Heyneke Meyer

He has been keeping a low public profile during the 1st half of Super Rugby’s ordinary season … and it is probably just as well.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer must be scratching his head worriedly already over how to construct his national side for the 1st assignment of the 2015 Test season, against Australia in Brisbane on 18 July as part of a condensed Rugby Championship.

Presently several Boks are either injured, suspended or undergoing rest periods (the sudden pulling of Duane Vermeulen from the Stormers’ overseas tour after only 1 match has tongues wagging despite official statements that it was “always planned”), whilst other staple characters have suffered form dips in line with the general struggles of their sides in the local conference and overall.

It is difficult to envisage any SA team actually winning Super Rugby at this point – not the ideal state of affairs in a World Cup year, even if it is not always proved to be relevant — just as it is hazardous to predict which franchise will eventually top the ho-hum domestic pile.

It is true that a few additional players like overseas-based Bryan Habana, Fourie du Preez and Francois Louw and a rehabilitating Pieter-Steph du Toit should brighten the Bok equation, fitness permitting, nearer the Test roster itself, and 1 or 2 outsiders like Stormers tighthead strongman Vincent Koch and some surprise-package Lions personnel have stuck up their hands.

Yet a look at the last Springbok line-up for a Test – the unpalatable 12 / 6 loss to Wales in Cardiff on 29 November9 last year – gives you an idea of Meyer’s quandary; things look considerably more unsettled than he would like.

Here, player by player, is that starting 15 from the Millennium Stadium, with a comment on current statuses:

15. Willie le Roux:

Clearly carrying an ankle injury for the Cheetahs, he’s not looking especially comfortable or contended. Still dangerously unpredictable, but also gaffe-prone.

14. Cornal Hendricks:

Some electric moments on attack, but all too infrequently, in line with Cheetahs’ 3-game losing streak abroad.

13. Jan Serfontein:

Has looked largely blunt as attacking source this season, and recent hip niggle has opened Bulls’ No 12 jersey to revelation Burger Odendaal.

12. Jean de Villiers (Captain):

Veteran skipper continues his gutsy race against time to be fit for RWC, but absolutely no guarantees yet. Organisation and awareness missed in Stormers’ midfield.

11. Lwazi Mvovo:

Few chances to get on front foot, as Sharks have spent alarming amounts of time in recent weeks without desired doses of possession or territory.

10. Patrick Lambie:

In fine personal form until the 10 / 52 Crusaders home shocker, when his own mojo went AWOL. Now gone anyway for 6 weeks with a neck injury.

9. Cobus Reinach:

One of desperately few Sharks players of late to be consistently wearing the colours with pride and energy – Bok credentials have lifted.

8. Duane Vermeulen:

Now you see him, now you don’t. 1 Overseas tour game for the Stormers captain, then a little weirdly sent home for more rest. Ordinary 1st half against log-leading Hurricanes, then a vigorous 2nd half, albeit after the horse had pretty much bolted.

7. Teboho ‘Oupa’ Mohoje:

So-so showings at flank for the Cheetahs, then he tore a groin muscle in Christchurch and was ruled out for some 3 months.

6. Marcell Coetzee:

Busy, rather than outright barnstorming, up to his mandatory rest weekend against Western Force. Then unusually listless in the CruSaders fiasco at Kings Park on the weekend.

5. Victor Matfield:

Subject of some cruel early-season observations from various critics, whereas a lot of others feels that he’s been playing well. Now the 37-year-old Bulls No 5 kingpin is sidelined for a few weeks to clean up some knee cartilage.

4. Eben Etzebeth:

He’s had a frustratingly stop-start campaign thus far, with vulnerability to injury a concern. He spent too much time pulling threatening faces in 1st half at the Cake Tin last weekend but came properly alive after the break. Still not quite back to the exciting force of 2 / 3 years back.

3. Coenie Oosthuizen:

Another of few Springboks right now to be shifting encouragingly northward and he seems to be learning the art of tighthead scrummaging after his more “permanent” shift to No 3.

2. Bismarck du Plessis:

He is far off his heyday! He didn’t deliver to his known lofty standards in the early Sharks matches, then the captain got that costly 4-week ban for a foot to the face of a Chiefs player.

1. Tendai Mtawarira

A couple of fire-and-brimstone showings at scrum-time and in ball-carrying, then as anonymous as any team-mate in the Crusaders horror show.

Of the designated replacements when the Springboks played in Cardiff, the “pluses” include Adriaan Strauss, coming into his own as a Bulls pack figurehead, versatile Trevor Nyakane, gradually getting to grips with the tighthead role at Loftus, Francois Hougaard (some sprightly displays on the Bulls right wing) and the increasing maturity of Handré Pollard and Damian de Allende.

On the more negative side, Julian Redelinghuys is struggling to get 1st-choice status at the Lions, Nizaam Carr has gone notably backwards in 2015 thus far, and Lood de Jager is still rehabbing from an elbow injury.

Sport24

31 Responses to Springboks: Heyneke Meyer must be a worried man

There is still oodles of time for the injured players to come back and for all Springboks to reach peak condition, so I would not be too worried, despite the fact that the SA sides are not exactly setting the world alight in Super Rugby in 2015.

I just wish Bryan Habana, Fourie du Preez & Francois Louw could have spent more time in South Africa prior to the first Tests of the year, to integrate them better and completely.

At this early stage it looks like this might well be the starting Springboks:

15. Willie le Roux
    14. Cornal Hendricks
    13. Jan Serfontein
    12. Damian de Allende
    11. Bryan Habana
    10. Handré Pollard
    9. Cobus Reinach
    8. Duane Vermeulen
    7. Schalk Burger
    6. Marcell Coetzee / Flo Louw
    5. Victor Matfield (Captain)
    4. Eben Etzebeth
    3. Jannie du Plessis / Marcel van der Merwe
    2. Adriaan Strauss
    1. Tendai ‘Beast’ Mtawarira / Trevor Nyakane

I would however not necessarily play that combination… I would make a number of changes.

I would also make some space for Vincent Koch (tighthead), Steven Kitshoff (loosehead), Warren Whiteley and Kobus van Wyk (right wing), somehow in the wider Springbok squad.

I would also definately not waste my time looking at Ruan Pienaar, Frans Steyn, JP Pietersen, Morné Steyn, Pierre Spies, Arno Botha, Raymond Rhule, JJ Engelbrecht & Pieter-Steph du Toit…. not in 2015 anyway.

You are probably very close to the truth, although looking at this team it just doesn’t scream “World Cup Winners” to me.

I assume that there is a good reason that we don’t have FDP as the starting 9? If Cobus Reinach is our best starting 9 than we are truly in trouble if you ask me…

I would have FDP with Jano Vermaak as backup.

I’d also have Koch before Marcel in at tighthead, I think he has shown that he is a cut above the rest this season.

Your right about Reinach, and there is no other clear candidates, I hope Vermaak gets signed at game time. Would be quite a threat behind the Stormers pack.

2 @ Stormersboy:
    Well, I would have started farming Doc Jannie out by now if I was Heyneke Meyer… in Ruan Dreyer, Vincent Koch and Marcel van der Merwe there is no shortage in Springbok quality tighthead props anymore.

I am undecided about scrummies, as we have not seen Fourie du Preez play in a year now… that’s why I would have wanted him to play SOME Super Rugby in 2015… but that’s not to be.

Hi guys. I agree about Vincent Koch! What a revelation. However, history has shown that Bok selectors are very hesitant to choose such “young” (ie inexperienced players) for a Bok squad so soon.

I think there is a lesson to be learnt from certain other countries.

I certainly hope he gets a look in.

Approve

5 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    Hello GB&I… long time no blog from you!!

Hey GBS. Often check in, but don’t always have much to say. And as the saying goes “Better to be quiet and be thought an idiot, than open your mouth and confirm it”.

My private business looks to be picking up a bit, so that cutting into my drinking time!

Wink

7 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    TRUE that!

Were’nt you looking at developing a website relatively recently… fark my mind is like a sieve, some info keeps falling through the cracks lately… hehehe

I remember something about saying I would not mind giving some good advice, to help you out…

LOL! When I talked about starting things you asked if there were any IT related things I needed, I should ask you. So far it’s all good. Only needed email, which I got sorted. I haven’t forgotten about you, and if I need anything in the future, uncle GBS will be my first stop!

9 @ GoBokkeAndIreland:
    You’re welcome to ask, buddie… no problem

1 @ grootblousmile:
    13. Mapoe
    10. Lambie
    7. Whiteley
    3. Koch

That’s the changes I would make to your team.

Mapoe, no doubt, has been the best outside centre in the country this years. Janneman’s flaws on defence at outside centre had been masked with JdV taking up that position on defence. De Allende was not that flash on defence at outside centre either when he played there for the Boks. Rather get in a specialist.

Lambie can’t be judged on Saturday’s performance alone. We don’t know when he picked up that injury and what effect it had on his performance, plus his whole team played poorly. His form throughout the season had been very good and he is the incumbent.

I would prefer Whiteley and Vermeulen to swop positions but I’m not sure that would happen. Schalla should be used as a super sub to bring some energy to the forwards late in the game like last year.

Koch withstood anything that came his way this season. Stormers is the only SA team with a dominant scrum and much of that can be accredited to the impact of Koch since coming down to the Cape.

Ackerman not scared to make changes to keep his players fresh. He learnt well from the master, John Mitchell.

Johannesburg – Lions coach Johan Ackermann has announced his team to face the Sharks in a Super Rugby clash at Emirates Airline Park on Saturday.

Ackermann has made four changes to his starting line-up from the team that beat the Bulls 22-18 at home last weekend.

Up front, Julian Redelinghuys will start at tighthead prop, with Ruan Dreyer moving to the bench.

Jaco Kriel also returns to the starting line-up at flank, with Derick Minnie moving down to the bench.

Additionally, Ackermann has made two changes to the backline, with Faf de Klerk starting at scrumhalf in place of Ross Cronje, while Mark Richards will make his Super Rugby debut at left wing in place of Anthony Volmink.

Reserve scrumhalf Lohan Jacobs will also celebrate his Super Rugby debut should he come off the bench.

Kick-off for Saturday’s clash is scheduled for 17:05.

15. Andries Coetzee, 14. Ruan Combrinck, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Mark Richards, 10. Elton Jantjies, 9. Faf de Klerk, 8. Warren Whiteley (captain), 7. Warwick Tecklenburg, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Andries Ferreira, 3. Julian Redelinghuys, 2. Robbie Coetzee, 1. Jacques van Rooyen

@ Nama:
    the problem is that basically all of our centers have defensive frailties.

I’m not sure that “frailties” is the right word here. All of our centres will “miss” a tackle/tackles in a match at some stage, is probably a more apt statement.

In his rightful position (inside centre), Janneman will most probably make more tackles than he’ll miss. Same goes for De Allende. At outside centre both of them seemed unsure/lost on defence. Why do you think JdV was charged with the responsibility to do the defending on the outside centre channel with Janneman wearing the no. 13 jersey?

You are a stats man. What is Mapoe’s tackle stats at this stage of SR? Tackles made/missed.

@ Nama:
    Whatever way you look at it and no matter how hard you like to rant about Janneman, but that was pisspoor from de Allende in his “preferred” position nogal.

I really dont understand why you are using the “he was hiding behind jdv in defense” argument. It means very little to me, because I believe that we have fallen behind the Kiwis in that department for years, and for the better part, they combined well together regardless of who was wearing what and who was standing where.

I don’t have to look at stats on Mapoe, in my opinion he is by far the form 13 in SA at this stage, I even went on record with this a few weeks ago. So I agree on him… but Janneman there would not be a monstrous train smash you wish to believe.

@ Nama:
    Anyway the point is, whichever we we pick the Springbok team, we are definitely not goign to rely on whichever centers we pick to win the game, for now the best option would be De Allende/Serfontein and Serfontein/Mapoe.

If Serfontein plays 13 for the Boks though I would be much more comfortable if the Bulls went with the Odendaal/Serfontein combo from here.

Till then my current first choice would be De Allende/Mapoe

Yes, that was poor from De Allende. But like I’ve said, most/all players will probably miss a tackle/tackles at some stage in the match. Odendaal’s miss tackle on Akkers on Saturday was extremely costly for the Bulls. I thought he was also hailed as a potential future great, especially from some Bulls quarters.

On Janneman ahead of Mapoe, no problem then. Even though you admit that Mapoe is the better choice. That’s your preference. I AM allowed to view my preference without it being seen as some kind of “rant”, am I not?

Well, we know that we will rely highly on our defence to win us games as our offence are not on par with that of the AB. Therefor we need to be solid in defence at the back. That’s where the right centre pairing becomes crucial. If we have a turnstile at centre it will be koebaai meraai.

OK, it’s Wroensdag. Think I’ll have me a lekker time with some mates and sommer watch the opening match of the IPL.

See you laters.

@ Nama:
    I am sorry if you think I meant that your opinion is wrong 😉 Rant might not be the right word, but I don’t know the word for someone writing long posts as often as they can in an attempt to discredit someone?

I think I missed Odendaals missed tackle in my disbelieve at what was happening 😆 so no comment, but he still has a lot of time to prove himself luckily, was a relieving sight to finally see a SA 12 not running straight into the opposition against the Saders and at least looking for space (even if he played vs Tom Taylor)… but outside JLP he has no chance of contributing anything, JLP had a shocker.

enjoy the cricket

11, 14, 17, 18 & 19 @ Nama:
    I think you have a bit of an obsession with… or should I say AGAINST Jan Serfontein.

It comes accross almost EVERY time you comment, does not matter what day of the week / year.

You confuse the team I dotted down in Comment No 1 as my team… whereas I say clearly that is what I believe is in the running at present to be picked by Heyneke Meyer AND not my choice.

I do not think Heyneke Meyer will pick Lionel Mapoe (bar injury keeping both Jan Serfontein and Damian de Allende out) and neither do I think he is the best No 13 out there, not at all.

I think Heyneke will largely keep to the players who did duty for him in 2014… bar maybe someone like Vincent Koch as a tighthead option and maybe even Scarra Ntubeni as 3rd hooker for the World Cup Springbok squad.

In addition I think Heyneke will pick Ruan Pienaar and JP Pietersen… not that I would even have considered either player.

If Heyneke follows the rationale of what I have just described he would do… and what he’s known for, then it would serve the Bulls and Springboks best if Frans Ludeke started playing a combination of Burger Odendaal at No 12 and Jan Serfontein at No 13 at the Bulls – as the likelyhood of Jan Serfontein donning the No 13 jersey for the Springboks at the Rugby World Cup is rather large in my opinion.

What I’m saying and suggesting is to get Jan Serfontein properly into the No 13 groove, sharpen up his skills and defences there NOW, to serve us all better LATER when he will indeed be chosen to play there for the Bokke.

If Jean de Villiers makes it back from injury and into the Rugby World Cup, you can bet your bottom dollar that he’ll be played donning the No 12 jersey… so it’s not about who between Jan Serfontein or Damian de Allende is the best No 12, it’s about who will play at No 13.

South Africa’s pickings at Outside Centre is rather bloody slim at present – JJ Engelbrecht is abhorrently bad, the Sharks have no answers at No 13, Johann Sadie at the Cheetahs is just plain ordinary, at the Stormers Juan de Jongh has had a serious slump in form…. and Mapoe does not manage to start every game for the Lions at No 13.

Now compare the No 13’s of the New Zealand and Aussie sides to the mottley crew I have just mentioned, and it appears we are up the river even further than just described.

agreed on most of what you posted. meyer will go with tried and tested, and look for some of the overseas players like ruan to do duty as a result of their form and familiarity with playing conditions

I don’t know about the long post thingy. While the post may have been longish, only about 20% of it was about the centre selection and nowhere did I try to discredit Janneman. I just try to give a reason why I would select Mapoe ahead of him at this stage. If pointing out a perceived weakness of a player is seen as “discrediting” a player, then so be it.

I did say at the beginning of my post that the changes that I propose is MY preferred players in the respective positions. I also then tried to indicate the reasons WHY I would prefer those players. Nothing more, nothing less.

You’re absolutely right. I’m not on the Jan Serfontein hallelujah train…YET. It does not mean that I have an obsession AGAINST him. Just that I believe, at this stage of his career, there are other, better players than him at 13. The fact that Meyer punched him in at 13 already does not mean that I have to agree with it.

And yes, I also know that Meyer will select most of the players that he has been using the last two years, whether they are on form or not or whether there are other players better than his uitverkorenes. Again, it does not mean that I have to agree with it.

Your proposition that Ludeke should select Jan at 13, so that he can learn the nuances of playing at 13, is a good one and I will absolutely agree with that. However, it has not happened so far this season if I’m not mistaken.

@ Nama:
    The thing is that its perfectly fine if you prefer Mapoe ahead of him at this stage, but you have been on the anti-serfontein crusade for about two years now, Pollard though has left the crosshairs a bit?… but its just the pure obsessiveness of it… it is all good and well not to jump on the bandwagon, but its another thing to keep throwing the bandwagon with stones… for two years

24 @ MacroBull:
    Why?

Are you suggesting that a blogger must make a comment about or his feelings towards a player/team/coach only once…and then not mention his view on it again?

For instance…SP is crap….so every game he plays and make flops, don’t mention it again because it has already previously been said.

Or Steyn tackles illegally, and every card he further receives shouldn’t be mentioned because it has been mentioned before?

Or Kolbe gets run over by a big Kiwi wing….don’t mention or make fun of it because it’s already been mentioned?

Or the Sharks are not part of SA teams…so every week don’t mention it bacause it’s been said before?

I can go on and on with more examples…. Every day feelings and opinion are repeated, after every game opinions are repeated, why are only selective opinions persona non grata?

The Stormers supporters don’t complain every time reference is made to being Brokebacks and the team being a bunch of moffies….we read it over and over…..but as soon as a Bulls player is questioned then according to some it gets tedious and repetitive?

Strangely enough, I also indicated that I would select Lambie ahead of Pollard. I guess you guys did not notice that.

“its another thing to keep throwing the bandwagon with stones… for two years”

Maybe it’s because he has not performed up to international standard at 13… for two years. At least from where I’m sitting.

Can I deduce from your comment that you will not call a certain Stormer centre “Kanniepass” anymore?

Fellas… I am done for the night… eyes are shot to ribbons from doing a heck of a lot of detailed coding on a webdesign I’m busy with…

Farkit I am enjoying the way I design and impliment these days…

1. First I register the Domain, Create their Webspace Account and do the DNS Pointing (call it Initializing Phase).

2. Then I get all their Logos & Material (Call it Materials Phase).

3. Then I first do a Local Machine design / roll out (call it the Build & Test Site Phase), where I build the whole site – Look & Feel, Coding Tweaks, Add all Contents, Plugins, Security Features, SQL Database, SEO Integration and all… the whole bang shoot… the whole motherload.

4. I then give the Client a Copy on a Flash Stick of the whole site (call it the Approval Phase)… to approve and play with (and as it is not a live site but a Local Deployment they cannot break any-farking-thing).

5. If any changes are needed, I do them after they have had a good look, then kick it back to them for perusal (call it Fine-Tuning Phase).

6. Once they are happy, I train them on how to use the site (call it Training Phase) and to add elements, pages, content, pictures, videos, mail accounts, forwarders, newsletters, cPanel, backups – sometimes I even do this via Skype or Teamviewer (if they are not in close proximity) AND with the aid of a range of Video Tutorials I have made (which they can watch over and over if they so wish).

7. I then make a full Backup and schedule Automatic Backup functionality (call it Version Control).

8. When everything is approved and the Go-Ahead given for the site to go LIVE (call it the Deployment Phase), I just migrate the site over to the webserver environment (where I am also simultaneously their web host via a lovely Reseller Account I now have with one of the world’s biggest web hosts), change a few dingamabobbies and Lock the site down secure and add a few Security steps for anti-hacking purposes and shit like that… and add their unique Mail Accounts…

9. I also add some Webmaster Tools and Stats measuring stuff and Site Maps which all enhance Search Engine Rankings(Call it Measurement Phase).

… and BOB’s YOUR AUNTIE.

… and of course then I hold out the beursie, for them to hoes the moolah (Call it the Till Phase)….

But it’s hectic on the old eyes, man… farkit!

Nothing new here then.

25 @ nortie:
    What the hell? no

Of course we should have banter, we are people on a blog dedicated to sports. Why do you have to take everyone’s posts so personally? As if someone is taking the side of being right and the other one is wrong every single time.

While it is simply Nama expressing his opinion everytime there is a discussion about the boks and bulls that Serfontein is below average and NOTHING he ever does is good enough… that’s his opinion and he is welcome to it… but in turn my opinion is that he is quite obsessed about it, especially about his defense and how Meyer “protected” serfontein by letting JDV defend the outside channel, when de Allende also misses crucial tackles.

Yes SP has been crap, but the last two games he has been pretty good or above average.

Steyn deserves condemnation for those tackles, as much as possible.

Kolbe has been shown up in defense, but mostly its due to his silly tackling technique imo.

Everything is not about right and wrong nortie!

27 @ Nama:
    I think kanipass is quite catchy, still is, though I ceased it a bit last year, because JDJ had a very good year, and I mentioned it numerous times, if you can remember/choose to remember.

Total 52 users including 0 member, 52 guests, 0 bot online