Rugby-TalkIt’s PUB NIGHT!

The week started on a heavy note, my 2nd mom in ICU… and as “deurmekaar” as your regular Sharks supporter!

The PUB also celebrates old timers tonight, Ryecatcher, Angostura… and the softy, which is my stepmom, Nora Geldenhuys, a descendant of one of the big Ground Barons of the original Pretoria – General Opperman (who was a Boer General and closest neighbour of General Jan Smuts).

Of course we also received news this week of the retirement of a Springbok Old Timer and lock legend, Bakkies Botha!

What’s better than wishing these old folgies well and capping it off in the PUB?

This coming weekend the Springboks take on the last enemy on tour for 2014, Wales, who held the All Blacks till the 69th minute, this past weekend! One more BIG push for the Springboks, after a year filled with Super Rugby and a very busy International window.

The Springboks overseas contingent is now gone… back to their Clubs, as the International Window is already officially a thing of the past.

OK, let’s focus on the PUB tonight…. the idea with PUB NIGHT is to lighten up our dull Tuesday evenings with music, comedy and fun.

Rugby takes a backseat tonight as the clan and fellow rugby nutters gather and wheel in their old timer friends…

Read the rules below carefully, or you WILL get burnt!

Just for clarity sake, when someone does not adhere to the Rules of the PUB, EVERYBODY jumps on them and pummels them, right… understood?

Here’s how it works:

1. Before you are allowed to greet, comment or take part in general discussion about anything else, you enter the PUB with a lekker Music Video found on Youtube.
  2. You copy the URL (web address) of the clip… and you make sure it is NOT the Mobile version of the URL (the Mobile version has a solitary “m” in the beginnig of the URL… just replace the “m” with “www” if there is a solitary “m” somewhere).
  3. Sometimes you have to replace the “http” part with “https” too… but we do not take excuses, we will pummel you anyway!
  4. You Paste the URL into the Comment Form Box of this Article and you SUBMIT your comment.
  5. Your video will appear in the Comments section.
  6. If you fail with your attempt and it does not appear, we WILL kak you out, we will pummel you with insults… and LAUGH at you, you silly muppit!
  7. Once you have a successful Video loaded, you can take part in the discussion and add more music, but beware, every broken link will cop you an “Uitkak” and a laugh at your expense.
  8. Failure to abide by the rules, will be punished by requiring you to say a seriously denigrating thing about the Provincial / Club side you support and asking all of us, by name, for forgiveness and acknowledging our clear superiority.
  9. Most important rule: Nobody is allowed to get angry… this is all in good fun!

Fire away!

We’ll have to have an old song tonight, one that is fitting so as not to make the Old Age Home feel unwelcome!

Come on, show me up, do better than me!

134 Responses to PUB NIGHT: Old Age is a bitch – Music & Comedy night

Ha ha Rob
    We didn’t head bang to music, we hit with the head.

I’m glad you are on, I think it’s time for you to upgrade your Kombi, how about for the 2015 edition?

Attachment:

nortie wrote:

Close enough to Christmas….but it’s not Boney M

not everyone’s taste, but a poet of note!

@ 91

If i look at the average age of the songs that are posted here tonight I should perhaps downgrade to a 1957 model 🙂

Cool pic you got there though.

That video does invoke some memories….is Burger Fair still around?

Another angle of the Kombi

Attachment:

Charo wrote:

Charo, I was fortunate to see him perform twice here

He’s a remarkable man, his modesty is becoming for such a famous artist

I saw them open for INXS at the Standard Bank arena in 1997

They skopped gat

Charo wrote:

One of the best… his lyrics are phenomenal… bit depressing sometimes…like.. ” I have seen the future, brother it is murder” 🙂

Theme song to the Stormer’s supporter Club

Fellas, I’m out early tonight… heavy day ahead tomorrow! Very heavy!

Have a great one and enjoy the rest of PUB NIGHT!

“There is a crack, a crack in everything
    That’s how the light gets in”

the original german version

His anthem

Victoriabok wrote:

There you go.

You are lucky to have seen him performing life.

I remember Cane mentioned a few years ago on Keo he saw him play in Wellington, NZ…. out of this world performance apparently.

Up tempo version of ” Broken English” by Marianne Faithful.

@ Victoriabok:

I was just busy loading that. Great song writer, great poet. Fleeced by a woman – his so-called manageress. And had to take to the road again. In his 70’s. Women can be such tarts – especially when money is involved. Or always, when money is involved. Sorry I missed the guy – would love to see him live.

in my late teens and early twenties, me and my mates seemed to be endlessly driving from cpt to vic and jbay in a fiat 128.
    it was music like this that helped to get through the journey

before my battery dies, 2 tracks from my favourite singer

robzim wrote:

Victoriabok wrote:

There you go.

You are lucky to have seen him performing life.

I remember Cane mentioned a few years ago on Keo he saw him play in Wellington, NZ…. out of this world performance apparently.

He had to tour to get some money again

He passed Victoria in 2009 and came back again in 2010, the first time we saw him, last year he was here again

Charo wrote:

in my late teens and early twenties, me and my mates seemed to be endlessly driving from cpt to vic and jbay in a fiat 128.

Vic Bay was such a cool place back then just a pity about the “Muscles” Giles and his brother 🙂

These days it is more laid back thankfully.

Sorry for posting same twice but #2 should have been southern man.
    On my tablet now so no more songs.

Never came across them. In the early seventies we often had the place to ourselves. Used to sleep on the verandahs of the holiday homes while the owners were away.
    Never really rated the wave – a bit powderpuff compared with supers.

A voice that I enjoy. Mick Jagger enjoyed more than her voice though – she did some great covers of the Stones.

@ Charo:

Yeah, I agree .. it certainly is no supers.

The Giles brothers were locals who dominated the place… very aggro towards CT surfers in particular… but they were good specifically at their home break… Leonard Giles won the SA champs when it was held there and made the Bok team.

IAAS wrote:

A voice that I enjoy. Mick Jagger enjoyed more than her voice though – she did some great covers of the Stones.

Great cover

I do not blame Mick.. she was hot as hell during her youth 🙂

Remember this one:

sure do. Check the archives here.

The Vaselines… a Scottish band loved by Kurt Cobain who covered a few of their songs

@ IAAS:

Nice one… introduced by Brian Epstein .. real old stuff.

Marianne is a bit of a survivor.. had one hell of a wild life with drugs and stuff.

She has recently brought out a new album called ” Give my love to London”… its quite nice although the voice is not nearly as good as it used to be.

Total 51 users including 0 member, 51 guests, 0 bot online