SANZAR under the magnifying glassSANZAR has tactfully sidestepped the latest attack on their integrity, telling South African Rugby Union President Oregan Hoskins to “follow the proper channels” if he has grievances.

Hoskins, in a report published in a weekend newspaper, launched a scathing attack on SANZAR, the organisation that controls Southern Hemisphere competitions – Super Rugby and the Rugby championship.

The SARU boss took aim at what he regards as “the inconsistency of recent rulings at disciplinary tribunals” and also targeted SANZAR Chief Executive Greg Peters.

However, the SANZAR boss remained mum on the matter.

Instead a spokesperson said Hoskins is welcome to contact them to raise his concerns.

“Hoskins is aware of the correct channels to air his concerns,” a SANZAR spokesperson said.

“He is certainly welcome to use them should he wish to receive clarification on these matters.”

According to the prior report Hoskins was incensed by what he believed to be the unfair handling of cases involving South African players compared with their New Zealand and Australian counterparts.

He referred to the recent harsh bans handed to Bismarck du Plessis (4 weeks), Frans Steyn (5 weeks) and Jean Deysel (7 weeks)  while similar offences by Kiwi and Aussie players received more lenient treatment.

Hoskins said he “had enough” and was at his “wits end”.

Hoskins said he had called a meeting with key figures in judicial and disciplinary structures, where he intended to make his dissatisfaction known.

These figures included Justice Lex Mpati, head of both SARU and SANZAR judicial committees, head of referees André Watson and citing commissioner Freek Burger.

“I’m so incensed, absolutely frustrated, and the public is outraged,” Hoskins said.

“I was a judicial officer; I was a citing commissioner, I know the drill.

“I studied the laws; wrote the exams; it’s not like I’m standing in judgement as a layman,” added an angry Hoskins.

rugby365

33 Responses to Super Rugby: SANZAR tactfully sidesteps Hoskins attack

One would have expected Hoskins to have taken up the correct route first, by following the correct grievance procedures… but he clearly has not, in fact he decided to rinse his mouth out to the Press first.

I am astounded by the inability of this man and SARU to do what is right and proper!

I’m not saying Hoskins does not have the right to be unhappy about the inconsistency of results in Citings and Diciplinary Hearing outcomes, what I am saying is this should have been addressed years ago already and again now through the proper channels.

If addressed and no joy or co-operation is received from SANZAR, sure… lay it open in the Press and force the even metering out of justice… but going directly to the Press first… eish!

It reeks of incompetancy… it stenches up SARU and Hoskins’ abilities…

“Hoskins is aware of the correct channels to air his concerns,” a SANZAR spokesperson said. He is certainly welcome to use them should he wish to receive clarification on these matters.”

That is perhaps what the learned Hoskins should have done in the first place instead of his near hysterical outburst.

Sorry, i did not see your post.

2 & 3 @ robzim:
    Seems you and me are on exactly the same page on this issue, Zimmerframe!

The Stormers, Bulls and Cheetahs showed this weekend that by playing robust rugby, a team can tackle the Australian teams into submission.

All three those sides won by having to make more than double the amount of tackles….yet not one player received a card.

Maybe Hoskins should first have taken the route of addressing the culprits, who are all senior players, and also have had a word with the CEO or coaches of the Sharks. They are the ones who, IMO, should be castigated for THEIR on field behavior, not blaming SANZAR for perceived bias.

By laying the blame at the feet of SANZAR, all Hoskins is doing is to further give those players reason to keep acting like the victims.

They got what they deserved, and if the SA teams feel that the opposition is getting away with things, have them cited after the match, or lay a complaint straight after the final whistle.

Agree,

We all get swept up in the victim complex, but it appears with all the wailing nothing gets done when we (SARU) have grievances or feel hard done by, except for media propaganda, I appreciate Hoskins going public, but if he does not follow policies and procedures in a typical third world mentality then it is just turning out to be another embarrassment for SARU and all of us.

Arghhhh, wonderful stuff… loadshedding again!

I’m going to go sit in the sun on my wooden deck, make a number of phone calls, write a number of thingies down – by pen… hehehe… and then just sit and chill!

Power could be out till 15:30… or whenever, considering it is Schedule 2 Loadshedding… eish!

No wonder I was dreaming in the night that I had found and developed an alternative clean & quiet… and inexpensive Power Source and was distributing it around South Africa and the world and making heavy money from it… hahaha

By the way, in my dream I gave it away to Rugby-Talkers free of charge….

Feels like we are rapidly moving backwards towards the stone age, when elctricity is replaced by candles, parraffine lanterns, cooking with gas, no TV…

In my dream I had my Marketing Plan and roll-out planned down to a tee…

Essential Services like Hospitals, Police Stations, Schools (Government funded), Charity Organisations were all in line for free Power.

Some deserving causes would receive their power almost for free…

There were models set up for both 3-phase and normal power needs and the base taffiff was 20% of what Municipal Rates and / or Eskom rates would have been… hell I even had a Payment plan in mind for those who could not afford to buy the initial install outright…

The fact is, Hoskins’ outburst aside, we have had plenty of reasons over the years to feel aggrieved, with this being the latest, and I think we all agree with part of what he says.

The problem is, the other SANZAR Parties have shown themselves to be duplicitous charlatans on many occasions in the past and we have just let them off the hook without any consequence.

I think that Hoskins should have followed the correct route first but I don’t have too much problem with this approach either. The more this sort of stuff is dealt with in the public domain rather than in the “correct channels” (read: swept under the rug) the more the Rugby viewing (and paying) public will retain confidence in our structures.

I know of quite a few Rugby fans (some in my family) who are watching the sport less and less because in their view too much is manipulated behind the scenes.

Refereeing errors have become worse not better, games are no longer just being influenced by reffing decisions but basically decided in some cases, this year I can think of 3 or 4 games which were decided by the ref, and in the wrong team’s favour.

It’s Bullshit and it has to stop.

Stuff the channels, it’s gotten us nowhere in the past.

It’s been almost an hour without power… and my Notebook Battery is still OK’ish… so maybe I should just gargle along a bit longer…

As usual Stormersboy calls it.

WTF, I’m going to go sit on the deck… tjorts…

gunther wrote:

As usual Stormersboy calls it.

Thangewverymuch.

Power back on… will it last….

That was bloody quick, I am surprized…

Now just stay on, FFS!

As kakpraat ‘n kolletjie was, het ek voortaan bekend gestaan as Spotty… miskien GrootBlouSpotty…

Lets

Teach

Those

19 @ gunther:
    Bastids a lesson??

Japies

A farking

Lesson

gunther wrote:

Lesson

Yip. Can you imagine the private emails going back and forth between them at the moment?

@ gunther:
    We’re out to get you dude… take you down…downtown 😆
    Remember…..Brycie took years of planning….his appointment to that quaterfinal was no coincidence…

Te Rangatira wrote:

@ gunther:
    We’re out to get you dude… take you down…downtown
    Remember…..Brycie took years of planning….his appointment to that quaterfinal was no coincidence…

You must stop this kidding.
    Gunther really believes it.
    You are driving him over the edge.

The issue is not the red cards or citings – all those Sharks players deserved to be disciplined.
    As Stormersboy rightly says, it is the duplicitous nature of the hearings
    Almost like a revenge tactic.
    And you bunch of softcocks just accept it.
    Some even appear to welcome it.
    Much like Stormersboy’s relatives, I am losing interest in the game.
    Too much rugby, too many kak decisions by officials (that TmO in the Bulls/Sharks game was a good example) and, on top of this, the cock-eyed judicial process.
    saNZAr is how the organisation should be spelt.

The evidence is there for all to see.

It’s only softcock wannabe Aussie apologists like you who choose to ignore it.

@ gunther:

Do you remember how you had a full go at me when I criticized the Aussie ref for the clear bad calls he made against the Stormers when they played against the Canes? In typical Gunther-style you laughed my complaints off ( despite the evidence) and said I must stop whinging and dry my legs etc….

But if the shoe is on the other foot and you think any of YOUR favourite teams or players are drawing the short end of the stick then it is suddenly acceptable to whinge like a little schoolboy.. ..… as per your one word per line posts 17-23 above.

You are such a hypocrite 🙂

The Sharks are hardly my favourite team.

Secondly a poor ref call against your team is hardly the same thing as what we are discussing here which has been going on for years.

So let’s not throw big words around that you are clearly to thick to understand.

Total 19 users including 0 member, 19 guests, 0 bot online