Andries Bekker

Jaque Fourie

New Kobe Steelers’ coach Allister Coetzee has said that Springbok centre Jaque Fourie is available and keen to play for South Africa at the World Cup.

Fourie had previously announced his retirement from international rugby in November 2014 which came as a surprise to Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

Coetzee however, in his final Stormers press conference, said that Kobe Steelers’ centre Fourie is keen to play at the World Cup but Springbok lock Andries Bekker is not available.

According to Coetzee the Japanese club have made it clear to SARU that Bekker will not be an option for the Boks.

“As far as I know Andries won’t be available for Springbok selection for this year’s World Cup.

“I can tell you now that it is a decision that the club has made and has been communicated to the powers that be in South African rugby,” he said.

Although Fourie has retired from Test rugby, Coetzee said that he is keen to feature at his fourth World Cup, and has the blessing of the club should he be picked.

“The club have decided that Jaque Fourie will be available should they require his services, and he does want to,” he said.

With Jean de Villiers still returning from injury and Frans Steyn unavailable for selection Meyer is lacking experience in the midfield. Fourie’s inclusion would definitely be a boost.

The outgoing Stormers coach said he would like to see a Bok centre combination of De Allende at 12 and Jean de Villiers at 13, and added that captain De Villiers would be well-suited for the outside centre berth given his defensive capabilities.

“Damian has been outstanding, and Damian with the experience and head next to him of Jean de Villiers will be even better.

“Jean understand 12 and 13, and he is one of the better defending centres as a 13, he is almost as good as Jaque Fourie.

“He is a clever defender, sometimes you have got to distinguish between a clever defender and a great tackler. Some people are brutal in tackling and others read and are good defenders.

“If you ask me about playing Damian at inside centre and Jean at outside centre I won’t have a problem with that,” he said.

He does not believe that De Villiers will have a problem playing at outside centre, despite the fact that he will be further from the action as captain.

“If it is for the best of the team obviously he will move to outside centre, Jean will never, not in my experience of him, dictate where he wants to play,” said Coetzee.

Coetzee believes the Springboks are well-covered in the midfield for the World Cup, with the likes of De Allende and Jan Serfontein strong options at inside centre, alongside the experience of De Villiers and Fourie.

“That is not a bad thing for South African rugby and our World Cup aspirations, because you have got Jan who is also a good 12, you have got Jaque Fourie who is now available, we should be fine in that department,” he added.

rugby365

33 Responses to Springboks: Jaque Fourie in the mix again, Andries Bekker not

I think it would be wrong to pick Jaque Fourie… and to leave Mapoe out.

Jaque made his bed, went to Japan, retired from International Rugby and now he wants back in?

Norrefok!

I don’t think he did retire from international rugby; remember either Bakkies or Matfield were told they had to announce their intentions to return six months in advance?

With regards to his actual selection, HM must decide who his best players are without any other stories.

2 @ BrumbiesBoy:
    The article says he announced his International Retirement in November 2014… that is very specific… and I recall the same.

Oh well, then it’s sorted…no RWC, Mr Fourie.

SA’s loss though.

Sad

4 @ BrumbiesBoy:
    Just for completeness sakes… I see Rugby-Talk.com even carried an article about Jaque Fourie’s international retirement on 27 November 2014… here’s the link:

http://www.rugby-talk.com/2014/11/jaque-fourie-also-declares-that-hes-finished-with-bok-duty/

yesterday men …

Bekker is a bigger loss than Fourie.

We have very poor options at 5.

And Bekker could double up as a WING THREE QUARTER

ryecatcher wrote:

And Bekker could double up as a WING THREE QUARTER

Haha exactly! 2 problems solved with one selection!

You all good mate?

6 @ Angostura:
    Yeah, yesterdays men, both of them, I agree!

On a serious note, Shield and Vaseline have been announced as Official Health Care Sponsors of the Springboks for the Rugby World Cup!

PS! This is no joke, I am being serious!

So, the Bokke will wear Shield onto the Field and use Vaseline to soothe the pain if they get roggered???

Stormersboy wrote:

Bekker is a bigger loss

Aqualung

Angostura wrote:

Stormersboy wrote:
    Bekker is a bigger loss
    Aqualung

Maybe but he’s better than anything else we have at the moment.

They should count their blessings:
    Could’ve been Brooklax, KY Jelly & Durex 🙂

“Sitting on a park bench … “

I think it is a mistake to select overseas based players.
    They (The Players), have a choice:
    – The Green and Gold of SA. or,
    – The Green Back Dollar, Yen, Euro, Pound or whatever.

What do Overseas Based Players contribute to SA Rugby??????

Well I’ll tell you………………………………………Heartache and further dilution of the Talent Pool.

It’s the same in OZ and NZ.

And when the Up and Comers, realise that they can have their Euro’s/Yens/Pounds and their Bokke Jersey too,

why wouldn’t they choose wealth and honour.

At the end of the day…………………………………………. we will all be just feeders to the Toulon’s ,Agen’s, Wasps, etc of this world.

SELECT THOSE PLAYERS GIVING IT “ALL” FOR SA.

If YOU Don’t…………………………………………………..You’re f@cKed.

In the short term it may well be orgasmic.
    Bit in the long term…………………………..It will be just a bit of stress relief.

The Green and Gold for those who ply their talents among you.

14 @ Angostura:
    I am a Shield man myself… Shield Axe… hehehehe

At least the Rogering’s will not be so painful.
    (so I am told).

@ Angostura:
    Eyeing little girls with bad intent……

16 @ cane:
    Who are the All Blacks Health Care Sponsors for the World Cup?

Tui Beer and Marie Claire Makeup range… to hide the wife-beating marks?

Just a joke, take me with a pinch of salt today!

cane wrote:

I think it is a mistake to select overseas based players.
    They (The Players), have a choice:
    – The Green and Gold of SA. or,
    – The Green Back Dollar, Yen, Euro, Pound or whatever.
    What do Overseas Based Players contribute to SA Rugby??????
    Well I’ll tell you………………………………………Heartache and further dilution of the Talent Pool.
    It’s the same in OZ and NZ.
    And when the Up and Comers, realise that they can have their Euro’s/Yens/Pounds and their Bokke Jersey too,
    why wouldn’t they choose wealth and honour.
    At the end of the day…………………………………………. we will all be just feeders to the Toulon’s ,Agen’s, Wasps, etc of this world.
    SELECT THOSE PLAYERS GIVING IT “ALL” FOR SA.
    If YOU Don’t…………………………………………………..You’re f@cKed.
    In the short term it may well be orgasmic.
    Bit in the long term…………………………..It will be just a bit of stress relief.
    The Green and Gold for those who ply their talents among you.

Couldn’t agree more

19 @ Stormersboy:
    I wonder if Andries Langbek has tried a few Parkiepiel stunts on the Japanese girls, whilst there??

@ Angostura:
    eyeing little girls with bad intent.

Snot is running down his nose —

Fortunately the AB’s have had better offers than the one put forward by Viagra.

“Viagra, we stand by the The All Backs”.

Will do some more news articles, including the Semi-Finals team sheets, when I get back from the shops…

Need to go fetch 6 pairs of Pants I gave in at the Taylors, for hem-adjustments, and a few minor fixes, like holes in pockets inside and shit like that… and then I need to go to a needlework shop of all places, to go buy some bloody yarn or something to uniquely mark my bloody socks in a special way. We are 3 adult males in this house, and the other 2 young farkers keep nicking my freegin socks… so I bought 12 new pairs of socks the other day… and I want to mark them as MINE!

Will buy them each a colour of yarn too, pink for Os and lime green for Bulle (2 lekker names for youngsters, hey!).. and of course my special colour will be Blue Bulls blue…

cane wrote:

At least the Rogering’s will not be so painful.
    (so I am told).

Don’t be coy, like you wouldn’t know…. 😛

Stormersboy wrote:

@ Angostura:
    Eyeing little girls with bad intent……

On park swings?

cane wrote:

@ Angostura:
    eyeing little girls with bad intent.

After all this time in Japan with the willing Geishas he’s probably got it out of his system

Being 2m tall he also knows the Japanese by now for “No eet’s not too beeg”

26 @ grootblousmile:

Smaak my jy benodig ‘n naaimasjien:

Attachment:

Total 143 users including 0 member, 143 guests, 0 bot online