Marcell Coetzee

Willie le Roux

Handré Pollard

Duane Vermeulen

Five Springboks have been nominated for the prestigious SA Rugby Player of the Year Award for 2014 with one of Nizaam Carr, Marcell Coetzee, Willie le Roux, Handré Pollard or Duane Vermeulen in line to claim the coveted annual award for the first time in their careers.

The five players, who all played for the Boks this year, have been nominated by the South African rugby media following a stellar year on the field. Springbok rugby fans across the globe will now be given a voice in the selection of the winner, SARU announced on Friday.

The public will also be asked to cast their votes in two other categories, Young Player and the Absa Team of the Year. To cast your vote, CLICK HERE.

Carr and Pollard have also being named in the Young Player category, along with Cheslin Kolbe, Seabelo Senatla and Jan Serfontein. The Junior Springboks, Springboks, Springbok Sevens, DHL Western Province and Xerox Golden Lions have been nominated as Absa Team of the Year.

Public polling for the three awards will open on Friday 5 December 2014 with all the winners to be announced at a gala event on 8 February 2015 in Midrand.

The public can make their vote, which is powered by social marketing platform Spredfast, for the top awards on SARU’s website or by using (for example) #YPOTYNizaamCarr on Twitter*. Voting will also take place through SARU’s official digital Springbok Magazine, where subscribers can cast their votes.

Jurie Roux, SARU CEO said: “It is again very pleasing that we are able to give our rugby fans a voice in the game, and the SARU Player of the Year Awards is an ideal platform to do so. The last two years proved that supporters have strong opinions on who should win and that feedback was great, hence the decision to make the public part of the polling process again.

“The Awards are a highlight on the South African rugby calendar, and involving the fans and coaches more directly will no doubt add to the prestige of the event,” said Roux.

Media, coaches and players had a major say in determining the outstanding players of the season in a range of categories and competitions.

Other awards on the night include for the outstanding players in Vodacom Super Rugby, Absa Currie Cup Premier and First Division and Vodacom Cup competitions, as well as for the Absa Coach of the Year, SA Under-20 Player of the Year, Springbok Sevens Player of the Year, Women’s Achiever of the Year, SARPA Players’ Player of the Year, Supersport Try of the Year, Marriott Referee Award, Cell C Community Cup Player of the Tournament and Coca-Cola Craven Week Player of the Tournament.

The closing date for public voting is Friday 12 December 2014 at 14:00.

169 Responses to 5 Springboks in line for Player Of The Year Award

@ Victoriabok:
    maybe if i was 4 or 5 years into my career

@ Victoriabok:
    maybe if i was 4 or 5 years into my career

What do you mean?

@ Victoriabok: my apologies. I was not thinking clock. Should have realised. Here I’m sitting in running shorts and squat all else, outside on the deck and it’s now 9.15pm and pitch dark. We have been waging running battles all day with power (or more specifically; lack of) which is quite tricky when you have widgets to produce on a production line hungry for volts.

Tassies wrote:

@ Victoriabok: and hows the chill on that there lil island Vic? Dec = chilly. No?

Padstalletjie near my house

You take the eggs and put the money in the cashbox

No one in sight

Attachment:

Tassies wrote:

@ Victoriabok: my apologies. I was not thinking clock. Should have realised. Here I’m sitting in running shorts and squat all else, outside on the deck and it’s now 9.15pm and pitch dark. We have been waging running battles all day with power (or more specifically; lack of) which is quite tricky when you have widgets to produce on a production line hungry for volts.

What do you manufacture?

In stark contrast to the conditions in Western Canada, I’ll be playing in the desert conditions of the Cape West Coast from sunday, sleeping under the stars, talking cods around the fire and surviving off what the sea has to offer. Nirvana.

@ Victoriabok: promotional products/packaging.

18 @ BrumbiesBoy:
    Blackberry is so… well… last year… or before last year!!

Censored Censored Censored
    It works fine on other sites but admittedly I don’t blog on them.
    Thinking

Tassies wrote:

@ Victoriabok: promotional products/packaging.

Good I’m always happy to hear when someone in manufacturing outside of China

I work in Procurement for a company manufacturing food products

@ Victoriabok: Yes. Quaint. I saw that in Ontario once. You’ll see that very occasionally here in the country. Deep country(karoo etc). There is a pub up on the Cunene River which ran an honesty box when I spent some time there. Most out of character for Southern Africa.

Tassies wrote:

In stark contrast to the conditions in Western Canada, I’ll be playing in the desert conditions of the Cape West Coast from sunday, sleeping under the stars, talking cods around the fire and surviving off what the sea has to offer. Nirvana.

Apples and Oranges, you’re comparing summer with winter. Compare it with mid June July in the Cape

It’s like Knysna here, with a bit more rain, larger trees and a few degrees colder

@ Victoriabok: Procurement is a dirty word in these parts just now. I lost our largest customer to China recently, when they introduced ‘procurement’ to assist marketing. The corporates are all moving to the procurement option due to corruption and the need to drive down costs. It has its downsides in terms of quality and delivery. We’re now targeting smaller business and the African export market. Corporate has become a nightmare. If they want our product they can have them on our terms.
    That said, in the food industry it makes a whole lot of sense I’d guess.

@ Victoriabok: I’m very familiar with China. We import the bulk of our raw material from China. But we also compete with same.

Tassies wrote:

@ Victoriabok: Procurement is a dirty word in these parts just now. I lost our largest customer to China recently, when they introduced ‘procurement’ to assist marketing. The corporates are all moving to the procurement option due to corruption and the need to drive down costs. It has its downsides in terms of quality and delivery. We’re now targeting smaller business and the African export market. Corporate has become a nightmare. If they want our product they can have them on our terms.
    That said, in the food industry it makes a whole lot of sense I’d guess.

It’s turning around now, a lot of commercials on US stations now mention “Made in America”

It’s not major manufacturing but small to medium sized but it’s a start, stuff like backpacks, pillows and “as seen on tv” plastic products

I saw a guy who moved his ice cream stick factory back to Newfoundland, it’s cheaper to have it close to the wood supply

We have to be very vigilant with food, Chinese food can contain heavy metals ore worse

We are also pushing for clean labels, so no GMO, and try to be as organic as possible

Tassies wrote:

@ Victoriabok: I’m very familiar with China. We import the bulk of our raw material from China. But we also compete with same.

Do you have the same problem with their “soft” boxes due to the high recycled content?

With food they went in low and killed all the opposition, for instance with dried green and red peppers they killed the Europeans and are basically the only option. They are starting to grow some in South America and the US but the quality and volumes ain’t there

@ Victoriabok: I have observed, in a very general sense, that the quality of Chinese product has improved over the last decade since I first started trading with them. Like you, I’m a huge advocate of ‘local is lekker’ and I’m glad to report that this attitude is growing over here too recently. But off a small base. The smaller businesses have a more patriotic attitude which the large companies still need to learn. Theirs remains a dog eat dog approach with the main focus on ‘return to shareholders’ despite what they might like us to believe. In the food industry, organic and ‘free range’ are growing apace and village markets have become very popular, where wholesome produce is all the rage. Ditto the micro brewery industry. So yes, in some ways we are similiar.

@ Victoriabok: I didn’t answer your question. Yes the Chinese pack in ‘soft’ boxes. But so do we. I have no problem with recycled. Encourage it actually. But sometimes soft boxes can be an issue. China needs to recycle because it has a real problem with pollution. In South China, where industry is intense, the quality of the air for example, is insanely bad. Not sure if they ever see blue sky anymore. I couldn’t live there.

relative to ourselves, the Chinese don’t seem to play much serious sport. Certainly not evident at ground level. You don’t see many soccer pitches for example. Zero rugby and cricket but the odd basketball, netball etc. Maybe I walk around with my eyes closed but that is what I observed. Hong Kong is different.

cheers Vic. You’re obviously busy. I need to grab a read. Chat another time.

Tassies wrote:

cheers Vic. You’re obviously busy. I need to grab a read. Chat another time.

Sorry I went for lunch

Tassies wrote:

relative to ourselves, the Chinese don’t seem to play much serious sport. Certainly not evident at ground level. You don’t see many soccer pitches for example. Zero rugby and cricket but the odd basketball, netball etc. Maybe I walk around with my eyes closed but that is what I observed. Hong Kong is different.

I worked with a Chinese guy, he said their soccer league is very corrupt and the quality is poor

They like basketball too

Tassies wrote:

@ Victoriabok: I didn’t answer your question. Yes the Chinese pack in ‘soft’ boxes. But so do we. I have no problem with recycled. Encourage it actually. But sometimes soft boxes can be an issue. China needs to recycle because it has a real problem with pollution. In South China, where industry is intense, the quality of the air for example, is insanely bad. Not sure if they ever see blue sky anymore. I couldn’t live there.

I saw a documentary the other day, it’s so polluted even the children get lung cancer

This illustration serves as a reminder as to the POTENTIAL of Africa.

It is also a SAD reminder of Africa’s lack of achievement in many spheres when compared to all of those countries that Africa could engulf if it (Africa) were ever to get it’s act together.

(Picture originally appeared on http://www.DailyMaverick.co.za)

Attachment:

OK, back from yet another family funeral…

Handbriekie and myself worked out that in the last 18 months we have been to no less than 8 close enough family / friends funerals.

Enough is enough!!

My younger boet’s Mother In Law… only 66 years old… fell over dead at the Super market, massive embolism, last Wednesday.

This funeral cermon was a super service by a dominee I’ve always admired and who has lived the example, Prof Piet Meiring (who was also part of the Truth And Reconcilliation Commission, post 1994).

I finished my catechism classes in 1982 with him as my dominee, he did my first wedding ceremony, his son and my younger boet have been big buds since primary school….and after last seeing Dominee Piet roughly in 1988, he still remembered me, my mom, where we stayed… ect. Marvelous man, marvelous example, special cermon this morning.

GBS we “only” had 3 during the last 3 months. The last one was on Friday. It was a murdered family member’s funeral. Hopefully this was our last for a while

145 @ charlesm:
    Eish… difficult time of the year, hey!

We also had a funeral last week Tuesday, as you might remember… my Stepmom’s.

Luckly none of the funerals we’ve been to were the results of crime…

Elma and I have a saying “Hulle kap nou in ons deel van
    die bos”
    Hulle moet net verseker dat hulle byle vlymskerp is
    Groete en innigige meegevoel..Rye

@ charlesm:
    145 Hi Charles.Feck them.
    Regards Rye

147 @ ryecatcher:
    My late dad, GBS Maksimus, used that exact saying!!

Thanks Oompie!

@ charlesm:
    145 Charles Obviously referring to the fecking killers,
    Rye.
    Have become a geriatric racist.Enough is enough.
    (Not quite hondekak yet,but fast approaching.How the
    hell can people kill people.?I grieve wehen a bird flies into my cars windshield.

Total 17 users including 0 member, 17 guests, 0 bot online