Emirates LionsCell C SharksLions (11) 23 / 21 (14) Sharks (Final Score)

The Emirates Lions and Cell C Sharks did battle in Super Rugby at

Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg at 17:05 SA Time (15:05 GMT).

• Penalties – Elton Jantjies (2)
  • Tries – Howard Mnisi (1), Faf de Klerk (1), Harold Vorster (1)
  • Conversions – Elton Jantjies (1)

• Penalties – 0
  • Tries – Ronaldo Bothma (1), Lwaxi Mvovo (1), Thomas du Toit (1)
  • Conversions – Fred Zeilinga (3)

Emirates Lions
Cell C Sharks
11 April at 17:05 SA Time
  • Team: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Mark Richards, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (Captain), 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Jacques van Rooyen
  • Replacements: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 Robert Kruger, 20 Derick Minnie, 21 Lohan Jacobs, 22 Marnitz Boshoff, 23 Howard Mnisi
  • Team: 15 Odwa Ndungane, 14 S’bura Sithole, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Renaldo Bothma, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Marco Wentzel (Captain), 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Dale Chadwick
  • Replacements: 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Matt Stevens, 19 Etienne Oosthuizen, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Conrad Hoffmann, 22 Lionel Cronje, 23 Jack Wilson

Referee: Stuart Berry (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Jaco van Heerden (South Africa), Rodney Boneparte (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)

201 Responses to Super Rugby: Emirates Lions vs Cell C Sharks – Live Game Article

1 2 3 7

Gooooooooooo Lions!!

Moer them sommer stukkend!

Scrumdown will be your captain for this one, enjoy!

This for me was going to be the match of the weekend (until the Stormers did the business!), go Lions, certainly the form team of the SA conference at the moment

Also rooting for the Lions tonight….8 weeks without rest, I hope they have one last hoorah in them before they get a well deserved week off.
    Sharks will be almost a “rag tag” team, but they will be more than fired up to appease their supporters.
    One thing that really bothers me is that when the Lions are the underdogs they really do well, they enjoy that “backs to the wall” challenge….now the roles are reversed and I hope the favorite tags don’t cause them to lose focus

It’s raining heavily here at the East of Johannesburg, so I would think Emirates Airline Park could be quite wet as well, as could Loftus Versfeld be by the time the Bulls play the Reds.

Rain is a hell of a leveler….

So my Bulls by 28 might be a tad high?

Will change the margin later if it still looks wet…..think I will keep the Lions by 13 though…one converted try and two penalties more sounds reasonable, especially after the Guppies get their customary red card 😉

OK, let me go get dressed for the rugby and be on my bicycle.

Gooooooooo Lions!

Talk again to you guys from Loftus….

28? Your assuming the bulls will score a try and grt 7 penalty goals to nill? 😆

Eish our u19 cricket team lost to bangladesh by 140 runs in a youth odi

28? Your assuming the bulls will score a try and grt 7 penalty goals to nill?

I lowered it slightly due to the impending weather….I actually believe you will win and get a 4 try bonus point….Reds are really shit and if you play with the same freedom as you did against the Crusaders it will be a rout…..think I will change it back to 28 again, I have full confidence in the Bulls (even if Hollywood is playing instead of Pollard)

The reds will really have to give basson and hougie tries on a platter.

The Brumbies put 47 and 29 on them….the Aussie sides are worse than us….the wins they get is usually against other shit Aussie teams.
    Reds are similar to the Sharks, best players either injured or suspended, but don’t have the depth that the Sharks have.

Spies to get a double 😆 watch net

It wasn’t my fault…I didn’t even know they were playing and I promise I didn’t back the Bangladeshies by 140 runs….cross my heart 😆

The reds are shit, except fkr the brumbies hicups the last two weeks they have by far been the form aussie team. The bulls should win but i expect a dour game of kicking and knocking.

You dont have to convince me the reds are crap but the bulls with the same general never looked like they will threaten the lions 22 line all game… So 4 tries? Sheesh…

nortie wrote:

It wasn’t my fault…I didn’t even know they were playing and I promise I didn’t back the Bangladeshies by 140 runs….cross my heart

Ok

15 @ MacroBull:
    Minimum of 4 tries 😉

Naas, die haas, is n regte ou suurgat daar in die atelje.

18 @ dwarslat:
    Naas must fall!

I see the EFF are making droog there by Oom Paul’s statue, somebody has surrounded it with barbed wire to prevent further vandalism.
    Woodstock

LEEUWENS!!!! Shout

Eish. The nerves!

Is there anyone else left in the Sharks good enough to get another red card? If not, there’s a good chance they could take this one

sharks out.

Lions out.

Just For Kicks wrote:

Is there anyone else left in the Sharks good enough to get another red card? If not, there’s a good chance they could take this one

22 @ Just For Kicks:Stuart Berry?

Game on.

Sharks scrum.

Lions running from the off.

So, the Lions win the kick off….wonder if they used the right ball?

Good hands by the Sharks

1 2 3 7

Total 37 users including 0 member, 37 guests, 0 bot online