua, 5 Bakkies Botha (Captain), 4 Ali Williams, 3 Carl Hayman, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp
  • Replacements: 16 David Roumieu, 17 Alexandre Menini, 18 Petrus du Plessis, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Louis-Benoit Madaule, 21 Maxime Machenaud, 22 Andrew Horrell, 23 Rudi Wulf

Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), Jason Jaftha (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)

643 Responses to Internationals: South Africa vs World XV – Live Game Article

@ MacroPolo:
    2 uit! Vir 19…
    Innie kuk sommer vroeg-vroeg alweer!

596 @ MacroPolo:
    Nie te bad nie….amper n hybrid tussen die oorspronklike 1984 fliek gemeng met n moderne touch….soort van soos Heyneke se game plan 😆

nortie wrote:

596 @ MacroPolo:
    Nie te bad nie….amper n hybrid tussen die oorspronklike 1984 fliek gemeng met n moderne touch….soort van soos Heyneke se game plan

Heyneke couldn’t implement a 1984 game plan if it was hanging from his testes sack.

Blue Bulls team announced for the warm up

Blue Bulls:

15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Daniel Kriel, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Flip van der Merwe (captain), 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Morné Mellett.

Substitutes: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Nqoba Mxoli, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Clyde Davids, 21 Roelof Smit, 22 Ivan van Zyl, 23 Marais Schmidt, 24 Dries Swanepoel, 25 Jade Stighling, 26 Kefentse Mahlo

I wonder if Nolis can make a difference to the forwards? Really happy with Louis Fouche, not being involved yet.

Marais Schmidt at flyhalf(bench) is an inclusion from left field.

@ MacroPolo:
    On paper this looks like a very good side, especially considering the usual mediocre CC opposition they will be facing from the other provinces.

Strange they don’t groom another center knowing that WSS is leaving

Still paying his salary i guess.

@ MacroPolo:
    Ha ha, yep….getting their pound of flesh.

Still a very strong looking side, could play in the SR with that side and beat a few teams

nortie wrote:

Strange they don’t groom another center knowing that WSS is leaving

Omdat hulle farkin stupid is

Laasjaar het hulle geweet Bongi gaan na julle toe en hom nogsteeds die hele CC gespeel

In plaas daarvan om ‘n ander haker te laat speel

Hulle moet vir WSS op die bank laat sit totdat sy agterent vol splinters is en ‘n ander senter wat gaan bly gametime gee

Victoriabok wrote:

Hulle moet vir WSS op die bank laat sit totdat sy agterent vol splinters is en ‘n ander senter wat gaan bly gametime gee

Ek stem glad nie saam nie, hy word betaal om n werk te verrig, daar sal verseker incentives wees vir hom om sy beste te gee. As ons hom uitlos dan moet ons Hougie en Flip ook uit los… ek hoor wat jy se, ons moet tussentyd ander ouens deur bring, maar die ou moet speel, solank hy beter speel as in verlede jaar se kompetisie.

What shit bowling we thoroughly deserve to be smashed here.

Bangla win 3 big odi series in a row vs pakistan, india and south africa.

@ MacroPolo:
    Ha ha, and to think of the outrage that was had during the WC when I didn’t rate the Proteas as highly as some here and wasn’t surprised when they bombed against the decent opposition.

And still ou Quinny is seen as an opener 😆

Losing to Bangladesh is worse than the Bokke losing to Argentina….but it looks like it’s not a loss, but on it’s way to a hiding.

Got to love Dale Steyn proclaiming that he won’t be wasting his energies and body on such minnows, he pretty much wrote their motivational speech for them

@ MacroPolo:
    Seker weer Fikile en Philander se skuld Wink

Actually bangla is becoming a pretty good team at home, beat pak, india and now us… This guy batting now sharkar looks like a future legend.

Amla also not performing. He actually looks chubby.

nortie wrote:

@ MacroPolo:

Losing to Bangladesh is worse than the Bokke losing to Argentina….but it looks like it’s not a loss, but on it’s way to a hiding.

Ridiculous statement.

@ MacroPolo:
    India are poor away from India and Pakistan hover between useless and being paid to throw matches….I won’t read too much into those results, and in any case, it’s their supporter’s worries.

The Proteas should not lose a series to Bangladesh, and no amount of sugar coating can change that.

MacroPolo wrote:

nortie wrote:

@ MacroPolo:

Ridiculous statement.

Really?

So SA has now become an also ran in all walks and sports where it’s deemed an achievement when we beat sides we should automatically beat?

Ridiculous so you think the status quo will never change? Very very sad outlook in life you have nortie…

These guys are batting damn well in my opinion, but as you assume it is only poor bowling because we should bowl them out for 50…

Shame

MacroPolo wrote:

Ridiculous so you think the status quo will never change? Very very sad outlook in life you have nortie…

These guys are batting damn well in my opinion, but as you assume it is only poor bowling because we should bowl them out for 50…

Shame

I expect a cricketing country with a pedigree as rich as SA’s to beat Bangladesh in a series, yes.

They can surprise every now and again and win a match, but to beat us in a series, sorry, not acceptable.

You and others may differ and sing their praises, to each his own

This is pretty much how I feel about it too!

Painful defeat for the Proteas, partially deadened by the fact that load shedding intervened and spared me witnessing further torture from 6pm onwards.
    Famous year for Bangladesh – successive series victories for the Tigers vs. Pakistan, India & now South Africa.
    This is (in part) why people play & watch competitive sport – to occasionally display & achieve, or witness, unyielding fortitude & victory against all odds.
    Congratulations Bangladesh.

Well, judging by the predictable comments we can all rest assured that nortie is NOT a spin doctor … nor a motivational speaker…
    🙂

@ Angostura:
    Nope, too blunt and too honest and I don’t appreciate mediocracy.

Spin doctor is definitely out….motivational speaker, well, if some pissies cry about Mitchell then heaven help them if they must have me.

At least I’m in good company, Horn was just as big a stuff up at the motivational part and even worse at the spin doctoring afterwards

Ha ha, love the Hitler reacts videos

You should consider a name change from Daniel to Jeremiah …

haha very funny that

“slower than a one-legged dog with a fridge on his back” 😆

Don’t ever denigrate Mike Horn – that guy is a legend. What he learned the hard way is that you cannot fight the South African political system and win.

Spin doctoring – he and AB were the only ones prepared to put their hands up and take the blame for the NZ defeat. Where’s the spindoctoring there?

@ IAAS:
    Don’t denigrate Jannie, he too is a legend

Jannie is a legend In his own lunch time.

@ IAAS:
    That’s Doctor Jannie to us

No one is celebrating mediocrity… It is a conpetitive sport and they defeated us hence we were not good enough and the proteas need to work harder…

It is incredibly naive to believe that we have a richer pedigree or at least that we will always have a richer pedigree than other countries. If thata the case then we should never ever defeat england or australia.

Why be a fan of competutive sport when you believe that your oppononent is inferior forever and that they will never be better?

Total 143 users including 0 member, 143 guests, 0 bot online